Search between and
BasketGBP GBP
0 items£0.00
Click here to change currency

Bialey Surname Ancestry Results

Our indexes 1000-1999 include entries for the spelling 'bialey'. In the period you have requested, we have the following 10 records (displaying 1 to 10): 

Buy all
Get all 10 records to view, to save and print for £46.00

These sample scans are from the original record. You will get scans of the full pages or articles where the surname you searched for has been found.

Your web browser may prevent the sample windows from opening; in this case please change your browser settings to allow pop-up windows from this site.

Non-Freemen Voters in Oxford: St Peter le Bailey (1837)
A poll of the freemen and non-freemen electors of the City of Oxford took place on 25 July 1837, the candidates being William Hughes Hughes (H), Donald Maclean (M) and William Erle (E). This poll book lists all 2145 voters, as well as those electors who did not vote. In both cases, the lists are divided into a single register of freemen, and then the non-freemen arranged by parish or ward - All Saints, Cowley, Holywell, St Aldate, St Clement, St Ebbe, St Giles, St John, St Martin, St Mary Magdalen, St Mary the Virgin, St Michael, St Peter in the East, St Peter le Bailey, and St Thomas. The votes of those who voted are shown on the right hand side of the page. The names of the freemen are given with address and occupation; those of non-freemen with address, but without stating occupation.

BIALEY. Cost: £4.00. Add to basket

Sample scan, click to enlarge
Non-Freemen Voters in Oxford: St Peter le Bailey
 (1837)
Non-Freemen Voters in Oxford: St Thomas (1837)
A poll of the freemen and non-freemen electors of the City of Oxford took place on 25 July 1837, the candidates being William Hughes Hughes (H), Donald Maclean (M) and William Erle (E). This poll book lists all 2145 voters, as well as those electors who did not vote. In both cases, the lists are divided into a single register of freemen, and then the non-freemen arranged by parish or ward - All Saints, Cowley, Holywell, St Aldate, St Clement, St Ebbe, St Giles, St John, St Martin, St Mary Magdalen, St Mary the Virgin, St Michael, St Peter in the East, St Peter le Bailey, and St Thomas. The votes of those who voted are shown on the right hand side of the page. The names of the freemen are given with address and occupation; those of non-freemen with address, but without stating occupation.

BIALEY. Cost: £4.00. Add to basket

Sample scan, click to enlarge
Non-Freemen Voters in Oxford: St Thomas
 (1837)
Proprietors of Coventry Union Banking Company (1838)
The provincial banks of England and Wales made annual returns to the Stamp Office of their proprietors or shareholders. These returns, registered in March 1838, from the 103 banks then in existence, contain the full names and addresses of about 30,000 shareholders.

BIALEY. Cost: £6.00. Add to basket

Sample scan, click to enlarge
Proprietors of Coventry Union Banking Company
 (1838)
Long-stay Paupers in Workhouses: Hinckley (1861)
This comprehensive return by the Poor Law Board for England and Wales in July 1861 revealed that of the 67,800 paupers aged 16 or over, exclusive of vagrants, then in the Board's workhouses, 14,216 (6,569 men, 7,647 women) had been inmates for a continuous period of five years and upwards. The return lists all these long-stay inmates from each of the 626 workhouses that had been existence for five years and more, giving full name; the amount of time that each had been in the workhouse (years and months); the reason assigned why the pauper in each case was unable to sustain himself or herself; and whether or not the pauper had been brought up in a district or workhouse school (very few had). The commonest reasons given for this long stay in the workhouse were: old age and infirm (3,331); infirm (2,565); idiot (1,565); weak mind (1,026); imbecile (997); and illness (493).

BIALEY. Cost: £6.00. Add to basket

Sample scan, click to enlarge
Long-stay Paupers in Workhouses: Hinckley
 (1861)
Boys entering Sherborne School (1926)
The grammar school at Sherborne in Dorset, which doubtless existed from the creation of the diocese of Sherborne in 705, was refounded by king Edward VI in 1550. At the quatercentenary in 1950, a fourth edition of the Sherborne Register was published, listing boys entering the school during those four centuries. In truth, the materials for this register survive but fitfully before 1823; for some years, no names are known; sometimes all that is known is a surname. But from 1823 onwards the lists and the details get steadily more comprehensive. By the 20th century the boys are listed alphabetically by surname under term of entrance. Surname is given in bold, then christian names, name of father (surname and initials) and address; year of birth; house (a, School House; b, Abbey House; c, The Green; d, Harper House (formerly The Retreat); f, Abbeylands; g, Lyon House; h, Westcott House); whether represented the school at cricket (xi), football (xv), shooting (viii), &c.; year of leaving; summary of degrees, career &c.; and (in italics), address as of 1950. Names in the early lists marked with an asterisk are found inscribed on the oak panelling or on the stone walls of the former schoolroom. (F) in the lists indicates a foundationer, receiving free education: after 1827, when this privilege was restricted to boys from Sherborne and neighbourhood, nearly all foundationers were day-boys.

BIALEY. Cost: £4.00. Add to basket

Sample scan, click to enlarge
Boys entering Sherborne School
 (1926)
Aviators' Certificates (1939)
Lists of certificates granted by the Royal Aero Club of the United Kingdom to newly-qualified aviators of powered aircraft: giving certificate number, full name, and name of his or her aero club. Certificate numbers 16744 to 20093, issued from December 1938 to September 1939.

BIALEY. Cost: £6.00. Add to basket

Sample scan, click to enlarge
Aviators' Certificates
 (1939)
Boys entering Gresham's School (1945)
The Sir John Gresham Grammar School at Holt in Norfolk was founded by sir John, who bought the manor house there in 1546 to convert it into a school, and building work had started by 1555. To celebrate the quatercentenary in 1955, a history of the school written by the Reverend C. L. S. Linnell was published, together with an Alumni Greshamienses, a register of boys entering the school from 1562 to 1954, compiled by A. B. Douglas. The materials to hand for the register for the early years were slight; the first coherent lists of boys survive only from 1729, and then are fitful, with little detail, and largely missing from 1784 to 1803; however, from 1810 onwards the names of boys' parents are usually recorded. The register is arranged chronologically by year (and from 1900 by term - L, Lent; M, Michaelmas; S, Summer), and then alphabetically by surname (in capitals) and christian name(s). Where known, year of birth is then given (in brackets), names, addresses and occupations of parents. From 1900 onwards there are italic abbreviations for sporting achievements at school (h, hockey colours; VIII, shooting colours; S, first-class swimmer; XI, cricket colours; XV, football colours), and p for house prefect and P for school prefect; then (in italics) information about the boy's adult life, and his address (where living) at the time of publication. Finally, on the right hand side of the page, in italics, is given the year of his leaving the school. Most detail is absent before 1810; and, of course, for the boys still at school in 1955, or only recently left, there are no details of future career; nor are there the usual details about their parentage. From 1898 onwards day boys are noted with an italic D (N means Newquay dayboy); and from 1900 onwards the school houses are shown (B, Bengal Lodge; F, Farfield; H, School House or Howson's; K, Kenwyn; O, Old School House; W, Woodlands); and, for the junior school, c, Crossways; k, Kenwyn; o, Old School House).

BIALEY. Cost: £4.00. Add to basket

Sample scan, click to enlarge
Boys entering Gresham's School
 (1945)
Boys entering Sherborne School (1946)
The grammar school at Sherborne in Dorset, which doubtless existed from the creation of the diocese of Sherborne in 705, was refounded by king Edward VI in 1550. At the quatercentenary in 1950, a fourth edition of the Sherborne Register was published, listing boys entering the school during those four centuries. In truth, the materials for this register survive but fitfully before 1823; for some years, no names are known; sometimes all that is known is a surname. But from 1823 onwards the lists and the details get steadily more comprehensive. By the 20th century the boys are listed alphabetically by surname under term of entrance. Surname is given in bold, then christian names, name of father (surname and initials) and address; year of birth; house (a, School House; b, Abbey House; c, The Green; d, Harper House (formerly The Retreat); f, Abbeylands; g, Lyon House; h, Westcott House); whether represented the school at cricket (xi), football (xv), shooting (viii), &c.; year of leaving; summary of degrees, career &c.; and (in italics), address as of 1950. Names in the early lists marked with an asterisk are found inscribed on the oak panelling or on the stone walls of the former schoolroom. (F) in the lists indicates a foundationer, receiving free education: after 1827, when this privilege was restricted to boys from Sherborne and neighbourhood, nearly all foundationers were day-boys.

BIALEY. Cost: £4.00. Add to basket

Sample scan, click to enlarge
Boys entering Sherborne School
 (1946)
Boys entering Gresham's School (1948)
The Sir John Gresham Grammar School at Holt in Norfolk was founded by sir John, who bought the manor house there in 1546 to convert it into a school, and building work had started by 1555. To celebrate the quatercentenary in 1955, a history of the school written by the Reverend C. L. S. Linnell was published, together with an Alumni Greshamienses, a register of boys entering the school from 1562 to 1954, compiled by A. B. Douglas. The materials to hand for the register for the early years were slight; the first coherent lists of boys survive only from 1729, and then are fitful, with little detail, and largely missing from 1784 to 1803; however, from 1810 onwards the names of boys' parents are usually recorded. The register is arranged chronologically by year (and from 1900 by term - L, Lent; M, Michaelmas; S, Summer), and then alphabetically by surname (in capitals) and christian name(s). Where known, year of birth is then given (in brackets), names, addresses and occupations of parents. From 1900 onwards there are italic abbreviations for sporting achievements at school (h, hockey colours; VIII, shooting colours; S, first-class swimmer; XI, cricket colours; XV, football colours), and p for house prefect and P for school prefect; then (in italics) information about the boy's adult life, and his address (where living) at the time of publication. Finally, on the right hand side of the page, in italics, is given the year of his leaving the school. Most detail is absent before 1810; and, of course, for the boys still at school in 1955, or only recently left, there are no details of future career; nor are there the usual details about their parentage. From 1898 onwards day boys are noted with an italic D (N means Newquay dayboy); and from 1900 onwards the school houses are shown (B, Bengal Lodge; F, Farfield; H, School House or Howson's; K, Kenwyn; O, Old School House; W, Woodlands); and, for the junior school, c, Crossways; k, Kenwyn; o, Old School House).

BIALEY. Cost: £4.00. Add to basket

Sample scan, click to enlarge
Boys entering Gresham's School
 (1948)
Graduate Structural Engineers (1953)
The Institution of Structural Engineers was founded in 1908 and incorporated by royal charter in 1934. The institution had nine branches in Britain and Northern Ireland, and one in South Africa. The 1953 year book includes this list of members corrected to 1 August 1953, giving year of election to the various grades, surname (in bold), christian name, honours, address, and telephone number. 'Graduates shall be students of structural engineering who have attained the age of not less than 21 years and have passed a qualifying examination.'

BIALEY. Cost: £4.00. Add to basket

Sample scan, click to enlarge
Graduate Structural Engineers 
 (1953)
Want to be alerted about new results for this search?
RSSSubscribe to this web feed

Research your ancestry, family history, genealogy and one-name study by direct access to original records and archives indexed by surname.