Sources 1890-1899

Merchants and traders in Newcastle-upon-Tyne (1515-1898)

The society of Merchant Adventurers of Newcastle-upon-Tyne consisted of those who had obtained freedom of the city (allowing them to trade there) by birth as a son of, or apprenticeship, to a freeman: and within that, freedom of one of the three 'trades', i. e. boothman, draper or mercer. F. W. Dendy prepared extracts from the merchant adventurers' records, the second volume, published by the Surtees Society in 1899 containing extracts from the minute books relating to the history of the merchants' court, an account of the long-standing dispute between the Newcastle company and the London company, some extracts relating to the relations between the Newcastle company and the Eastland Company (who had a monopoly of the trade with Russia and the Baltic), copies of the oaths used by the Newcastle company, the London company and the Eastland Company, and (pages 185 to 381) a list of the apprentices enrolled in, and of the freemen admitted to, the Newcastle company. This list is arranged in a table of seven columns: Name of Apprentice; Name of Father of Apprentice and Observations (particularly, instances where an apprentice is passed over to a new master during his apprenticeship); Master; Boothman (B.), Draper (D.) or Mercer (M.); Date of Indentures: Enrolment: Admission. All the dates are normalised to New Style, i. e. to the modern calendar. Finally, there is a list of sons and apprentices of members who, having thus acquired the right of freedom of the city, took up the freedom, but did not assume the freedom of any of the three trades. The index covers all the contents of the volume, not just the apprentice and freemen lists.
>> Search this source

Nottingham borough officers and officials (1836-1900)

In 1956 this ninth and extra volume was added to the series called Nottingham Borough Records, containing precis of selections from the council and committee minutes for this period.
>> Search this source

Unclaimed Naval Prize Money (1855-1902)

Various prize moneys were awarded to officers and men who served on board her Majesty's ships. For one reason or another a substantial number of these prizes, from as little as a shilling or two to as much as many pounds, remained undistributed by 1902, when this comprehensive list of the unclaimed moneys was printed: it lists unclaimed shares of prize money, slave and pirate bounties, salvage awards, parliamentary grants, gratuities and other moneys distributed by the Admiralty 1855 to 1902, but which omits moneys for service on the China Station during the war of 1856 to 1880, and special gratuities for service in Egypt (1882), Soudan (1884) and Soudan and Nile Expedition (1884-1885), for which there are separate indexes. In each case the sailor's name is given first (surname, then christian name or initials); rank or rating; ship in which serving at time of capture or award; and the amount due.
>> Search this source

Boys at University College School (1860-1900)

In 1830 a school was set up adjoining the University and College of London on Gower Street; the school was enlarged from 1860 to 1876, and then removed to Frognal in 1907. In 1931 this register was published, listing all boys entering the school from Christmas term of 1859 to the summer entrants of 1931. The dates are abbreviated (98-01 = 1898-1901, &c.), each session being reckoned as beginning in September of one year and ending in the July of the next; the date of joining the school is indicated by the former, although it may fall in the latter, but the date of leaving by the latter, although it may fall in the former. Thus, if a boy came at any time during the Session 1863-64 and left any time during 1868-69, his date would be given 1863-69. The boys are listed alphabetically by surname, and then chronologically under each surname, full name being given where known. An asterisk * indicates that that particular boy lost his life in the Great War: in these cases, rank and regiment have been given where possible. Addresses as of 1931 are given where known. Italics in christian names or initials indicate that that particular boy was known, in 1931, to be dead. (a) (b) &c placed before christian names indicates brothers. In some cases occupation in later life is shown (A, artist; B, barrister; C A, chartered accountant; Ch, chemist; E, engineer; H C S, home civil service; I C S, Indian civil service; Med, physician or surgeon; M S E, member of the Stock Exchange; Mus, musician; Rev, minister of religion; S, solicitor). This is the index to those boys who were at the school in the period 1860 to 1900.
>> Search this source

London Policemen (1878-1891)

The Metropolitan Police Register of Joiners (MEPO 4/335) lists policemen joining the force 1 July 1878 to 31 December 1891 (warrant numbers 62845 to 77318). The register is alphabetical, in so far as the recruits are listed chronologically grouped under first letter of surname (I and J, and U and V being treated as single initials). It gives Date of Appointment, Name, Number of Warrant, Cause of Removal from Force (resigned, dismissed, promoted or died), and Date of Removal.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Truro School (1880-1900)

Truro College was founded 19 January 1880; the name was changed to Truro School in 1931. In 1954 this register of old boys was published, arranged alphabetically by surname and then christian name (or initials), in bold; then years of entering and leaving the school, and, in many cases, address as in 1954. For this period little detail is given; occasionally an indication of occupation.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the 10th (The Prince of Wales' Own Royal) Hussars (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment embarked for India 10 January 1873; fought in Afghanistan, adding "Ali Masjid" and "Afghanistan 1878-1879" to its honours; was transferred to Egypt ("Egypt, 1884"); and returned to England from Egypt 21 April 1884, being based at Shorncliffe. In 1895 the regiment was at Ballincollig. Having been sent out to South Africa, it gained the honours "South Africa, 1899-1902", "Relief of Kimberley" and "Paardeberg".
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the 11th (Prince Albert's Own) Hussars (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. Returning from India 7 January 1878, the regiment was sent to Ireland in 1884, and was at Ballincollig in 1885. After coming back to England in 1889, the regiment embarked for South Africa 22 July 1890, and was transferred to India in 1892. In 1895 the 11th Hussars were based at Sealkote (the regimental depot being at Canterbury); they were moved to Egypt in 1899.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the 12th (The Prince of Wales' Royal) Lancers (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment embarked for India 29 December 1876, and by 1885 was based at Bangalore (the home depot was at Canterbury). Having added "Central India" to the regimental honours, the 12th Lancers returned to England 24 November 1887, were moved to Scotland in 1893, and by 1895 were based in Edinburgh. They were moved to Ireland in that year, back to England in 1897, and in 1899 sent out to South Africa, fighting at Modder River, Enslin and Magersfontein; the relief of Kimberley, Paardeberg, the advance to Blomfontein and Pretoria, Diamond Hill and Wittebergen.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the 13th Hussars (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The 13th Hussars embarked for India 7 June 1874, were transferred to South Africa, and in 1885 were in Natal. The home depot was at Canterbury. Returning from Natal 3 November 1885, by 1895 they were based at Dundalk. Having been sent out to South Africa, they added "South Africa, 1899-1902" and "Relief of Ladysmith" to the regimental honours.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the 14th (The King's) Hussars (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The 14th Hussars embarked for India 4 January 1876, and by 1885 were based at Secunderabad (the home depot was at Canterbury). Returning from India 24 November 1886, having added "Central India" to the regimental honours, the regiment was at Cahir in 1895. The 14th Hussars were next sent out to South Africa, and added "South Africa, 1900-1902" and "Relief of Ladysmith" to the colours.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the 15th (The King's) Hussars (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment returned from Natal in 1882, and in 1885 was based at Hounslow, and in 1895 at Dublin.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the 16th (The Queen's) Lancers (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment returned from India 6 January 1877, was moved to Ireland in 1882, and in 1885 was based at Dundalk. The 16th Lancers returned to England in 1888, embarked for India 3 September 1890, and in 1895 were at Lucknow (the home depot was at Canterbury). They moved to South Africa in 1900, adding "South Africa, 1900-1902", "Relief of Kimberley" and "Paardeberg" to the regimental honours.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the 17th (The Duke of Cambridge's Own) Lancers (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment embarked for Natal 25 February 1879, taking part in the Zulu war of 1879, adding "South Africa, 1879" to the colours, and were transferred to India late in the year. By 1885 the troops were based at Lucknow. One squadron was sent to Egypt (returning to England 2 November 1891) but the bulk of the regiment came home 3 November 1890. In 1895 the 17th Lancers were based at Leeds; in 1897 they were sent to Ireland; and in 1900 to South Africa, where they gained the honour "South Africa, 1900-1902".
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the 18th Hussars (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment returned from India 18 January 1876, was moved from England to Ireland in 1881, and by 1885 was based in Dublin. Returning to England in 1877, the 18th Hussars embarked for India 20 November 1889, and in 1895 were at Umballa (the home depot was at Canterbury). The troops were moved to South Africa in 1898, and added "South Africa, 1899-1902" and "Defence of Ladysmith" to the regimental honours.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the 19th (Princess of Wales's Own) Hussars (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regimental depot was at Colchester. The 19th Hussars embarked for Egypt in 1882, gaining the honours "Egypt, 1882" and "Tel-el-Kebir", "Nile 1884-1885" and "Abu Klea". By 1885 they were based at Bangalore; in 1899 they were sent to South Africa, adding "South Africa, 1899-1902" and "Defence of Ladysmith" to the colours.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the 1st (The King's) Dragoon Guards (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regimental depot was at Canterbury. The soldiers embarked for Natal 28 February 1879; by 1885 were based at Rawal Pindee, Bengal; returned from India 1 November 1891; in 1895 were at Norwich.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the 1st (Royal) Dragoons (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. A detachment was sent to Egypt in 1884. In 1885 the regiment was at Newbridge; the soldiers were moved to England in 1886, and back to Ireland in 1893. In 1895 they were at Dublin. In 1897 the regiment was moved back to England; and 30 October 1899 embarked for South Africa, adding "South Africa, 1899-1900" and "Relief of Ladysmith" to their colours.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the 1st Life Guards (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment was based at Regent's Park. A detachment embarked for South Africa 29 November 1899, and returned 28 November 1900.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the 1st Battalion West India Regiment (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The battalion was moved from Jamaica to Sierra Leone (with detachments at Gold Coast and Demerara) in 1880; returning to Jamaica in 1883, but with detachments at Honduras, Demerara and Nassau. In 1886 the battalion returned to Sierra Leone, with detachments at Gold Coast and Barbados; and in 1889 was sent back to Jamaica, with detachments at St Lucia, Barbados and Nassau. In 1891 the troops were sent to the west coast of Africa; being established at Sierra Leone in 1892, and taking part in the Gambia Expedition. The battalion returned to Jamaica in 1895; was sent back to Sierra Leone in 1898; and went to Bermuda in 1899.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the 20th Hussars (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment was sent to Ireland in November 1879, remaining there till August 1884, when it transferred to Aldershot. The headquarters and four troops were sent to Suakin, one troop to the Nile in 1885: "Suakin, 1885" was added to the regimental honours. Continuing in Egypt and the Soudan, the 20th Hussars eventually returned to England 19 November 1887, and in 1895 were based at Colchester. They were sent out to India in 1895, and transferred to South Africa in 1901, adding "South Africa, 1901-1902" to the regimental honours.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the 21st Hussars (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment moved from England to Ireland in 1881. A detachment to the Light Camel Corps served in the Nile Expedition of 1884-1885. The 21st Hussars were at Cahir in 1885, embarked for India 23 November 1887, and were based at Secunderabad by 1895 (the home depot was at Canterbury). Transferred to Egypt in 1896, the regiment was renamed the 21st Lancers in 1897: having been moved south into the Soudan, the troops took part in the battle of Khartoum in 1896, adding "Khartoum" to the regimental colours. In 1897 the regiment was renamed "Empress of India's Lancers". The troops were moved to Ireland in 1899.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the 2nd Dragoon Guards (Queen's Bays) (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regimental depot was at Canterbury. The regiment embarked for India 22 November 1885; by 1895 was in Egypt; and fought in South Africa in 1901 and 1902.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the 2nd Dragoons (The Royal Scots Greys) (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment was moved from Ireland to Scotland in 1883; to England in 1885; and to Ireland in 1888; back to England in 1890; to Ireland in 1892; to England in 1893 (at Aldershot in 1895); to Scotland in 1897; and embarked for South Africa 5 November 1899.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the 2nd Life Guards (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment was based at Hyde Park. A detachment embarked for South Africa 29 November 1899 and returned 28 November 1900, having added "South Africa, 1899-1900", "Relief of Kimberley" and "Paardeberg" to the regimental honours.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the 2nd battalion West India Regiment (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The 2nd battalion served in Sierra Leone and Jamaica, generally alternating with the 1st battalion.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the 3rd (The Prince of Wales') Dragoon Guards (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regimental depot was at Canterbury. The regiment embarked for India 10 October 1884, and by 1885 was based at Muttra in Bengal. In 1892 the troops were moved to South Africa. In 1895 the regiment returned from Natal to England; in 1898 it was sent to Ireland; and in 1901 sent back to South Africa, where it gained the honour "South Africa, 1901-1902".
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the 3rd (The King's Own) Hussars (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment was at York in 1885; was moved from England to Scotland in 1887; to Ireland in 1889; to England in 1894 (was at Newbridge in 1895); and to India in 1898, being based at Sialkot in the Punjab.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the 4th (Royal Irish) Dragoon Guards (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment was sent out to join in the Egypt campaign of 1882, taking part in the battle of Tel-el-Kebir, adding these to the regimental honours. The troops returned from Egypt in 1882, and in 1885 the regiment was at Brighton, but a detachment had been sent back to the Nile for 1884-5. In 1886 the regiment was moved to Ireland, and back to England in 1891, embarking for India 7 September 1893. The regimental depot was at Shorncliffe; by 1895 the troops were based at Rawul Pindee in Bengal.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the 4th (The Queen's Own) Hussars (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. Having returned from India in 1878, the regiment was based at Norwich in 1885; at Aldershot in 1895.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the 5th (Princess Charlotte of Wales') Dragoon Guards (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment was based at Manchester in 1885; embarked for India 7 September 1893; and was at Meerut in Bengal in 1895. The regimental depot was at Canterbury. Having been moved to South Africa, the regiment added "South Africa, 1899-1902" and "Defence of Ladysmith" to its honours.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the 5th (Royal Irish) Lancers (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. In 1885 the regiment was based at Dublin; embarking for India 21 November 1888, by 1895 it was at Muttra in Bengal. The regimental depot was at Canterbury. Moving to South Africa, it added "South Africa, 1899-1902" and "Defence of Ladysmith" to its honours.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the 6th Dragoon Guards (Carabiniers) (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. Having embarked for India 30 December 1877, the regiment served in Afghanistan to October 1880, and added "Afghanistan, 1879-80" to their colours; was based at Sealkote by 1885; returning to England 20 November 1888. In 1891 the Carabiniers were moved to Scotland; in 1893 back to England, being based at York in 1895. From 1899 to 1902 they served in South Africa, gaining the honours "South Africa, 1899-1902", "Relief of Kimberley" and "Paardeberg".
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the 6th (Inniskilling) Dragoons (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The Inniskilling Dragoons embarked for Natal in 1881, and were at the Cape of Good Hope in 1885. The regimental depot was at Canterbury. The regiment returned from South Africa 13 November 1890, having taken part in the Boer war of 1881 and the Bechuanaland Expedition in 1884-1885. The troops were moved from England to Scotland in 1895, and on to Ireland in 1897: and in 1899 were sent back to South Africa, adding "South Africa, 1899-1902" to their honours.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the 7th (The Princess Royal's) Dragoon Guards (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. Having added "Egypt, 1882" and "Tel-el-Kebir" to the regimental honours, the 7th Dragoon Guards were sent to India from Egypt in 1883, and in 1885 were based at Mhow. The regimental depot was at Canterbury. The regiment was sent back to Egypt in 1893, returning to England in 1894. In 1895 the troops were at Shorncliffe. In 1900 the regiment was sent to South Africa, adding "South Africa, 1900-1902" to the colours.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the 7th (The Queen's Own) Hussars (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment returned from Natal in 1882, and in 1885 was at Aldershot; embarking for India 26 November 1886, it was at Mhow in 1895. "South Africa, 1901-1902" was next added to the regimental honours.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the 8th (The King's Royal Irish) Hussars (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment embarked for Bengal in 1878, and was at Meerut in 1885. The regimental depot was at Canterbury. Returning from Bengal in November 1889, the troops were at Hounslow in 1895.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the 9th (The Queen's Royal) Lancers (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment embarked for India 9 January 1875, and in 1885 was at Umballa. The regimental depot was at Canterbury. The 9th Lancers took part in the fighting in Afghanistan, adding "Charasiah", "Kabul, 1879", "Kandahar, 1880" and "Afghanistan, 1878-80" to the regimental honours. Returning from India 23 November 1885, the regiment was sent to Ireland in 1890, returned to England in 1892, and was moved to South Africa in 1896; on to India in 1898; and back to South Africa in 1899, adding "South Africa, 1899-1902", "Modder River", "Relief of Kimberley" and "Paardeberg" to the colours.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of Princess Louise's (Argyll and Sutherland Highlanders) (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The Argyll and Sutherland Highlanders were based at Regimental District No. 91, Stirling. The 1st battalion embarked for Natal 19 February 1879, adding "South Africa, 1879" to the regimental honours. In 1885 they were transferred to Ceylon, and in 1888 to Hong Kong, returning to Scotland 23 March 1892. In 1894 the 1st battalion was moved to England; in 1895 it was at Aldershot; in 1898 it returned to Scotland; in 1899 it was sent to Ireland, and then transferred to South Africa, where it gained the honours "South Africa, 1899-1902", "Modder River" and "Paardeberg". The 2nd battalion returned from Gibraltar to England in 1881, was moved to Scotland in 1882, and back to England in 1884, and in 1885 was at Portsmouth. The 2nd battalion was sent to Ireland in 1886, returned to England in 1890, and 26 November 1891 embarked for India; by 1895 it was based at Meean Meer. The 2nd battalion took part in the North-West Frontier campaign of 1897 to 1898.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the British Army Corps of Armourers (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the corps were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the British Army Hospital Corps (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the corps were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the British Army School of Musketry (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the school were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the Bedfordshire Regiment (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment was based on Regimental District No. 16 - Bedford. The 1st battalion returned from Nova Scotia 10 February 1870, serving in Ireland to 1872, Jersey to 1873, England to 1877, Ireland to 1882, England to 1887 (by 1885 it was stationed at Colchester), Ireland to 1888, and then back in England. It embarked for Malta 12 February 1890, and was transferred the following December to India, being stationed at Pershawur in 1895. It took part in the Chitral Relief Force, adding "Chitral" to the regimental honours. The 2nd battalion embarked for India 3 February 1876; was moved to Lower Burma in 1881 (at Thayetmyo by 1885), and back to India in 1885. It returned from India 10 February 1892, and in 1895 was at Aldershot. In 1898 the 2nd battalion was transferred to Ireland, and in 1899 to South Africa, gaining the honour "South Africa, 1900-1902".
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the Border Regiment (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The Border Regiment was based on Regimental District No. 34 - Carlisle. The 1st battalion embarked for India 29 September 1875, and by 1885 was stationed at Agra. It returned from India 14 December 1890 and in 1895 was at Woolwich. The 2nd battalion returned from Aden 21 March 1877, and in 1885 was at Dublin. It embarked for Malta 3 November 1888, and transferred to India in 1890. By 1895 it was on field service in Waziristan, but in 1899 was moved to South Africa, adding "South Africa, 1899-1902" and "Relief of Ladysmith" to the regimental honours.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the Cameronians (Scottish Rifles) (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment was based on Regimental District No. 26 - Hamilton. The 1st battalion returned to England from Malta in 1881, moved to Scotland in 1884, and by 1885 was stationed at Glasgow. The battalion was moved to Ireland in 1891, and back to England in 1894. It embarked for India 1 December 1894, and in 1895 was at Bareilly. The regiment gained the honours "South Africa, 1899-1902" and "Relief of Ladysmith". The 2nd battalion embarked for the Cape of Good Hope in January 1878, and gained the honour "South Africa, 1877-8-9"; it was transferred to India, and in 1885 was at Cawnpore. The 2nd battalion returned from India 13 February 1895, moving to Parkhurst.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the Cheshire Regiment (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment was based on Regimental District No. 22 - Chester. The 1st battalion was transferred to the Channel Islands in 1881, and returned to England in 1883: by 1885 it was stationed at Portland. The battalion embarked for Gibraltar 20 February 1885, and was sent on to Egypt in 1886, and in 1887 to India; having served in Burma from 1887 to 1891, it was at Bellary in Madras in 1895. The 2nd battalion embarked for India 7 October 1873; by 1885 was at Umballa, and transferred to Burma in October 1887, returning from there to England 8 February 1889. In 1895 the 2nd battalion was at Aldershot; it was sent to Ireland in 1895, and then in 1900 to South Africa, fighting at Bloemfontein, Johannesburg, Jacobsdal, Karree Siding, Brandfort, Vet River, Zand River, and in the Western Transvaal in 1901, adding "South Africa, 1900-1902" to the regimental honours.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the Coldstream Guards (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The 1st battalion was based at Wellington barracks, fought in Egypt in 1885, returning 11 September 1885. The 2nd battalion returned to Chelsea barracks from Egypt in 1882, having added "Egypt, 1882" and "Tel-el-Kebir" to the regimental honours. By 1895 the 2nd battalion was in Dublin. The regiment fought in South Africa, gaining the honours "South Africa, 1899-1902" and "Modder River".
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the British Army Commissariat and Transport Department (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the department were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the Connaught Rangers (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment was based on Regimental District No. 88 - Galway. The 1st battalion embarked for the Cape of Good Hope 15 June 1877, and was transferred to India in 1879. In 1885 it was stationed at Chaubuttia. Moving to Aden in 1890, it returned from there to England 14 December 1891. The battalion removed to Ireland in 1897, back to England in 1898, and to South Africa in 1899, gaining the honours "South Africa, 1899-1902" and "Relief of Ladysmith". The 2nd battalion returned from Natal in 1882, and by 1885 was stationed at Fermoy; 13 July 1889 it embarked for Malta, and was sent on from there to Egypt, and to India.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the Duke of Cornwall's Light Infantry (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment was based on Regimental District No. 32 - Bodmin. The 1st battalion returned from the Cape of Good Hope in September 1877, and in 1885 was stationed at Dublin; it embarked for Malta late that year, and went on to India, being at Meerut by 1895. The 2nd battalion embarked for Bermuda 21 October 1876, was sent to Gibraltar in 1880, and to Egypt in 1882, adding "Egypt, 1882", "Tel-el-Kebir" and "Nile, 1884-1885" to the regimental honours. The battalion returned to England in 1886; was sent to Ireland in 1891; back to England in 1898; and off to South Africa in 1899, where it gained the honours "South Africa, 1899-1902" and "Paardeberg".
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the Sherwood Foresters (Derbyshire Regiment) (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment was based on Regimental District No. 45 - Derby. The 1st battalion returned from India in March 1878, and in 1885 was at Athlone; in 1895 at Dublin. The 2nd battalion embarked for Gibraltar in 1881, was sent on to Egypt in 1882 (gaining the honour "Egypt, 1882"), and in the same year on to India, being stationed at Lucknow by 1885. The battalion took part in the Sikkim Expedition of 1888 and the North-West Frontier Campaign of 1897-1898, returning to Aden in 1898. The regiment gained the honour "South Africa, 1899-1902".
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the Devonshire Regiment (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment was based on Regimental District No. 11 - Exeter. The 1st battalion returned from India 13 April 1877, and was at Newry in 1885; it embarked for Egypt 29 January 1891, and was sent on to India, being stationed at Nowshera by 1895. The 2nd battalion embarked for India 8 January 1877, took part in the Afghan war of 1879 to 1880, and was at Jullunder in 1885; in 1890 it was moved to Burma, and returned from there to England 14 April 1893. In 1899 the 2nd battalion was moved to South Africa, and took part in the battles of Colenso, Spion Kop, Vaal Krantz, Pieter's Hill, the relief of Ladysmith, Elandslaagte, Botha's Pass, Alleman's Nek and the operations in the Transvaal and Orange River Colony. The honours "Afghanistan, 1879-1880", "Tirah", "South Africa, 1899-1902", "Defence of Ladysmith" and "Relief of Ladysmith" were added to the regimental colours.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the Dorsetshire Regiment (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment was based on the 39th Regimental District - Dorchester. The 1st battalion returned from Bengal in 1882; it was briefly sent out to Malta (September to October 1882), and in 1885 was at Chatham. In 1885 the battalion was sent to Malta, and on to Egypt, returning to England the next year. It embarked again for Malta 8 February 1888, was sent on to Egypt in 1889, and on to India in 1893, and in 1895 was in Madras. It took part in the North West Frontier campaign. The 2nd battalion had been in India from 1871, and in 1885 was stationed at Peshawar; it returned to England via Aden 24 December 1886. The troops were sent out to Ireland in 1893; in 1895 the battalion was at Belfast; but in 1897 it embarked for Malta, and in 1899 was transferred from there to South Africa, where it added "South Africa, 1899-1902" and "Relief of Ladysmith" to the regimental honours.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the Durham Light Infantry (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment was based on the 68th Regimental District - Sunderland. The 1st battalion embarked for India 10 February 1872 and in 1885 was at Allahabad; it returned from India 13 April 1887, and in 1893 was sent out to Ireland, and in 1895 was at Buttevant. Having come back to England in 1898, the first battalion was sent to South Africa in 1899, taking part in the Relief of Ladysmith, and the battles of Tugela Heights and Laing's Nek, adding "South Africa, 1899-1902" and "Relief of Ladysmith" to the regimental honours. The 2nd battalion embarked for Gibraltar in 1882; 14 February 1885 went to Egypt; and in 1887 was sent to India. In 1895 the battalion was stationed at Mhow.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the East Kent Regiment (The Buffs) (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment was based on the 3rd Regimental District - Canterbury. The first battalion returned from Bengal in 1879, and were stationed at Buttevant in 1885; 29 January of that year the men embarked for Malta, and went on to India, and were at Jullunder in 1895, and took part in the Chitral Relief Force, adding "Chitral" to the colours. The 2nd battalion embarked for Cape of Good Hope 3 October 1876, and in 1882 they arrived at Hong Kong from Singapore; in 1885 they were moved to Egypt (Frontier Field Force). The battalion returned from Egypt to England 29 April 1886, were sent to Ireland in 1892, and in 1895 were at Athlone. After a brief return to England in 1898, the second battalion was sent in 1899 to South Africa, taking part in the Boer war of 1899 to 1902, with the actions at Klip Kraal, Paardeberg, Kitchener's Kopje, Poplar Grove, Dreifontein, Bloemfontein, Bakenlaagte, &c., adding "South Africa, 1900-1902", "Relief of Kimberley" and "Paardeberg" to the regimental honours.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the East Lancashire Regiment (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment was based on the 30th Regimental District - Burnley. The 1st battalion embarked for Bengal in 1880, and in 1885 was stationed at Meean Meer; by 1895 it was at Lucknow, and took part in the Chitral Relief Force of that year. This added "Chitral" to the regimental honours. The battalion returned to England in 1900, but was almost immediately sent to South Africa, earning the distinction of "South Africa, 1900-02". The 2nd battalion returned from Ceylon and India in 1881 (having served in Afghanistan in 1878 to 1880, adding "Ahmad Khel" and "Afghanistan, 1878-80" to the colours), and in 1885 was stationed at Dover. In that year the battalion was moved to Ireland, from which it embarked for Gibraltar 21 January 1893. Returning to England briefly, the troops were sent off to India in 1897, and in 1906 were at Poona.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the Essex Regiment (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment was based on the 44th Regimental District - Warley. The 1st battalion returned from India 28 November 1884, and in 1885 was stationed at Colchester, and in 1895 at Fermoy. The 2nd battalion embarked for Gibraltar in 1882, was in Egypt by 1884, adding "Nile, 1884-85" to the regimental honours. The battalion was moved to Malta in 1887; on to Cyprus in 1889; and thence to India in 1892, and was stationed at Lucknow by 1895. The battalion was then transferred to South Africa, where it gained the honours "South Africa, 1899-1902", "Relief of Kimberley" and "Paardeberg" for the regiment.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the East Surrey Regiment (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment was based on the 31st Regimental District - Kingston-on-Thames. The 1st battalion, which had returned to England from Gibraltar in 1883 embarked for India (via Gibraltar) 22 December 1884, adding "Suakin, 1885" to the regimental honours, and in 1895 was stationed at Agra. The 2nd battalion embarked for Egypt 3 October 1884, taking part in the campaign of 1885; it returned to England later that year, was moved to Guernsey in 1888; to Ireland in 1891; to Malta in 1893; and to England in 1895. In 1899 it was sent out to South Africa, being present at Colenso, Spion Kop, Vaal Krantz, Pieter's Hill, the Relief of Ladysmith, and Alleman's Nek, and adding "South Africa, 1899-1902" and "Relief of Ladysmith" to the colours.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the East Yorkshire Regiment (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment was based on the 15th Regiment District - Beverley. The 1st battalion returned from Bermuda 28 December 1870, and by the beginning of 1885 was stationed at Sheffield; it embarked for Gibraltar 17 March 1885, and in 1886 went on to the West Indies; in 1888 to South Africa; in 1893 to Egypt; and in 1895 to India. The 2nd battalion embarked for India 2 February 1875 and by 1885 was stationed at Bombay. It took part in the Afghan War of 1879 to 1880, adding "Afghanistan, 1879-1880" to the regimental honours. 2 December 1888 the battalion returned to England (via Aden); in November 1894 it was moved to Ireland, and in 1895 was at Birr. In January 1900 the troops were moved to South Africa, where they added "South Africa, 1900-1902" to the colours.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the Gloucestershire Regiment (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment was based on the 28th Regimental District - Bristol. The 1st battalion returned from the Straits Settlement to Ireland in 1879, was moved to England in 1882, and in 1885 was stationed at York; it was transferred back to Ireland in 1888, and next embarked for Malta 1 November 1893, and from there to India in 1897. Having been moved to South Africa in 1899, it took part in the South African war 1899 to 1900, before being transferred in 1900 to Ceylon. The 2nd battalion embarked for Malta in February 1878, and from their sailed for India in 1880; by 1885 it was stationed at Poona; it returned to England (via Aden) 28 November 1894, and in 1895 was stationed at Devonport. The 2nd battalion was also sent to South Africa in 1900, and added "South Africa, 1899-1902", "Defence of Ladysmith", "Relief of Kimberley" and "Paardeberg" to the regimental honours.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the Gordon Highlanders (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment was based on the 75th Regimental District - Aberdeen. The 1st battalion was moved from Malta to Egypt in 1882, and added "Egypt, 1882, 1884", "Tel-el-Kebir" and "Nile 1884-1885" to the regimental honours. It was moved to Malta in 1885; on to Ceylon in 1888; and from there to India in 1891, being stationed at Rawul Pindee by 1895. It took part in the Chitral Relief Force of 1895, and the North West Frontier campaign of 1897 to 1898, adding "Chitral" and "Tirah" to the honours. The battalion returned to Scotland in 1898, but was sent out for the South African war in 1899. The 2nd battalion was moved from India to South Africa in 1881, taking part in the Boer war, returned home in 1882, and by 1885 was stationed at Devonport. It was sent to the Channel Islands in 1885; to Ireland in 1887; and back to Scotland in 1891, and by 1895 was stationed at Glasgow. It was moved to England in 1896; to India in 1898; and to South Africa in 1899. The two battalions added "South Africa, 1899-1902", "Paardeberg" and "Defence of Ladysmith" to the colours.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the Grenadier Guards (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The 1st battalion returned from Canada in 1864, and by 1885 was based at Dublin, and in 1895 was at Wellington barracks. The 2nd battalion returned from Egypt in 1882, and in 1885 was at the Tower of London. After another period of service abroad, it returned from Bermuda in 1891, and in 1895 was at Chelsea barracks. The 3rd battalion served in Egypt and the Soudan, adding "Egypt, 1882", "Tel-el-Kebir" and "Suakin, 1885" to the regimental honours; it returned from Egypt 10 September 1885, and was stationed at Windsor, and by 1895 at the Tower of London.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the Hampshire Regiment (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment was based on the 37th Regimental District - Winchester. The 1st battalion returned from India 5 April 1875, set off again for India in 1884 and by 1885 was stationed on Malta and in 1895 is found at Ranikhot in Bengal. The 2nd battalion embarked for India 1 November 1872 and in 1885 was at Cannanore in Madras. Moving to Burmah in that year, the battalion took part in the surrender of Mandalay ("Burmah, 1885-1887"); it returned to India in 1887, and from India to England 7 February 1888. In 1894 it was transferred to Ireland, and by 1895 was stationed at the Curragh. In 1900 the troops were sent to South Africa, and fought at Paardeberg, the occupation of Bloemfontein, the advance on and the occupation of Johannesburg and Pretoria ("South Africa, 1900-1902", "Paardeberg").
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the Highland Light Infantry (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment was based on the 71st Regimental District - Hamilton. The 1st battalion returned from Gibraltar in 1880, and in 1885 was stationed at Dublin. It embarked for Malta 9 February 1895, and thence to South Africa ("South Africa, 1899-1902" and "Modder River"). The 2nd battalion left for Egypt in 1882, and there added "Egypt, 1882" and "Tel-el-Kebir" to the regimental honours. Having briefly returned to England, the battalion embarked for India 1 October 1884, and in 1885 was at Dugshai in Bengal, in 1895 at Fyzabad. It took part in the North West Frontier campaign of 1897 to 1898, and in 1899 moved on to Ceylon, returning to England in 1900.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the King's Own (Scottish) Borderers (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment was based on the 25th Regimental District - Berwick-on-Tweed. The 1st battalion embarked for India 13 October 1875, and was stationed at Meerut by 1885. It returned from India 6 February 1891, and in 1895 was at York. The 2nd battalion returned from Aden to England 27 March 1876: in 1879 it was moved to Ireland and by 1885 was stationed at Dublin. After a brief stay on Gibraltar in 1886, the battalion returned to England. 19 July 1888 the battalion embarked for Egypt, and from there was sent into the Soudan, fighting at Gemaizah; it was moved back into Egypt in 1889, and in 1890 set sail for India, where in took part in the Chitral Relief Force and the North West Frontier campaign, adding "Chitral" and "Tirah" to the colours. In 1895 the troops were at Rawul Pindee. The regiment took part in the South African war, gaining the distinctions "South Africa, 1900-1902" and "Paardeberg".
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the King's Royal Rifles (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The rifle depot was at Gosport. The corps had four line battalions. The 1st battalion returned from Halifax, Nova Scotia, 2 January 1877, and was based at Limerick; it embarked for India 25 November 1890, and was stationed at Peshawar. The 2nd battalion returned from Bengal in 1882, and by 1885 was at Devonport; it embarked for Gibraltar 1 December 1891, and in 1895 was on Malta. The 3rd battalion embarked for Natal 19 February 1879, and in 1885 was on Cyprus; it returned from Gibraltar to England in December 1891, and in 1895 was at Shorncliffe. The 4th battalion embarked for India 2 November 1876, and in 1885 was at Ferozepore; it returned from India 4 December 1892, and in 1895 was at Dover. During the period of these records the corps fought in the Boer war (1881), the Egyptian war (1882) ("Egypt, 1882", "Tel-el-Kebir"), the Soudan campaign (1884: El Teb and Temai) ("Egypt, 1884"), the Hazara, Miranzai and Burmese expeditions (1890-1891), the Chitral relief force (1895) ("Chitral"), and the South African war (1899-1902: Talana, Rietfontein, Lombard's Kop, defence and relief of Ladysmith, Colenso, Spion Kop, Vaal Krantz, Pieter's Hill, Laing's Nek, Belfast and Lydenburg) ("South Africa, 1900-1902", "Defence of Ladysmith", "Relief of Ladysmith").
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the Lancashire Fusiliers (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment was based on the 20th Regimental District - Bury. The 1st battalion returned from Malta to Ireland in January 1881, and by 1885 was serving at Fermoy; in September of that year it was moved to England; in February 1889 to Scotland; in April 1891 to Ireland and in 1895 was stationed at the Curragh. Returning to England in 1897, it was dispatched to Crete in 1901, and from there to Malta. The 2nd battalion embarked from Ireland for Bombay in 1881, and in 1885 was at Mhow, and in 1895 at Quetta. It was transferred to the Soudan in 1898, taking part in the battle of Khartoum (gaining the regimental honour "Khartoum"), before being transferred to Crete and Malta. In 1899 the 2nd battalion was moved to South Africa, where it added "South Africa, 1899-1902" and "Relief of Kimberley" to the colours.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the Leicestershire Regiment (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment was based on the 17th Regimental District - Leicester. The 1st battalion returned from Bengal in 1882, and in 1885 was at Aldershot. It embarked for Bermuda 16 September 1888, was sent on to Halifax, Nova Scotia, and in 1893 to the West Indies. In 1895 the battalion was moved to South Africa, taking part in the Boer war of 1899 to 1902, fighting at Talana, Lombard's Kop, the defence of Ladysmith, Amesfoort, Ermelo, Geluk Farm, Bergendal and Badfontein; mentioned in despatches at Lyndenburg, operations in the Eastern Transvaal, Swaziland border, South Eastern Transvaal, and Slangapies ("South Africa, 1900-1902", "Defence of Ladysmith"). The 2nd battalion embarked for India 5 October 1876, and in 1885 was at Jubbulpore; it returned from India via Burmah (1888-1889) and Aden 1 December 1890, and in 1895 was at Aldershot. The battalion was moved to Ireland in 1896, and from there to Egypt in 1900.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the Prince of Wales' Leinster Regiment (Royal Canadians) (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment was based on the 100th Regimental District - Birr. The 1st battalion embarked for India 7 October 1877, and by 1885 was stationed at Fyzabad. It returned from India 13 December 1894 and in 1895 was at Tipperary. A detachment was dispatched to Ashanti. In 1898 it was moved to Halifax, Nova Scotia, and in 1900 to South Africa, where it added "South Africa, 1900-1902" to the regimental honours. The 2nd battalion returned from India in December 1877, and in 1885 was at Birr. It embarked for Malta 9 November 1894, was moved from there to Bermuda in 1895; to Halifax, Nova Scotia, in 1897; to Jamaica in 1898; to Barbados in 1898; and to South Africa in 1901, where it helped gain the South African honours, and was still based at Middelburg in the Transvaal in 1906.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the Lincolnshire Regiment (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment was based on the 10th Regimental District - Lincoln. The 1st battalion returned from Singapore 27 April 1877 and was at the Curragh by 1885. It embarked for Malta 31 January 1895. The 2nd battalion embarked for Malta in 1878, moved on to Gibraltar in 1881, and to India in 1882; and by 1885 was at Morar in Bengal. Later in the year the battalion was transferred to Burma, returning to India in 1886; and in 1892 to the Straits Settlements. The 2nd battalion returned to England in 1895 and was sent out to South Africa in 1900, gaining the honours "South Africa, 1900-1902" and "Paardeberg".
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the King's (Liverpool Regiment) (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment was based on the 8th Regimental District - Warrington. The 1st battalion returned from Aden to England in September 1879, moved to Ireland in 1882, and in 1885 was stationed at the Curragh. Having moved back to England in 1889, 11 February 1891 it embarked for Bermuda, and in 1893 went from there to Halifax, Nova Scotia. In 1895 the battalion was transferred to the West Indies, and in 1897 to the Cape of Good Hope, taking part in the South African war and gaining the honours "South Africa, 1899-1902" and "Defence of Ladysmith". The 2nd battalion embarked for India in September 1877, took part in the Afghan war of 1878 to 1880 (gaining the honours "Peiwar Kotal" and "Afghanistan, 1878-1880"), and by 1885 was stationed at Ranikhot; serving in Burmah for a period ("Burmah, 1885-1887"). The battalion returned from India via Aden 13 November 1892, and in 1895 was at Colchester. In 1897 the 2nd battalion was moved to Ireland.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the Manchester Regiment (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment was based on the 63rd Regimental District - Ashton-under-Lyne. The 1st battalion was in Bengal until 1882, when it was transferred to Egypt, adding "Egypt, 1882" to the regimental honours. It returned to England at the end of 1882, and in 1885 was at Shorncliffe; was moved to Ireland in 1888; back to England in 1894; and in 1895 was stationed at Preston. In 1897 the battalion set sail for Gibraltar, and in 1899 was sent on to South Africa, winning the distinctions "South Africa, 1899-1902" and "Defence of Ladysmith". The 2nd battalion embarked for Malta in 1881, was moved from there to Egypt in 1882, joining the 1st battalion in the Egyptian campaign; and from there in October 1882 to India: in 1885 it was stationed at Mooltan, and by 1895 at Dinapore. The 2nd battalion took part in the Miranzai expedition of 1891. It was transferred to Aden in 1897, and back to England in 1898, being moved the following year to Ireland, and then in 1900 to South Africa, also taking part in the Boer war of 1900 to 1902.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the British Army Medical Staff Corps (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the corps were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the Duke of Cambridge's Own (Middlesex Regiment) (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment was based on the 57th Regimental District - Hounslow. The 1st battalion returned from Zululand to Ireland in October 1879; was moved to the Channel Islands in 1882, and back to England in 1884 and in 1885 was stationed at Dover. The battalion was sent back to Ireland in 1888, and from there to Gibraltar in 1892. It returned from Gibraltar to England 1 March 1895, and was based at Aldershot. In 1896 it was sent out to South Africa, and in 1898 on to India. The 2nd battalion embarked for Bengal in 1880, and by 1885 was serving at Secunderabad, and by 1895 was at Ahmednugger. The battalion returned to England in 1898, and was then sent out in 1899 to South Africa, where it added "South Africa, 1900" and "Relief of Ladysmith" to the regimental honours.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the Royal Munster Fusiliers (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment was based on the 101st Regimental District - Tralee. The 1st battalion returned from Nova Scotia in 1883, and by 1885 was stationed at Pembroke Dock; it was moved to Ireland in 1891, and in 1895 it was at the Curragh. The 1st battalion was sent to South Africa in 1899, gaining the honour "South Africa, 1899-1902". The 2nd battalion embarked for Malta in 1882, and went on to India: it was stationed at Kamptee in Madras in 1885. By 1895 it was at Cawnpore in Bengal, having served in Burmah and added "Burmah, 1885-1887" to the colours.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the Loyal North Lancashire Regiment (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment was based on the 47th Regimental District - Preston. The 1st battalion embarked from England for Gibraltar in 1882, went on to India in 1884, and was stationed at Quetta by 1885. In 1895 it was at Poona. In 1896 the battalion was moved to Ceylon, and in 1899 to South Africa, where it added "South Africa, 1899-1902" and "Defence of Kimberley" to the regimental honours. The 2nd battalion returned from India via Gibraltar in 1883; in 1885 was based at Portsmouth; served on Jersey from 1887 to 1890; was transferred to Ireland, and by 1895 was at Mullingar. In 1896 the battalion was moved back to England, and in 1899 embarked for Malta, moving from there to Crete in 1901.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the Norfolk Regiment (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment was based on the 9th Regimental District - Yarmouth, and then Norwich. The 1st battalion returned from the Cape of Good Hope in August 1870, and in 1885 was stationed at Gosport. It embarked for Gibraltar in 1887, and thence to India. By 1895 the battalion was serving at Umballa. The 2nd battalion embarked for India 23 October 1874 and in 1885 was at Morar in Bengal; it was moved to Burmah in 1888, from which it returned to England in 1890. In 1895 the 2nd battalion was stationed at Aldershot. In 1897 it was moved to Ireland, and from there to South Africa in 1900, adding "South Africa, 1900-1902" and "Paardeberg" to the regimental honours.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the Northamptonshire Regiment (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment was based on the 48th Regimental District - Northampton. The 1st battalion returned from India to Ireland in 1880; was moved to England in 1885, and was based at Preston. It embarked for India 5 October 1892 and by 1895 was serving at Bangalore. The battalion fought in the North West Frontier campaign of 1897 to 1898. The 2nd battalion embarked for Natal 24 February 1879, and was based at the Cape of Good Hope by 1885. It took part in the Zulu and Boer wars, adding "South Africa, 1879" to the regimental honours. From there the battalion was sent to Hong Kong in 1885, and on to Singapore in 1888. It returned from Singapore to England 26 December 1892, and in 1895 was at Colchester. After having been on the Channel Islands from 1895 to 1897, the battalion was sent out from England to South Africa in 1899, gaining the honours "South Africa, 1899-1902" and "Modder River".
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the Northumberland Fusiliers (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment was based on the 5th Regimental District - Newcastle-on-Tyne. The 1st battalion returned from Bengal in 1880, and in 1885 was stationed at Dublin. In 1895 it was at Aldershot. The 2nd battalion embarked for Bengal in 1880, and by 1885 was at Chuckrata, and was moved on to Singapore by 1895. The regiment added "Khartoum", "South Africa, 1899-1902" and "Modder River" to its honours during this period.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the Prince of Wales' (North Staffordshire Regiment) (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment was based on the 64th Regimental District - Lichfield. The 1st battalion was transferred from the Channel Islands to Ireland in 1879; and from Ireland to England in 1883. In 1884 it embarked for the West Indies; in 1886 was sent from there to South Africa; in 1891 from South Africa to Mauritius; and in 1892 from Mauritius to Malta. In 1895 the battalion was moved to Egypt, taking part in the Dongola Expeditionary Force of 1896; and in 1897 to India. The 2nd battalion was serving in India in 1881, based at Quetta by 1885, and returned to England via Aden 30 March 1888. Having been moved to Ireland in 1893, it was sent to South Africa in 1900, and added "South Africa, 1900-1902" to the regimental honours.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the Oxfordshire Light Infantry (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment was based on the 43rd Regimental District - Oxford. The 1st battalion embarked for India 28 September 1872, moved to Burmah 1879 to 1882, and was stationed at Bangalore by 1885. It returned from India in 1887, was moved to Ireland in 1892, and by 1895 was based at Dublin. In 1899 the battalion was sent out to South Africa, adding "South Africa, 1900-1902", "Relief of Kimberley" and "Paardeberg" to the regimental honours. The 2nd battalion was sent out from England to Gibraltar in 1884, and on to Egypt in 1885, and from there to India in 1886, taking part in the North West Frontier campaign of 1897 to 1898. In 1895 it was based at Bareilly.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the Rifle Brigade (The Prince Consort's Own) (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the brigade were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The rifle depot was at Winchester. There were four line battalions. The 1st battalion embarked for Bombay in 1880, and by 1885 was based at Belgaum. From 1885 to 1888 it served in Burma (adding "Burma, 1885-1887" to the regimental honours), returning to India before being sent (in 1894) to Hong Kong. In 1896 the 1st battalion was moved to Singapore, returning to England in 1898, and then being sent to South Africa ("South Africa, 1899-1902", "Defence of Ladysmith", "Relief of Ladysmith"). The 2nd battalion returned from Gibraltar to Ireland in 1880, moved to England in 1885 and was stationed at Aldershot; having served again in Ireland 1890 to 1895, it was sent from England to Malta in 1897, and to Crete and Egypt in 1898, taking part in the Soudan campaign ("Khartoum"). It was transferred to South Africa in 1899. The 3rd battalion was sent from Ireland to England in 1882, and in 1885 was at Aldershot; at the end of that year it was moved to Gibraltar; back to England in 1886; and embarked for Egypt 19 October 1887; went on to South Africa in 1888; and thence to India in 1889. In 1895 the 3rd battalion was serving at Rawal Pindee. The 4th battalion embarked for India 20 October 1873, and by 1885 was at Jhansi in Bengal; it was sent to Burma ("Burma, 1885-1887"), returned to England 27 January 1890, and in 1895 was at Aldershot. In 1896 the 4th battalion moved to Ireland, and in 1900 was sent to South Africa.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the Royal Artillery (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of Princess Charlotte of Wales' (Royal Berkshire Regiment) (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment was based on the 49th Regimental District - Reading. The 1st battalion embarked for Gibraltar in 1882, and was sent on (via Malta) to Egypt, fighting in Egypt and the Soudan through to 1886 ("Egypt, 1882", "Suakin" and "Tofrek"). In 1886 the battalion was moved to Cyprus and Malta; in 1893 to Bermuda; in 1895 to Halifax, Nova Scotia; in 1897 to the West Indies; and back to England in 1898. The battalion was sent back to Gibraltar in 1900. The 2nd battalion returned from Bengal in 1881, and in 1885 was at Chatham. Having served in Ireland 1885 to 1892, this battalion returned to England, and was at Devonport in 1895. In 1898 it was sent out to South Africa, taking part in operations in Cape Colony, south of Orange River; Colesberg; operations in Orange Free State; operations in Orange River Colony; operations in the Transvaal, east and west of Pretoria, Zilikat's Nek, and adding "South Africa, 1899-1902" to the regimental honours.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the Royal Dublin Fusiliers (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment was based on the 102nd Regimental District - Naas. The 1st battalion embarked for Gibraltar 15 April 1876, and in 1879 was sent on to Ceylon; it returned to Ireland in March 1886, was moved to England in 1893, and by 1895 was stationed at Sheffield. The battalion was sent out to South Africa in 1899 and added "South Africa, 1899-1902" and "Relief of Ladysmith" to the regimental honours. The 2nd battalion embarked for Gibraltar in 1884, went on to Egypt in 1885, and was moved on to India in 1886. It was based at Quetta by 1895. The 2nd battalion was moved to South Africa in 1897.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the Royal Engineers (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the Royal Fusiliers (City of London Regiment) (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment was based on the 7th Regimental District - Hounslow. The 1st battalion embarked for Gibraltar in 1885, and went on to India: it was based at Kurrachee by 1895. The 2nd battalion embarked for India 1 October 1873, and in 1885 was at Cannanore in Madras; it returned from India to England 29 March 1889, was moved to Ireland from Guernsey in 1895, and sent on to South Africa in 1899, where it added "South Africa, 1899-1902" and "Relief of Ladysmith" to the regimental honours.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the Black Watch (Royal Highlanders) (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment was based on the 42nd Regimental District - Perth. The 1st battalion embarked for Egypt in 1882, and fought in Egypt and the Soudan, including the battles of Tel-el-Kebir and Kirbekan, adding "Egypt, 1882, 1884", "Tel-el-Kebir", "Nile, 1884-1885" and "Kirbekan" to the regimental honours. In 1886 the 1st battalion was transferred to Malta; 1889 to Gibraltar; and January 1893 back to Egypt. The headquarters and half the battalion were sent to Mauritius, the other half to Cape Town, in 1893; then the whole battalion was transferred to India in 1896. The 2nd battalion returned from Hong Kong in 1881, and in 1885 was based at Aldershot; in 1895 it was at Edinburgh. In the South African war the regiment added "South Africa, 1899-1902" and "Paardeberg" to its honours.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the Royal Horse Guards (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment was based at Windsor: during this period it added "Egypt, 1882", "Tel-el-Kebir", "South Africa, 1899-1900", "Relief of Kimberley" and "Paardeberg" to its honours.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the Royal Inniskilling Fusiliers (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment was based on the 27th Regimental District - Omagh. The 1st battalion embarked for Malta 17 November 1876 and by 1885 was serving in the Straits Settlements; it returned from South Africa 21 January 1889. The 2nd battalion returned from India in December 1876; in 1885 was at Belfast; 12 December 1888 embarked for India again. The regiment added "South Africa, 1899-1902" and "Relief of Ladysmith" to its honours.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the Royal Irish Regiment (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment was based on the 18th Regimental District - Clonmel. The 1st battalion embarked for Malta in January 1872: by 1881 it was in Bengal, and was in 1884 transferred to Egypt, taking part in the Nile Expedition and adding "Egypt, 1882", "Tel-el-Kebir" and "Nile, 1884-1885" to the regimental honours, returning 9 September 1885. The battalion moved from England to Ireland in 1891 and was based at Limerick by 1895. In 1899 it was sent out to South Africa, fighting at Belfast, Lyndenburg, Bethlehem, Wittebergen and Colesberg, and adding "South Africa, 1900-1902" to the regimental honours. The 2nd battalion embarked for Malta in 1884, continuing to India, where it took part in the Hazara Expedition of 1888. In 1895 it was based at Jubbulpure.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of Princess Victoria's (Royal Irish Fusiliers) (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment was based on the 87th Regimental District - Armagh. The 1st battalion embarked for Bengal in 1883, and by 1885 was established at Rawul Pindee; by 1895 it was at Allahabad. In 1898 the battalion was moved to Egypt, and in 1899 to South Africa, adding "South Africa, 1899-1902" and "Relief of Ladysmith" to the regimental honours. The 2nd battalion returned from Egypt 21 April 1884, with the distinctions "Egypt, 1882" and "Tel-el-Kebir"; in 1885 it was based at Portsmouth, and in 1895 at Kilkenny.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the Royal Irish Rifles (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment was based on the 83rd Regimental District - Belfast. The 1st battalion returned to England from South Africa in 1882, and was stationed on Guernsey by 1885. Having served in Ireland 1887 to 1894, in 1895 it was at Brighton. In 1897 the battalion was sent to South Africa, and in 1898 on to India. The 2nd battalion embarked for Bermuda in 1880, and moved to Halifax, Nova Scotia, in 1883; in 1886 to Gibraltar, in 1887 on to Egypt; in 1891 to Malta; and in 1894 to India. In 1895 we find the battalion at Bombay; but in 1899 it was transferred to South Africa, where it added "South Africa, 1899-1902" to the regimental honours.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the King's Own (Royal Lancaster Regiment) (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment was based on the 4th Regimental District - Lancaster. The 1st battalion returned from Gibraltar and the West Indies in 1881, and in 1885 was at Aldershot, and in 1895 at Portsmouth. The 2nd battalion embarked for the Cape of Good Hope in 1878, adding "South Africa, 1879" to the regimental honours, and in 1880 was sent on to India, where it was established at Poona by 1885. In 1895 it was at Nusseerabad, Bombay. Having returned to England in 1896, the 2nd battalion was dispatched to South Africa in 1899, where it added "South Africa, 1899-1902" and "Relief of Ladysmith" to the colours.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the Royal Scots (Lothian Regiment) (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment was based on the 1st Regimental District - Glencorse. The 1st battalion embarked for Malta 26 January 1878, half the battalion being sent instead to the West Indies, where the halves rejoined in 1882. In 1884 the battalion was sent to the Cape of Good Hope; it returned from South Africa 30 August 1891, and in 1895 was at Chatham. In 1896 it was moved to Scotland, and in 1899 embarked for South Africa, adding "South Africa, 1899-1902" to the regimental honours. The 2nd battalion returned from Bombay in 1880, was moved from England to Scotland in 1884, and in 1885 was stationed at Edinburgh; having returned to England in 1897, it embarked for Malta 11 December 1890, and went on in 1892 to India. By 1895 the 2nd battalion was at Belgaum in Madras
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the Royal Scots Fusiliers (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment was based on the 21st Regimental District - Ayr. The 1st battalion returned from Bombay in 1881, and in 1885 was based at Aldershot. It was sent to Ireland in 1886; to Scotland in 1891; and back to England in 1893, returning to Aldershot. In 1896 the 1st battalion was dispatched to India, where it took part in the North West Frontier campaign. The 2nd battalion embarked for Natal 22 February 1879, took part in the Zulu war ("South Africa, 1879"), and in 1882 was sent on to India. The 2nd battalion was moved in 1884 to Burma, and in the Burmese Expedition of 1886 to 1887 added "Burma, 1885-1887" to the regimental honours. Returning to India, the battalion joined in the Hazara Expedition of 1888, and returned to England in 1896. The 2nd battalion was sent to South Africa in 1899, gaining the distinctions "South Africa, 1899-1902" and "Relief of Ladysmith".
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the Royal Sussex Regiment (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment was based on the 35th Regimental District - Chichester. The 1st battalion moved from Cyprus to Egypt in 1882, moving into the Soudan in 1884, and fighting at Abu Klea - adding "Egypt, 1882", "Nile, 1884-5" and "Abu Klea" to the regimental honours. The battalion returned to England in 1885, and was transferred to Ireland in 1891 (was at Fermoy in 1895) and back to England in 1896. The battalion was sent out to Malta in 1899, and on to South Africa in 1900, adding "South Africa, 1900-1902" to the colours. The 2nd battalion embarked for Malta in 1882, and went on to Egypt and India in 1885, where it was established at Dum Dum by 1895. It took part in the Hazara Expedition of 1888 and the North West Frontier Campaign 1897 to 1898.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the Royal Warwickshire Regiment (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment was based on the 6th Regimental District - Warwick. The 1st battalion returned from Bengal in 1880, and in 1885 was based at Plymouth, and in 1895 at Chatham. The 2nd battalion embarked for Bengal in 1878, and by 1885 was established at Fort William; it was moved to Ceylon in 1892, returning to England in 1896. The battalion was sent out to South Africa in 1899, gained the honour "South Africa, 1899-1900", and was moved to Bermuda in 1901.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the Royal Welsh Fusiliers (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment was based on the 23rd Regimental District - Wrexham. The 1st battalion embarked for Bengal in 1880, and by 1885 was stationed at Dum Dum; it was transferred to Burma for the campaign of 1885 to 1886 ("Burma, 1885-1887"), returning to India in 1887. The battalion took part in the Hazara Expedition of 1891. In 1895 it was at Jhansi. The troops returned to England via Aden in 1897, but were dispatched to South Africa in 1899, where they added "South Africa, 1899-1900" and "Relief of Ladysmith" to the regimental honours. The 2nd battalion returned to England from Gibraltar in 1880, was transferred to Ireland in 1883, and was at Templemore in 1885. The battalion returned to England in 1892, and was at Manchester in 1895. In 1896 the 2nd battalion was sent out to Malta, where it took part in the occupation of Crete; and on to Hong Kong in 1898, fighting in China and adding "Pekin, 1900" to the colours.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the Queen's Own (Royal West Kent Regiment) (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment was based on the 50th Regimental District - Maidstone. The 1st battalion embarked for Egypt in 1882, adding "Egypt, 1882" and "Nile, 1884-5" to the regimental honours; and moved on to India, where it was established at Meerut by 1895. The 2nd battalion returned from Jamaica to Irelandin 1882, and by 1885 was stationed at the Curragh. The battalion moved to England in that year, and back to Ireland in 1892, and in 1895 was at Enniskillen. In 1898 the troops were moved back to England and then off to Egypt (1899) and South Africa (1900), gaining the honour "South Africa, 1900-02".
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the Royal West Surrey Regiment (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment was based on the 2nd Regimental District - Guildford. The 1st battalion returned from Bombay in 1879, and by 1885 was established at Tralee. It embarked for Malta 24 December 1891, and moved on to India, where it was stationed at Umballa in Bengal by 1895. The 2nd battalion embarked for Malta 26 July 1877, going on to India in 1878, and in 1885 was at Cawnpore. The battalion was moved into Upper Burmah in 1886 ("Burma, 1885-1887" and "Tirah"), back to India in 1888, returning to England in 1894. In 1899 the 2nd battalion was sent to South Africa, adding "South Africa, 1899-1902" and "Relief of Ladysmith" to the colours.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the British Army School of Musketry (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the school were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the Scots Guards (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The 1st battalion returned from Egypt in 1882 and by 1885 was at Chelsea barracks; moving to Windsor by 1895. The 2nd battalion returned from Egypt 10 September 1885, the regiment having added "Egypt, 1882", "Tel-el-Kebir" and "Suakin, 1885" (in the Soudan) to the colours. In the South African war "South Africa, 1899-1902" and "Modder River" were added.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the Cameronians (Scottish Rifles) (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment was based on the 26th Regimental District - Hamilton. The 1st battalion returned to England from Malta in 1881, transferred to Scotland in 1884 and in 1885 was based at Glasgow. The battalion moved to Ireland in 1886; and back to England in 1891. It embarked for India 1 December 1894, being stationed first at Bareilly in Bengal. The 2nd battalion embarked for the Cape of Good Hope in January 1878, and gained the honour "South Africa, 1877-8-9" for the regiment. It was moved on to India, and in 1885 was at Cawnpore. It returned to England 13 February 1895, and served at Parkhurst. The regiment fought in the South African war and gained the honours "South Africa, 1899-1902" and "Relief of Ladysmith".
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the Seaforth Highlanders (Ross-shire Buffs, The Duke of Albany's) (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment was based on the 72nd Regimental District - Fort George. The 1st battalion moved from India to Aden 25 February 1882, and arrived in Egypt 2 August 1882, taking part in the Egyptian war, and adding "Egypt, 1882" and "Tel-el-Kebir" to the regimental honours. It returned to England 15 October 1882, and was stationed at Parkhurst. In 1886 it was transferred to Scotland; in 1889 to Ireland (based at Tipperary); in 1895 back to England, and in 1897 was sent off to Malta to take part in the occupation of Crete. From there it was transferred to Egypt for the Soudan campaign of 1898 ("Khartoum" and "Atbara"). The 2nd battalion embarked for Bombay in 1879, and by 1885 was based at Lucknow; and by 1895 at Ferozepore. It took part in the Hazara Relief Force of 1891 and the Chitral Relief Force of 1895 ("Chitral"). Having returned to England in 1897, the battalion was sent to South Africa in 1899, where it gained the honours "South Africa, 1899-1902" and "Paardeberg".
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of The King's (Shropshire Light Infantry) (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment was based on the 53rd Regimental District - Shrewsbury. The 1st battalion embarked for Egypt in 1882, took part in the Egyptian war ("Egypt, 1882"), and by 1885 was stationed on Malta; returning to Egypt in that year, it took part in the Soudan expedition ("Suakin, 1885") and then was sent back to Malta in 1887. The battalion was sent on to Hong Kong in 1891, and transferred to India in 1894; in 1895 it was at Fort William. The 2nd battalion returned to England from Bombay in 1881, and in 1885 was at Woolwich. The battalion was sent to Ireland in 1886; back to England in 1894 (at Portland in 1895); and in 1899 off to South Africa, where it added "South Africa, 1899-1902" and "Paardeberg" to the regimental honours.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the Prince of Wales' Volunteers (South Lancashire Regiment) (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment was based on the 40th Regimental District - Warrington. The 1st battalion embarked from India for Aden in November 1884, and from Aden returned to England 3 February 1886. In 1890 it was moved to the Channel Islands, and in 1891 to Ireland. By 1895 it was based at Cork. The battalion was moved back to England in 1898 preparatory to being set out in 1899 to South Africa, where it fought at Tugela Heights, the relief of Ladysmith, and Laing's Nek, adding "South Africa, 1899-1902" and "Relief of Ladysmith" to the regimental honours. The 2nd battalion was moved from Ireland to England in 1880, and in 1884 embarked for Natal, from which it was transferred to the Straits Settlements in 1887; back to Gibraltar in 1889; to Malta in 1892; to Egypt in 1893; and off to India in 1895.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of The Prince Albert's (Somerset Light Infantry) (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment was based on the 13th Regimental District - Taunton. The 1st battalion returned from South Africa in 1879, and by 1885 was based at Enniskillen. It embarked for Gibraltar 12 November 1891, going on to India in 1893, where it was at Umballa in Bengal by 1895. The 2nd battalion embarked for India (via Malta) 27 July 1877, moving on to Burma in 1883, and in 1885 was stationed at Rangoon ("Burma, 1885-1887"); it returned to India in 1887 and to England in 1894. In 1895 it was at Devonport. The battalion was sent out to South Africa in 1899, and added "South Africa, 1899-1902" and "Relief of Ladysmith" to the regimental honours.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the South Staffordshire Regiment (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment was based on the 38th Regimental District - Lichfield. The 1st battalion embarked from Ireland for Malta in 1880, and was moved in 1882 to Egypt, where it gained the honour "Egypt, 1882". Having been withdrawn to Malta in 1883, the troops were brought back into Egypt and the Soudan, adding "Nile, 1884-5" and "Kirbekan"). They were taken back to Gibraltar in 1886, but returned to Egypt in 1891. In 1893 the battalion returned home; in 1898 it was moved to Ireland; in 1899 to Gibraltar; and in 1900 to take part in the South African war, taking part in the relief of Wepener, and the fighting at Wittebergen and in the Orange River Colony, and adding "South Africa, 1900-1902" to the colours. The 2nd battalion returned from Singapore in 1880, and in 1885 was stationed at Manchester; it embarked for Egypt 18 February 1893.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the British Army Staff Corps (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the Suffolk Regiment (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment was based on the 12th Regimental District - Bury St Edmunds. The 1st battalion embarked for India 21 September 1876 and by 1885 was based at Roorkee in Bengal. In 1888 it took part in the Hazara Expedition. It returned from India 22 March 1892, and in 1895 was at Warley. After a brief excursion to Malta, the battalion moved to South Africa in 1899, gaining the honour "South Africa, 1899-1902". The 2nd battalion returned from India in January 1878, and by 1885 was at Cork; it embarked for Egypt 18 December 1889, and from there was transferred to India. By 1895 it was established at Secunderabad.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the South Wales Borderers (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment was based on the 24th Regimental District - Brecon. The 1st battalion returned from Malta in 1879, and by 1885 was stationed at Kilkenny. It embarked for Egypt 17 December 1892. The 2nd battalion embarked for the Cape of Good Hope in February 1878, and from South Africa moved on to India, and was established at Fort St George in Madras by 1885. Joining in the Burmese campaign it won the honour "Burma, 1885-1887" for the regiment. The battalion returned to England (via Aden) 16 November 1893, and in 1895 was stationed at Gosport. The regiment took part in the South African war, adding "South Africa, 1900-1902" to the colours.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the Welsh Regiment (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment was based on the 41st Regimental District - Cardiff. The 1st battalion embarked for Gibraltar in 1880, moving on to South Africa, and was in Natal by 1885; it returned home 23 November 1893, and in 1895 was stationed at Pembroke Dock. The 2nd battalion returned from Canada in 1879, and was transferred to Ireland in 1883, where it was stationed at Mullingar. It was moved back to England in 1891, and 14 September 1892 embarked for India; by 1895 it was settled at Secunderabad. The regiment took part in the South African war, gaining the honours "South Africa, 1899-1902", "Relief of Kimberley" and "Paardeberg",
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the Duke of Edinburgh's (Wiltshire Regiment) (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment was based on the 62nd Regimental District - Devizes. The 1st battalion returned from Bengal (via Aden) in 1882, and in 1885 was at Aldershot. It was transferred to the Channel Islands in 1886; on to Ireland in 1887; and back to England in 1893. In 1895 it was back at Aldershot; but late in that year the battalion was sent to India. The 2nd battalion embarked for the Cape of Good Hope in 1878, took part in the Zulu war of 1879, and then was moved to Bermuda. In 1881 the troops returned to South Africa, and thence to India, and in 1885 were stationed at Nowshera in Bengal. The battalion was at Mandalay by 1895, and from there returned to England; to be sent out for the South African war in 1899, adding "South Africa, 1900-1902" to the regimental honours.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the Worcestershire Regiment (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment was based on the 29th Regimental District - Worcester. The 1st battalion embarked for Bombay in 1879, and by 1885 was stationed at Kurrachee. By 1895 it had moved to Rangoon, and in 1896 returned to England via Aden. In 1900 the battalion went out for the South African war, adding "South Africa, 1900-1902" to the regimental honours. The 2nd battalion returned to England from India 16 December 1875. It was moved to Ireland in 1880; to Jersey in 1883; and back to England in 1885; to Ireland in 1889; back to England in 1893 (at Aldershot in 1895); and off to South Africa in 1899.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment) (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment was based on the 33rd Regimental District - Halifax. The 1st battalion embarked for India 24 October 1875, and by 1885 was stationed at Nowshera in Bengal; it returned from India 18 December 1889; and was at Dover in 1895. The 2nd battalion returned from Burmah 10 April 1876; was transferred to Ireland in 1880; back (from Tipperary) to England in 1885; to Bermuda in 1886; to Halifax, Nova Scotia, in 1888; to the West Indies in 1891; to South Africa in 1893; and to India in 1897. The regiment joined in the South African war and won the honours "South Africa, 1900-1902", "Relief of Kimberley" and "Paardeberg".
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the Prince of Wales' Own (West Yorkshire Regiment) (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment was based on the 14th Regimental District - York. The 1st battalion returned from India in 1879, was transferred to Ireland in 1883, and in 1885 was at Galway. In 1891 the battalion returned to England, embarking for Gibraltar 8 January 1895. In 1896 it moved on to Hong Kong, and in 1897 to India. The 2nd battalion embarked for Bengal in 1878, and in 1885 was at Sealkote. It was transferred to Aden in 1894, and from there to Cape Coast Castle in 1895, returning to England the following year. The troops were sent out to South Africa in 1899, adding "South Africa, 1899-1902" and "Relief of Ladysmith" to the regimental honours.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the York and Lancaster Regiment (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment was based on the 65th Regimental District - Pontefract. The 1st battalion returned from Egypt 21 April 1884, the regiment having gained the honours "Egypt, 1882" and "Tel-el-Kebir". In 1885 it was based at Dover. In 1889 the battalion was sent to Ireland; it was at Cork in 1895; returning to England in that year. In 1899 the battalion went out to South Africa, adding "South Africa, 1900-1902" and "Relief of Ladysmith" to the regimental honours. The 2nd battalion returned from Egypt in 1883, but in October of that year embarked for Bermuda; in 1886 was moved to Halifax, Nova Scotia; in 1888 to the West Indies; in 1891 to South Africa; in 1897 to Mauritius; and on to India.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the Alexandra, Princess of Wales's Own (Yorkshire Regiment) (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment was based on the 19th Regimental District - Richmond in Yorkshire. The 1st battalion embarked for Egypt 3 August 1884, and took part in the action of Giniss; in 1888 the battalion was moved to Cyprus, and in 1889 back to England; to Jersey in 1892; to Ireland in 1895; to Gibraltar in 1898; back to England in 1899. That year the battalion was sent off to the war in South Africa, taking part in the relief of Kimberley, and the fighting at Paardeberg, Driefontein, Johannesburg, Diamond Hill and Belfast, returning to England in September 1902 - having added "South Africa, 1899-1902", "Relief of Kimberley" and "Paardeberg" to the regimental honours. The 2nd battalion returned to England from India 21 January 1877, moved to Ireland in 1881, and in 1885 was stationed at the Curragh; having returned to England in 1886, the battalion embarked for India 1 January 1890, and by 1895 was serving at Shwebo in Burmah, having taken part in the North West Frontier campaign.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the King's Own (Yorkshire Light Infantry) (1881-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The regiment was based on the 51st Regimental District - Pontefract. The 1st battalion moved from Dinapore in Bengal into Burma in 1885, adding "Burma, 1885-1887" to the regimental honours. It returned to England 20 December 1887; was moved to Ireland in 1893, and in 1895 was stationed at Belfast. Returning to England in 1899, it was sent back to Ireland in 1900. The 2nd battalion embarked for Malta 28 December 1884, and in 1887 left Malta for the East Indies. In 1895 it was stationed at Poona. The battalion took part in the North West Frontier campaign of 1897-1898, and the Zhob Field Force. In February 1899 the battalion was moved to Mauritius, and the following October to South Africa, where it added "South Africa, 1899-1902" and "Modder River" to the regimental honours.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Westminster School (1883-1893)

This supplement to the Westminster School Register was published in 1894. It lists boys entering the school from October 1883 to October 1884. They are listed alphabetically by surname and full christian names (in bold), with name, address and (often) occupation of father; sometimes mother's name and maiden name; date of birth; date of admission; and date of leaving. There are further brief notes where the boy had already gone on to university, or was known to have embarked on a career.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Aldenham School (1885-1890)

Aldenham School in Hertfordshire is a public school originating as an Elizabethan grammar school. The Aldenham School Register was first published in 1898, but this tenth edition, by R. J. Evans, and published in 1969, comprised only living old boys who had entered the school from 1900 onwards, together with those who had entered the school before 1900 and who had responded to a questionnaire. There is thus a general presumption that all the boys mentioned were alive in 1969. The boys are listed alphabetically by surname under the term in which they entered the school. Full name is given, in bold, surname first. Then an abbreviation indicating their house (B, Beevor's; K, Kennedy's; M, McGill's; P, Paull's; SH, School House); the period of stay at the school; address as of 1969; father's name, occupation and residence (where the father had also studied at the school, his name is given in capitals with the year of his entry); brief details of any achievements at the school (particularly at sports); and the briefest of details of subsequent career.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the British Army Ordnance Store Corps (1886-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the corps were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through.
>> Search this source

Ludlow Parish Magazine: the Voluntary Rate (1889-1890)

The borough of Ludlow in Shropshire was more or less co-extensive with the ecclesiastical parish of Ludlow St Lawrence. The parish magazine from January 1890 to November 1892 includes this list of the contributors to the parish voluntary rate.
>> Search this source

Outstanding gun lascars in the British Army (1889-1893)

Each year the best soldiers were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity). The recording of these native names may not have been done consistently: in each case we have treated the second name as the 'surname', e. g., Singh in Lal Singh; Veera in Hassim Veera, and we have treated single names (Teerevengodum and Rangayan) as surnames. The ranks represented are private, naique (equivalent of a corporal), lance-naique, havildar (sepoy equivalent of a sergeant), and havildar-major.
>> Search this source

Classics students at Cambridge University (1890-1890)

Tripos lists or examination results for the year, arranged by class (First, Second and Third), and within each class in order of score in the examination (students getting exactly equal marks are bracketed together). Each student's surname and college is given. The course was divided into parts I and II, with separate examinations, and the results into First Class (split into Divisions 1, 2, 3); Second Class (split into Divisions 1, 2, 3); and Third Class (split into Divisions 1, 2, 3), but the examinants listed purely alphabetically within each division. In the lists for Part II, those students gaining firsts are further annotated with the letters b, c, d or e, denoting the section or sections for which they were awarded first class honours. The letter a indicates that the candidate had also attained a first class standard in section A. An asterisk next to any of these letters indicates special distinction. Women students are listed separately, but on the same basis. These lists are particularly useful in identifying for an individual the fellow-students who will have attended lectures with him; and, where from the college, are likely to have been even more closely associated by having been under the same supervisor. (The sample scan is from the start of the Mathematics Tripos list for 1770)
>> Search this source

History students at Cambridge University (1890-1890)

Tripos lists or examination results for the year, arranged by class (First, Second and Third), and within each class in order of score in the examination (students getting exactly equal marks are bracketed together). Each student's surname and college is given. Women students are listed on the same basis, but separately, but for each an indication is given as to where precisely she stood in terms of merit among the male students. These lists are particularly useful in identifying for an individual the fellow-students who will have attended lectures with him; and, where from the college, are likely to have been even more closely associated by having been under the same supervisor. (The sample scan is from the start of the Mathematics Tripos list for 1770)
>> Search this source

Indian Language students at Cambridge University (1890-1890)

Tripos lists or examination results for the year, arranged by class (First, Second and Third), and within each class in order of score in the examination. Each student's surname and college is given. (The sample scan is from the start of the Mathematics Tripos list for 1770). The languages studied were Sanskrit, Persian and Hindustani.
>> Search this source

Law students at Cambridge University (1890-1890)

Tripos lists or examination results for the year, arranged by class (First, Second and Third), and within each class in order of score in the examination (the names of students with equal marks being bracketed together). Each student's surname and college is given. These lists are particularly useful in identifying for an individual the fellow-students who will have attended lectures with him; and, where from the college, are likely to have been even more closely associated by having been under the same supervisor. (The sample scan is from the start of the Mathematics Tripos list for 1770)
>> Search this source

Mathematics students at Cambridge University (1890-1890)

Tripos lists or examination results for the year, arranged by class (Wranglers, Senior Optimes and Junior Optimes), and within each class in order of score in the examination (the names of candidates with equal scores are bracketed together, with the word 'AEq.'). There is a main combined list for Parts I and II, and then, for students who went on to take Part III, a minor list, divided into Division I, Division II and Division III. Each student's surname and college is given. The few women students are listed separately, but the names are annotated so as to identify precisely where in order of merit they fell within the ranks of the male students. These lists are particularly useful in identifying for an individual the fellow-students who will have attended lectures with him; and, where from the college, are likely to have been even more closely associated by having been under the same supervisor. (The sample scan is from the start of the Mathematics Tripos list for 1770)
>> Search this source

Mediaeval and Modern Language students at Cambridge University (1890-1890)

Tripos lists or examination results for the year, arranged by class (First, Second and Third), and within each class in alphabetical order. Each student's surname and college is given. The few women students are listed separately, divided by class as above. These lists are particularly useful in identifying for an individual the fellow-students who will have attended lectures with him; and, where from the college, are likely to have been even more closely associated by having been under the same supervisor. (The sample scan is from the start of the Mathematics Tripos list for 1770). The languages studied were French (with Provencal and Italian), German (with Old Saxon and Gothic), and English (with Anglo-Saxon and Icelandic).
>> Search this source

Moral Sciences students at Cambridge University (1890-1890)

Tripos lists or examination results for the year, arranged by class (First, Second and Third), and within each class in order of score in the examination (the names of candidates with equal scores are bracketed together). Under the new regulations, the examinations were divided into Parts I and II and students in the First Class in Part I were divided into Divisions 1 and 2. Each student's surname and college is given. The few women students are listed separately, but graded on the same basis. These lists are particularly useful in identifying for an individual the fellow-students who will have attended lectures with him; and, where from the college, are likely to have been even more closely associated by having been under the same supervisor. (The sample scan is from the start of the Mathematics Tripos list for 1770)
>> Search this source

Natural Sciences students at Cambridge University (1890-1890)

Tripos lists or examination results for the year, arranged by class (First, Second and Third), and within each class in alphabetical order. Each student's surname and college is given. The few women students are listed separately, but classed according to the same system. These lists are particularly useful in identifying for an individual the fellow-students who will have attended lectures with him; and, where from the college, are likely to have been even more closely associated by having been under the same supervisor. (The sample scan is from the start of the Mathematics Tripos list for 1770)
>> Search this source

Semitic Language students at Cambridge University (1890-1890)

Tripos lists or examination results for the year, arranged by class (First, Second and Third), and within each class in order of score in the examination. Each student's surname and college is given: this list was printed in 1890, and was annotated with asterisks to show which students had subsequently become fellows of the university. (The sample scan is from the start of the Mathematics Tripos list for 1770). The languages studied were Arabic, Hebrew and Syriac.
>> Search this source

Theology students at Cambridge University (1890-1890)

Tripos lists or examination results for the year, arranged by class (First, Second and Third), and within each class in alphabetical order. There are separate lists for Part I and Part II of the syllabus. Each student's surname and college is given. These lists are particularly useful in identifying for an individual the fellow-students who will have attended lectures with him; and, where from the college, are likely to have been even more closely associated by having been under the same supervisor. (The sample scan is from the start of the Mathematics Tripos list for 1770)
>> Search this source

Missing Next-of-Kin and Heirs-at-Law (1890-1890)

The Unclaimed Money Registry and Next-of-Kin Advertisement Office of F. H. Dougal & Co., on the Strand in London, published a comprehensive 'Index to Advertisements for Next of Kin, Heirs at Law, Legatees, &c., &c., who have been Advertised for to Claim Money and Property in Great Britain and all Parts of the World; also Annuitants, Shareholders, Intestates, Testators, Missing Friends, Creditors or their Representatives, Claimants, Unclaimed and Reclaimed Dividends and Stock, Citations, Administrations, Rewards for Certificates, Wills, Advertisements, &c., Claims, Unclaimed Balances, Packages, Addresses, Parish Clerks' Notices, Foreign Intestates, &c., &c.' The original list was compiled about 1880, but from materials dating back even into the 18th century: most of the references belong to 1850 to 1880. For each entry only a name is given, sometimes with a placename added in brackets: there may be a reference number, but there is no key by which the original advertisement may be traced. The enquirer of the time had to remit 1 for a 'Full and Authentic Copy of the Original Advertisement, together with name and date of newspaper in which the same appeared'. This appendix to the list was issued in about 1890.
>> Search this source

Anglicans in Salford and their children (1890-1890)

The parish magazine of the populous Anglican parish of Salford St Matthias contains not only parish news and notices, but also lists of Baptisms, Marriages and Deaths. The parish was divided into 38 districts for the Christian Workers' Association, and the districts are listed, with the names of the streets, and the names and addresses of the district visitors. The Sunday School prize lists give the names of many of the children, arranged by class. The parish comprised Broughton Road, St Simon's Street, Back Sandon Street, Wood's Buildings, Sandford Street, Watkin Street, Harriet Street, Brougham Street, Wheat Hill Street, Rose Street, Pink Street, Silk Street and Back Silk Street, Adelphi Street, Flax Street, Ann Street, Diamond Street, Lester Street, Cliburn Street, Sagar Street and Back Sagar Street, Pine Street, Matthew's Buildings, Blackburn Street, Blackburn Place, North James Henry Street, Pea Street, Cannon Court, Arlington Street and Back Arlington Street, Silk Place, Russell Street, Artillery Street, Gun Street, Bow Street, Chestnut Street, North Charles Street, Peter Street, North Thomas Street, Ogden Street, North Cable Street, Cannon Street, Rockville Street, Barnet Street, Brook Street, McIntyre Square, Burton Street, Devine Street, Methvin Street, Skellorn Street, North Hill Street, Briggs Street, Simms Street, Allendale Street, Francis Terrace, Marshall Terrace, Albert Terrace, North George Street, Alexander Street, Albert Street, Marshall Street, Mount Street, Mayers Street, Peru Street, Reservoir Terrace, John Street, Richmond Terrace, Richmond Row and Back Richmond Row, Ford Lane, Ford Land View, Richmond Hill, High Holborn Terrace, Perseverance Place, Williamson Street, Willow Street, and Salford Street.
>> Search this source

Wimbledon schoolgirls and schoolmistresses (1890-1890)

Wimbledon High School produced a yearly magazine, issued in December, starting in 1889. Each issue contained general school news, sporting and scholastic results, essays, reports from the school societies (circles and clubs) and news of old girls, with their marriages, births of their children (giving both maiden and married surnames), and deaths. The old girls were organized into what was called the Wimbledon High School Union (W. H. S. U.) and there is news of the Union's doings and of new recruits - the school was opened in 1880, nine years before the Union was formed, and some girls had lost contact.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Wellington College in Berkshire (1890-1890)

Wellington College, near Wokingham, was originally founded for the education of sons of military officers. A register of boys entering the school from First Term 1859 to Michaelmas 1933 was compiled by F. G. Lawrence for the Old Wellingtonian Society. In each entry the boy's name is given in full, in bold, surname first; age at entry (usually 11 to 14); then, in brackets, the name of the dormitory or house to which he belonged, in italics, with the years of his stay; then his father's name (usually surname and initials, but not christian name) with military decorations where appropriate. School prefects and captains are noted as such; if the boy played cricket for the school, XI with the years; academic honours, scholarships, &c.; a brief biography; and date of death, or (where known) address in 1933. Year of marriage is given, and sometimes the wife's name and/or her father's name. Clearly, those boys who kept contact with the school and/or had distinguished military careers have detailed entries; others disappeared into oblivion on leaving.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Epsom College (1890-1890)

The Royal Medical Benevolent College at Epsom in Surrey was founded in 1853 for the orphans of the medical profession, and evolved to become a public school still largely catering for sons of doctors and surgeons. In 1955 this register of pupils, from 1855 to 1954, edited by T. R. Thomson, was published. The sample scan is from 1880. The entries are arranged alphabetically by surname under year of entrance to the school; surname first (in bold), christian names, and then (in most cases), the father's name, occupation and address: then the boy's year of birth (b.), year of leaving (l.), occupation, and, where known, year of death (d.). From 1880 onwards the house to which the boy belonged is also indicated: the boarding houses were Carr (C.), Forest (F.), Granville (G.), Holman (H.), Propert (P.) and Wilson (W.); and Crawfurd (Cr.), Hart Smith (H. S.) and Rosebery (R.) are the houses for day scholars. This is the index to the year 1890, when the Reverend Thomas Northmore Hart-Smith was headmaster.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Marlborough College (1890-1890)

The public school at Marlborough in Wiltshire was founded in 1843. In 1952 this, 9th, edition of the college register was published, being a revision by L. Warwick James of the 8th edition (of 1936): but for the years before 1936 it does not merely repeat the 8th edition, because Warwick James was able to correct the 19th-century entries with information from newly-discovered letters and books from 1843 to 1853, and the school lists from 1844 onwards. The roll is arranged by year, and within each year by term of entrance, and then alphabetically by surname within each term. Each boy is assigned a number within the year: then his name is given, surname first, and, in brackets, his house. The houses within the college were called B1, B2, B3, C1, C2 and C3, and the Lower School (L Sch); the out college houses were Preshute, Priory, Cotton, Hermitage, Littlefield, Barton Hill, Summerfield and Upcot. Then there is given the boy's father's name (surname and initials) and address (at entrance), the boy's date of birth (b) and month of leaving (l). Where the boy represented the school at Rugby football (XV) or cricket (XI), in the rifle corps (VIII, or RC XI), that is indicated. There is a brief summary of achievements in later life, and, where known, and date of death or (in italics) address as in 1952.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Crewkerne School (1890-1890)

Crewkerne Grammar School in Somerset was founded in 1499; as part of the quatercentenary celebrations a History of Crewkerne School, by the Reverend R. Grosvenor Bartelot, was published in 1899; and this included this school register from 1828 to 1899. Until 1877 only foundationers (day boys part of whose fees was paid out of the school foundation) are listed; thereafter boarders as well as day scholars. Names are arranged by date of entrance; surname is given first, then christian name, age at entry, date of entering, and date of leaving.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Sherborne School (1890-1890)

The grammar school at Sherborne in Dorset, which doubtless existed from the creation of the diocese of Sherborne in 705, was refounded by king Edward VI in 1550. At the quatercentenary in 1950, a fourth edition of the Sherborne Register was published, listing boys entering the school during those four centuries. In truth, the materials for this register survive but fitfully before 1823; for some years, no names are known; sometimes all that is known is a surname. But from 1823 onwards the lists and the details get steadily more comprehensive. By the 20th century the boys are listed alphabetically by surname under term of entrance. Surname is given in bold, then christian names, name of father (surname and initials) and address; year of birth; house (a, School House; b, Abbey House; c, The Green; d, Harper House (formerly The Retreat); f, Abbeylands; g, Lyon House; h, Westcott House); whether represented the school at cricket (xi), football (xv), shooting (viii), &c.; year of leaving; summary of degrees, career &c.; and (in italics), address as of 1950. Names in the early lists marked with an asterisk are found inscribed on the oak panelling or on the stone walls of the former schoolroom. (F) in the lists indicates a foundationer, receiving free education: after 1827, when this privilege was restricted to boys from Sherborne and neighbourhood, nearly all foundationers were day-boys.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Loretto School (1890-1890)

The Reverend Dr Thomas Langhorne, who came to Musselburgh in Midlothian as an Episcopalian Church clergyman, established a small school for boarders and day scholars at Loretto House, so called because the grounds contained the ruins of the mediaeval chapel of St Mary of Loretto. To celebrate the centenary of the school in 1925, a second edition of the school register was published, edited by A. H. Buchanan-Dunlop. Relatively little was known of many of the earliest scholars, but from 1835 onwards the register generally gives full name, in capitals, surname first; date of birth; period of time at Loretto; a brief biography; date of death; whether brother of any other boy in the register; and a sequential number.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Gresham's School (1890-1890)

The Sir John Gresham Grammar School at Holt in Norfolk was founded by sir John, who bought the manor house there in 1546 to convert it into a school, and building work had started by 1555. To celebrate the quatercentenary in 1955, a history of the school written by the Reverend C. L. S. Linnell was published, together with an Alumni Greshamienses, a register of boys entering the school from 1562 to 1954, compiled by A. B. Douglas. The materials to hand for the register for the early years were slight; the first coherent lists of boys survive only from 1729, and then are fitful, with little detail, and largely missing from 1784 to 1803; however, from 1810 onwards the names of boys' parents are usually recorded. The register is arranged chronologically by year (and from 1900 by term - L, Lent; M, Michaelmas; S, Summer), and then alphabetically by surname (in capitals) and christian name(s). Where known, year of birth is then given (in brackets), names, addresses and occupations of parents. From 1900 onwards there are italic abbreviations for sporting achievements at school (h, hockey colours; VIII, shooting colours; S, first-class swimmer; XI, cricket colours; XV, football colours), and p for house prefect and P for school prefect; then (in italics) information about the boy's adult life, and his address (where living) at the time of publication. Finally, on the right hand side of the page, in italics, is given the year of his leaving the school. Most detail is absent before 1810; and, of course, for the boys still at school in 1955, or only recently left, there are no details of future career; nor are there the usual details about their parentage. From 1898 onwards day boys are noted with an italic D (N means Newquay dayboy); and from 1900 onwards the school houses are shown (B, Bengal Lodge; F, Farfield; H, School House or Howson's; K, Kenwyn; O, Old School House; W, Woodlands); and, for the junior school, c, Crossways; k, Kenwyn; o, Old School House).
>> Search this source

Boys entering Merchant Taylors' School in London (1890-1890)

Merchant Taylors' School was founded by members of the livery company of the merchant taylors of the city of London in 1561 as a grammar school. By the 19th century this was a major English public school. In 1875 the school removed from Suffolk Lane, in the City, to a new building in Charterhouse Square in Finsbury. In 1907 the Reverend William Baker, a former headmaster, published this school register for the period 1871 to 1900, which we have indexed by year of admission. Each entry gives the boy's name in full (surname, christian name(s)); date of birth; names of both parents (middle names as initials); occupation of father; career summary; and (in italics) address as of 1907.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Fettes College, Edinburgh (1890-1890)

Fettes College, Edinburgh, was opened in 1870 under the terms of a trust 'for maintenance, education, and outfit of young people whose parents have either died without leaving sufficient funds for that purpose, or who, from innocent misfortune during their own lives, are unable to give suitable education to their children'. In 1923 this edition of the Fettes College Register was published; in it the compilers sought to set out for each boy who had attended the college a brief synopsis of what was known about his time at the school, his subsequent career, and date and place of death, or address as of 1923. After each name there is a letter in brackets indicating the house to which the pupil belonged - (C.) Carrington House; (G.) Glencorse House; (K.) Kimmerghame House; (M.) Moredun House; (S.) Schoolhouse. An asterisk indicates that the boy was a foundationer, i. e. supported by the foundation; a dagger that he was a foundation scholar. VIA. indicates Upper Form; Mods. Modern School; Army Cl., Army Class; S. P., School Prefect; xx. First Rugby Football Twenty; xv. First Rugby Football Fifteen; xx. cap. Caps occasionally given to the five (or fewer) next to the First Fifteen after 1875; xi. First Cricket Eleven; viii. Gymnastic Eight; Trs. Prizes and Exhib., Trustees' Prizes and Exhibitions; Govs. Prizes and Exhib., Governors' Prizes and Exhibitions; Schol., scholarship; M., married. Month and year of birth is given in square brackets.
>> Search this source

Associates of the College of Veterinary Surgeons (1890-1890)

The Royal College of Veterinary Surgeons produced an annual register, including lists of fellows, ordinary members and a list of honorary and foreign associates, this edition being revised to February 1890.
>> Search this source

Fellows of the College of Veterinary Surgeons (1890-1890)

The Royal College of Veterinary Surgeons produced an annual register, including lists of fellows, ordinary members and a list of honorary and foreign associates, this edition being revised to February 1890.
>> Search this source

Veterinary Surgeons (1890-1890)

The Royal College of Veterinary Surgeons produced an annual register, including lists of fellows, ordinary members and a list of honorary and foreign associates, this edition being revised to February 1890.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Brighton College (1890-1890)

This edition of the Brighton College Register was published in 1922. The plan of the publication was to list boys by year or, later, term of entry. Each name is assigned a sequential number, 5000 boys, in all, being recorded. Full name is given (surname first, in bold); year of birth; year of leaving; and then (wherever the compiler had such information) a short biography, ending with date of death, where known.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Clifton College (1890-1890)

Clifton College near Bristol was established in 1862. This edition of the Clifton College Annals and Register for the Old Cliftonian Society by F. Borwick was published in 1925. Boys are listed alphabetically by term of entry, with full names, surname first, in bold. Father's (or widowed mother's) name is given (surname and initials) in capitals, and address. Then there is the name of the house (N. T., North Town; S. H., School House; S. T., South Town), first and last forms, distinctions in school work and games, and month of leaving. Where known, the editor then gave a career summary with month of death; or, if still living, address as in 1925 (in italics).
>> Search this source

Boys entering Trinity College, Glenalmond (1890-1890)

Trinity College, Glenalmond, Perthshire, was originally founded as a college at which young men might be trained for the ministry of the Scottish Episcopal Church, and the sons of the laity might be educated and brought up in the faith and tradition of the Church. In 1876 the Theological College was transferred to Edinburgh, Glenalmond remaining as a boys' school. This second edition of the school register, edited by G. St Quintin, was published in 1955, incorporating the text of the first edition prepared by E. W. Neish. The scholars are listed by term of entering the school, and then alphabetically by surname; the details then given are full christian names, date of birth; name of father; any distinctions within the school; and then a career synopsis, with date and place of death where known.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Giggleswick School (1890-1890)

The school at Giggleswick in the West Riding of Yorkshire dates from at least 1507, but no register of the boys attending there has survived earlier than one started by the headmaster, the reverend George Style, in 1875. When the bursar, H. L. Mullins, prepared this, 'The Giggleswick School Register', printed in 1913, he was able to compile general details of some scholars from earlier years, but the concerted, reasonably complete, account starts in 1859. The details are arranged by term of entry, then alphabetically by surname and christian name. Typically each description gives full name; date of birth; name and address of father; date of leaving. Where known, Mullins then added a brief career synopsis, present address in 1913, or date of death. From 1869 onwards boarders were admitted to the school, and where it is known that a boy was a day scholar, the word (Town) is added after his name.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Haileybury College, Hertfordshire (1890-1890)

Haileybury College, near Hertford, was founded by the East India Company in 1806, and incorporated by Royal Charter in 1864. This register of pupils entering the school from 1862 to 1931 was edited by a master there, Laurence Arthur Speakman. The boys are listed by term of joining the school, and then alphabetically by name (in bold), surname first (in capitals). There is then usually a precise birthdate, and the name and address of his father; his period at the school, starting with abbreviations to indicate the house to which he belonged (B., Batten; B. F., Bartle Frere; C., Colvin; E., Edmonstone; Ha., Hailey; Hi., Highfield; L., Lawrence; Le B., Le Bas; M., Melvill; Th., Thomason; T., Trevelyan), and the first and last forms attended (e. g., IV., fourth form). Where a member of a school team there is then an indication (e. g., XI., cricket). For some pupils, with whom the school had lost touch, Speakman was only able to record the details of their time at Haileybury; but for most a brief career synopsis is then given, and current address (as in 1931) or date of death.
>> Search this source

Boys entering King William's College, Isle of Man (1890-1890)

King William's College at Castletown on the Isle of Man was established in 1830. By 1928 about 290 boys were being educated there, 'of whom three-fourths are boarders, and the remainders sons of natives or residents in the Island.' Boys entered the junior school about 9 or 10 years of age, the upper school about 13; boys over 13 were not admitted 'unless attainments and character are specially satisfactory'. There were 'several nominations for the sons of clergy and others'. Editions of the college register were published in 1905 and 1927. When this third edition was prepared, in 1956, it was felt unnecessary to repeat the whole of the register from 1830 onwards, a new starting point being chosen as September 1886, when the reverend Frank Bridgman Walters took office as principal. The items are arranged alphabetically within term of entry; surname is given first, in bold, and then full christian names; then, to the right, in bold, precise date of birth, school house, and month of leaving the school. The abbreviations for houses are: C, Colbourne; D, Dickson; H, Hunt; Ha, Hangoside; J, Junior House; R, Raglan; S, School House (formerly Principal's); T, town houses occupied by masters who took in boys prior to September 1889; Tr, Trafford's; W, Walters. Each entry then gives the boy's father's name (surname and initials) and address at that time; school honours (such as Prae., praepositor, XI, school cricket team); a career synopsis; and finally, in italics, to the right, year of death, or present address in 1956, if known.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Leeds Grammar School (1890-1890)

The admission books for Leeds Grammar School from 1820 to 1900 were edited by Edmund Wilson and published in 1906. The series of registers is almost complete for the period, there being in addition admission registers for the Lower (or Commercial) Department from 1856 to 1865, and lists of boys in the school in 1856, and in the Commercial Department in 1861. The entries are arranged by date or term of admission: a sequential number is given first, then surname, christian name, and, after a dash, father's christian name, occupation, and address; another dash, and then the age of the boy at admission, and often his year of leaving (with the abbreviation r. for 'removed' or 'left'). r.* means left without notice; (o) or S. or Stranger or Foreigner indicates a boy not on the foundation. The editor was unable to divine the meaning of the abbreviation (Q) or the asterisks prefixed to most entries in 1856 to 1860, but dutifully copies them into the text. In smaller type he then proceeds, where possible, to add some information about the boy's subsequent career.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Sedbergh School (1890-1890)

B. Wilson prepared this edition of the register of the Grammar School at Sedbergh in the West Riding of Yorkshire, published in 1895. Sedbergh school had three exhibitions at St John's College, Cambridge, and for the earliest years little more could be found about the pupils at the school than was recorded at St John's or other colleges. In 1700-1706 the first material from Sedbergh appears, but no more than lists of surnames. From 1746 onwards full names, or surnames and initials, are found for those boys who did not continue to university. It is only from 1820 onwards that the school register starts to give detail: month of entry, age, birthplace, and month of leaving. From then onwards Wilson was able to add more and more biographical detail, except, of course, for those boys in 1895 still at the school or with their careers yet ahead of them.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Uppingham School (1890-1890)

The public school at Uppingham in Rutland was founded by Archdeacon Johnson in 1584. A roll of scholars from 1824 to 1905 was edited by J. P. Graham, and published in 1906. This was a revision and updating of an 1894 edition of the roll, the great bulk of the work having been done by Mrs Mullins. The roll is arranged by year, and within each year by term of entrance, and then alphabetically by surname within each term. Each boy's name is given, surname first, with an asterisk where known (in 1906) to have died. Then there is month and year of birth, father's name (most often just surname and initials) and address (at entrance). Where the boy represented the school at Rugby football (XV) or cricket (XI), that is indicated. After the month and year of leaving the school, there is a brief summary of achievements in later life, and, where known, address as in 1906. From 1875 onwards the house within the school is also noted, with these abbreviations: A., Mr Constable's House; B., Brooklands; C., West Bank; E., Mr J. Gale Thring's House; F., Fircroft; Fgh., Farleigh; H., Highfield; L., The Lodge; L. H., Lorne House; M., Meadhurst; N., The Hall; R., Redgate; R. H., Red House; S., School House; and W. D., West Deyne.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Harrow School (1890-1890)

This Second Volume of the Second Series of the Harrow School Register was edited by J. H. Stogdon and published in 1925. The boys are listed by term of entrance, and then alphabetically by surname and christian names (in bold). Next, in brackets and in italics, is the school house to which he belonged - or, H. B. indicating a day boy whose family lived in Harrow. Stogdon then gives the father's surname and initials, and address. In cases where the boy was prominent in sports at school, or won academic prizes, scholarships &c., that is given; then the year of leaving the school; a synopsis of his career; and, where known, his address as of 1925, in italics.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Manchester Grammar School (1890-1890)

This Biographical Register of Old Mancunians lists boys alphabetically by year of entering the school. A bare register of entrants existed from 1888 onwards but it was only since the Second World War that any kind of detailed record was kept of those who passed through the school. So, in every case in this printed register, full name is given, in bold, surname first (in capitals); date of birth, and years attending the school; but for the earlier years sometimes there is no more information - or, equally, after investigation among Old Mancunians and published sources, the editors may have been able to furnish a condensed biography. An asterisk indicates a holder of a Foundation Scholarship. In the later years a current address is also given, as of 1964 to 1965, when the book was prepared.
>> Search this source

Ludlow Parish Magazine: Baptisms (1890-1890)

The borough of Ludlow in Shropshire was more or less co-extensive with the ecclesiastical parish of Ludlow St Lawrence. The parish magazine from January 1890 to November 1892 includes lists of baptisms: giving the date and the child's full name, but not the names of the parents.
>> Search this source

Ludlow Parish Magazine: Brides (1890-1890)

The borough of Ludlow in Shropshire was more or less co-extensive with the ecclesiastical parish of Ludlow St Lawrence. The parish magazine from January 1890 to November 1892 includes lists of marriages: giving the date and the full names of bride and groom.
>> Search this source

Ludlow Parish Magazine: Brides (1890-1890)

The borough of Ludlow in Shropshire was more or less co-extensive with the ecclesiastical parish of Ludlow St Lawrence. The parish magazine from January 1890 to November 1892 includes lists of marriages: giving the date and the full names of bride and groom.
>> Search this source

Ludlow Parish Magazine: Burials (1890-1890)

The borough of Ludlow in Shropshire was more or less co-extensive with the ecclesiastical parish of Ludlow St Lawrence. The parish magazine from January 1890 to November 1892 includes lists of burials: giving the date, full name, address, and age at death.
>> Search this source

Ludlow Parish Magazine: the Church Choir (1890-1890)

The borough of Ludlow in Shropshire was more or less co-extensive with the ecclesiastical parish of Ludlow St Lawrence. The parish magazine from January 1890 to November 1892 includes notices and news of the Choir.
>> Search this source

Ludlow Parish Magazine: the Cottage Hospital (1890-1890)

The borough of Ludlow in Shropshire was more or less co-extensive with the ecclesiastical parish of Ludlow St Lawrence. The parish magazine from January 1890 to November 1892 includes notices and news of staff of and donations to the Cottage Hospital.
>> Search this source

Ludlow Parish Magazine: Church Helpers (1890-1890)

The borough of Ludlow in Shropshire was more or less co-extensive with the ecclesiastical parish of Ludlow St Lawrence. The parish magazine from January 1890 to November 1892 includes words of thanks to those who helped decorate the church at Easter and Christmas.
>> Search this source

Ludlow Parish Magazine: the Evening Club (1890-1890)

The borough of Ludlow in Shropshire was more or less co-extensive with the ecclesiastical parish of Ludlow St Lawrence. The parish magazine from January 1890 to November 1892 includes notices and news of the doings of Ludlow Evening Club.
>> Search this source

Ludlow Parish Magazine: Church Repairs (1890-1890)

The borough of Ludlow in Shropshire was more or less co-extensive with the ecclesiastical parish of Ludlow St Lawrence. The parish magazine from January 1890 to November 1892 includes notices and news of the extensive repairs to the roof and tower, with lists of donations.
>> Search this source

Ludlow Parish Magazine: Girls' Friendly Society (1890-1890)

The borough of Ludlow in Shropshire was more or less co-extensive with the ecclesiastical parish of Ludlow St Lawrence. The parish magazine from January 1890 to November 1892 includes notices and news of the meetings of the Ludlow Girls' Friendly Society.
>> Search this source

Ludlow Parish Magazine: Bridegrooms (1890-1890)

The borough of Ludlow in Shropshire was more or less co-extensive with the ecclesiastical parish of Ludlow St Lawrence. The parish magazine from January 1890 to November 1892 includes lists of marriages: giving the date and the full names of bride and groom.
>> Search this source

Ludlow Parish Magazine: Ludlow Men's Church Society (1890-1890)

The borough of Ludlow in Shropshire was more or less co-extensive with the ecclesiastical parish of Ludlow St Lawrence. The parish magazine from January 1890 to November 1892 includes notices and news of the Ludlow Men's Church Society.
>> Search this source

Ludlow Parish Magazine: Ludlow National Schools (1890-1890)

The borough of Ludlow in Shropshire was more or less co-extensive with the ecclesiastical parish of Ludlow St Lawrence. The parish magazine from January 1890 to November 1892 includes news and notices about the National Schools in the town.
>> Search this source

Ludlow Parish Magazine: Miss Nightingale's bequest (1890-1890)

The borough of Ludlow in Shropshire was more or less co-extensive with the ecclesiastical parish of Ludlow St Lawrence. The parish magazine from January 1890 to November 1892 includes news and notices about Miss Nightingale's bequest, used to help restore the church fabric and the organ.
>> Search this source

Ludlow Parish Magazine: Obituaries (1890-1890)

The borough of Ludlow in Shropshire was more or less co-extensive with the ecclesiastical parish of Ludlow St Lawrence. The parish magazine from January 1890 to November 1892 includes death notices, in memoriams and obituaries of members of the church and others in Ludlow.
>> Search this source

Ludlow Parish Magazine: the Sunday Schools (1890-1890)

The borough of Ludlow in Shropshire was more or less co-extensive with the ecclesiastical parish of Ludlow St Lawrence. The parish magazine from January 1890 to November 1892 includes details of the activities of the Sunday Schools.
>> Search this source

Ludlow Parish Magazine: the Temperance Society (1890-1890)

The borough of Ludlow in Shropshire was more or less co-extensive with the ecclesiastical parish of Ludlow St Lawrence. The parish magazine from January 1890 to November 1892 includes details of the activities of the boys', girls' and senior sections of the local branch of the Church of England Temperance Society.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Dover College (1890-1890)

The second edition of the Dover College Register, edited by William Stevens Lee, lists all boys entering the school from its opening in 1871 to the date of publication in 1899. The boys are listed alphabetically by term of entry, surname and full christian names. A double dagger after the name indicates a school prefect. Next comes the year or date of birth, then abbreviations indicating house - [D] day boy; [Sch.] School House; [Sp.] Sparke's House; [St.] Steedman's House; [W.] Walters' from 1881 to 1886, Williams' from 2nd term 1890 to 3rd term 1898; [L.] Littlewood's (the same house as Walters') fom 3rd term 1886 to 1st term 1890. From 3rd term of 1892 onwards the names were changed to [S.] School House; [P.] Priory House (was Sparke's); [M.] St Martin's (was Williams'). Moreover, in January 1893 the Junior School was established at West Mount, and from then onwards [J] indicates a period there. Next come distinctions gained in the school, exhibitions, &c., and athletic distinctions, such as XI for membership of the school cricket eleven, XV for the school football team, with years; then date of leaving; distinctions gained since leaving; and present address (where known) as of 1899. Despite this attempt at comprehensive coverage, the materials to hand for compiling the register were often lacking: at worst, in the early years, there are a handful of entries where only the surname is given. Equally, other entries are detailed and comprehensive.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Tonbridge School (1890-1890)

W. O. Hughes-Hughes, late Assistant-Master of Tonbridge School, prepared this edition of the school register. The Kent grammar school was founded by royal charter in 1553, but the surviving register commences with the names of 69 boys called over on Skinners' Day 1826. After that they are arranged alphabetically by quarter to 1833, and thereafter by term of entry. Each entry gives, where known: the boy's surname (in capitals) and full christian name(s); the years when at the school; father's name; year of birth; school honours; and a resume of his subsequent career. The work was published in 1893, so the details of the boys entering in the last few years are correspondingly brief; the names of those still at school at the time of publication are indicated with an asterisk.
>> Search this source

County Court Judgments: Bedfordshire (1890-1890)

Extracts from the Registry of County Courts' Judgments. These judgments were not necessarily for debt. In some cases they were for damages on properly disputed causes of action, but no distinction was made on the Register. Judgments settled otherwise than through the Court may appear, unless "Satisfaction" was entered up within the fourteen days allowed for that purpose. These printed extracts include occasional notes giving more detail about certain cases, and also list Satisfactions entered on the Register.
>> Search this source

County Court Judgments: Berkshire (1890-1890)

Extracts from the Registry of County Courts' Judgments. These judgments were not necessarily for debt. In some cases they were for damages on properly disputed causes of action, but no distinction was made on the Register. Judgments settled otherwise than through the Court may appear, unless 'Satisfaction' was entered up within the fourteen days allowed for that purpose. These printed extracts include occasional notes giving more detail about certain cases, and also list Satisfactions entered on the Register.
>> Search this source

County Court Judgments: Buckinghamshire (1890-1890)

Extracts from the Registry of County Courts' Judgments. These judgments were not necessarily for debt. In some cases they were for damages on properly disputed causes of action, but no distinction was made on the Register. Judgments settled otherwise than through the Court may appear, unless 'Satisfaction' was entered up within the fourteen days allowed for that purpose. These printed extracts include occasional notes giving more detail about certain cases, and also list Satisfactions entered on the Register.
>> Search this source

County Court Judgments: Cambridgeshire (1890-1890)

Extracts from the Registry of County Courts' Judgments. These judgments were not necessarily for debt. In some cases they were for damages on properly disputed causes of action, but no distinction was made on the Register. Judgments settled otherwise than through the Court may appear, unless 'Satisfaction' was entered up within the fourteen days allowed for that purpose. These printed extracts include occasional notes giving more detail about certain cases, and also list Satisfactions entered on the Register.
>> Search this source

County Court Judgments: Cheshire (1890-1890)

Extracts from the Registry of County Courts' Judgments. These judgments were not necessarily for debt. In some cases they were for damages on properly disputed causes of action, but no distinction was made on the Register. Judgments settled otherwise than through the Court may appear, unless 'Satisfaction' was entered up within the fourteen days allowed for that purpose. These printed extracts include occasional notes giving more detail about certain cases, and also list Satisfactions entered on the Register.
>> Search this source

County Court Judgments: Cornwall (1890-1890)

Extracts from the Registry of County Courts' Judgments. These judgments were not necessarily for debt. In some cases they were for damages on properly disputed causes of action, but no distinction was made on the Register. Judgments settled otherwise than through the Court may appear, unless 'Satisfaction' was entered up within the fourteen days allowed for that purpose. These printed extracts include occasional notes giving more detail about certain cases, and also list Satisfactions entered on the Register.
>> Search this source

County Court Judgments: Cumberland (1890-1890)

Extracts from the Registry of County Courts' Judgments. These judgments were not necessarily for debt. In some cases they were for damages on properly disputed causes of action, but no distinction was made on the Register. Judgments settled otherwise than through the Court may appear, unless 'Satisfaction' was entered up within the fourteen days allowed for that purpose. These printed extracts include occasional notes giving more detail about certain cases, and also list Satisfactions entered on the Register.
>> Search this source

County Court Judgments: Derbyshire (1890-1890)

Extracts from the Registry of County Courts' Judgments. These judgments were not necessarily for debt. In some cases they were for damages on properly disputed causes of action, but no distinction was made on the Register. Judgments settled otherwise than through the Court may appear, unless 'Satisfaction' was entered up within the fourteen days allowed for that purpose. These printed extracts include occasional notes giving more detail about certain cases, and also list Satisfactions entered on the Register.
>> Search this source

County Court Judgments: Devon (1890-1890)

Extracts from the Registry of County Courts' Judgments. These judgments were not necessarily for debt. In some cases they were for damages on properly disputed causes of action, but no distinction was made on the Register. Judgments settled otherwise than through the Court may appear, unless 'Satisfaction' was entered up within the fourteen days allowed for that purpose. These printed extracts include occasional notes giving more detail about certain cases, and also list Satisfactions entered on the Register.
>> Search this source

County Court Judgments: Dorset (1890-1890)

Extracts from the Registry of County Courts' Judgments. These judgments were not necessarily for debt. In some cases they were for damages on properly disputed causes of action, but no distinction was made on the Register. Judgments settled otherwise than through the Court may appear, unless 'Satisfaction' was entered up within the fourteen days allowed for that purpose. These printed extracts include occasional notes giving more detail about certain cases, and also list Satisfactions entered on the Register.
>> Search this source

County Court Judgments: County Durham (1890-1890)

Extracts from the Registry of County Courts' Judgments. These judgments were not necessarily for debt. In some cases they were for damages on properly disputed causes of action, but no distinction was made on the Register. Judgments settled otherwise than through the Court may appear, unless 'Satisfaction' was entered up within the fourteen days allowed for that purpose. These printed extracts include occasional notes giving more detail about certain cases, and also list Satisfactions entered on the Register.
>> Search this source

County Court Judgments: Essex (1890-1890)

Extracts from the Registry of County Courts' Judgments. These judgments were not necessarily for debt. In some cases they were for damages on properly disputed causes of action, but no distinction was made on the Register. Judgments settled otherwise than through the Court may appear, unless 'Satisfaction' was entered up within the fourteen days allowed for that purpose. These printed extracts include occasional notes giving more detail about certain cases, and also list Satisfactions entered on the Register.
>> Search this source

County Court Judgments: Gloucestershire (1890-1890)

Extracts from the Registry of County Courts' Judgments. These judgments were not necessarily for debt. In some cases they were for damages on properly disputed causes of action, but no distinction was made on the Register. Judgments settled otherwise than through the Court may appear, unless 'Satisfaction' was entered up within the fourteen days allowed for that purpose. These printed extracts include occasional notes giving more detail about certain cases, and also list Satisfactions entered on the Register.
>> Search this source

County Court Judgments: Hampshire (1890-1890)

Extracts from the Registry of County Courts' Judgments. These judgments were not necessarily for debt. In some cases they were for damages on properly disputed causes of action, but no distinction was made on the Register. Judgments settled otherwise than through the Court may appear, unless 'Satisfaction' was entered up within the fourteen days allowed for that purpose. These printed extracts include occasional notes giving more detail about certain cases, and also list Satisfactions entered on the Register.
>> Search this source

County Court Judgments: Herefordshire (1890-1890)

Extracts from the Registry of County Courts' Judgments. These judgments were not necessarily for debt. In some cases they were for damages on properly disputed causes of action, but no distinction was made on the Register. Judgments settled otherwise than through the Court may appear, unless 'Satisfaction' was entered up within the fourteen days allowed for that purpose. These printed extracts include occasional notes giving more detail about certain cases, and also list Satisfactions entered on the Register.
>> Search this source

County Court Judgments: Hertfordshire (1890-1890)

Extracts from the Registry of County Courts' Judgments. These judgments were not necessarily for debt. In some cases they were for damages on properly disputed causes of action, but no distinction was made on the Register. Judgments settled otherwise than through the Court may appear, unless 'Satisfaction' was entered up within the fourteen days allowed for that purpose. These printed extracts include occasional notes giving more detail about certain cases, and also list Satisfactions entered on the Register.
>> Search this source

County Court Judgments: Huntingdonshire (1890-1890)

Extracts from the Registry of County Courts' Judgments. These judgments were not necessarily for debt. In some cases they were for damages on properly disputed causes of action, but no distinction was made on the Register. Judgments settled otherwise than through the Court may appear, unless 'Satisfaction' was entered up within the fourteen days allowed for that purpose. These printed extracts include occasional notes giving more detail about certain cases, and also list Satisfactions entered on the Register.
>> Search this source

County Court Judgments: Kent (1890-1890)

Extracts from the Registry of County Courts' Judgments. These judgments were not necessarily for debt. In some cases they were for damages on properly disputed causes of action, but no distinction was made on the Register. Judgments settled otherwise than through the Court may appear, unless 'Satisfaction' was entered up within the fourteen days allowed for that purpose. These printed extracts include occasional notes giving more detail about certain cases, and also list Satisfactions entered on the Register.
>> Search this source

County Court Judgments: Lancashire (1890-1890)

Extracts from the Registry of County Courts' Judgments. These judgments were not necessarily for debt. In some cases they were for damages on properly disputed causes of action, but no distinction was made on the Register. Judgments settled otherwise than through the Court may appear, unless 'Satisfaction' was entered up within the fourteen days allowed for that purpose. These printed extracts include occasional notes giving more detail about certain cases, and also list Satisfactions entered on the Register.
>> Search this source

County Court Judgments: Leicestershire (1890-1890)

Extracts from the Registry of County Courts' Judgments. These judgments were not necessarily for debt. In some cases they were for damages on properly disputed causes of action, but no distinction was made on the Register. Judgments settled otherwise than through the Court may appear, unless 'Satisfaction' was entered up within the fourteen days allowed for that purpose. These printed extracts include occasional notes giving more detail about certain cases, and also list Satisfactions entered on the Register.
>> Search this source

County Court Judgments: Lincolnshire (1890-1890)

Extracts from the Registry of County Courts' Judgments. These judgments were not necessarily for debt. In some cases they were for damages on properly disputed causes of action, but no distinction was made on the Register. Judgments settled otherwise than through the Court may appear, unless 'Satisfaction' was entered up within the fourteen days allowed for that purpose. These printed extracts include occasional notes giving more detail about certain cases, and also list Satisfactions entered on the Register.
>> Search this source

County Court Judgments: Middlesex (1890-1890)

Extracts from the Registry of County Courts' Judgments. These judgments were not necessarily for debt. In some cases they were for damages on properly disputed causes of action, but no distinction was made on the Register. Judgments settled otherwise than through the Court may appear, unless 'Satisfaction' was entered up within the fourteen days allowed for that purpose. These printed extracts include occasional notes giving more detail about certain cases, and also list Satisfactions entered on the Register.
>> Search this source

County Court Judgments: Monmouthshire (1890-1890)

Extracts from the Registry of County Courts' Judgments. These judgments were not necessarily for debt. In some cases they were for damages on properly disputed causes of action, but no distinction was made on the Register. Judgments settled otherwise than through the Court may appear, unless 'Satisfaction' was entered up within the fourteen days allowed for that purpose. These printed extracts include occasional notes giving more detail about certain cases, and also list Satisfactions entered on the Register.
>> Search this source

County Court Judgments: Norfolk (1890-1890)

Extracts from the Registry of County Courts' Judgments. These judgments were not necessarily for debt. In some cases they were for damages on properly disputed causes of action, but no distinction was made on the Register. Judgments settled otherwise than through the Court may appear, unless 'Satisfaction' was entered up within the fourteen days allowed for that purpose. These printed extracts include occasional notes giving more detail about certain cases, and also list Satisfactions entered on the Register.
>> Search this source

County Court Judgments: Northamptonshire (1890-1890)

Extracts from the Registry of County Courts' Judgments. These judgments were not necessarily for debt. In some cases they were for damages on properly disputed causes of action, but no distinction was made on the Register. Judgments settled otherwise than through the Court may appear, unless 'Satisfaction' was entered up within the fourteen days allowed for that purpose. These printed extracts include occasional notes giving more detail about certain cases, and also list Satisfactions entered on the Register.
>> Search this source

County Court Judgments: Northumberland (1890-1890)

Extracts from the Registry of County Courts' Judgments. These judgments were not necessarily for debt. In some cases they were for damages on properly disputed causes of action, but no distinction was made on the Register. Judgments settled otherwise than through the Court may appear, unless 'Satisfaction' was entered up within the fourteen days allowed for that purpose. These printed extracts include occasional notes giving more detail about certain cases, and also list Satisfactions entered on the Register.
>> Search this source

County Court Judgments: Nottinghamshire (1890-1890)

Extracts from the Registry of County Courts' Judgments. These judgments were not necessarily for debt. In some cases they were for damages on properly disputed causes of action, but no distinction was made on the Register. Judgments settled otherwise than through the Court may appear, unless 'Satisfaction' was entered up within the fourteen days allowed for that purpose. These printed extracts include occasional notes giving more detail about certain cases, and also list Satisfactions entered on the Register.
>> Search this source

County Court Judgments: Oxfordshire (1890-1890)

Extracts from the Registry of County Courts' Judgments. These judgments were not necessarily for debt. In some cases they were for damages on properly disputed causes of action, but no distinction was made on the Register. Judgments settled otherwise than through the Court may appear, unless 'Satisfaction' was entered up within the fourteen days allowed for that purpose. These printed extracts include occasional notes giving more detail about certain cases, and also list Satisfactions entered on the Register.
>> Search this source

County Court Judgments: Rutland (1890-1890)

Extracts from the Registry of County Courts' Judgments. These judgments were not necessarily for debt. In some cases they were for damages on properly disputed causes of action, but no distinction was made on the Register. Judgments settled otherwise than through the Court may appear, unless 'Satisfaction' was entered up within the fourteen days allowed for that purpose. These printed extracts include occasional notes giving more detail about certain cases, and also list Satisfactions entered on the Register.
>> Search this source

County Court Judgments: Shropshire (1890-1890)

Extracts from the Registry of County Courts' Judgments. These judgments were not necessarily for debt. In some cases they were for damages on properly disputed causes of action, but no distinction was made on the Register. Judgments settled otherwise than through the Court may appear, unless 'Satisfaction' was entered up within the fourteen days allowed for that purpose. These printed extracts include occasional notes giving more detail about certain cases, and also list Satisfactions entered on the Register.
>> Search this source

County Court Judgments: Scotland (1890-1890)

Extracts from the Registry of County Courts' Judgments. These judgments were not necessarily for debt. In some cases they were for damages on properly disputed causes of action, but no distinction was made on the Register. Judgments settled otherwise than through the Court may appear, unless 'Satisfaction' was entered up within the fourteen days allowed for that purpose. These printed extracts include occasional notes giving more detail about certain cases, and also list Satisfactions entered on the Register.
>> Search this source

County Court Judgments: Somerset (1890-1890)

Extracts from the Registry of County Courts' Judgments. These judgments were not necessarily for debt. In some cases they were for damages on properly disputed causes of action, but no distinction was made on the Register. Judgments settled otherwise than through the Court may appear, unless 'Satisfaction' was entered up within the fourteen days allowed for that purpose. These printed extracts include occasional notes giving more detail about certain cases, and also list Satisfactions entered on the Register.
>> Search this source

County Court Judgments: Staffordshire (1890-1890)

Extracts from the Registry of County Courts' Judgments. These judgments were not necessarily for debt. In some cases they were for damages on properly disputed causes of action, but no distinction was made on the Register. Judgments settled otherwise than through the Court may appear, unless 'Satisfaction' was entered up within the fourteen days allowed for that purpose. These printed extracts include occasional notes giving more detail about certain cases, and also list Satisfactions entered on the Register.
>> Search this source

County Court Judgments: Suffolk (1890-1890)

Extracts from the Registry of County Courts' Judgments. These judgments were not necessarily for debt. In some cases they were for damages on properly disputed causes of action, but no distinction was made on the Register. Judgments settled otherwise than through the Court may appear, unless 'Satisfaction' was entered up within the fourteen days allowed for that purpose. These printed extracts include occasional notes giving more detail about certain cases, and also list Satisfactions entered on the Register.
>> Search this source

County Court Judgments: Surrey (1890-1890)

Extracts from the Registry of County Courts' Judgments. These judgments were not necessarily for debt. In some cases they were for damages on properly disputed causes of action, but no distinction was made on the Register. Judgments settled otherwise than through the Court may appear, unless 'Satisfaction' was entered up within the fourteen days allowed for that purpose. These printed extracts include occasional notes giving more detail about certain cases, and also list Satisfactions entered on the Register.
>> Search this source

County Court Judgments: Sussex (1890-1890)

Extracts from the Registry of County Courts' Judgments. These judgments were not necessarily for debt. In some cases they were for damages on properly disputed causes of action, but no distinction was made on the Register. Judgments settled otherwise than through the Court may appear, unless 'Satisfaction' was entered up within the fourteen days allowed for that purpose. These printed extracts include occasional notes giving more detail about certain cases, and also list Satisfactions entered on the Register.
>> Search this source

County Court Judgments: Wales (1890-1890)

Extracts from the Registry of County Courts' Judgments. These judgments were not necessarily for debt. In some cases they were for damages on properly disputed causes of action, but no distinction was made on the Register. Judgments settled otherwise than through the Court may appear, unless 'Satisfaction' was entered up within the fourteen days allowed for that purpose. These printed extracts include occasional notes giving more detail about certain cases, and also list Satisfactions entered on the Register.
>> Search this source

County Court Judgments: Warwickshire (1890-1890)

Extracts from the Registry of County Courts' Judgments. These judgments were not necessarily for debt. In some cases they were for damages on properly disputed causes of action, but no distinction was made on the Register. Judgments settled otherwise than through the Court may appear, unless 'Satisfaction' was entered up within the fourteen days allowed for that purpose. These printed extracts include occasional notes giving more detail about certain cases, and also list Satisfactions entered on the Register.
>> Search this source

County Court Judgments: Westmorland (1890-1890)

Extracts from the Registry of County Courts' Judgments. These judgments were not necessarily for debt. In some cases they were for damages on properly disputed causes of action, but no distinction was made on the Register. Judgments settled otherwise than through the Court may appear, unless 'Satisfaction' was entered up within the fourteen days allowed for that purpose. These printed extracts include occasional notes giving more detail about certain cases, and also list Satisfactions entered on the Register.
>> Search this source

County Court Judgments: Wiltshire (1890-1890)

Extracts from the Registry of County Courts' Judgments. These judgments were not necessarily for debt. In some cases they were for damages on properly disputed causes of action, but no distinction was made on the Register. Judgments settled otherwise than through the Court may appear, unless 'Satisfaction' was entered up within the fourteen days allowed for that purpose. These printed extracts include occasional notes giving more detail about certain cases, and also list Satisfactions entered on the Register.
>> Search this source

County Court Judgments: Worcestershire (1890-1890)

Extracts from the Registry of County Courts' Judgments. These judgments were not necessarily for debt. In some cases they were for damages on properly disputed causes of action, but no distinction was made on the Register. Judgments settled otherwise than through the Court may appear, unless 'Satisfaction' was entered up within the fourteen days allowed for that purpose. These printed extracts include occasional notes giving more detail about certain cases, and also list Satisfactions entered on the Register.
>> Search this source

County Court Judgments: Yorkshire (1890-1890)

Extracts from the Registry of County Courts' Judgments. These judgments were not necessarily for debt. In some cases they were for damages on properly disputed causes of action, but no distinction was made on the Register. Judgments settled otherwise than through the Court may appear, unless 'Satisfaction' was entered up within the fourteen days allowed for that purpose. These printed extracts include occasional notes giving more detail about certain cases, and also list Satisfactions entered on the Register.
>> Search this source

Ludlow Parish Magazine: the Voluntary Rate (1890-1891)

The borough of Ludlow in Shropshire was more or less co-extensive with the ecclesiastical parish of Ludlow St Lawrence. The parish magazine from January 1890 to November 1892 includes this list of the contributors to the parish voluntary rate.
>> Search this source

Ludlow Parish Magazine: the Metcalf(e) Family Fund (1890-1892)

The borough of Ludlow in Shropshire was more or less co-extensive with the ecclesiastical parish of Ludlow St Lawrence. The parish magazine from January 1890 to November 1892 includes news about the fund to support the Metcalf(e) family.
>> Search this source

Gravestones in the British New Cemetery, Sant Rocco, the Ionian Islands (1890-1899)

The Ionian Islands were occupied by British forces in 1809-1814, established as a British protectorate in 1815, and ceded to Greece in 1864. Otho Alexander, British Vice-Consul there, about 1900 transcribed the surviving legible inscriptions from the British New Cemetery at Sant Rocco, as well as those at Paxo and Santa Maura cemeteries.
>> Search this source

Anglicans in Salford and their children (1891-1891)

The parish magazine of the populous Anglican parish of Salford St Matthias contains not only parish news and notices, but also lists of Baptisms, Marriages and Deaths. The parish was divided into 38 districts for the Christian Workers' Association, and the districts are listed, with the names of the streets, and the names and addresses of the district visitors. The Sunday School prize lists give the names of many of the children, arranged by class; and there is a long prize list for the year for boys and girls attending the Anglican day and infants schools at Broughton Road and Silk Street. The parish comprised Broughton Road, St Simon's Street, Back Sandon Street, Wood's Buildings, Sandford Street, Watkin Street, Harriet Street, Brougham Street, Wheat Hill Street, Rose Street, Pink Street, Silk Street and Back Silk Street, Adelphi Street, Flax Street, Ann Street, Diamond Street, Lester Street, Cliburn Street, Sagar Street and Back Sagar Street, Pine Street, Matthew's Buildings, Blackburn Street, Blackburn Place, North James Henry Street, Pea Street, Cannon Court, Arlington Street and Back Arlington Street, Silk Place, Russell Street, Artillery Street, Gun Street, Bow Street, Chestnut Street, North Charles Street, Peter Street, North Thomas Street, Ogden Street, North Cable Street, Cannon Street, Rockville Street, Barnet Street, Brook Street, McIntyre Square, Burton Street, Devine Street, Methvin Street, Skellorn Street, North Hill Street, Briggs Street, Simms Street, Allendale Street, Francis Terrace, Marshall Terrace, Albert Terrace, North George Street, Alexander Street, Albert Street, Marshall Street, Mount Street, Mayers Street, Peru Street, Reservoir Terrace, John Street, Richmond Terrace, Richmond Row and Back Richmond Row, Ford Lane, Ford Land View, Richmond Hill, High Holborn Terrace, Perseverance Place, Williamson Street, Willow Street, and Salford Street.
>> Search this source

Anglicans in Belgrave, Leicestershire (1891-1891)

The new Anglican church of St Michael and All Angels, Belgrave, was consecrated 22 September 1887, and it was assigned an ecclesiastical district comprising about two thirds of this suburb of Leicester. A monthly parish magazine was started in January 1891. The issue for April 1891 included parish news; baptisms (with date of baptism and full name of the child), marriages (with date of marriage and full names of groom and bride), and burials (with date of burial, full name, address and age of deceased); and Sunday School receipts and summary churchwardens' accounts.
>> Search this source

Anglicans in Belgrave, Leicestershire (1891-1891)

The new Anglican church of St Michael and All Angels, Belgrave, was consecrated 22 September 1887, and it was assigned an ecclesiastical district comprising about two thirds of this suburb of Leicester. A monthly parish magazine was started in January 1891. The issue for August 1891 included parish news; baptisms (with date of baptism and full name of the child), and a single burial (with date of burial, full name, address and age of deceased).
>> Search this source

Anglicans in Belgrave, Leicestershire (1891-1891)

The new Anglican church of St Michael and All Angels, Belgrave, was consecrated 22 September 1887, and it was assigned an ecclesiastical district comprising about two thirds of this suburb of Leicester. A monthly parish magazine was started in January 1891. The issue for December 1891 included parish news; baptisms (with date of baptism and full name of the child), one marriage (with date of marriage and full names of groom and bride), and burials (with date of burial, full name, address and age of deceased).
>> Search this source

Anglicans in Belgrave, Leicestershire (1891-1891)

The new Anglican church of St Michael and All Angels, Belgrave, was consecrated 22 September 1887, and it was assigned an ecclesiastical district comprising about two thirds of this suburb of Leicester. A monthly parish magazine was started in January 1891. The issue for February 1891 included parish news; baptisms (with date of baptism and full name of the child), marriages (with date of marriage and full names of groom and bride), and burials (with date of burial, full name, address and age of deceased); and a list of district visitors.
>> Search this source

Anglicans in Belgrave, Leicestershire (1891-1891)

The new Anglican church of St Michael and All Angels, Belgrave, was consecrated 22 September 1887, and it was assigned an ecclesiastical district comprising about two thirds of this suburb of Leicester. A monthly parish magazine was started in January 1891. The issue for January 1891 included parish news; baptisms (with date of baptism and full name of the child), marriages (with date of marriage and full names of groom and bride), and burials (with date of burial, full name, address and age of deceased); and a list of the magazine distributors.
>> Search this source

Anglicans in Belgrave, Leicestershire (1891-1891)

The new Anglican church of St Michael and All Angels, Belgrave, was consecrated 22 September 1887, and it was assigned an ecclesiastical district comprising about two thirds of this suburb of Leicester. A monthly parish magazine was started in January 1891. The issue for July 1891 included parish news; baptisms (with date of baptism and full name of the child), marriages (with date of marriage and full names of groom and bride), and burials (with date of burial, full name, address and age of deceased).
>> Search this source

Anglicans in Belgrave, Leicestershire (1891-1891)

The new Anglican church of St Michael and All Angels, Belgrave, was consecrated 22 September 1887, and it was assigned an ecclesiastical district comprising about two thirds of this suburb of Leicester. A monthly parish magazine was started in January 1891. The issue for June 1891 included parish news; baptisms (with date of baptism and full name of the child), marriages (with date of marriage and full names of groom and bride), and burials (with date of burial, full name, address and age of deceased).
>> Search this source

Anglicans in Belgrave, Leicestershire (1891-1891)

The new Anglican church of St Michael and All Angels, Belgrave, was consecrated 22 September 1887, and it was assigned an ecclesiastical district comprising about two thirds of this suburb of Leicester. A monthly parish magazine was started in January 1891. The issue for March 1891 included parish news, and baptisms (with date of baptism and full name of the child), marriages (with date of marriage and full names of groom and bride), and burials (with date of burial, full name, address and age of deceased).
>> Search this source

Anglicans in Belgrave, Leicestershire (1891-1891)

The new Anglican church of St Michael and All Angels, Belgrave, was consecrated 22 September 1887, and it was assigned an ecclesiastical district comprising about two thirds of this suburb of Leicester. A monthly parish magazine was started in January 1891. The issue for May 1891 included parish news; a single baptism (with date of baptism and full name of the child); and subscriptions to the church building fund.
>> Search this source

Anglicans in Belgrave, Leicestershire (1891-1891)

The new Anglican church of St Michael and All Angels, Belgrave, was consecrated 22 September 1887, and it was assigned an ecclesiastical district comprising about two thirds of this suburb of Leicester. A monthly parish magazine was started in January 1891. The issue for November 1891 included parish news; baptisms (with date of baptism and full name of the child), one marriage (with date of marriage and full names of groom and bride), and one burial (with date of burial, full name, address and age of deceased).
>> Search this source

Anglicans in Belgrave, Leicestershire (1891-1891)

The new Anglican church of St Michael and All Angels, Belgrave, was consecrated 22 September 1887, and it was assigned an ecclesiastical district comprising about two thirds of this suburb of Leicester. A monthly parish magazine was started in January 1891. The issue for October 1891 included parish news; baptisms (with date of baptism and full name of the child), and a single burial (with date of burial, full name, address and age of deceased).
>> Search this source

Anglicans in Belgrave, Leicestershire (1891-1891)

The new Anglican church of St Michael and All Angels, Belgrave, was consecrated 22 September 1887, and it was assigned an ecclesiastical district comprising about two thirds of this suburb of Leicester. A monthly parish magazine was started in January 1891. The issue for September 1891 included parish news; baptisms (with date of baptism and full name of the child), marriages (with date of marriage and full names of groom and bride), and burials (with date of burial, full name, address and age of deceased).
>> Search this source

Wimbledon schoolgirls and schoolmistresses (1891-1891)

Wimbledon High School produced a yearly magazine, issued in December, starting in 1889. Each issue contained general school news, sporting and scholastic results, essays, reports from the school societies (circles and clubs) and news of old girls, with their marriages, births of their children (giving both maiden and married surnames), and deaths. The old girls were organized into what was called the Wimbledon High School Union (W. H. S. U.) and there is news of the Union's doings and of new recruits - the school was opened in 1880, nine years before the Union was formed, and some girls had lost contact.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Wellington College in Berkshire (1891-1891)

Wellington College, near Wokingham, was originally founded for the education of sons of military officers. A register of boys entering the school from First Term 1859 to Michaelmas 1933 was compiled by F. G. Lawrence for the Old Wellingtonian Society. In each entry the boy's name is given in full, in bold, surname first; age at entry (usually 11 to 14); then, in brackets, the name of the dormitory or house to which he belonged, in italics, with the years of his stay; then his father's name (usually surname and initials, but not christian name) with military decorations where appropriate. School prefects and captains are noted as such; if the boy played cricket for the school, XI with the years; academic honours, scholarships, &c.; a brief biography; and date of death, or (where known) address in 1933. Year of marriage is given, and sometimes the wife's name and/or her father's name. Clearly, those boys who kept contact with the school and/or had distinguished military careers have detailed entries; others disappeared into oblivion on leaving.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Epsom College (1891-1891)

The Royal Medical Benevolent College at Epsom in Surrey was founded in 1853 for the orphans of the medical profession, and evolved to become a public school still largely catering for sons of doctors and surgeons. In 1955 this register of pupils, from 1855 to 1954, edited by T. R. Thomson, was published. The sample scan is from 1880. The entries are arranged alphabetically by surname under year of entrance to the school; surname first (in bold), christian names, and then (in most cases), the father's name, occupation and address: then the boy's year of birth (b.), year of leaving (l.), occupation, and, where known, year of death (d.). From 1880 onwards the house to which the boy belonged is also indicated: the boarding houses were Carr (C.), Forest (F.), Granville (G.), Holman (H.), Propert (P.) and Wilson (W.); and Crawfurd (Cr.), Hart Smith (H. S.) and Rosebery (R.) are the houses for day scholars. This is the index to the year 1891, when the Reverend Thomas Northmore Hart-Smith was headmaster.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Marlborough College (1891-1891)

The public school at Marlborough in Wiltshire was founded in 1843. In 1952 this, 9th, edition of the college register was published, being a revision by L. Warwick James of the 8th edition (of 1936): but for the years before 1936 it does not merely repeat the 8th edition, because Warwick James was able to correct the 19th-century entries with information from newly-discovered letters and books from 1843 to 1853, and the school lists from 1844 onwards. The roll is arranged by year, and within each year by term of entrance, and then alphabetically by surname within each term. Each boy is assigned a number within the year: then his name is given, surname first, and, in brackets, his house. The houses within the college were called B1, B2, B3, C1, C2 and C3, and the Lower School (L Sch); the out college houses were Preshute, Priory, Cotton, Hermitage, Littlefield, Barton Hill, Summerfield and Upcot. Then there is given the boy's father's name (surname and initials) and address (at entrance), the boy's date of birth (b) and month of leaving (l). Where the boy represented the school at Rugby football (XV) or cricket (XI), in the rifle corps (VIII, or RC XI), that is indicated. There is a brief summary of achievements in later life, and, where known, and date of death or (in italics) address as in 1952.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Crewkerne School (1891-1891)

Crewkerne Grammar School in Somerset was founded in 1499; as part of the quatercentenary celebrations a History of Crewkerne School, by the Reverend R. Grosvenor Bartelot, was published in 1899; and this included this school register from 1828 to 1899. Until 1877 only foundationers (day boys part of whose fees was paid out of the school foundation) are listed; thereafter boarders as well as day scholars. Names are arranged by date of entrance; surname is given first, then christian name, age at entry, date of entering, and date of leaving.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Sherborne School (1891-1891)

The grammar school at Sherborne in Dorset, which doubtless existed from the creation of the diocese of Sherborne in 705, was refounded by king Edward VI in 1550. At the quatercentenary in 1950, a fourth edition of the Sherborne Register was published, listing boys entering the school during those four centuries. In truth, the materials for this register survive but fitfully before 1823; for some years, no names are known; sometimes all that is known is a surname. But from 1823 onwards the lists and the details get steadily more comprehensive. By the 20th century the boys are listed alphabetically by surname under term of entrance. Surname is given in bold, then christian names, name of father (surname and initials) and address; year of birth; house (a, School House; b, Abbey House; c, The Green; d, Harper House (formerly The Retreat); f, Abbeylands; g, Lyon House; h, Westcott House); whether represented the school at cricket (xi), football (xv), shooting (viii), &c.; year of leaving; summary of degrees, career &c.; and (in italics), address as of 1950. Names in the early lists marked with an asterisk are found inscribed on the oak panelling or on the stone walls of the former schoolroom. (F) in the lists indicates a foundationer, receiving free education: after 1827, when this privilege was restricted to boys from Sherborne and neighbourhood, nearly all foundationers were day-boys.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Loretto School (1891-1891)

The Reverend Dr Thomas Langhorne, who came to Musselburgh in Midlothian as an Episcopalian Church clergyman, established a small school for boarders and day scholars at Loretto House, so called because the grounds contained the ruins of the mediaeval chapel of St Mary of Loretto. To celebrate the centenary of the school in 1925, a second edition of the school register was published, edited by A. H. Buchanan-Dunlop. Relatively little was known of many of the earliest scholars, but from 1835 onwards the register generally gives full name, in capitals, surname first; date of birth; period of time at Loretto; a brief biography; date of death; whether brother of any other boy in the register; and a sequential number.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Gresham's School (1891-1891)

The Sir John Gresham Grammar School at Holt in Norfolk was founded by sir John, who bought the manor house there in 1546 to convert it into a school, and building work had started by 1555. To celebrate the quatercentenary in 1955, a history of the school written by the Reverend C. L. S. Linnell was published, together with an Alumni Greshamienses, a register of boys entering the school from 1562 to 1954, compiled by A. B. Douglas. The materials to hand for the register for the early years were slight; the first coherent lists of boys survive only from 1729, and then are fitful, with little detail, and largely missing from 1784 to 1803; however, from 1810 onwards the names of boys' parents are usually recorded. The register is arranged chronologically by year (and from 1900 by term - L, Lent; M, Michaelmas; S, Summer), and then alphabetically by surname (in capitals) and christian name(s). Where known, year of birth is then given (in brackets), names, addresses and occupations of parents. From 1900 onwards there are italic abbreviations for sporting achievements at school (h, hockey colours; VIII, shooting colours; S, first-class swimmer; XI, cricket colours; XV, football colours), and p for house prefect and P for school prefect; then (in italics) information about the boy's adult life, and his address (where living) at the time of publication. Finally, on the right hand side of the page, in italics, is given the year of his leaving the school. Most detail is absent before 1810; and, of course, for the boys still at school in 1955, or only recently left, there are no details of future career; nor are there the usual details about their parentage. From 1898 onwards day boys are noted with an italic D (N means Newquay dayboy); and from 1900 onwards the school houses are shown (B, Bengal Lodge; F, Farfield; H, School House or Howson's; K, Kenwyn; O, Old School House; W, Woodlands); and, for the junior school, c, Crossways; k, Kenwyn; o, Old School House).
>> Search this source

Boys entering Merchant Taylors' School in London (1891-1891)

Merchant Taylors' School was founded by members of the livery company of the merchant taylors of the city of London in 1561 as a grammar school. By the 19th century this was a major English public school. In 1875 the school removed from Suffolk Lane, in the City, to a new building in Charterhouse Square in Finsbury. In 1907 the Reverend William Baker, a former headmaster, published this school register for the period 1871 to 1900, which we have indexed by year of admission. Each entry gives the boy's name in full (surname, christian name(s)); date of birth; names of both parents (middle names as initials); occupation of father; career summary; and (in italics) address as of 1907.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Fettes College, Edinburgh (1891-1891)

Fettes College, Edinburgh, was opened in 1870 under the terms of a trust 'for maintenance, education, and outfit of young people whose parents have either died without leaving sufficient funds for that purpose, or who, from innocent misfortune during their own lives, are unable to give suitable education to their children'. In 1923 this edition of the Fettes College Register was published; in it the compilers sought to set out for each boy who had attended the college a brief synopsis of what was known about his time at the school, his subsequent career, and date and place of death, or address as of 1923. After each name there is a letter in brackets indicating the house to which the pupil belonged - (C.) Carrington House; (G.) Glencorse House; (K.) Kimmerghame House; (M.) Moredun House; (S.) Schoolhouse. An asterisk indicates that the boy was a foundationer, i. e. supported by the foundation; a dagger that he was a foundation scholar. VIA. indicates Upper Form; Mods. Modern School; Army Cl., Army Class; S. P., School Prefect; xx. First Rugby Football Twenty; xv. First Rugby Football Fifteen; xx. cap. Caps occasionally given to the five (or fewer) next to the First Fifteen after 1875; xi. First Cricket Eleven; viii. Gymnastic Eight; Trs. Prizes and Exhib., Trustees' Prizes and Exhibitions; Govs. Prizes and Exhib., Governors' Prizes and Exhibitions; Schol., scholarship; M., married. Month and year of birth is given in square brackets.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Brighton College (1891-1891)

This edition of the Brighton College Register was published in 1922. The plan of the publication was to list boys by year or, later, term of entry. Each name is assigned a sequential number, 5000 boys, in all, being recorded. Full name is given (surname first, in bold); year of birth; year of leaving; and then (wherever the compiler had such information) a short biography, ending with date of death, where known.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Clifton College (1891-1891)

Clifton College near Bristol was established in 1862. This edition of the Clifton College Annals and Register for the Old Cliftonian Society by F. Borwick was published in 1925. Boys are listed alphabetically by term of entry, with full names, surname first, in bold. Father's (or widowed mother's) name is given (surname and initials) in capitals, and address. Then there is the name of the house (N. T., North Town; S. H., School House; S. T., South Town), first and last forms, distinctions in school work and games, and month of leaving. Where known, the editor then gave a career summary with month of death; or, if still living, address as in 1925 (in italics).
>> Search this source

Boys entering Trinity College, Glenalmond (1891-1891)

Trinity College, Glenalmond, Perthshire, was originally founded as a college at which young men might be trained for the ministry of the Scottish Episcopal Church, and the sons of the laity might be educated and brought up in the faith and tradition of the Church. In 1876 the Theological College was transferred to Edinburgh, Glenalmond remaining as a boys' school. This second edition of the school register, edited by G. St Quintin, was published in 1955, incorporating the text of the first edition prepared by E. W. Neish. The scholars are listed by term of entering the school, and then alphabetically by surname; the details then given are full christian names, date of birth; name of father; any distinctions within the school; and then a career synopsis, with date and place of death where known.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Giggleswick School (1891-1891)

The school at Giggleswick in the West Riding of Yorkshire dates from at least 1507, but no register of the boys attending there has survived earlier than one started by the headmaster, the reverend George Style, in 1875. When the bursar, H. L. Mullins, prepared this, 'The Giggleswick School Register', printed in 1913, he was able to compile general details of some scholars from earlier years, but the concerted, reasonably complete, account starts in 1859. The details are arranged by term of entry, then alphabetically by surname and christian name. Typically each description gives full name; date of birth; name and address of father; date of leaving. Where known, Mullins then added a brief career synopsis, present address in 1913, or date of death. From 1869 onwards boarders were admitted to the school, and where it is known that a boy was a day scholar, the word (Town) is added after his name.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Haileybury College, Hertfordshire (1891-1891)

Haileybury College, near Hertford, was founded by the East India Company in 1806, and incorporated by Royal Charter in 1864. This register of pupils entering the school from 1862 to 1931 was edited by a master there, Laurence Arthur Speakman. The boys are listed by term of joining the school, and then alphabetically by name (in bold), surname first (in capitals). There is then usually a precise birthdate, and the name and address of his father; his period at the school, starting with abbreviations to indicate the house to which he belonged (B., Batten; B. F., Bartle Frere; C., Colvin; E., Edmonstone; Ha., Hailey; Hi., Highfield; L., Lawrence; Le B., Le Bas; M., Melvill; Th., Thomason; T., Trevelyan), and the first and last forms attended (e. g., IV., fourth form). Where a member of a school team there is then an indication (e. g., XI., cricket). For some pupils, with whom the school had lost touch, Speakman was only able to record the details of their time at Haileybury; but for most a brief career synopsis is then given, and current address (as in 1931) or date of death.
>> Search this source

Boys entering King William's College, Isle of Man (1891-1891)

King William's College at Castletown on the Isle of Man was established in 1830. By 1928 about 290 boys were being educated there, 'of whom three-fourths are boarders, and the remainders sons of natives or residents in the Island.' Boys entered the junior school about 9 or 10 years of age, the upper school about 13; boys over 13 were not admitted 'unless attainments and character are specially satisfactory'. There were 'several nominations for the sons of clergy and others'. Editions of the college register were published in 1905 and 1927. When this third edition was prepared, in 1956, it was felt unnecessary to repeat the whole of the register from 1830 onwards, a new starting point being chosen as September 1886, when the reverend Frank Bridgman Walters took office as principal. The items are arranged alphabetically within term of entry; surname is given first, in bold, and then full christian names; then, to the right, in bold, precise date of birth, school house, and month of leaving the school. The abbreviations for houses are: C, Colbourne; D, Dickson; H, Hunt; Ha, Hangoside; J, Junior House; R, Raglan; S, School House (formerly Principal's); T, town houses occupied by masters who took in boys prior to September 1889; Tr, Trafford's; W, Walters. Each entry then gives the boy's father's name (surname and initials) and address at that time; school honours (such as Prae., praepositor, XI, school cricket team); a career synopsis; and finally, in italics, to the right, year of death, or present address in 1956, if known.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Leeds Grammar School (1891-1891)

The admission books for Leeds Grammar School from 1820 to 1900 were edited by Edmund Wilson and published in 1906. The series of registers is almost complete for the period, there being in addition admission registers for the Lower (or Commercial) Department from 1856 to 1865, and lists of boys in the school in 1856, and in the Commercial Department in 1861. The entries are arranged by date or term of admission: a sequential number is given first, then surname, christian name, and, after a dash, father's christian name, occupation, and address; another dash, and then the age of the boy at admission, and often his year of leaving (with the abbreviation r. for 'removed' or 'left'). r.* means left without notice; (o) or S. or Stranger or Foreigner indicates a boy not on the foundation. The editor was unable to divine the meaning of the abbreviation (Q) or the asterisks prefixed to most entries in 1856 to 1860, but dutifully copies them into the text. In smaller type he then proceeds, where possible, to add some information about the boy's subsequent career.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Sedbergh School (1891-1891)

B. Wilson prepared this edition of the register of the Grammar School at Sedbergh in the West Riding of Yorkshire, published in 1895. Sedbergh school had three exhibitions at St John's College, Cambridge, and for the earliest years little more could be found about the pupils at the school than was recorded at St John's or other colleges. In 1700-1706 the first material from Sedbergh appears, but no more than lists of surnames. From 1746 onwards full names, or surnames and initials, are found for those boys who did not continue to university. It is only from 1820 onwards that the school register starts to give detail: month of entry, age, birthplace, and month of leaving. From then onwards Wilson was able to add more and more biographical detail, except, of course, for those boys in 1895 still at the school or with their careers yet ahead of them.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Uppingham School (1891-1891)

The public school at Uppingham in Rutland was founded by Archdeacon Johnson in 1584. A roll of scholars from 1824 to 1905 was edited by J. P. Graham, and published in 1906. This was a revision and updating of an 1894 edition of the roll, the great bulk of the work having been done by Mrs Mullins. The roll is arranged by year, and within each year by term of entrance, and then alphabetically by surname within each term. Each boy's name is given, surname first, with an asterisk where known (in 1906) to have died. Then there is month and year of birth, father's name (most often just surname and initials) and address (at entrance). Where the boy represented the school at Rugby football (XV) or cricket (XI), that is indicated. After the month and year of leaving the school, there is a brief summary of achievements in later life, and, where known, address as in 1906. From 1875 onwards the house within the school is also noted, with these abbreviations: A., Mr Constable's House; B., Brooklands; C., West Bank; E., Mr J. Gale Thring's House; F., Fircroft; Fgh., Farleigh; H., Highfield; L., The Lodge; L. H., Lorne House; M., Meadhurst; N., The Hall; R., Redgate; R. H., Red House; S., School House; and W. D., West Deyne.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Harrow School (1891-1891)

This Second Volume of the Second Series of the Harrow School Register was edited by J. H. Stogdon and published in 1925. The boys are listed by term of entrance, and then alphabetically by surname and christian names (in bold). Next, in brackets and in italics, is the school house to which he belonged - or, H. B. indicating a day boy whose family lived in Harrow. Stogdon then gives the father's surname and initials, and address. In cases where the boy was prominent in sports at school, or won academic prizes, scholarships &c., that is given; then the year of leaving the school; a synopsis of his career; and, where known, his address as of 1925, in italics.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Manchester Grammar School (1891-1891)

This Biographical Register of Old Mancunians lists boys alphabetically by year of entering the school. A bare register of entrants existed from 1888 onwards but it was only since the Second World War that any kind of detailed record was kept of those who passed through the school. So, in every case in this printed register, full name is given, in bold, surname first (in capitals); date of birth, and years attending the school; but for the earlier years sometimes there is no more information - or, equally, after investigation among Old Mancunians and published sources, the editors may have been able to furnish a condensed biography. An asterisk indicates a holder of a Foundation Scholarship. In the later years a current address is also given, as of 1964 to 1965, when the book was prepared.
>> Search this source

Ludlow Parish Magazine: Baptisms (1891-1891)

The borough of Ludlow in Shropshire was more or less co-extensive with the ecclesiastical parish of Ludlow St Lawrence. The parish magazine from January 1890 to November 1892 includes lists of baptisms: giving the date and the child's full name, but not the names of the parents.
>> Search this source

Ludlow Parish Magazine: Burials (1891-1891)

The borough of Ludlow in Shropshire was more or less co-extensive with the ecclesiastical parish of Ludlow St Lawrence. The parish magazine from January 1890 to November 1892 includes lists of burials: giving the date, full name, address, and age at death.
>> Search this source

Ludlow Parish Magazine: the Church Choir (1891-1891)

The borough of Ludlow in Shropshire was more or less co-extensive with the ecclesiastical parish of Ludlow St Lawrence. The parish magazine from January 1890 to November 1892 includes notices and news of the Choir.
>> Search this source

Ludlow Parish Magazine: the Cottage Hospital (1891-1891)

The borough of Ludlow in Shropshire was more or less co-extensive with the ecclesiastical parish of Ludlow St Lawrence. The parish magazine from January 1890 to November 1892 includes notices and news of staff of and donations to the Cottage Hospital.
>> Search this source

Ludlow Parish Magazine: Church Repairs (1891-1891)

The borough of Ludlow in Shropshire was more or less co-extensive with the ecclesiastical parish of Ludlow St Lawrence. The parish magazine from January 1890 to November 1892 includes notices and news of the extensive repairs to the roof and tower, with lists of donations.
>> Search this source

Ludlow Parish Magazine: Bridegrooms (1891-1891)

The borough of Ludlow in Shropshire was more or less co-extensive with the ecclesiastical parish of Ludlow St Lawrence. The parish magazine from January 1890 to November 1892 includes lists of marriages: giving the date and the full names of bride and groom.
>> Search this source

Ludlow Parish Magazine: Miss Howse fund (1891-1891)

The borough of Ludlow in Shropshire was more or less co-extensive with the ecclesiastical parish of Ludlow St Lawrence. The parish magazine from January 1890 to November 1892 includes news about the fund raised to help Miss Howse or Howes.
>> Search this source

Ludlow Parish Magazine: Ludlow National Schools (1891-1891)

The borough of Ludlow in Shropshire was more or less co-extensive with the ecclesiastical parish of Ludlow St Lawrence. The parish magazine from January 1890 to November 1892 includes news and notices about the National Schools in the town.
>> Search this source

Ludlow Parish Magazine: Obituaries (1891-1891)

The borough of Ludlow in Shropshire was more or less co-extensive with the ecclesiastical parish of Ludlow St Lawrence. The parish magazine from January 1890 to November 1892 includes death notices, in memoriams and obituaries of members of the church and others in Ludlow.
>> Search this source

Ludlow Parish Magazine: the Church Organ (1891-1891)

The borough of Ludlow in Shropshire was more or less co-extensive with the ecclesiastical parish of Ludlow St Lawrence. The parish magazine from January 1890 to November 1892 includes news about the restoration of the church organ, the death of the organist, and a committee's deliberations in electing a replacement.
>> Search this source

Ludlow Parish Magazine: the Church Organ (1891-1891)

The borough of Ludlow in Shropshire was more or less co-extensive with the ecclesiastical parish of Ludlow St Lawrence. The parish magazine from January 1890 to November 1892 includes news about the organization of a soup kitchen to help the poor through a bitter winter.
>> Search this source

Ludlow Parish Magazine: Missionary Collections (1891-1891)

The borough of Ludlow in Shropshire was more or less co-extensive with the ecclesiastical parish of Ludlow St Lawrence. The parish magazine from January 1890 to November 1892 includes details of meetings held in support of foreign missions, and lists of donations.
>> Search this source

Ludlow Parish Magazine: Missionary Collections (1891-1891)

The borough of Ludlow in Shropshire was more or less co-extensive with the ecclesiastical parish of Ludlow St Lawrence. The parish magazine from January 1890 to November 1892 includes details of meetings held in support of foreign missions, and lists of donations.
>> Search this source

Ludlow Parish Magazine: St Stephen's Mission Church (1891-1891)

The borough of Ludlow in Shropshire was more or less co-extensive with the ecclesiastical parish of Ludlow St Lawrence. The parish magazine from January 1890 to November 1892 includes details of activities in support of St Stephen's mission church.
>> Search this source

Ludlow Parish Magazine: the Sunday Schools (1891-1891)

The borough of Ludlow in Shropshire was more or less co-extensive with the ecclesiastical parish of Ludlow St Lawrence. The parish magazine from January 1890 to November 1892 includes details of the activities of the Sunday Schools.
>> Search this source

Ludlow Parish Magazine: the Temperance Society (1891-1891)

The borough of Ludlow in Shropshire was more or less co-extensive with the ecclesiastical parish of Ludlow St Lawrence. The parish magazine from January 1890 to November 1892 includes details of the activities of the boys', girls' and senior sections of the local branch of the Church of England Temperance Society.
>> Search this source

Ludlow Parish Magazine: the Winter Clothing Fund (1891-1891)

The borough of Ludlow in Shropshire was more or less co-extensive with the ecclesiastical parish of Ludlow St Lawrence. The parish magazine from January 1890 to November 1892 includes this list of the contributors to the Winter Clothing Fund.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Dover College (1891-1891)

The second edition of the Dover College Register, edited by William Stevens Lee, lists all boys entering the school from its opening in 1871 to the date of publication in 1899. The boys are listed alphabetically by term of entry, surname and full christian names. A double dagger after the name indicates a school prefect. Next comes the year or date of birth, then abbreviations indicating house - [D] day boy; [Sch.] School House; [Sp.] Sparke's House; [St.] Steedman's House; [W.] Walters' from 1881 to 1886, Williams' from 2nd term 1890 to 3rd term 1898; [L.] Littlewood's (the same house as Walters') fom 3rd term 1886 to 1st term 1890. From 3rd term of 1892 onwards the names were changed to [S.] School House; [P.] Priory House (was Sparke's); [M.] St Martin's (was Williams'). Moreover, in January 1893 the Junior School was established at West Mount, and from then onwards [J] indicates a period there. Next come distinctions gained in the school, exhibitions, &c., and athletic distinctions, such as XI for membership of the school cricket eleven, XV for the school football team, with years; then date of leaving; distinctions gained since leaving; and present address (where known) as of 1899. Despite this attempt at comprehensive coverage, the materials to hand for compiling the register were often lacking: at worst, in the early years, there are a handful of entries where only the surname is given. Equally, other entries are detailed and comprehensive.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Tonbridge School (1891-1891)

W. O. Hughes-Hughes, late Assistant-Master of Tonbridge School, prepared this edition of the school register. The Kent grammar school was founded by royal charter in 1553, but the surviving register commences with the names of 69 boys called over on Skinners' Day 1826. After that they are arranged alphabetically by quarter to 1833, and thereafter by term of entry. Each entry gives, where known: the boy's surname (in capitals) and full christian name(s); the years when at the school; father's name; year of birth; school honours; and a resume of his subsequent career. The work was published in 1893, so the details of the boys entering in the last few years are correspondingly brief; the names of those still at school at the time of publication are indicated with an asterisk.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Aldenham School (1891-1895)

Aldenham School in Hertfordshire is a public school originating as an Elizabethan grammar school. The Aldenham School Register was first published in 1898, but this tenth edition, by R. J. Evans, and published in 1969, comprised only living old boys who had entered the school from 1900 onwards, together with those who had entered the school before 1900 and who had responded to a questionnaire. There is thus a general presumption that all the boys mentioned were alive in 1969. The boys are listed alphabetically by surname under the term in which they entered the school. Full name is given, in bold, surname first. Then an abbreviation indicating their house (B, Beevor's; K, Kennedy's; M, McGill's; P, Paull's; SH, School House); the period of stay at the school; address as of 1969; father's name, occupation and residence (where the father had also studied at the school, his name is given in capitals with the year of his entry); brief details of any achievements at the school (particularly at sports); and the briefest of details of subsequent career.
>> Search this source

Victoria University (Yorkshire College) First Class Final LL. B. (1891-1904)

Leeds University Calendar for the academic year 1910 to 1911 includes lists of honours gained in each subject for 1891 to 1904, that is, in the period of Victoria University (Yorkshire College). Full names are given, surname first, with year and class of examination.
>> Search this source

Victoria University (Yorkshire College) Honours in Chemistry (1891-1904)

Leeds University Calendar for the academic year 1910 to 1911 includes lists of honours gained in each subject for 1891 to 1904, that is, in the period of Victoria University (Yorkshire College). Full names are given, surname first, with year and class of examination.
>> Search this source

Victoria University (Yorkshire College) Honours in Engineering (1891-1904)

Leeds University Calendar for the academic year 1910 to 1911 includes lists of honours gained in each subject for 1891 to 1904, that is, in the period of Victoria University (Yorkshire College). Full names are given, surname first, with year and class of examination.
>> Search this source

Victoria University (Yorkshire College) Honours in English Language and Literature (1891-1904)

Leeds University Calendar for the academic year 1910 to 1911 includes lists of honours gained in each subject for 1891 to 1904, that is, in the period of Victoria University (Yorkshire College). Full names are given, surname first, with year and class of examination.
>> Search this source

Victoria University (Yorkshire College) Honours in Geology (1891-1904)

Leeds University Calendar for the academic year 1910 to 1911 includes lists of honours gained in each subject for 1891 to 1904, that is, in the period of Victoria University (Yorkshire College). Full names are given, surname first, with year and class of examination.
>> Search this source

Victoria University (Yorkshire College) Honours in History (1891-1904)

Leeds University Calendar for the academic year 1910 to 1911 includes lists of honours gained in each subject for 1891 to 1904, that is, in the period of Victoria University (Yorkshire College). Full names are given, surname first, with year and class of examination.
>> Search this source

Victoria University (Yorkshire College) Honours in Mathematics (1891-1904)

Leeds University Calendar for the academic year 1910 to 1911 includes lists of honours gained in each subject for 1891 to 1904, that is, in the period of Victoria University (Yorkshire College). Full names are given, surname first, with year and class of examination.
>> Search this source

Victoria University (Yorkshire College) Honours in M. B. and Ch. B. (1891-1904)

Leeds University Calendar for the academic year 1910 to 1911 includes lists of honours gained in each subject for 1891 to 1904, that is, in the period of Victoria University (Yorkshire College). Full names are given, surname first, with year and class of examination.
>> Search this source

Victoria University (Yorkshire College) Honours in Modern Languages and Literature (1891-1904)

Leeds University Calendar for the academic year 1910 to 1911 includes lists of honours gained in each subject for 1891 to 1904, that is, in the period of Victoria University (Yorkshire College). Full names are given, surname first, with year and class of examination.
>> Search this source

Victoria University (Yorkshire College) Honours in Philosophy (1891-1904)

Leeds University Calendar for the academic year 1910 to 1911 includes lists of honours gained in each subject for 1891 to 1904, that is, in the period of Victoria University (Yorkshire College). Full names are given, surname first, with year and class of examination.
>> Search this source

Victoria University (Yorkshire College) Honours in Physics (1891-1904)

Leeds University Calendar for the academic year 1910 to 1911 includes lists of honours gained in each subject for 1891 to 1904, that is, in the period of Victoria University (Yorkshire College). Full names are given, surname first, with year and class of examination.
>> Search this source

Victoria University (Yorkshire College) Honours in Physiology (1891-1904)

Leeds University Calendar for the academic year 1910 to 1911 includes lists of honours gained in each subject for 1891 to 1904, that is, in the period of Victoria University (Yorkshire College). Full names are given, surname first, with year and class of examination.
>> Search this source

Victoria University (Yorkshire College) Honours in Zoology (1891-1904)

Leeds University Calendar for the academic year 1910 to 1911 includes lists of honours gained in each subject for 1891 to 1904, that is, in the period of Victoria University (Yorkshire College). Full names are given, surname first, with year and class of examination.
>> Search this source

Victoria University (Yorkshire College) Fellows, Scholars and Prizemen (1891-1904)

Leeds University Calendar for the academic year 1910 to 1911 includes lists of fellows, scholars and prizemen for 1891 to 1904, that is, in the period of Victoria University (Yorkshire College). Full names are given, surname first, with year and class of examination.
>> Search this source

Anglicans in Belgrave, Leicestershire (1892-1892)

The new Anglican church of St Michael and All Angels, Belgrave, was consecrated 22 September 1887, and it was assigned an ecclesiastical district comprising about two thirds of this suburb of Leicester. A monthly parish magazine was started in January 1891. The issue for April 1892 included parish news; and baptisms (with date of baptism and full name of the child).
>> Search this source

Anglicans in Belgrave, Leicestershire (1892-1892)

The new Anglican church of St Michael and All Angels, Belgrave, was consecrated 22 September 1887, and it was assigned an ecclesiastical district comprising about two thirds of this suburb of Leicester. A monthly parish magazine was started in January 1891. The issue for August 1892 included parish news; baptisms (with date of baptism and full name of the child), marriages (with date of marriage and full names of groom and bride), and one burial (with date of burial, full name, address and age of deceased); and accounts for the fete and sale of work, and subscriptions to the working party.
>> Search this source

Anglicans in Belgrave, Leicestershire (1892-1892)

The new Anglican church of St Michael and All Angels, Belgrave, was consecrated 22 September 1887, and it was assigned an ecclesiastical district comprising about two thirds of this suburb of Leicester. A monthly parish magazine was started in January 1891. The issue for December 1892 included parish news; baptisms (with date of baptism and full name of the child), and burials (with date of burial, full name, address and age of deceased); and choir outing receipts.
>> Search this source

Anglicans in Belgrave, Leicestershire (1892-1892)

The new Anglican church of St Michael and All Angels, Belgrave, was consecrated 22 September 1887, and it was assigned an ecclesiastical district comprising about two thirds of this suburb of Leicester. A monthly parish magazine was started in January 1891. The issue for February 1892 included parish news; baptisms (with date of baptism and full name of the child), marriages (with date of marriage and full names of groom and bride), and burials (with date of burial, full name, address and age of deceased); and Sunday School subscriptions.
>> Search this source

Anglicans in Belgrave, Leicestershire (1892-1892)

The new Anglican church of St Michael and All Angels, Belgrave, was consecrated 22 September 1887, and it was assigned an ecclesiastical district comprising about two thirds of this suburb of Leicester. A monthly parish magazine was started in January 1891. The issue for January 1892 included parish news; baptisms (with date of baptism and full name of the child), marriages (with date of marriage and full names of groom and bride), and burials (with date of burial, full name, address and age of deceased); and subscriptions to the organ fund, subscriptions to the curates fund, and to the Additional Curates Society.
>> Search this source

Anglicans in Belgrave, Leicestershire (1892-1892)

The new Anglican church of St Michael and All Angels, Belgrave, was consecrated 22 September 1887, and it was assigned an ecclesiastical district comprising about two thirds of this suburb of Leicester. A monthly parish magazine was started in January 1891. The issue for July 1892 included parish news; guild news; baptisms (with date of baptism and full name of the child), marriages (with date of marriage and full names of groom and bride), and burials (with date of burial, full name, address and age of deceased).
>> Search this source

Anglicans in Belgrave, Leicestershire (1892-1892)

The new Anglican church of St Michael and All Angels, Belgrave, was consecrated 22 September 1887, and it was assigned an ecclesiastical district comprising about two thirds of this suburb of Leicester. A monthly parish magazine was started in January 1891. The issue for June 1892 included parish news; baptisms (with date of baptism and full name of the child), marriages (with date of marriage and full names of groom and bride), and burials (with date of burial, full name, address and age of deceased); and accounts for the Iron Schoolroom.
>> Search this source

Anglicans in Belgrave, Leicestershire (1892-1892)

The new Anglican church of St Michael and All Angels, Belgrave, was consecrated 22 September 1887, and it was assigned an ecclesiastical district comprising about two thirds of this suburb of Leicester. A monthly parish magazine was started in January 1891. The issue for March 1892 included parish news; baptisms (with date of baptism and full name of the child), marriages (with date of marriage and full names of groom and bride), and burials (with date of burial, full name, address and age of deceased); and subscriptions to the organ fund, as well as a list of Sunday School prizes.
>> Search this source

Anglicans in Belgrave, Leicestershire (1892-1892)

The new Anglican church of St Michael and All Angels, Belgrave, was consecrated 22 September 1887, and it was assigned an ecclesiastical district comprising about two thirds of this suburb of Leicester. A monthly parish magazine was started in January 1891. The issue for May 1892 included parish news; baptisms (with date of baptism and full name of the child), marriages (with date of marriage and full names of groom and bride), and burials (with date of burial, full name, address and age of deceased); and Sunday School receipts, and summary churchwardens' accounts.
>> Search this source

Anglicans in Belgrave, Leicestershire (1892-1892)

The new Anglican church of St Michael and All Angels, Belgrave, was consecrated 22 September 1887, and it was assigned an ecclesiastical district comprising about two thirds of this suburb of Leicester. A monthly parish magazine was started in January 1891. The issue for November 1892 included parish news; baptisms (with date of baptism and full name of the child), marriages (with date of marriage and full names of groom and bride), and burials (with date of burial, full name, address and age of deceased); and subscriptions to the organ fund.
>> Search this source

Anglicans in Belgrave, Leicestershire (1892-1892)

The new Anglican church of St Michael and All Angels, Belgrave, was consecrated 22 September 1887, and it was assigned an ecclesiastical district comprising about two thirds of this suburb of Leicester. A monthly parish magazine was started in January 1891. The issue for October 1892 included parish news; guild news; baptisms (with date of baptism and full name of the child), marriages (with date of marriage and full names of groom and bride), and subscriptions to the organ fund.
>> Search this source

Anglicans in Belgrave, Leicestershire (1892-1892)

The new Anglican church of St Michael and All Angels, Belgrave, was consecrated 22 September 1887, and it was assigned an ecclesiastical district comprising about two thirds of this suburb of Leicester. A monthly parish magazine was started in January 1891. The issue for September 1892 included parish news; baptisms (with date of baptism and full name of the child), marriages (with date of marriage and full names of groom and bride), and burials (with date of burial, full name, address and age of deceased); and subscriptions to the organ fund.
>> Search this source

Wimbledon schoolgirls and schoolmistresses (1892-1892)

Wimbledon High School produced a yearly magazine, issued in December, starting in 1889. Each issue contained general school news, sporting and scholastic results, essays, reports from the school societies (circles and clubs) and news of old girls, with their marriages, births of their children (giving both maiden and married surnames), and deaths. The old girls were organized into what was called the Wimbledon High School Union (W. H. S. U.) and there is news of the Union's doings and of new recruits - the school was opened in 1880, nine years before the Union was formed, and some girls had lost contact.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Wellington College in Berkshire (1892-1892)

Wellington College, near Wokingham, was originally founded for the education of sons of military officers. A register of boys entering the school from First Term 1859 to Michaelmas 1933 was compiled by F. G. Lawrence for the Old Wellingtonian Society. In each entry the boy's name is given in full, in bold, surname first; age at entry (usually 11 to 14); then, in brackets, the name of the dormitory or house to which he belonged, in italics, with the years of his stay; then his father's name (usually surname and initials, but not christian name) with military decorations where appropriate. School prefects and captains are noted as such; if the boy played cricket for the school, XI with the years; academic honours, scholarships, &c.; a brief biography; and date of death, or (where known) address in 1933. Year of marriage is given, and sometimes the wife's name and/or her father's name. Clearly, those boys who kept contact with the school and/or had distinguished military careers have detailed entries; others disappeared into oblivion on leaving.
>> Search this source

Clergy on the committees of the Anglican Church Congress (1892-1892)

The 32nd annual congress of the Anglican church was held at Folkestone on the 4th, 5th, 6th and 7th October 1892. Moral and social questions were discussed as well as the purely theological and ecclesiastical - The Relation between the Authority of the Bible and the Authority of the Church; the Attitude of the Church towards Labour Combinations; the Work of the Church of England on the Continent; the Result of the Neglect of Religious Instruction in Elementary Schools; Canon Law; the Duty of the Church to the Agricultural Population; Christian Ethics; Meeting of Women; the Temperance Movement; Physical Recreation; the Permanent Value of the Old Testament; Thrift and the Poor Law; Vivisection; Preparation for Clerical Orders, and of Laymen for Evangelism; Foreign Missions; the Duty of the Church towards Soldiers; Christian Doctrine and Christian Life; Preaching in the Church of England; and the Church's Work at the Seaside. The sermons, letters, addresses and discussions (of clergy and laity) were all published in this, the official report of the congress. The report also included lists of the members of the committees, divided into clergy and laity: this is the index to the clergy.
>> Search this source

Laymen on the committees of the Anglican Church Congress (1892-1892)

The 32nd annual congress of the Anglican church was held at Folkestone on the 4th, 5th, 6th and 7th October 1892. Moral and social questions were discussed as well as the purely theological and ecclesiastical - The Relation between the Authority of the Bible and the Authority of the Church; the Attitude of the Church towards Labour Combinations; the Work of the Church of England on the Continent; the Result of the Neglect of Religious Instruction in Elementary Schools; Canon Law; the Duty of the Church to the Agricultural Population; Christian Ethics; Meeting of Women; the Temperance Movement; Physical Recreation; the Permanent Value of the Old Testament; Thrift and the Poor Law; Vivisection; Preparation for Clerical Orders, and of Laymen for Evangelism; Foreign Missions; the Duty of the Church towards Soldiers; Christian Doctrine and Christian Life; Preaching in the Church of England; and the Church's Work at the Seaside. The sermons, letters, addresses and discussions (of clergy and laity) were all published in this, the official report of the congress. The report also included lists of the members of the committees, divided into clergy and laity: this is the index to the laymen.
>> Search this source

Guarantors of the Anglican Church Congress (1892-1892)

The 32nd annual congress of the Anglican church was held at Folkestone on the 4th, 5th, 6th and 7th October 1892. Moral and social questions were discussed as well as the purely theological and ecclesiastical - The Relation between the Authority of the Bible and the Authority of the Church; the Attitude of the Church towards Labour Combinations; the Work of the Church of England on the Continent; the Result of the Neglect of Religious Instruction in Elementary Schools; Canon Law; the Duty of the Church to the Agricultural Population; Christian Ethics; Meeting of Women; the Temperance Movement; Physical Recreation; the Permanent Value of the Old Testament; Thrift and the Poor Law; Vivisection; Preparation for Clerical Orders, and of Laymen for Evangelism; Foreign Missions; the Duty of the Church towards Soldiers; Christian Doctrine and Christian Life; Preaching in the Church of England; and the Church's Work at the Seaside. The sermons, letters, addresses and discussions (of clergy and laity) were all published in this, the official report of the congress. The congress cost 1,822 14s 1d to hold; the receipts were 1,547 18s 5d, leaving a deficiency of 274 15s 8d, which was raised by call on the guarantors. The full list of the guarantors (who had each pledged from 10s to 200 beforehand) was printed in the official report, and this, together with the names of a handful of donors, is indexed here.
>> Search this source

Speakers at the Anglican Church Congress (1892-1892)

The 32nd annual congress of the Anglican church was held at Folkestone on the 4th, 5th, 6th and 7th October 1892. Moral and social questions were discussed as well as the purely theological and ecclesiastical - The Relation between the Authority of the Bible and the Authority of the Church; the Attitude of the Church towards Labour Combinations; the Work of the Church of England on the Continent; the Result of the Neglect of Religious Instruction in Elementary Schools; Canon Law; the Duty of the Church to the Agricultural Population; Christian Ethics; Meeting of Women; the Temperance Movement; Physical Recreation; the Permanent Value of the Old Testament; Thrift and the Poor Law; Vivisection; Preparation for Clerical Orders, and of Laymen for Evangelism; Foreign Missions; the Duty of the Church towards Soldiers; Christian Doctrine and Christian Life; Preaching in the Church of England; and the Church's Work at the Seaside. The sermons, letters, addresses and discussions (of clergy and laity) were all published in this, the official report of the congress.
>> Search this source

Vice-Presidents of the Anglican Church Congress (1892-1892)

The 32nd annual congress of the Anglican church was held at Folkestone on the 4th, 5th, 6th and 7th October 1892. Moral and social questions were discussed as well as the purely theological and ecclesiastical - The Relation between the Authority of the Bible and the Authority of the Church; the Attitude of the Church towards Labour Combinations; the Work of the Church of England on the Continent; the Result of the Neglect of Religious Instruction in Elementary Schools; Canon Law; the Duty of the Church to the Agricultural Population; Christian Ethics; Meeting of Women; the Temperance Movement; Physical Recreation; the Permanent Value of the Old Testament; Thrift and the Poor Law; Vivisection; Preparation for Clerical Orders, and of Laymen for Evangelism; Foreign Missions; the Duty of the Church towards Soldiers; Christian Doctrine and Christian Life; Preaching in the Church of England; and the Church's Work at the Seaside. The sermons, letters, addresses and discussions (of clergy and laity) were all published in this, the official report of the congress. The report also included a list of the vice-presidents, which is indexed here.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Epsom College (1892-1892)

The Royal Medical Benevolent College at Epsom in Surrey was founded in 1853 for the orphans of the medical profession, and evolved to become a public school still largely catering for sons of doctors and surgeons. In 1955 this register of pupils, from 1855 to 1954, edited by T. R. Thomson, was published. The sample scan is from 1880. The entries are arranged alphabetically by surname under year of entrance to the school; surname first (in bold), christian names, and then (in most cases), the father's name, occupation and address: then the boy's year of birth (b.), year of leaving (l.), occupation, and, where known, year of death (d.). From 1880 onwards the house to which the boy belonged is also indicated: the boarding houses were Carr (C.), Forest (F.), Granville (G.), Holman (H.), Propert (P.) and Wilson (W.); and Crawfurd (Cr.), Hart Smith (H. S.) and Rosebery (R.) are the houses for day scholars. This is the index to the year 1892, when the Reverend Thomas Northmore Hart-Smith was headmaster.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Marlborough College (1892-1892)

The public school at Marlborough in Wiltshire was founded in 1843. In 1952 this, 9th, edition of the college register was published, being a revision by L. Warwick James of the 8th edition (of 1936): but for the years before 1936 it does not merely repeat the 8th edition, because Warwick James was able to correct the 19th-century entries with information from newly-discovered letters and books from 1843 to 1853, and the school lists from 1844 onwards. The roll is arranged by year, and within each year by term of entrance, and then alphabetically by surname within each term. Each boy is assigned a number within the year: then his name is given, surname first, and, in brackets, his house. The houses within the college were called B1, B2, B3, C1, C2 and C3, and the Lower School (L Sch); the out college houses were Preshute, Priory, Cotton, Hermitage, Littlefield, Barton Hill, Summerfield and Upcot. Then there is given the boy's father's name (surname and initials) and address (at entrance), the boy's date of birth (b) and month of leaving (l). Where the boy represented the school at Rugby football (XV) or cricket (XI), in the rifle corps (VIII, or RC XI), that is indicated. There is a brief summary of achievements in later life, and, where known, and date of death or (in italics) address as in 1952.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Crewkerne School (1892-1892)

Crewkerne Grammar School in Somerset was founded in 1499; as part of the quatercentenary celebrations a History of Crewkerne School, by the Reverend R. Grosvenor Bartelot, was published in 1899; and this included this school register from 1828 to 1899. Until 1877 only foundationers (day boys part of whose fees was paid out of the school foundation) are listed; thereafter boarders as well as day scholars. Names are arranged by date of entrance; surname is given first, then christian name, age at entry, date of entering, and date of leaving.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Sherborne School (1892-1892)

The grammar school at Sherborne in Dorset, which doubtless existed from the creation of the diocese of Sherborne in 705, was refounded by king Edward VI in 1550. At the quatercentenary in 1950, a fourth edition of the Sherborne Register was published, listing boys entering the school during those four centuries. In truth, the materials for this register survive but fitfully before 1823; for some years, no names are known; sometimes all that is known is a surname. But from 1823 onwards the lists and the details get steadily more comprehensive. By the 20th century the boys are listed alphabetically by surname under term of entrance. Surname is given in bold, then christian names, name of father (surname and initials) and address; year of birth; house (a, School House; b, Abbey House; c, The Green; d, Harper House (formerly The Retreat); f, Abbeylands; g, Lyon House; h, Westcott House); whether represented the school at cricket (xi), football (xv), shooting (viii), &c.; year of leaving; summary of degrees, career &c.; and (in italics), address as of 1950. Names in the early lists marked with an asterisk are found inscribed on the oak panelling or on the stone walls of the former schoolroom. (F) in the lists indicates a foundationer, receiving free education: after 1827, when this privilege was restricted to boys from Sherborne and neighbourhood, nearly all foundationers were day-boys.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Loretto School (1892-1892)

The Reverend Dr Thomas Langhorne, who came to Musselburgh in Midlothian as an Episcopalian Church clergyman, established a small school for boarders and day scholars at Loretto House, so called because the grounds contained the ruins of the mediaeval chapel of St Mary of Loretto. To celebrate the centenary of the school in 1925, a second edition of the school register was published, edited by A. H. Buchanan-Dunlop. Relatively little was known of many of the earliest scholars, but from 1835 onwards the register generally gives full name, in capitals, surname first; date of birth; period of time at Loretto; a brief biography; date of death; whether brother of any other boy in the register; and a sequential number.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Gresham's School (1892-1892)

The Sir John Gresham Grammar School at Holt in Norfolk was founded by sir John, who bought the manor house there in 1546 to convert it into a school, and building work had started by 1555. To celebrate the quatercentenary in 1955, a history of the school written by the Reverend C. L. S. Linnell was published, together with an Alumni Greshamienses, a register of boys entering the school from 1562 to 1954, compiled by A. B. Douglas. The materials to hand for the register for the early years were slight; the first coherent lists of boys survive only from 1729, and then are fitful, with little detail, and largely missing from 1784 to 1803; however, from 1810 onwards the names of boys' parents are usually recorded. The register is arranged chronologically by year (and from 1900 by term - L, Lent; M, Michaelmas; S, Summer), and then alphabetically by surname (in capitals) and christian name(s). Where known, year of birth is then given (in brackets), names, addresses and occupations of parents. From 1900 onwards there are italic abbreviations for sporting achievements at school (h, hockey colours; VIII, shooting colours; S, first-class swimmer; XI, cricket colours; XV, football colours), and p for house prefect and P for school prefect; then (in italics) information about the boy's adult life, and his address (where living) at the time of publication. Finally, on the right hand side of the page, in italics, is given the year of his leaving the school. Most detail is absent before 1810; and, of course, for the boys still at school in 1955, or only recently left, there are no details of future career; nor are there the usual details about their parentage. From 1898 onwards day boys are noted with an italic D (N means Newquay dayboy); and from 1900 onwards the school houses are shown (B, Bengal Lodge; F, Farfield; H, School House or Howson's; K, Kenwyn; O, Old School House; W, Woodlands); and, for the junior school, c, Crossways; k, Kenwyn; o, Old School House).
>> Search this source

Boys entering Merchant Taylors' School in London (1892-1892)

Merchant Taylors' School was founded by members of the livery company of the merchant taylors of the city of London in 1561 as a grammar school. By the 19th century this was a major English public school. In 1875 the school removed from Suffolk Lane, in the City, to a new building in Charterhouse Square in Finsbury. In 1907 the Reverend William Baker, a former headmaster, published this school register for the period 1871 to 1900, which we have indexed by year of admission. Each entry gives the boy's name in full (surname, christian name(s)); date of birth; names of both parents (middle names as initials); occupation of father; career summary; and (in italics) address as of 1907.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Fettes College, Edinburgh (1892-1892)

Fettes College, Edinburgh, was opened in 1870 under the terms of a trust 'for maintenance, education, and outfit of young people whose parents have either died without leaving sufficient funds for that purpose, or who, from innocent misfortune during their own lives, are unable to give suitable education to their children'. In 1923 this edition of the Fettes College Register was published; in it the compilers sought to set out for each boy who had attended the college a brief synopsis of what was known about his time at the school, his subsequent career, and date and place of death, or address as of 1923. After each name there is a letter in brackets indicating the house to which the pupil belonged - (C.) Carrington House; (G.) Glencorse House; (K.) Kimmerghame House; (M.) Moredun House; (S.) Schoolhouse. An asterisk indicates that the boy was a foundationer, i. e. supported by the foundation; a dagger that he was a foundation scholar. VIA. indicates Upper Form; Mods. Modern School; Army Cl., Army Class; S. P., School Prefect; xx. First Rugby Football Twenty; xv. First Rugby Football Fifteen; xx. cap. Caps occasionally given to the five (or fewer) next to the First Fifteen after 1875; xi. First Cricket Eleven; viii. Gymnastic Eight; Trs. Prizes and Exhib., Trustees' Prizes and Exhibitions; Govs. Prizes and Exhib., Governors' Prizes and Exhibitions; Schol., scholarship; M., married. Month and year of birth is given in square brackets.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Brighton College (1892-1892)

This edition of the Brighton College Register was published in 1922. The plan of the publication was to list boys by year or, later, term of entry. Each name is assigned a sequential number, 5000 boys, in all, being recorded. Full name is given (surname first, in bold); year of birth; year of leaving; and then (wherever the compiler had such information) a short biography, ending with date of death, where known.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Clifton College (1892-1892)

Clifton College near Bristol was established in 1862. This edition of the Clifton College Annals and Register for the Old Cliftonian Society by F. Borwick was published in 1925. Boys are listed alphabetically by term of entry, with full names, surname first, in bold. Father's (or widowed mother's) name is given (surname and initials) in capitals, and address. Then there is the name of the house (N. T., North Town; S. H., School House; S. T., South Town), first and last forms, distinctions in school work and games, and month of leaving. Where known, the editor then gave a career summary with month of death; or, if still living, address as in 1925 (in italics).
>> Search this source

Boys entering Trinity College, Glenalmond (1892-1892)

Trinity College, Glenalmond, Perthshire, was originally founded as a college at which young men might be trained for the ministry of the Scottish Episcopal Church, and the sons of the laity might be educated and brought up in the faith and tradition of the Church. In 1876 the Theological College was transferred to Edinburgh, Glenalmond remaining as a boys' school. This second edition of the school register, edited by G. St Quintin, was published in 1955, incorporating the text of the first edition prepared by E. W. Neish. The scholars are listed by term of entering the school, and then alphabetically by surname; the details then given are full christian names, date of birth; name of father; any distinctions within the school; and then a career synopsis, with date and place of death where known.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Giggleswick School (1892-1892)

The school at Giggleswick in the West Riding of Yorkshire dates from at least 1507, but no register of the boys attending there has survived earlier than one started by the headmaster, the reverend George Style, in 1875. When the bursar, H. L. Mullins, prepared this, 'The Giggleswick School Register', printed in 1913, he was able to compile general details of some scholars from earlier years, but the concerted, reasonably complete, account starts in 1859. The details are arranged by term of entry, then alphabetically by surname and christian name. Typically each description gives full name; date of birth; name and address of father; date of leaving. Where known, Mullins then added a brief career synopsis, present address in 1913, or date of death. From 1869 onwards boarders were admitted to the school, and where it is known that a boy was a day scholar, the word (Town) is added after his name.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Haileybury College, Hertfordshire (1892-1892)

Haileybury College, near Hertford, was founded by the East India Company in 1806, and incorporated by Royal Charter in 1864. This register of pupils entering the school from 1862 to 1931 was edited by a master there, Laurence Arthur Speakman. The boys are listed by term of joining the school, and then alphabetically by name (in bold), surname first (in capitals). There is then usually a precise birthdate, and the name and address of his father; his period at the school, starting with abbreviations to indicate the house to which he belonged (B., Batten; B. F., Bartle Frere; C., Colvin; E., Edmonstone; Ha., Hailey; Hi., Highfield; L., Lawrence; Le B., Le Bas; M., Melvill; Th., Thomason; T., Trevelyan), and the first and last forms attended (e. g., IV., fourth form). Where a member of a school team there is then an indication (e. g., XI., cricket). For some pupils, with whom the school had lost touch, Speakman was only able to record the details of their time at Haileybury; but for most a brief career synopsis is then given, and current address (as in 1931) or date of death.
>> Search this source

Boys entering King William's College, Isle of Man (1892-1892)

King William's College at Castletown on the Isle of Man was established in 1830. By 1928 about 290 boys were being educated there, 'of whom three-fourths are boarders, and the remainders sons of natives or residents in the Island.' Boys entered the junior school about 9 or 10 years of age, the upper school about 13; boys over 13 were not admitted 'unless attainments and character are specially satisfactory'. There were 'several nominations for the sons of clergy and others'. Editions of the college register were published in 1905 and 1927. When this third edition was prepared, in 1956, it was felt unnecessary to repeat the whole of the register from 1830 onwards, a new starting point being chosen as September 1886, when the reverend Frank Bridgman Walters took office as principal. The items are arranged alphabetically within term of entry; surname is given first, in bold, and then full christian names; then, to the right, in bold, precise date of birth, school house, and month of leaving the school. The abbreviations for houses are: C, Colbourne; D, Dickson; H, Hunt; Ha, Hangoside; J, Junior House; R, Raglan; S, School House (formerly Principal's); T, town houses occupied by masters who took in boys prior to September 1889; Tr, Trafford's; W, Walters. Each entry then gives the boy's father's name (surname and initials) and address at that time; school honours (such as Prae., praepositor, XI, school cricket team); a career synopsis; and finally, in italics, to the right, year of death, or present address in 1956, if known.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Leeds Grammar School (1892-1892)

The admission books for Leeds Grammar School from 1820 to 1900 were edited by Edmund Wilson and published in 1906. The series of registers is almost complete for the period, there being in addition admission registers for the Lower (or Commercial) Department from 1856 to 1865, and lists of boys in the school in 1856, and in the Commercial Department in 1861. The entries are arranged by date or term of admission: a sequential number is given first, then surname, christian name, and, after a dash, father's christian name, occupation, and address; another dash, and then the age of the boy at admission, and often his year of leaving (with the abbreviation r. for 'removed' or 'left'). r.* means left without notice; (o) or S. or Stranger or Foreigner indicates a boy not on the foundation. The editor was unable to divine the meaning of the abbreviation (Q) or the asterisks prefixed to most entries in 1856 to 1860, but dutifully copies them into the text. In smaller type he then proceeds, where possible, to add some information about the boy's subsequent career.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Sedbergh School (1892-1892)

B. Wilson prepared this edition of the register of the Grammar School at Sedbergh in the West Riding of Yorkshire, published in 1895. Sedbergh school had three exhibitions at St John's College, Cambridge, and for the earliest years little more could be found about the pupils at the school than was recorded at St John's or other colleges. In 1700-1706 the first material from Sedbergh appears, but no more than lists of surnames. From 1746 onwards full names, or surnames and initials, are found for those boys who did not continue to university. It is only from 1820 onwards that the school register starts to give detail: month of entry, age, birthplace, and month of leaving. From then onwards Wilson was able to add more and more biographical detail, except, of course, for those boys in 1895 still at the school or with their careers yet ahead of them.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Uppingham School (1892-1892)

The public school at Uppingham in Rutland was founded by Archdeacon Johnson in 1584. A roll of scholars from 1824 to 1905 was edited by J. P. Graham, and published in 1906. This was a revision and updating of an 1894 edition of the roll, the great bulk of the work having been done by Mrs Mullins. The roll is arranged by year, and within each year by term of entrance, and then alphabetically by surname within each term. Each boy's name is given, surname first, with an asterisk where known (in 1906) to have died. Then there is month and year of birth, father's name (most often just surname and initials) and address (at entrance). Where the boy represented the school at Rugby football (XV) or cricket (XI), that is indicated. After the month and year of leaving the school, there is a brief summary of achievements in later life, and, where known, address as in 1906. From 1875 onwards the house within the school is also noted, with these abbreviations: A., Mr Constable's House; B., Brooklands; C., West Bank; E., Mr J. Gale Thring's House; F., Fircroft; Fgh., Farleigh; H., Highfield; L., The Lodge; L. H., Lorne House; M., Meadhurst; N., The Hall; R., Redgate; R. H., Red House; S., School House; and W. D., West Deyne.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Harrow School (1892-1892)

This Second Volume of the Second Series of the Harrow School Register was edited by J. H. Stogdon and published in 1925. The boys are listed by term of entrance, and then alphabetically by surname and christian names (in bold). Next, in brackets and in italics, is the school house to which he belonged - or, H. B. indicating a day boy whose family lived in Harrow. Stogdon then gives the father's surname and initials, and address. In cases where the boy was prominent in sports at school, or won academic prizes, scholarships &c., that is given; then the year of leaving the school; a synopsis of his career; and, where known, his address as of 1925, in italics.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Manchester Grammar School (1892-1892)

This Biographical Register of Old Mancunians lists boys alphabetically by year of entering the school. A bare register of entrants existed from 1888 onwards but it was only since the Second World War that any kind of detailed record was kept of those who passed through the school. So, in every case in this printed register, full name is given, in bold, surname first (in capitals); date of birth, and years attending the school; but for the earlier years sometimes there is no more information - or, equally, after investigation among Old Mancunians and published sources, the editors may have been able to furnish a condensed biography. An asterisk indicates a holder of a Foundation Scholarship. In the later years a current address is also given, as of 1964 to 1965, when the book was prepared.
>> Search this source

Ludlow Parish Magazine: Baptisms (1892-1892)

The borough of Ludlow in Shropshire was more or less co-extensive with the ecclesiastical parish of Ludlow St Lawrence. The parish magazine from January 1890 to November 1892 includes lists of baptisms: giving the date and the child's full name, but not the names of the parents.
>> Search this source

Ludlow Parish Magazine: Brides (1892-1892)

The borough of Ludlow in Shropshire was more or less co-extensive with the ecclesiastical parish of Ludlow St Lawrence. The parish magazine from January 1890 to November 1892 includes lists of marriages: giving the date and the full names of bride and groom.
>> Search this source

Ludlow Parish Magazine: Burials (1892-1892)

The borough of Ludlow in Shropshire was more or less co-extensive with the ecclesiastical parish of Ludlow St Lawrence. The parish magazine from January 1890 to November 1892 includes lists of burials: giving the date, full name, address, and age at death.
>> Search this source

Ludlow Parish Magazine: the Church Choir (1892-1892)

The borough of Ludlow in Shropshire was more or less co-extensive with the ecclesiastical parish of Ludlow St Lawrence. The parish magazine from January 1890 to November 1892 includes notices and news of the Choir.
>> Search this source

Ludlow Parish Magazine: the Cottage Hospital (1892-1892)

The borough of Ludlow in Shropshire was more or less co-extensive with the ecclesiastical parish of Ludlow St Lawrence. The parish magazine from January 1890 to November 1892 includes notices and news of staff of and donations to the Cottage Hospital.
>> Search this source

Ludlow Parish Magazine: Church Repairs (1892-1892)

The borough of Ludlow in Shropshire was more or less co-extensive with the ecclesiastical parish of Ludlow St Lawrence. The parish magazine from January 1890 to November 1892 includes notices and news of the extensive repairs to the roof and tower, with lists of donations.
>> Search this source

Ludlow Parish Magazine: Girls' Friendly Society (1892-1892)

The borough of Ludlow in Shropshire was more or less co-extensive with the ecclesiastical parish of Ludlow St Lawrence. The parish magazine from January 1890 to November 1892 includes notices and news of the meetings of the Ludlow Girls' Friendly Society.
>> Search this source

Ludlow Parish Magazine: Bridegrooms (1892-1892)

The borough of Ludlow in Shropshire was more or less co-extensive with the ecclesiastical parish of Ludlow St Lawrence. The parish magazine from January 1890 to November 1892 includes lists of marriages: giving the date and the full names of bride and groom.
>> Search this source

Ludlow Parish Magazine: Ludlow National Schools (1892-1892)

The borough of Ludlow in Shropshire was more or less co-extensive with the ecclesiastical parish of Ludlow St Lawrence. The parish magazine from January 1890 to November 1892 includes news and notices about the National Schools in the town.
>> Search this source

Ludlow Parish Magazine: Obituaries (1892-1892)

The borough of Ludlow in Shropshire was more or less co-extensive with the ecclesiastical parish of Ludlow St Lawrence. The parish magazine from January 1890 to November 1892 includes death notices, in memoriams and obituaries of members of the church and others in Ludlow.
>> Search this source

Ludlow Parish Magazine: the Church Organ (1892-1892)

The borough of Ludlow in Shropshire was more or less co-extensive with the ecclesiastical parish of Ludlow St Lawrence. The parish magazine from January 1890 to November 1892 includes news about the restoration of the church organ, the death of the organist, and a committee's deliberations in electing a replacement.
>> Search this source

Ludlow Parish Magazine: Church Subscription (1892-1892)

The borough of Ludlow in Shropshire was more or less co-extensive with the ecclesiastical parish of Ludlow St Lawrence. The parish magazine from January 1890 to November 1892 includes this list of a voluntary subscription to clear a deficit in the churchwardens' accounts at Easter 1892.
>> Search this source

Ludlow Parish Magazine: the Sunday Schools (1892-1892)

The borough of Ludlow in Shropshire was more or less co-extensive with the ecclesiastical parish of Ludlow St Lawrence. The parish magazine from January 1890 to November 1892 includes details of the activities of the Sunday Schools.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Dover College (1892-1892)

The second edition of the Dover College Register, edited by William Stevens Lee, lists all boys entering the school from its opening in 1871 to the date of publication in 1899. The boys are listed alphabetically by term of entry, surname and full christian names. A double dagger after the name indicates a school prefect. Next comes the year or date of birth, then abbreviations indicating house - [D] day boy; [Sch.] School House; [Sp.] Sparke's House; [St.] Steedman's House; [W.] Walters' from 1881 to 1886, Williams' from 2nd term 1890 to 3rd term 1898; [L.] Littlewood's (the same house as Walters') fom 3rd term 1886 to 1st term 1890. From 3rd term of 1892 onwards the names were changed to [S.] School House; [P.] Priory House (was Sparke's); [M.] St Martin's (was Williams'). Moreover, in January 1893 the Junior School was established at West Mount, and from then onwards [J] indicates a period there. Next come distinctions gained in the school, exhibitions, &c., and athletic distinctions, such as XI for membership of the school cricket eleven, XV for the school football team, with years; then date of leaving; distinctions gained since leaving; and present address (where known) as of 1899. Despite this attempt at comprehensive coverage, the materials to hand for compiling the register were often lacking: at worst, in the early years, there are a handful of entries where only the surname is given. Equally, other entries are detailed and comprehensive.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Tonbridge School (1892-1892)

W. O. Hughes-Hughes, late Assistant-Master of Tonbridge School, prepared this edition of the school register. The Kent grammar school was founded by royal charter in 1553, but the surviving register commences with the names of 69 boys called over on Skinners' Day 1826. After that they are arranged alphabetically by quarter to 1833, and thereafter by term of entry. Each entry gives, where known: the boy's surname (in capitals) and full christian name(s); the years when at the school; father's name; year of birth; school honours; and a resume of his subsequent career. The work was published in 1893, so the details of the boys entering in the last few years are correspondingly brief; the names of those still at school at the time of publication are indicated with an asterisk.
>> Search this source

London Metropolitan Police (1892-1902)

The London Metropolitan Police Register of Joiners (MEPO 4/336) lists policemen joining the force 1 January 1892 to 23 June 1902 (warrant numbers 77319 to 88811). The register is alphabetical, in so far as the recruits are listed chronologically grouped under first letter of surname. It gives Date of Appointment, Name, Number of Warrant, Cause of Removal from Force (resigned, dismissed, promoted or died), and Date of Removal. A final column of 'Remarks' is largely blank, but occasionally gives an alias or a cross-reference to another warrant number.
>> Search this source

Wimbledon schoolgirls and schoolmistresses (1893-1893)

Wimbledon High School produced a yearly magazine, issued in December, starting in 1889. Each issue contained general school news, sporting and scholastic results, essays, reports from the school societies (circles and clubs) and news of old girls, with their marriages, births of their children (giving both maiden and married surnames), and deaths. The old girls were organized into what was called the Wimbledon High School Union (W. H. S. U.) and there is news of the Union's doings and of new recruits - the school was opened in 1880, nine years before the Union was formed, and some girls had lost contact.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Wellington College in Berkshire (1893-1893)

Wellington College, near Wokingham, was originally founded for the education of sons of military officers. A register of boys entering the school from First Term 1859 to Michaelmas 1933 was compiled by F. G. Lawrence for the Old Wellingtonian Society. In each entry the boy's name is given in full, in bold, surname first; age at entry (usually 11 to 14); then, in brackets, the name of the dormitory or house to which he belonged, in italics, with the years of his stay; then his father's name (usually surname and initials, but not christian name) with military decorations where appropriate. School prefects and captains are noted as such; if the boy played cricket for the school, XI with the years; academic honours, scholarships, &c.; a brief biography; and date of death, or (where known) address in 1933. Year of marriage is given, and sometimes the wife's name and/or her father's name. Clearly, those boys who kept contact with the school and/or had distinguished military careers have detailed entries; others disappeared into oblivion on leaving.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Epsom College (1893-1893)

The Royal Medical Benevolent College at Epsom in Surrey was founded in 1853 for the orphans of the medical profession, and evolved to become a public school still largely catering for sons of doctors and surgeons. In 1955 this register of pupils, from 1855 to 1954, edited by T. R. Thomson, was published. The sample scan is from 1880. The entries are arranged alphabetically by surname under year of entrance to the school; surname first (in bold), christian names, and then (in most cases), the father's name, occupation and address: then the boy's year of birth (b.), year of leaving (l.), occupation, and, where known, year of death (d.). From 1880 onwards the house to which the boy belonged is also indicated: the boarding houses were Carr (C.), Forest (F.), Granville (G.), Holman (H.), Propert (P.) and Wilson (W.); and Crawfurd (Cr.), Hart Smith (H. S.) and Rosebery (R.) are the houses for day scholars. This is the index to the year 1893, when the Reverend Thomas Northmore Hart-Smith was headmaster.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Marlborough College (1893-1893)

The public school at Marlborough in Wiltshire was founded in 1843. In 1952 this, 9th, edition of the college register was published, being a revision by L. Warwick James of the 8th edition (of 1936): but for the years before 1936 it does not merely repeat the 8th edition, because Warwick James was able to correct the 19th-century entries with information from newly-discovered letters and books from 1843 to 1853, and the school lists from 1844 onwards. The roll is arranged by year, and within each year by term of entrance, and then alphabetically by surname within each term. Each boy is assigned a number within the year: then his name is given, surname first, and, in brackets, his house. The houses within the college were called B1, B2, B3, C1, C2 and C3, and the Lower School (L Sch); the out college houses were Preshute, Priory, Cotton, Hermitage, Littlefield, Barton Hill, Summerfield and Upcot. Then there is given the boy's father's name (surname and initials) and address (at entrance), the boy's date of birth (b) and month of leaving (l). Where the boy represented the school at Rugby football (XV) or cricket (XI), in the rifle corps (VIII, or RC XI), that is indicated. There is a brief summary of achievements in later life, and, where known, and date of death or (in italics) address as in 1952.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Crewkerne School (1893-1893)

Crewkerne Grammar School in Somerset was founded in 1499; as part of the quatercentenary celebrations a History of Crewkerne School, by the Reverend R. Grosvenor Bartelot, was published in 1899; and this included this school register from 1828 to 1899. Until 1877 only foundationers (day boys part of whose fees was paid out of the school foundation) are listed; thereafter boarders as well as day scholars. Names are arranged by date of entrance; surname is given first, then christian name, age at entry, date of entering, and date of leaving.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Sherborne School (1893-1893)

The grammar school at Sherborne in Dorset, which doubtless existed from the creation of the diocese of Sherborne in 705, was refounded by king Edward VI in 1550. At the quatercentenary in 1950, a fourth edition of the Sherborne Register was published, listing boys entering the school during those four centuries. In truth, the materials for this register survive but fitfully before 1823; for some years, no names are known; sometimes all that is known is a surname. But from 1823 onwards the lists and the details get steadily more comprehensive. By the 20th century the boys are listed alphabetically by surname under term of entrance. Surname is given in bold, then christian names, name of father (surname and initials) and address; year of birth; house (a, School House; b, Abbey House; c, The Green; d, Harper House (formerly The Retreat); f, Abbeylands; g, Lyon House; h, Westcott House); whether represented the school at cricket (xi), football (xv), shooting (viii), &c.; year of leaving; summary of degrees, career &c.; and (in italics), address as of 1950. Names in the early lists marked with an asterisk are found inscribed on the oak panelling or on the stone walls of the former schoolroom. (F) in the lists indicates a foundationer, receiving free education: after 1827, when this privilege was restricted to boys from Sherborne and neighbourhood, nearly all foundationers were day-boys.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Loretto School (1893-1893)

The Reverend Dr Thomas Langhorne, who came to Musselburgh in Midlothian as an Episcopalian Church clergyman, established a small school for boarders and day scholars at Loretto House, so called because the grounds contained the ruins of the mediaeval chapel of St Mary of Loretto. To celebrate the centenary of the school in 1925, a second edition of the school register was published, edited by A. H. Buchanan-Dunlop. Relatively little was known of many of the earliest scholars, but from 1835 onwards the register generally gives full name, in capitals, surname first; date of birth; period of time at Loretto; a brief biography; date of death; whether brother of any other boy in the register; and a sequential number.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Gresham's School (1893-1893)

The Sir John Gresham Grammar School at Holt in Norfolk was founded by sir John, who bought the manor house there in 1546 to convert it into a school, and building work had started by 1555. To celebrate the quatercentenary in 1955, a history of the school written by the Reverend C. L. S. Linnell was published, together with an Alumni Greshamienses, a register of boys entering the school from 1562 to 1954, compiled by A. B. Douglas. The materials to hand for the register for the early years were slight; the first coherent lists of boys survive only from 1729, and then are fitful, with little detail, and largely missing from 1784 to 1803; however, from 1810 onwards the names of boys' parents are usually recorded. The register is arranged chronologically by year (and from 1900 by term - L, Lent; M, Michaelmas; S, Summer), and then alphabetically by surname (in capitals) and christian name(s). Where known, year of birth is then given (in brackets), names, addresses and occupations of parents. From 1900 onwards there are italic abbreviations for sporting achievements at school (h, hockey colours; VIII, shooting colours; S, first-class swimmer; XI, cricket colours; XV, football colours), and p for house prefect and P for school prefect; then (in italics) information about the boy's adult life, and his address (where living) at the time of publication. Finally, on the right hand side of the page, in italics, is given the year of his leaving the school. Most detail is absent before 1810; and, of course, for the boys still at school in 1955, or only recently left, there are no details of future career; nor are there the usual details about their parentage. From 1898 onwards day boys are noted with an italic D (N means Newquay dayboy); and from 1900 onwards the school houses are shown (B, Bengal Lodge; F, Farfield; H, School House or Howson's; K, Kenwyn; O, Old School House; W, Woodlands); and, for the junior school, c, Crossways; k, Kenwyn; o, Old School House).
>> Search this source

Boys entering Merchant Taylors' School in London (1893-1893)

Merchant Taylors' School was founded by members of the livery company of the merchant taylors of the city of London in 1561 as a grammar school. By the 19th century this was a major English public school. In 1875 the school removed from Suffolk Lane, in the City, to a new building in Charterhouse Square in Finsbury. In 1907 the Reverend William Baker, a former headmaster, published this school register for the period 1871 to 1900, which we have indexed by year of admission. Each entry gives the boy's name in full (surname, christian name(s)); date of birth; names of both parents (middle names as initials); occupation of father; career summary; and (in italics) address as of 1907.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Fettes College, Edinburgh (1893-1893)

Fettes College, Edinburgh, was opened in 1870 under the terms of a trust 'for maintenance, education, and outfit of young people whose parents have either died without leaving sufficient funds for that purpose, or who, from innocent misfortune during their own lives, are unable to give suitable education to their children'. In 1923 this edition of the Fettes College Register was published; in it the compilers sought to set out for each boy who had attended the college a brief synopsis of what was known about his time at the school, his subsequent career, and date and place of death, or address as of 1923. After each name there is a letter in brackets indicating the house to which the pupil belonged - (C.) Carrington House; (G.) Glencorse House; (K.) Kimmerghame House; (M.) Moredun House; (S.) Schoolhouse. An asterisk indicates that the boy was a foundationer, i. e. supported by the foundation; a dagger that he was a foundation scholar. VIA. indicates Upper Form; Mods. Modern School; Army Cl., Army Class; S. P., School Prefect; xx. First Rugby Football Twenty; xv. First Rugby Football Fifteen; xx. cap. Caps occasionally given to the five (or fewer) next to the First Fifteen after 1875; xi. First Cricket Eleven; viii. Gymnastic Eight; Trs. Prizes and Exhib., Trustees' Prizes and Exhibitions; Govs. Prizes and Exhib., Governors' Prizes and Exhibitions; Schol., scholarship; M., married. Month and year of birth is given in square brackets.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Brighton College (1893-1893)

This edition of the Brighton College Register was published in 1922. The plan of the publication was to list boys by year or, later, term of entry. Each name is assigned a sequential number, 5000 boys, in all, being recorded. Full name is given (surname first, in bold); year of birth; year of leaving; and then (wherever the compiler had such information) a short biography, ending with date of death, where known.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Clifton College (1893-1893)

Clifton College near Bristol was established in 1862. This edition of the Clifton College Annals and Register for the Old Cliftonian Society by F. Borwick was published in 1925. Boys are listed alphabetically by term of entry, with full names, surname first, in bold. Father's (or widowed mother's) name is given (surname and initials) in capitals, and address. Then there is the name of the house (N. T., North Town; S. H., School House; S. T., South Town), first and last forms, distinctions in school work and games, and month of leaving. Where known, the editor then gave a career summary with month of death; or, if still living, address as in 1925 (in italics).
>> Search this source

Boys entering Trinity College, Glenalmond (1893-1893)

Trinity College, Glenalmond, Perthshire, was originally founded as a college at which young men might be trained for the ministry of the Scottish Episcopal Church, and the sons of the laity might be educated and brought up in the faith and tradition of the Church. In 1876 the Theological College was transferred to Edinburgh, Glenalmond remaining as a boys' school. This second edition of the school register, edited by G. St Quintin, was published in 1955, incorporating the text of the first edition prepared by E. W. Neish. The scholars are listed by term of entering the school, and then alphabetically by surname; the details then given are full christian names, date of birth; name of father; any distinctions within the school; and then a career synopsis, with date and place of death where known.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Giggleswick School (1893-1893)

The school at Giggleswick in the West Riding of Yorkshire dates from at least 1507, but no register of the boys attending there has survived earlier than one started by the headmaster, the reverend George Style, in 1875. When the bursar, H. L. Mullins, prepared this, 'The Giggleswick School Register', printed in 1913, he was able to compile general details of some scholars from earlier years, but the concerted, reasonably complete, account starts in 1859. The details are arranged by term of entry, then alphabetically by surname and christian name. Typically each description gives full name; date of birth; name and address of father; date of leaving. Where known, Mullins then added a brief career synopsis, present address in 1913, or date of death. From 1869 onwards boarders were admitted to the school, and where it is known that a boy was a day scholar, the word (Town) is added after his name.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Haileybury College, Hertfordshire (1893-1893)

Haileybury College, near Hertford, was founded by the East India Company in 1806, and incorporated by Royal Charter in 1864. This register of pupils entering the school from 1862 to 1931 was edited by a master there, Laurence Arthur Speakman. The boys are listed by term of joining the school, and then alphabetically by name (in bold), surname first (in capitals). There is then usually a precise birthdate, and the name and address of his father; his period at the school, starting with abbreviations to indicate the house to which he belonged (B., Batten; B. F., Bartle Frere; C., Colvin; E., Edmonstone; Ha., Hailey; Hi., Highfield; L., Lawrence; Le B., Le Bas; M., Melvill; Th., Thomason; T., Trevelyan), and the first and last forms attended (e. g., IV., fourth form). Where a member of a school team there is then an indication (e. g., XI., cricket). For some pupils, with whom the school had lost touch, Speakman was only able to record the details of their time at Haileybury; but for most a brief career synopsis is then given, and current address (as in 1931) or date of death.
>> Search this source

Boys entering King William's College, Isle of Man (1893-1893)

King William's College at Castletown on the Isle of Man was established in 1830. By 1928 about 290 boys were being educated there, 'of whom three-fourths are boarders, and the remainders sons of natives or residents in the Island.' Boys entered the junior school about 9 or 10 years of age, the upper school about 13; boys over 13 were not admitted 'unless attainments and character are specially satisfactory'. There were 'several nominations for the sons of clergy and others'. Editions of the college register were published in 1905 and 1927. When this third edition was prepared, in 1956, it was felt unnecessary to repeat the whole of the register from 1830 onwards, a new starting point being chosen as September 1886, when the reverend Frank Bridgman Walters took office as principal. The items are arranged alphabetically within term of entry; surname is given first, in bold, and then full christian names; then, to the right, in bold, precise date of birth, school house, and month of leaving the school. The abbreviations for houses are: C, Colbourne; D, Dickson; H, Hunt; Ha, Hangoside; J, Junior House; R, Raglan; S, School House (formerly Principal's); T, town houses occupied by masters who took in boys prior to September 1889; Tr, Trafford's; W, Walters. Each entry then gives the boy's father's name (surname and initials) and address at that time; school honours (such as Prae., praepositor, XI, school cricket team); a career synopsis; and finally, in italics, to the right, year of death, or present address in 1956, if known.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Leeds Grammar School (1893-1893)

The admission books for Leeds Grammar School from 1820 to 1900 were edited by Edmund Wilson and published in 1906. The series of registers is almost complete for the period, there being in addition admission registers for the Lower (or Commercial) Department from 1856 to 1865, and lists of boys in the school in 1856, and in the Commercial Department in 1861. The entries are arranged by date or term of admission: a sequential number is given first, then surname, christian name, and, after a dash, father's christian name, occupation, and address; another dash, and then the age of the boy at admission, and often his year of leaving (with the abbreviation r. for 'removed' or 'left'). r.* means left without notice; (o) or S. or Stranger or Foreigner indicates a boy not on the foundation. The editor was unable to divine the meaning of the abbreviation (Q) or the asterisks prefixed to most entries in 1856 to 1860, but dutifully copies them into the text. In smaller type he then proceeds, where possible, to add some information about the boy's subsequent career.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Sedbergh School (1893-1893)

B. Wilson prepared this edition of the register of the Grammar School at Sedbergh in the West Riding of Yorkshire, published in 1895. Sedbergh school had three exhibitions at St John's College, Cambridge, and for the earliest years little more could be found about the pupils at the school than was recorded at St John's or other colleges. In 1700-1706 the first material from Sedbergh appears, but no more than lists of surnames. From 1746 onwards full names, or surnames and initials, are found for those boys who did not continue to university. It is only from 1820 onwards that the school register starts to give detail: month of entry, age, birthplace, and month of leaving. From then onwards Wilson was able to add more and more biographical detail, except, of course, for those boys in 1895 still at the school or with their careers yet ahead of them.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Uppingham School (1893-1893)

The public school at Uppingham in Rutland was founded by Archdeacon Johnson in 1584. A roll of scholars from 1824 to 1905 was edited by J. P. Graham, and published in 1906. This was a revision and updating of an 1894 edition of the roll, the great bulk of the work having been done by Mrs Mullins. The roll is arranged by year, and within each year by term of entrance, and then alphabetically by surname within each term. Each boy's name is given, surname first, with an asterisk where known (in 1906) to have died. Then there is month and year of birth, father's name (most often just surname and initials) and address (at entrance). Where the boy represented the school at Rugby football (XV) or cricket (XI), that is indicated. After the month and year of leaving the school, there is a brief summary of achievements in later life, and, where known, address as in 1906. From 1875 onwards the house within the school is also noted, with these abbreviations: A., Mr Constable's House; B., Brooklands; C., West Bank; E., Mr J. Gale Thring's House; F., Fircroft; Fgh., Farleigh; H., Highfield; L., The Lodge; L. H., Lorne House; M., Meadhurst; N., The Hall; R., Redgate; R. H., Red House; S., School House; and W. D., West Deyne.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Harrow School (1893-1893)

This Second Volume of the Second Series of the Harrow School Register was edited by J. H. Stogdon and published in 1925. The boys are listed by term of entrance, and then alphabetically by surname and christian names (in bold). Next, in brackets and in italics, is the school house to which he belonged - or, H. B. indicating a day boy whose family lived in Harrow. Stogdon then gives the father's surname and initials, and address. In cases where the boy was prominent in sports at school, or won academic prizes, scholarships &c., that is given; then the year of leaving the school; a synopsis of his career; and, where known, his address as of 1925, in italics.
>> Search this source

Survivors of H. M. S. Victoria (1893-1893)

Her Majesty's Ship 'Victoria' (or 'Orion') (flagship of vice-admiral sir George Tryon, Commander-in-Chief of her Majesty's Ships and Vessels on the Mediterranean Station) foundered after colliding with H. M. S. Camperdown off Tripoli 22 June 1893. The minutes of the proceedings of the subsequent court-martial (held on board H. M. S. Hibernia at Malta 17 to 27 July 1893) include this list of survivors, giving full name, number on ship's books, rank or rating, annotated to show those who remained in hospital, sick, or otherwise absent.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Manchester Grammar School (1893-1893)

This Biographical Register of Old Mancunians lists boys alphabetically by year of entering the school. A bare register of entrants existed from 1888 onwards but it was only since the Second World War that any kind of detailed record was kept of those who passed through the school. So, in every case in this printed register, full name is given, in bold, surname first (in capitals); date of birth, and years attending the school; but for the earlier years sometimes there is no more information - or, equally, after investigation among Old Mancunians and published sources, the editors may have been able to furnish a condensed biography. An asterisk indicates a holder of a Foundation Scholarship. In the later years a current address is also given, as of 1964 to 1965, when the book was prepared.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Dover College (1893-1893)

The second edition of the Dover College Register, edited by William Stevens Lee, lists all boys entering the school from its opening in 1871 to the date of publication in 1899. The boys are listed alphabetically by term of entry, surname and full christian names. A double dagger after the name indicates a school prefect. Next comes the year or date of birth, then abbreviations indicating house - [D] day boy; [Sch.] School House; [Sp.] Sparke's House; [St.] Steedman's House; [W.] Walters' from 1881 to 1886, Williams' from 2nd term 1890 to 3rd term 1898; [L.] Littlewood's (the same house as Walters') fom 3rd term 1886 to 1st term 1890. From 3rd term of 1892 onwards the names were changed to [S.] School House; [P.] Priory House (was Sparke's); [M.] St Martin's (was Williams'). Moreover, in January 1893 the Junior School was established at West Mount, and from then onwards [J] indicates a period there. Next come distinctions gained in the school, exhibitions, &c., and athletic distinctions, such as XI for membership of the school cricket eleven, XV for the school football team, with years; then date of leaving; distinctions gained since leaving; and present address (where known) as of 1899. Despite this attempt at comprehensive coverage, the materials to hand for compiling the register were often lacking: at worst, in the early years, there are a handful of entries where only the surname is given. Equally, other entries are detailed and comprehensive.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Tonbridge School (1893-1893)

W. O. Hughes-Hughes, late Assistant-Master of Tonbridge School, prepared this edition of the school register. The Kent grammar school was founded by royal charter in 1553, but the surviving register commences with the names of 69 boys called over on Skinners' Day 1826. After that they are arranged alphabetically by quarter to 1833, and thereafter by term of entry. Each entry gives, where known: the boy's surname (in capitals) and full christian name(s); the years when at the school; father's name; year of birth; school honours; and a resume of his subsequent career. The work was published in 1893, so the details of the boys entering in the last few years are correspondingly brief; the names of those still at school at the time of publication are indicated with an asterisk. The entries for 1893 itself only include boys entering in Lent Term.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the Hong Kong Regiment (1893-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the regiment were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. The Hong Kong regiment consisted of Indian soldiers, and we have treated the second or last name in each case as the 'surname', e. g., Khan in Firoz Khan. The ranks represented are private, nai(c)k (equivalent to corporal), lance-naick, havildar (equivalent to sergeant), colour havildar, pay havildar, quartermaster havildar, bugler and musician.
>> Search this source

Wimbledon schoolgirls and schoolmistresses (1894-1894)

Wimbledon High School produced a yearly magazine, issued in December, starting in 1889. Each issue contained general school news, sporting and scholastic results, essays, reports from the school societies (circles and clubs) and news of old girls, with their marriages, births of their children (giving both maiden and married surnames), and deaths. The old girls were organized into what was called the Wimbledon High School Union (W. H. S. U.) and there is news of the Union's doings and of new recruits - the school was opened in 1880, nine years before the Union was formed, and some girls had lost contact.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Wellington College in Berkshire (1894-1894)

Wellington College, near Wokingham, was originally founded for the education of sons of military officers. A register of boys entering the school from First Term 1859 to Michaelmas 1933 was compiled by F. G. Lawrence for the Old Wellingtonian Society. In each entry the boy's name is given in full, in bold, surname first; age at entry (usually 11 to 14); then, in brackets, the name of the dormitory or house to which he belonged, in italics, with the years of his stay; then his father's name (usually surname and initials, but not christian name) with military decorations where appropriate. School prefects and captains are noted as such; if the boy played cricket for the school, XI with the years; academic honours, scholarships, &c.; a brief biography; and date of death, or (where known) address in 1933. Year of marriage is given, and sometimes the wife's name and/or her father's name. Clearly, those boys who kept contact with the school and/or had distinguished military careers have detailed entries; others disappeared into oblivion on leaving.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Epsom College (1894-1894)

The Royal Medical Benevolent College at Epsom in Surrey was founded in 1853 for the orphans of the medical profession, and evolved to become a public school still largely catering for sons of doctors and surgeons. In 1955 this register of pupils, from 1855 to 1954, edited by T. R. Thomson, was published. The sample scan is from 1880. The entries are arranged alphabetically by surname under year of entrance to the school; surname first (in bold), christian names, and then (in most cases), the father's name, occupation and address: then the boy's year of birth (b.), year of leaving (l.), occupation, and, where known, year of death (d.). From 1880 onwards the house to which the boy belonged is also indicated: the boarding houses were Carr (C.), Forest (F.), Granville (G.), Holman (H.), Propert (P.) and Wilson (W.); and Crawfurd (Cr.), Hart Smith (H. S.) and Rosebery (R.) are the houses for day scholars. This is the index to the year 1894, when the Reverend Thomas Northmore Hart-Smith was headmaster.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Marlborough College (1894-1894)

The public school at Marlborough in Wiltshire was founded in 1843. In 1952 this, 9th, edition of the college register was published, being a revision by L. Warwick James of the 8th edition (of 1936): but for the years before 1936 it does not merely repeat the 8th edition, because Warwick James was able to correct the 19th-century entries with information from newly-discovered letters and books from 1843 to 1853, and the school lists from 1844 onwards. The roll is arranged by year, and within each year by term of entrance, and then alphabetically by surname within each term. Each boy is assigned a number within the year: then his name is given, surname first, and, in brackets, his house. The houses within the college were called B1, B2, B3, C1, C2 and C3, and the Lower School (L Sch); the out college houses were Preshute, Priory, Cotton, Hermitage, Littlefield, Barton Hill, Summerfield and Upcot. Then there is given the boy's father's name (surname and initials) and address (at entrance), the boy's date of birth (b) and month of leaving (l). Where the boy represented the school at Rugby football (XV) or cricket (XI), in the rifle corps (VIII, or RC XI), that is indicated. There is a brief summary of achievements in later life, and, where known, and date of death or (in italics) address as in 1952.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Crewkerne School (1894-1894)

Crewkerne Grammar School in Somerset was founded in 1499; as part of the quatercentenary celebrations a History of Crewkerne School, by the Reverend R. Grosvenor Bartelot, was published in 1899; and this included this school register from 1828 to 1899. Until 1877 only foundationers (day boys part of whose fees was paid out of the school foundation) are listed; thereafter boarders as well as day scholars. Names are arranged by date of entrance; surname is given first, then christian name, age at entry, date of entering, and date of leaving.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Sherborne School (1894-1894)

The grammar school at Sherborne in Dorset, which doubtless existed from the creation of the diocese of Sherborne in 705, was refounded by king Edward VI in 1550. At the quatercentenary in 1950, a fourth edition of the Sherborne Register was published, listing boys entering the school during those four centuries. In truth, the materials for this register survive but fitfully before 1823; for some years, no names are known; sometimes all that is known is a surname. But from 1823 onwards the lists and the details get steadily more comprehensive. By the 20th century the boys are listed alphabetically by surname under term of entrance. Surname is given in bold, then christian names, name of father (surname and initials) and address; year of birth; house (a, School House; b, Abbey House; c, The Green; d, Harper House (formerly The Retreat); f, Abbeylands; g, Lyon House; h, Westcott House); whether represented the school at cricket (xi), football (xv), shooting (viii), &c.; year of leaving; summary of degrees, career &c.; and (in italics), address as of 1950. Names in the early lists marked with an asterisk are found inscribed on the oak panelling or on the stone walls of the former schoolroom. (F) in the lists indicates a foundationer, receiving free education: after 1827, when this privilege was restricted to boys from Sherborne and neighbourhood, nearly all foundationers were day-boys.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Loretto School (1894-1894)

The Reverend Dr Thomas Langhorne, who came to Musselburgh in Midlothian as an Episcopalian Church clergyman, established a small school for boarders and day scholars at Loretto House, so called because the grounds contained the ruins of the mediaeval chapel of St Mary of Loretto. To celebrate the centenary of the school in 1925, a second edition of the school register was published, edited by A. H. Buchanan-Dunlop. Relatively little was known of many of the earliest scholars, but from 1835 onwards the register generally gives full name, in capitals, surname first; date of birth; period of time at Loretto; a brief biography; date of death; whether brother of any other boy in the register; and a sequential number.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Gresham's School (1894-1894)

The Sir John Gresham Grammar School at Holt in Norfolk was founded by sir John, who bought the manor house there in 1546 to convert it into a school, and building work had started by 1555. To celebrate the quatercentenary in 1955, a history of the school written by the Reverend C. L. S. Linnell was published, together with an Alumni Greshamienses, a register of boys entering the school from 1562 to 1954, compiled by A. B. Douglas. The materials to hand for the register for the early years were slight; the first coherent lists of boys survive only from 1729, and then are fitful, with little detail, and largely missing from 1784 to 1803; however, from 1810 onwards the names of boys' parents are usually recorded. The register is arranged chronologically by year (and from 1900 by term - L, Lent; M, Michaelmas; S, Summer), and then alphabetically by surname (in capitals) and christian name(s). Where known, year of birth is then given (in brackets), names, addresses and occupations of parents. From 1900 onwards there are italic abbreviations for sporting achievements at school (h, hockey colours; VIII, shooting colours; S, first-class swimmer; XI, cricket colours; XV, football colours), and p for house prefect and P for school prefect; then (in italics) information about the boy's adult life, and his address (where living) at the time of publication. Finally, on the right hand side of the page, in italics, is given the year of his leaving the school. Most detail is absent before 1810; and, of course, for the boys still at school in 1955, or only recently left, there are no details of future career; nor are there the usual details about their parentage. From 1898 onwards day boys are noted with an italic D (N means Newquay dayboy); and from 1900 onwards the school houses are shown (B, Bengal Lodge; F, Farfield; H, School House or Howson's; K, Kenwyn; O, Old School House; W, Woodlands); and, for the junior school, c, Crossways; k, Kenwyn; o, Old School House).
>> Search this source

Boys entering Merchant Taylors' School in London (1894-1894)

Merchant Taylors' School was founded by members of the livery company of the merchant taylors of the city of London in 1561 as a grammar school. By the 19th century this was a major English public school. In 1875 the school removed from Suffolk Lane, in the City, to a new building in Charterhouse Square in Finsbury. In 1907 the Reverend William Baker, a former headmaster, published this school register for the period 1871 to 1900, which we have indexed by year of admission. Each entry gives the boy's name in full (surname, christian name(s)); date of birth; names of both parents (middle names as initials); occupation of father; career summary; and (in italics) address as of 1907.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Fettes College, Edinburgh (1894-1894)

Fettes College, Edinburgh, was opened in 1870 under the terms of a trust 'for maintenance, education, and outfit of young people whose parents have either died without leaving sufficient funds for that purpose, or who, from innocent misfortune during their own lives, are unable to give suitable education to their children'. In 1923 this edition of the Fettes College Register was published; in it the compilers sought to set out for each boy who had attended the college a brief synopsis of what was known about his time at the school, his subsequent career, and date and place of death, or address as of 1923. After each name there is a letter in brackets indicating the house to which the pupil belonged - (C.) Carrington House; (G.) Glencorse House; (K.) Kimmerghame House; (M.) Moredun House; (S.) Schoolhouse. An asterisk indicates that the boy was a foundationer, i. e. supported by the foundation; a dagger that he was a foundation scholar. VIA. indicates Upper Form; Mods. Modern School; Army Cl., Army Class; S. P., School Prefect; xx. First Rugby Football Twenty; xv. First Rugby Football Fifteen; xx. cap. Caps occasionally given to the five (or fewer) next to the First Fifteen after 1875; xi. First Cricket Eleven; viii. Gymnastic Eight; Trs. Prizes and Exhib., Trustees' Prizes and Exhibitions; Govs. Prizes and Exhib., Governors' Prizes and Exhibitions; Schol., scholarship; M., married. Month and year of birth is given in square brackets.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Brighton College (1894-1894)

This edition of the Brighton College Register was published in 1922. The plan of the publication was to list boys by year or, later, term of entry. Each name is assigned a sequential number, 5000 boys, in all, being recorded. Full name is given (surname first, in bold); year of birth; year of leaving; and then (wherever the compiler had such information) a short biography, ending with date of death, where known.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Clifton College (1894-1894)

Clifton College near Bristol was established in 1862. This edition of the Clifton College Annals and Register for the Old Cliftonian Society by F. Borwick was published in 1925. Boys are listed alphabetically by term of entry, with full names, surname first, in bold. Father's (or widowed mother's) name is given (surname and initials) in capitals, and address. Then there is the name of the house (N. T., North Town; S. H., School House; S. T., South Town), first and last forms, distinctions in school work and games, and month of leaving. Where known, the editor then gave a career summary with month of death; or, if still living, address as in 1925 (in italics).
>> Search this source

Boys entering Trinity College, Glenalmond (1894-1894)

Trinity College, Glenalmond, Perthshire, was originally founded as a college at which young men might be trained for the ministry of the Scottish Episcopal Church, and the sons of the laity might be educated and brought up in the faith and tradition of the Church. In 1876 the Theological College was transferred to Edinburgh, Glenalmond remaining as a boys' school. This second edition of the school register, edited by G. St Quintin, was published in 1955, incorporating the text of the first edition prepared by E. W. Neish. The scholars are listed by term of entering the school, and then alphabetically by surname; the details then given are full christian names, date of birth; name of father; any distinctions within the school; and then a career synopsis, with date and place of death where known.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Giggleswick School (1894-1894)

The school at Giggleswick in the West Riding of Yorkshire dates from at least 1507, but no register of the boys attending there has survived earlier than one started by the headmaster, the reverend George Style, in 1875. When the bursar, H. L. Mullins, prepared this, 'The Giggleswick School Register', printed in 1913, he was able to compile general details of some scholars from earlier years, but the concerted, reasonably complete, account starts in 1859. The details are arranged by term of entry, then alphabetically by surname and christian name. Typically each description gives full name; date of birth; name and address of father; date of leaving. Where known, Mullins then added a brief career synopsis, present address in 1913, or date of death. From 1869 onwards boarders were admitted to the school, and where it is known that a boy was a day scholar, the word (Town) is added after his name.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Haileybury College, Hertfordshire (1894-1894)

Haileybury College, near Hertford, was founded by the East India Company in 1806, and incorporated by Royal Charter in 1864. This register of pupils entering the school from 1862 to 1931 was edited by a master there, Laurence Arthur Speakman. The boys are listed by term of joining the school, and then alphabetically by name (in bold), surname first (in capitals). There is then usually a precise birthdate, and the name and address of his father; his period at the school, starting with abbreviations to indicate the house to which he belonged (B., Batten; B. F., Bartle Frere; C., Colvin; E., Edmonstone; Ha., Hailey; Hi., Highfield; L., Lawrence; Le B., Le Bas; M., Melvill; Th., Thomason; T., Trevelyan), and the first and last forms attended (e. g., IV., fourth form). Where a member of a school team there is then an indication (e. g., XI., cricket). For some pupils, with whom the school had lost touch, Speakman was only able to record the details of their time at Haileybury; but for most a brief career synopsis is then given, and current address (as in 1931) or date of death.
>> Search this source

Boys entering King William's College, Isle of Man (1894-1894)

King William's College at Castletown on the Isle of Man was established in 1830. By 1928 about 290 boys were being educated there, 'of whom three-fourths are boarders, and the remainders sons of natives or residents in the Island.' Boys entered the junior school about 9 or 10 years of age, the upper school about 13; boys over 13 were not admitted 'unless attainments and character are specially satisfactory'. There were 'several nominations for the sons of clergy and others'. Editions of the college register were published in 1905 and 1927. When this third edition was prepared, in 1956, it was felt unnecessary to repeat the whole of the register from 1830 onwards, a new starting point being chosen as September 1886, when the reverend Frank Bridgman Walters took office as principal. The items are arranged alphabetically within term of entry; surname is given first, in bold, and then full christian names; then, to the right, in bold, precise date of birth, school house, and month of leaving the school. The abbreviations for houses are: C, Colbourne; D, Dickson; H, Hunt; Ha, Hangoside; J, Junior House; R, Raglan; S, School House (formerly Principal's); T, town houses occupied by masters who took in boys prior to September 1889; Tr, Trafford's; W, Walters. Each entry then gives the boy's father's name (surname and initials) and address at that time; school honours (such as Prae., praepositor, XI, school cricket team); a career synopsis; and finally, in italics, to the right, year of death, or present address in 1956, if known.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Leeds Grammar School (1894-1894)

The admission books for Leeds Grammar School from 1820 to 1900 were edited by Edmund Wilson and published in 1906. The series of registers is almost complete for the period, there being in addition admission registers for the Lower (or Commercial) Department from 1856 to 1865, and lists of boys in the school in 1856, and in the Commercial Department in 1861. The entries are arranged by date or term of admission: a sequential number is given first, then surname, christian name, and, after a dash, father's christian name, occupation, and address; another dash, and then the age of the boy at admission, and often his year of leaving (with the abbreviation r. for 'removed' or 'left'). r.* means left without notice; (o) or S. or Stranger or Foreigner indicates a boy not on the foundation. The editor was unable to divine the meaning of the abbreviation (Q) or the asterisks prefixed to most entries in 1856 to 1860, but dutifully copies them into the text. In smaller type he then proceeds, where possible, to add some information about the boy's subsequent career.
>> Search this source

Vivisectors (1894-1894)

The Zoophilist 2 July 1894 published this special supplement, listing 'Vivisectors at the Hospitals': 'Many of our friends who are desirous of contributing to the relief of human suffering have frequently inquired as to whether any and which of the Hospitals have Vivisectors connected with them, we have compiled the following list of hospitals, asylums, &c., having licensed or unlicensed vivisectors or pro-vivisectors, at work in their schools, or included in their medical staff,' based on the Medical Directory for 1894 collated with the official returns of licensed vivisectors for 1893, and giving the years in which a licence (if any) was held. Consultants are marked with an asterisk.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Sedbergh School (1894-1894)

B. Wilson prepared this edition of the register of the Grammar School at Sedbergh in the West Riding of Yorkshire, published in 1895. Sedbergh school had three exhibitions at St John's College, Cambridge, and for the earliest years little more could be found about the pupils at the school than was recorded at St John's or other colleges. In 1700-1706 the first material from Sedbergh appears, but no more than lists of surnames. From 1746 onwards full names, or surnames and initials, are found for those boys who did not continue to university. It is only from 1820 onwards that the school register starts to give detail: month of entry, age, birthplace, and month of leaving. From then onwards Wilson was able to add more and more biographical detail, except, of course, for those boys in 1895 still at the school or with their careers yet ahead of them.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Uppingham School (1894-1894)

The public school at Uppingham in Rutland was founded by Archdeacon Johnson in 1584. A roll of scholars from 1824 to 1905 was edited by J. P. Graham, and published in 1906. This was a revision and updating of an 1894 edition of the roll, the great bulk of the work having been done by Mrs Mullins. The roll is arranged by year, and within each year by term of entrance, and then alphabetically by surname within each term. Each boy's name is given, surname first, with an asterisk where known (in 1906) to have died. Then there is month and year of birth, father's name (most often just surname and initials) and address (at entrance). Where the boy represented the school at Rugby football (XV) or cricket (XI), that is indicated. After the month and year of leaving the school, there is a brief summary of achievements in later life, and, where known, address as in 1906. From 1875 onwards the house within the school is also noted, with these abbreviations: A., Mr Constable's House; B., Brooklands; C., West Bank; E., Mr J. Gale Thring's House; F., Fircroft; Fgh., Farleigh; H., Highfield; L., The Lodge; L. H., Lorne House; M., Meadhurst; N., The Hall; R., Redgate; R. H., Red House; S., School House; and W. D., West Deyne.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Harrow School (1894-1894)

This Second Volume of the Second Series of the Harrow School Register was edited by J. H. Stogdon and published in 1925. The boys are listed by term of entrance, and then alphabetically by surname and christian names (in bold). Next, in brackets and in italics, is the school house to which he belonged - or, H. B. indicating a day boy whose family lived in Harrow. Stogdon then gives the father's surname and initials, and address. In cases where the boy was prominent in sports at school, or won academic prizes, scholarships &c., that is given; then the year of leaving the school; a synopsis of his career; and, where known, his address as of 1925, in italics.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Manchester Grammar School (1894-1894)

This Biographical Register of Old Mancunians lists boys alphabetically by year of entering the school. A bare register of entrants existed from 1888 onwards but it was only since the Second World War that any kind of detailed record was kept of those who passed through the school. So, in every case in this printed register, full name is given, in bold, surname first (in capitals); date of birth, and years attending the school; but for the earlier years sometimes there is no more information - or, equally, after investigation among Old Mancunians and published sources, the editors may have been able to furnish a condensed biography. An asterisk indicates a holder of a Foundation Scholarship. In the later years a current address is also given, as of 1964 to 1965, when the book was prepared.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: List CCLXI (1894-1894)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1894 new lists CCLXI to CCLXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: List CCLXIII (1894-1894)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1894 new lists CCLXI to CCLXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: List CCLXIV (1894-1894)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1894 new lists CCLXI to CCLXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: List CCLXIX (1894-1894)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1894 new lists CCLXI to CCLXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: List CCLXV (1894-1894)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1894 new lists CCLXI to CCLXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: List CCLXVI (1894-1894)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1894 new lists CCLXI to CCLXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: List CCLXVII (1894-1894)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1894 new lists CCLXI to CCLXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: List CCLXVIII (1894-1894)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1894 new lists CCLXI to CCLXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: List CCLXX (1894-1894)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1894 new lists CCLXI to CCLXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: India List (1894-1894)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1894 new lists CCLXI to CCLXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed, and this list from India.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republication List CCL (1891-2) (1894-1894)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1894 new lists CCLXI to CCLXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republication List CCLI (1892-3) (1894-1894)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1894 new lists CCLXI to CCLXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republication List CCLIII (1892-3) (1894-1894)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1894 new lists CCLXI to CCLXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republication List CCLIV (1892-3) (1894-1894)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1894 new lists CCLXI to CCLXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republication List CCLIX (1892-3) (1894-1894)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1894 new lists CCLXI to CCLXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republication List CCLV (1892-3) (1894-1894)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1894 new lists CCLXI to CCLXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republication List CCLVI (1892-3) (1894-1894)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1894 new lists CCLXI to CCLXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republication List CCLVII (1892-3) (1894-1894)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1894 new lists CCLXI to CCLXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republication List CCLVIII (1892-3) (1894-1894)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1894 new lists CCLXI to CCLXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republication List CCLX (1892-3) (1894-1894)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1894 new lists CCLXI to CCLXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republication List CCXI (1888-9) (1894-1894)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1894 new lists CCLXI to CCLXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republication List CCXIII (1888-9) (1894-1894)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1894 new lists CCLXI to CCLXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republication List CCXIV (1888-9) (1894-1894)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1894 new lists CCLXI to CCLXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republication List CCXIX (1888-9) (1894-1894)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1894 new lists CCLXI to CCLXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republication List CCXL (1890-1) (1894-1894)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1894 new lists CCLXI to CCLXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republication List CCXLI (1891-2) (1894-1894)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1894 new lists CCLXI to CCLXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republication List CCXLIII (1891-2) (1894-1894)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1894 new lists CCLXI to CCLXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republication List CCXLIV (1891-2) (1894-1894)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1894 new lists CCLXI to CCLXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republication List CCXLIX (1891-2) (1894-1894)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1894 new lists CCLXI to CCLXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republication List CCXLV (1891-2) (1894-1894)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1894 new lists CCLXI to CCLXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republication List CCXLVI (1891-2) (1894-1894)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1894 new lists CCLXI to CCLXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republication List CCXLVII (1891-2) (1894-1894)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1894 new lists CCLXI to CCLXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republication List CCXLVIII (1891-2) (1894-1894)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1894 new lists CCLXI to CCLXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republication List CCXV (1888-9) (1894-1894)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1894 new lists CCLXI to CCLXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republication List CCXVI (1888-9) (1894-1894)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1894 new lists CCLXI to CCLXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republication List CCXVII (1888-9) (1894-1894)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1894 new lists CCLXI to CCLXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republication List CCXVIII (1888-9) (1894-1894)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1894 new lists CCLXI to CCLXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republication List CCXX (1888-9) (1894-1894)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1894 new lists CCLXI to CCLXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republication List CCXXI (1888-9) (1894-1894)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1894 new lists CCLXI to CCLXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republication List CCXXIII (1888-9) (1894-1894)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1894 new lists CCLXI to CCLXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republication List CCXXIV (1889-90) (1894-1894)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1894 new lists CCLXI to CCLXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republication List CCXXIX (1889-90) (1894-1894)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1894 new lists CCLXI to CCLXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republication List CCXXV (1889-90) (1894-1894)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1894 new lists CCLXI to CCLXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republication List CCXXVI (1889-90) (1894-1894)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1894 new lists CCLXI to CCLXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republication List CCXXVII (1889-90) (1894-1894)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1894 new lists CCLXI to CCLXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republication List CCXXVIII (1889-90) (1894-1894)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1894 new lists CCLXI to CCLXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republication List CCXXX (1889-90) (1894-1894)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1894 new lists CCLXI to CCLXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republication List CCXXXI (1890-1) (1894-1894)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1894 new lists CCLXI to CCLXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republication List CCXXXIII (1890-1) (1894-1894)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1894 new lists CCLXI to CCLXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republication List CCXXXIV (1890-1) (1894-1894)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1894 new lists CCLXI to CCLXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republication List CCXXXIX (1890-1) (1894-1894)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1894 new lists CCLXI to CCLXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republication List CCXXXV (1890-1) (1894-1894)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1894 new lists CCLXI to CCLXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republication List CCXXXVI (1890-1) (1894-1894)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1894 new lists CCLXI to CCLXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republication List CCXXXVIII (1890-1) (1894-1894)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1894 new lists CCLXI to CCLXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Dover College (1894-1894)

The second edition of the Dover College Register, edited by William Stevens Lee, lists all boys entering the school from its opening in 1871 to the date of publication in 1899. The boys are listed alphabetically by term of entry, surname and full christian names. A double dagger after the name indicates a school prefect. Next comes the year or date of birth, then abbreviations indicating house - [D] day boy; [Sch.] School House; [Sp.] Sparke's House; [St.] Steedman's House; [W.] Walters' from 1881 to 1886, Williams' from 2nd term 1890 to 3rd term 1898; [L.] Littlewood's (the same house as Walters') fom 3rd term 1886 to 1st term 1890. From 3rd term of 1892 onwards the names were changed to [S.] School House; [P.] Priory House (was Sparke's); [M.] St Martin's (was Williams'). Moreover, in January 1893 the Junior School was established at West Mount, and from then onwards [J] indicates a period there. Next come distinctions gained in the school, exhibitions, &c., and athletic distinctions, such as XI for membership of the school cricket eleven, XV for the school football team, with years; then date of leaving; distinctions gained since leaving; and present address (where known) as of 1899. Despite this attempt at comprehensive coverage, the materials to hand for compiling the register were often lacking: at worst, in the early years, there are a handful of entries where only the surname is given. Equally, other entries are detailed and comprehensive.
>> Search this source

Missing Next-of-Kin and Heirs-at-Law (1895-1895)

The Unclaimed Money Registry and Next-of-Kin Advertisement Office of F. H. Dougal & Co., on the Strand in London, published a comprehensive 'Index to Advertisements for Next of Kin, Heirs at Law, Legatees, &c., &c., who have been Advertised for to Claim Money and Property in Great Britain and all Parts of the World; also Annuitants, Shareholders, Intestates, Testators, Missing Friends, Creditors or their Representatives, Claimants, Unclaimed and Reclaimed Dividends and Stock, Citations, Administrations, Rewards for Certificates, Wills, Advertisements, &c., Claims, Unclaimed Balances, Packages, Addresses, Parish Clerks' Notices, Foreign Intestates, &c., &c.' The original list was compiled about 1880, but from materials dating back even into the 18th century: most of the references belong to 1850 to 1880. For each entry only a name is given, sometimes with a placename added in brackets: there may be a reference number, but there is no key by which the original advertisement may be traced. The enquirer of the time had to remit 1 for a 'Full and Authentic Copy of the Original Advertisement, together with name and date of newspaper in which the same appeared'. This appendix to the list was issued in about 1895.
>> Search this source

Indians in the Indian Empire (1895-1895)

Thacker's Indian Directory lists prominent natives of the cities of Calcutta, Bombay and Madras, and throughout the Indian Empire. Profession is usually stated, and an address - a station, or for Calcutta a full address.
>> Search this source

Wimbledon schoolgirls and schoolmistresses (1895-1895)

Wimbledon High School produced a yearly magazine, issued in December, starting in 1889. Each issue contained general school news, sporting and scholastic results, essays, reports from the school societies (circles and clubs) and news of old girls, with their marriages, births of their children (giving both maiden and married surnames), and deaths. The old girls were organized into what was called the Wimbledon High School Union (W. H. S. U.) and there is news of the Union's doings and of new recruits - the school was opened in 1880, nine years before the Union was formed, and some girls had lost contact.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Wellington College in Berkshire (1895-1895)

Wellington College, near Wokingham, was originally founded for the education of sons of military officers. A register of boys entering the school from First Term 1859 to Michaelmas 1933 was compiled by F. G. Lawrence for the Old Wellingtonian Society. In each entry the boy's name is given in full, in bold, surname first; age at entry (usually 11 to 14); then, in brackets, the name of the dormitory or house to which he belonged, in italics, with the years of his stay; then his father's name (usually surname and initials, but not christian name) with military decorations where appropriate. School prefects and captains are noted as such; if the boy played cricket for the school, XI with the years; academic honours, scholarships, &c.; a brief biography; and date of death, or (where known) address in 1933. Year of marriage is given, and sometimes the wife's name and/or her father's name. Clearly, those boys who kept contact with the school and/or had distinguished military careers have detailed entries; others disappeared into oblivion on leaving.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Epsom College (1895-1895)

The Royal Medical Benevolent College at Epsom in Surrey was founded in 1853 for the orphans of the medical profession, and evolved to become a public school still largely catering for sons of doctors and surgeons. In 1955 this register of pupils, from 1855 to 1954, edited by T. R. Thomson, was published. The sample scan is from 1880. The entries are arranged alphabetically by surname under year of entrance to the school; surname first (in bold), christian names, and then (in most cases), the father's name, occupation and address: then the boy's year of birth (b.), year of leaving (l.), occupation, and, where known, year of death (d.). From 1880 onwards the house to which the boy belonged is also indicated: the boarding houses were Carr (C.), Forest (F.), Granville (G.), Holman (H.), Propert (P.) and Wilson (W.); and Crawfurd (Cr.), Hart Smith (H. S.) and Rosebery (R.) are the houses for day scholars. From 1895 to 1927 there was a junior school, called Lower School (L. S.), taking in boys from the age of 8, many passing seamlessly into the main school at age 12 to 14. This is the index to the year 1895, when the Reverend Thomas Northmore Hart-Smith was headmaster.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Marlborough College (1895-1895)

The public school at Marlborough in Wiltshire was founded in 1843. In 1952 this, 9th, edition of the college register was published, being a revision by L. Warwick James of the 8th edition (of 1936): but for the years before 1936 it does not merely repeat the 8th edition, because Warwick James was able to correct the 19th-century entries with information from newly-discovered letters and books from 1843 to 1853, and the school lists from 1844 onwards. The roll is arranged by year, and within each year by term of entrance, and then alphabetically by surname within each term. Each boy is assigned a number within the year: then his name is given, surname first, and, in brackets, his house. The houses within the college were called B1, B2, B3, C1, C2 and C3, and the Lower School (L Sch); the out college houses were Preshute, Priory, Cotton, Hermitage, Littlefield, Barton Hill, Summerfield and Upcot. Then there is given the boy's father's name (surname and initials) and address (at entrance), the boy's date of birth (b) and month of leaving (l). Where the boy represented the school at Rugby football (XV) or cricket (XI), in the rifle corps (VIII, or RC XI), that is indicated. There is a brief summary of achievements in later life, and, where known, and date of death or (in italics) address as in 1952.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Crewkerne School (1895-1895)

Crewkerne Grammar School in Somerset was founded in 1499; as part of the quatercentenary celebrations a History of Crewkerne School, by the Reverend R. Grosvenor Bartelot, was published in 1899; and this included this school register from 1828 to 1899. Until 1877 only foundationers (day boys part of whose fees was paid out of the school foundation) are listed; thereafter boarders as well as day scholars. Names are arranged by date of entrance; surname is given first, then christian name, age at entry, date of entering, and date of leaving.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Sherborne School (1895-1895)

The grammar school at Sherborne in Dorset, which doubtless existed from the creation of the diocese of Sherborne in 705, was refounded by king Edward VI in 1550. At the quatercentenary in 1950, a fourth edition of the Sherborne Register was published, listing boys entering the school during those four centuries. In truth, the materials for this register survive but fitfully before 1823; for some years, no names are known; sometimes all that is known is a surname. But from 1823 onwards the lists and the details get steadily more comprehensive. By the 20th century the boys are listed alphabetically by surname under term of entrance. Surname is given in bold, then christian names, name of father (surname and initials) and address; year of birth; house (a, School House; b, Abbey House; c, The Green; d, Harper House (formerly The Retreat); f, Abbeylands; g, Lyon House; h, Westcott House); whether represented the school at cricket (xi), football (xv), shooting (viii), &c.; year of leaving; summary of degrees, career &c.; and (in italics), address as of 1950. Names in the early lists marked with an asterisk are found inscribed on the oak panelling or on the stone walls of the former schoolroom. (F) in the lists indicates a foundationer, receiving free education: after 1827, when this privilege was restricted to boys from Sherborne and neighbourhood, nearly all foundationers were day-boys.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Loretto School (1895-1895)

The Reverend Dr Thomas Langhorne, who came to Musselburgh in Midlothian as an Episcopalian Church clergyman, established a small school for boarders and day scholars at Loretto House, so called because the grounds contained the ruins of the mediaeval chapel of St Mary of Loretto. To celebrate the centenary of the school in 1925, a second edition of the school register was published, edited by A. H. Buchanan-Dunlop. Relatively little was known of many of the earliest scholars, but from 1835 onwards the register generally gives full name, in capitals, surname first; date of birth; period of time at Loretto; a brief biography; date of death; whether brother of any other boy in the register; and a sequential number.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Gresham's School (1895-1895)

The Sir John Gresham Grammar School at Holt in Norfolk was founded by sir John, who bought the manor house there in 1546 to convert it into a school, and building work had started by 1555. To celebrate the quatercentenary in 1955, a history of the school written by the Reverend C. L. S. Linnell was published, together with an Alumni Greshamienses, a register of boys entering the school from 1562 to 1954, compiled by A. B. Douglas. The materials to hand for the register for the early years were slight; the first coherent lists of boys survive only from 1729, and then are fitful, with little detail, and largely missing from 1784 to 1803; however, from 1810 onwards the names of boys' parents are usually recorded. The register is arranged chronologically by year (and from 1900 by term - L, Lent; M, Michaelmas; S, Summer), and then alphabetically by surname (in capitals) and christian name(s). Where known, year of birth is then given (in brackets), names, addresses and occupations of parents. From 1900 onwards there are italic abbreviations for sporting achievements at school (h, hockey colours; VIII, shooting colours; S, first-class swimmer; XI, cricket colours; XV, football colours), and p for house prefect and P for school prefect; then (in italics) information about the boy's adult life, and his address (where living) at the time of publication. Finally, on the right hand side of the page, in italics, is given the year of his leaving the school. Most detail is absent before 1810; and, of course, for the boys still at school in 1955, or only recently left, there are no details of future career; nor are there the usual details about their parentage. From 1898 onwards day boys are noted with an italic D (N means Newquay dayboy); and from 1900 onwards the school houses are shown (B, Bengal Lodge; F, Farfield; H, School House or Howson's; K, Kenwyn; O, Old School House; W, Woodlands); and, for the junior school, c, Crossways; k, Kenwyn; o, Old School House).
>> Search this source

Boys entering Merchant Taylors' School in London (1895-1895)

Merchant Taylors' School was founded by members of the livery company of the merchant taylors of the city of London in 1561 as a grammar school. By the 19th century this was a major English public school. In 1875 the school removed from Suffolk Lane, in the City, to a new building in Charterhouse Square in Finsbury. In 1907 the Reverend William Baker, a former headmaster, published this school register for the period 1871 to 1900, which we have indexed by year of admission. Each entry gives the boy's name in full (surname, christian name(s)); date of birth; names of both parents (middle names as initials); occupation of father; career summary; and (in italics) address as of 1907.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Fettes College, Edinburgh (1895-1895)

Fettes College, Edinburgh, was opened in 1870 under the terms of a trust 'for maintenance, education, and outfit of young people whose parents have either died without leaving sufficient funds for that purpose, or who, from innocent misfortune during their own lives, are unable to give suitable education to their children'. In 1923 this edition of the Fettes College Register was published; in it the compilers sought to set out for each boy who had attended the college a brief synopsis of what was known about his time at the school, his subsequent career, and date and place of death, or address as of 1923. After each name there is a letter in brackets indicating the house to which the pupil belonged - (C.) Carrington House; (G.) Glencorse House; (K.) Kimmerghame House; (M.) Moredun House; (S.) Schoolhouse. An asterisk indicates that the boy was a foundationer, i. e. supported by the foundation; a dagger that he was a foundation scholar. VIA. indicates Upper Form; Mods. Modern School; Army Cl., Army Class; S. P., School Prefect; xx. First Rugby Football Twenty; xv. First Rugby Football Fifteen; xx. cap. Caps occasionally given to the five (or fewer) next to the First Fifteen after 1875; xi. First Cricket Eleven; viii. Gymnastic Eight; Trs. Prizes and Exhib., Trustees' Prizes and Exhibitions; Govs. Prizes and Exhib., Governors' Prizes and Exhibitions; Schol., scholarship; M., married. Month and year of birth is given in square brackets.
>> Search this source

Residents of Surrey (1895-1895)

Kelly's Directory of Surrey includes this alphabetical Court Directory, listing private residents in the county. In fact, this listing is a little more comprehensive than the main directory, in that it includes residents of some London suburbs that, although in the county of Surrey, are not included in the Surrey directory. Residents are listed surname first, then christian name or initials, and postal address.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Brighton College (1895-1895)

This edition of the Brighton College Register was published in 1922. The plan of the publication was to list boys by year or, later, term of entry. Each name is assigned a sequential number, 5000 boys, in all, being recorded. Full name is given (surname first, in bold); year of birth; year of leaving; and then (wherever the compiler had such information) a short biography, ending with date of death, where known.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Clifton College (1895-1895)

Clifton College near Bristol was established in 1862. This edition of the Clifton College Annals and Register for the Old Cliftonian Society by F. Borwick was published in 1925. Boys are listed alphabetically by term of entry, with full names, surname first, in bold. Father's (or widowed mother's) name is given (surname and initials) in capitals, and address. Then there is the name of the house (N. T., North Town; S. H., School House; S. T., South Town), first and last forms, distinctions in school work and games, and month of leaving. Where known, the editor then gave a career summary with month of death; or, if still living, address as in 1925 (in italics).
>> Search this source

Boys entering Trinity College, Glenalmond (1895-1895)

Trinity College, Glenalmond, Perthshire, was originally founded as a college at which young men might be trained for the ministry of the Scottish Episcopal Church, and the sons of the laity might be educated and brought up in the faith and tradition of the Church. In 1876 the Theological College was transferred to Edinburgh, Glenalmond remaining as a boys' school. This second edition of the school register, edited by G. St Quintin, was published in 1955, incorporating the text of the first edition prepared by E. W. Neish. The scholars are listed by term of entering the school, and then alphabetically by surname; the details then given are full christian names, date of birth; name of father; any distinctions within the school; and then a career synopsis, with date and place of death where known.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Giggleswick School (1895-1895)

The school at Giggleswick in the West Riding of Yorkshire dates from at least 1507, but no register of the boys attending there has survived earlier than one started by the headmaster, the reverend George Style, in 1875. When the bursar, H. L. Mullins, prepared this, 'The Giggleswick School Register', printed in 1913, he was able to compile general details of some scholars from earlier years, but the concerted, reasonably complete, account starts in 1859. The details are arranged by term of entry, then alphabetically by surname and christian name. Typically each description gives full name; date of birth; name and address of father; date of leaving. Where known, Mullins then added a brief career synopsis, present address in 1913, or date of death. From 1869 onwards boarders were admitted to the school, and where it is known that a boy was a day scholar, the word (Town) is added after his name.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Haileybury College, Hertfordshire (1895-1895)

Haileybury College, near Hertford, was founded by the East India Company in 1806, and incorporated by Royal Charter in 1864. This register of pupils entering the school from 1862 to 1931 was edited by a master there, Laurence Arthur Speakman. The boys are listed by term of joining the school, and then alphabetically by name (in bold), surname first (in capitals). There is then usually a precise birthdate, and the name and address of his father; his period at the school, starting with abbreviations to indicate the house to which he belonged (B., Batten; B. F., Bartle Frere; C., Colvin; E., Edmonstone; Ha., Hailey; Hi., Highfield; L., Lawrence; Le B., Le Bas; M., Melvill; Th., Thomason; T., Trevelyan), and the first and last forms attended (e. g., IV., fourth form). Where a member of a school team there is then an indication (e. g., XI., cricket). For some pupils, with whom the school had lost touch, Speakman was only able to record the details of their time at Haileybury; but for most a brief career synopsis is then given, and current address (as in 1931) or date of death.
>> Search this source

Boys entering King William's College, Isle of Man (1895-1895)

King William's College at Castletown on the Isle of Man was established in 1830. By 1928 about 290 boys were being educated there, 'of whom three-fourths are boarders, and the remainders sons of natives or residents in the Island.' Boys entered the junior school about 9 or 10 years of age, the upper school about 13; boys over 13 were not admitted 'unless attainments and character are specially satisfactory'. There were 'several nominations for the sons of clergy and others'. Editions of the college register were published in 1905 and 1927. When this third edition was prepared, in 1956, it was felt unnecessary to repeat the whole of the register from 1830 onwards, a new starting point being chosen as September 1886, when the reverend Frank Bridgman Walters took office as principal. The items are arranged alphabetically within term of entry; surname is given first, in bold, and then full christian names; then, to the right, in bold, precise date of birth, school house, and month of leaving the school. The abbreviations for houses are: C, Colbourne; D, Dickson; H, Hunt; Ha, Hangoside; J, Junior House; R, Raglan; S, School House (formerly Principal's); T, town houses occupied by masters who took in boys prior to September 1889; Tr, Trafford's; W, Walters. Each entry then gives the boy's father's name (surname and initials) and address at that time; school honours (such as Prae., praepositor, XI, school cricket team); a career synopsis; and finally, in italics, to the right, year of death, or present address in 1956, if known.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Leeds Grammar School (1895-1895)

The admission books for Leeds Grammar School from 1820 to 1900 were edited by Edmund Wilson and published in 1906. The series of registers is almost complete for the period, there being in addition admission registers for the Lower (or Commercial) Department from 1856 to 1865, and lists of boys in the school in 1856, and in the Commercial Department in 1861. The entries are arranged by date or term of admission: a sequential number is given first, then surname, christian name, and, after a dash, father's christian name, occupation, and address; another dash, and then the age of the boy at admission, and often his year of leaving (with the abbreviation r. for 'removed' or 'left'). r.* means left without notice; (o) or S. or Stranger or Foreigner indicates a boy not on the foundation. The editor was unable to divine the meaning of the abbreviation (Q) or the asterisks prefixed to most entries in 1856 to 1860, but dutifully copies them into the text. In smaller type he then proceeds, where possible, to add some information about the boy's subsequent career.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Sedbergh School (1895-1895)

B. Wilson prepared this edition of the register of the Grammar School at Sedbergh in the West Riding of Yorkshire, published in 1895. Sedbergh school had three exhibitions at St John's College, Cambridge, and for the earliest years little more could be found about the pupils at the school than was recorded at St John's or other colleges. In 1700-1706 the first material from Sedbergh appears, but no more than lists of surnames. From 1746 onwards full names, or surnames and initials, are found for those boys who did not continue to university. It is only from 1820 onwards that the school register starts to give detail: month of entry, age, birthplace, and month of leaving. From then onwards Wilson was able to add more and more biographical detail, except, of course, for those boys in 1895 still at the school or with their careers yet ahead of them.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Uppingham School (1895-1895)

The public school at Uppingham in Rutland was founded by Archdeacon Johnson in 1584. A roll of scholars from 1824 to 1905 was edited by J. P. Graham, and published in 1906. This was a revision and updating of an 1894 edition of the roll, the great bulk of the work having been done by Mrs Mullins. The roll is arranged by year, and within each year by term of entrance, and then alphabetically by surname within each term. Each boy's name is given, surname first, with an asterisk where known (in 1906) to have died. Then there is month and year of birth, father's name (most often just surname and initials) and address (at entrance). Where the boy represented the school at Rugby football (XV) or cricket (XI), that is indicated. After the month and year of leaving the school, there is a brief summary of achievements in later life, and, where known, address as in 1906. From 1875 onwards the house within the school is also noted, with these abbreviations: A., Mr Constable's House; B., Brooklands; C., West Bank; E., Mr J. Gale Thring's House; F., Fircroft; Fgh., Farleigh; H., Highfield; L., The Lodge; L. H., Lorne House; M., Meadhurst; N., The Hall; R., Redgate; R. H., Red House; S., School House; and W. D., West Deyne.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Harrow School (1895-1895)

This Second Volume of the Second Series of the Harrow School Register was edited by J. H. Stogdon and published in 1925. The boys are listed by term of entrance, and then alphabetically by surname and christian names (in bold). Next, in brackets and in italics, is the school house to which he belonged - or, H. B. indicating a day boy whose family lived in Harrow. Stogdon then gives the father's surname and initials, and address. In cases where the boy was prominent in sports at school, or won academic prizes, scholarships &c., that is given; then the year of leaving the school; a synopsis of his career; and, where known, his address as of 1925, in italics.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Manchester Grammar School (1895-1895)

This Biographical Register of Old Mancunians lists boys alphabetically by year of entering the school. A bare register of entrants existed from 1888 onwards but it was only since the Second World War that any kind of detailed record was kept of those who passed through the school. So, in every case in this printed register, full name is given, in bold, surname first (in capitals); date of birth, and years attending the school; but for the earlier years sometimes there is no more information - or, equally, after investigation among Old Mancunians and published sources, the editors may have been able to furnish a condensed biography. An asterisk indicates a holder of a Foundation Scholarship. In the later years a current address is also given, as of 1964 to 1965, when the book was prepared.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: List CCLXXI: Estates 1894-1895 (1895-1895)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1895 new lists CCLXXI to CCLXXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: List CCLXXII: Estates 1894-1895 (1895-1895)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1895 new lists CCLXXI to CCLXXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: List CCLXXIII: Estates 1894-1895 (1895-1895)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1895 new lists CCLXXI to CCLXXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: List CCLXXIV: Estates 1894-1895 (1895-1895)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1895 new lists CCLXXI to CCLXXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: List CCLXXIX: Estates 1894-1895 (1895-1895)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1895 new lists CCLXXI to CCLXXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: List CCLXXV: Estates 1894-1895 (1895-1895)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1895 new lists CCLXXI to CCLXXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: List CCLXXVI: Estates 1894-1895 (1895-1895)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1895 new lists CCLXXI to CCLXXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: List CCLXXVII: Estates 1894-1895 (1895-1895)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1895 new lists CCLXXI to CCLXXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: List CCLXXVIII: Estates 1894-1895 (1895-1895)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1895 new lists CCLXXI to CCLXXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: List CCLXXX: Estates 1894-1895 (1895-1895)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1895 new lists CCLXXI to CCLXXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Indian List: Estates 1894-1895 (1895-1895)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1895 new lists CCLXXI to CCLXXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republished List CCL: Estates 1891-1892 (1895-1895)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1895 new lists CCLXXI to CCLXXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republished List CCLI: Estates 1892-1893 (1895-1895)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1895 new lists CCLXXI to CCLXXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republished List CCLII: Estates 1892-1893 (1895-1895)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1895 new lists CCLXXI to CCLXXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republished List CCLIII: Estates 1892-1893 (1895-1895)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1895 new lists CCLXXI to CCLXXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republished List CCLIV: Estates 1892-1893 (1895-1895)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1895 new lists CCLXXI to CCLXXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republished List CCLIX: Estates 1892-1893 (1895-1895)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1895 new lists CCLXXI to CCLXXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republished List CCLV: Estates 1892-1893 (1895-1895)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1895 new lists CCLXXI to CCLXXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republished List CCLVI: Estates 1892-1893 (1895-1895)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1895 new lists CCLXXI to CCLXXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republished List CCLVII: Estates 1892-1893 (1895-1895)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1895 new lists CCLXXI to CCLXXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republished List CCLVIII: Estates 1892-1893 (1895-1895)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1895 new lists CCLXXI to CCLXXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republished List CCLX: Estates 1892-1893 (1895-1895)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1895 new lists CCLXXI to CCLXXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republished List CCLXI: Estates 1893-1894 (1895-1895)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1895 new lists CCLXXI to CCLXXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republished List CCLXII: Estates 1893-1894 (1895-1895)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1895 new lists CCLXXI to CCLXXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republished List CCLXIII: Estates 1893-1894 (1895-1895)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1895 new lists CCLXXI to CCLXXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republished List CCLXIV: Estates 1893-1894 (1895-1895)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1895 new lists CCLXXI to CCLXXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republished List CCLXIX: Estates 1893-1894 (1895-1895)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1895 new lists CCLXXI to CCLXXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republished List CCLXV: Estates 1893-1894 (1895-1895)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1895 new lists CCLXXI to CCLXXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republished List CCLXVI: Estates 1893-1894 (1895-1895)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1895 new lists CCLXXI to CCLXXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republished List CCLXVII: Estates 1893-1894 (1895-1895)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1895 new lists CCLXXI to CCLXXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republished List CCLXVII: Estates 1893-1894 (1895-1895)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1895 new lists CCLXXI to CCLXXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republished List CCLXX: Estates 1893-1894 (1895-1895)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1895 new lists CCLXXI to CCLXXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republished List CCXL: Estates 1890-1891 (1895-1895)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1895 new lists CCLXXI to CCLXXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republished List CCXLI: Estates 1891-1892 (1895-1895)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1895 new lists CCLXXI to CCLXXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republished List CCXLII: Estates 1891-1892 (1895-1895)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1895 new lists CCLXXI to CCLXXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republished List CCXLIII: Estates 1891-1892 (1895-1895)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1895 new lists CCLXXI to CCLXXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republished List CCXLIV: Estates 1891-1892 (1895-1895)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1895 new lists CCLXXI to CCLXXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republished List CCXLIX: Estates 1891-1892 (1895-1895)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1895 new lists CCLXXI to CCLXXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republished List CCXLV: Estates 1891-1892 (1895-1895)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1895 new lists CCLXXI to CCLXXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republished List CCXLVI: Estates 1891-1892 (1895-1895)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1895 new lists CCLXXI to CCLXXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republished List CCXLVII: Estates 1891-1892 (1895-1895)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1895 new lists CCLXXI to CCLXXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republished List CCXLVIII: Estates 1891-1892 (1895-1895)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1895 new lists CCLXXI to CCLXXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republished List CCXXI: Estates 1889-1890 (1895-1895)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1895 new lists CCLXXI to CCLXXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republished List CCXXII: Estates 1889-1890 (1895-1895)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1895 new lists CCLXXI to CCLXXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republished List CCXXIII: Estates 1889-1890 (1895-1895)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1895 new lists CCLXXI to CCLXXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republished List CCXXIV: Estates 1889-1890 (1895-1895)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1895 new lists CCLXXI to CCLXXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republished List CCXXIX: Estates 1889-1890 (1895-1895)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1895 new lists CCLXXI to CCLXXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republished List CCXXV: Estates 1889-1890 (1895-1895)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1895 new lists CCLXXI to CCLXXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republished List CCXXVI: Estates 1889-1890 (1895-1895)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1895 new lists CCLXXI to CCLXXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republished List CCXXVII: Estates 1889-1890 (1895-1895)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1895 new lists CCLXXI to CCLXXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republished List CCXXVIII: Estates 1889-1890 (1895-1895)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1895 new lists CCLXXI to CCLXXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republished List CCXXX: Estates 1889-1890 (1895-1895)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1895 new lists CCLXXI to CCLXXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republished List CCXXXI: Estates 1890-1891 (1895-1895)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1895 new lists CCLXXI to CCLXXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republished List CCXXXII: Estates 1890-1891 (1895-1895)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1895 new lists CCLXXI to CCLXXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republished List CCXXXIII: Estates 1890-1891 (1895-1895)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1895 new lists CCLXXI to CCLXXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republished List CCXXXIV: Estates 1890-1891 (1895-1895)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1895 new lists CCLXXI to CCLXXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republished List CCXXXIX: Estates 1890-1891 (1895-1895)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1895 new lists CCLXXI to CCLXXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republished List CCXXXV: Estates 1890-1891 (1895-1895)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1895 new lists CCLXXI to CCLXXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republished List CCXXXVI: Estates 1890-1891 (1895-1895)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1895 new lists CCLXXI to CCLXXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republished List CCXXXVII: Estates 1890-1891 (1895-1895)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1895 new lists CCLXXI to CCLXXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: Republished List CCXXXVIII: Estates 1890-1891 (1895-1895)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1895 new lists CCLXXI to CCLXXX relating to recent deaths were issued, as well as republications of lists from previous years showing details of estates still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Dover College (1895-1895)

The second edition of the Dover College Register, edited by William Stevens Lee, lists all boys entering the school from its opening in 1871 to the date of publication in 1899. The boys are listed alphabetically by term of entry, surname and full christian names. A double dagger after the name indicates a school prefect. Next comes the year or date of birth, then abbreviations indicating house - [D] day boy; [Sch.] School House; [Sp.] Sparke's House; [St.] Steedman's House; [W.] Walters' from 1881 to 1886, Williams' from 2nd term 1890 to 3rd term 1898; [L.] Littlewood's (the same house as Walters') fom 3rd term 1886 to 1st term 1890. From 3rd term of 1892 onwards the names were changed to [S.] School House; [P.] Priory House (was Sparke's); [M.] St Martin's (was Williams'). Moreover, in January 1893 the Junior School was established at West Mount, and from then onwards [J] indicates a period there. Next come distinctions gained in the school, exhibitions, &c., and athletic distinctions, such as XI for membership of the school cricket eleven, XV for the school football team, with years; then date of leaving; distinctions gained since leaving; and present address (where known) as of 1899. Despite this attempt at comprehensive coverage, the materials to hand for compiling the register were often lacking: at worst, in the early years, there are a handful of entries where only the surname is given. Equally, other entries are detailed and comprehensive.
>> Search this source

Wimbledon schoolgirls and schoolmistresses (1896-1896)

Wimbledon High School produced a yearly magazine, issued in December, starting in 1889. Each issue contained general school news, sporting and scholastic results, essays, reports from the school societies (circles and clubs) and news of old girls, with their marriages, births of their children (giving both maiden and married surnames), and deaths. The old girls were organized into what was called the Wimbledon High School Union (W. H. S. U.) and there is news of the Union's activities.
>> Search this source

Wimbledon schoolgirls and schoolmistresses (1896-1896)

Wimbledon High School produced a yearly magazine, issued in December, starting in 1889. This special supplement was issued in April 1896 after the death of Miss Emma Mundella, a teacher there.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Wellington College in Berkshire (1896-1896)

Wellington College, near Wokingham, was originally founded for the education of sons of military officers. A register of boys entering the school from First Term 1859 to Michaelmas 1933 was compiled by F. G. Lawrence for the Old Wellingtonian Society. In each entry the boy's name is given in full, in bold, surname first; age at entry (usually 11 to 14); then, in brackets, the name of the dormitory or house to which he belonged, in italics, with the years of his stay; then his father's name (usually surname and initials, but not christian name) with military decorations where appropriate. School prefects and captains are noted as such; if the boy played cricket for the school, XI with the years; academic honours, scholarships, &c.; a brief biography; and date of death, or (where known) address in 1933. Year of marriage is given, and sometimes the wife's name and/or her father's name. Clearly, those boys who kept contact with the school and/or had distinguished military careers have detailed entries; others disappeared into oblivion on leaving.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Epsom College (1896-1896)

The Royal Medical Benevolent College at Epsom in Surrey was founded in 1853 for the orphans of the medical profession, and evolved to become a public school still largely catering for sons of doctors and surgeons. In 1955 this register of pupils, from 1855 to 1954, edited by T. R. Thomson, was published. The sample scan is from 1880. The entries are arranged alphabetically by surname under year of entrance to the school; surname first (in bold), christian names, and then (in most cases), the father's name, occupation and address: then the boy's year of birth (b.), year of leaving (l.), occupation, and, where known, year of death (d.). From 1880 onwards the house to which the boy belonged is also indicated: the boarding houses were Carr (C.), Forest (F.), Granville (G.), Holman (H.), Propert (P.) and Wilson (W.); and Crawfurd (Cr.), Hart Smith (H. S.) and Rosebery (R.) are the houses for day scholars. From 1895 to 1927 there was a junior school, called Lower School (L. S.), taking in boys from the age of 8, many passing seamlessly into the main school at age 12 to 14. This is the index to the year 1896, when the Reverend Thomas Northmore Hart-Smith was headmaster.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Marlborough College (1896-1896)

The public school at Marlborough in Wiltshire was founded in 1843. In 1952 this, 9th, edition of the college register was published, being a revision by L. Warwick James of the 8th edition (of 1936): but for the years before 1936 it does not merely repeat the 8th edition, because Warwick James was able to correct the 19th-century entries with information from newly-discovered letters and books from 1843 to 1853, and the school lists from 1844 onwards. The roll is arranged by year, and within each year by term of entrance, and then alphabetically by surname within each term. Each boy is assigned a number within the year: then his name is given, surname first, and, in brackets, his house. The houses within the college were called B1, B2, B3, C1, C2 and C3, and the Lower School (L Sch); the out college houses were Preshute, Priory, Cotton, Hermitage, Littlefield, Barton Hill, Summerfield and Upcot. Then there is given the boy's father's name (surname and initials) and address (at entrance), the boy's date of birth (b) and month of leaving (l). Where the boy represented the school at Rugby football (XV) or cricket (XI), in the rifle corps (VIII, or RC XI), that is indicated. There is a brief summary of achievements in later life, and, where known, and date of death or (in italics) address as in 1952.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Crewkerne School (1896-1896)

Crewkerne Grammar School in Somerset was founded in 1499; as part of the quatercentenary celebrations a History of Crewkerne School, by the Reverend R. Grosvenor Bartelot, was published in 1899; and this included this school register from 1828 to 1899. Until 1877 only foundationers (day boys part of whose fees was paid out of the school foundation) are listed; thereafter boarders as well as day scholars. Names are arranged by date of entrance; surname is given first, then christian name, age at entry, date of entering, and date of leaving.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Sherborne School (1896-1896)

The grammar school at Sherborne in Dorset, which doubtless existed from the creation of the diocese of Sherborne in 705, was refounded by king Edward VI in 1550. At the quatercentenary in 1950, a fourth edition of the Sherborne Register was published, listing boys entering the school during those four centuries. In truth, the materials for this register survive but fitfully before 1823; for some years, no names are known; sometimes all that is known is a surname. But from 1823 onwards the lists and the details get steadily more comprehensive. By the 20th century the boys are listed alphabetically by surname under term of entrance. Surname is given in bold, then christian names, name of father (surname and initials) and address; year of birth; house (a, School House; b, Abbey House; c, The Green; d, Harper House (formerly The Retreat); f, Abbeylands; g, Lyon House; h, Westcott House); whether represented the school at cricket (xi), football (xv), shooting (viii), &c.; year of leaving; summary of degrees, career &c.; and (in italics), address as of 1950. Names in the early lists marked with an asterisk are found inscribed on the oak panelling or on the stone walls of the former schoolroom. (F) in the lists indicates a foundationer, receiving free education: after 1827, when this privilege was restricted to boys from Sherborne and neighbourhood, nearly all foundationers were day-boys.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Loretto School (1896-1896)

The Reverend Dr Thomas Langhorne, who came to Musselburgh in Midlothian as an Episcopalian Church clergyman, established a small school for boarders and day scholars at Loretto House, so called because the grounds contained the ruins of the mediaeval chapel of St Mary of Loretto. To celebrate the centenary of the school in 1925, a second edition of the school register was published, edited by A. H. Buchanan-Dunlop. Relatively little was known of many of the earliest scholars, but from 1835 onwards the register generally gives full name, in capitals, surname first; date of birth; period of time at Loretto; a brief biography; date of death; whether brother of any other boy in the register; and a sequential number.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Gresham's School (1896-1896)

The Sir John Gresham Grammar School at Holt in Norfolk was founded by sir John, who bought the manor house there in 1546 to convert it into a school, and building work had started by 1555. To celebrate the quatercentenary in 1955, a history of the school written by the Reverend C. L. S. Linnell was published, together with an Alumni Greshamienses, a register of boys entering the school from 1562 to 1954, compiled by A. B. Douglas. The materials to hand for the register for the early years were slight; the first coherent lists of boys survive only from 1729, and then are fitful, with little detail, and largely missing from 1784 to 1803; however, from 1810 onwards the names of boys' parents are usually recorded. The register is arranged chronologically by year (and from 1900 by term - L, Lent; M, Michaelmas; S, Summer), and then alphabetically by surname (in capitals) and christian name(s). Where known, year of birth is then given (in brackets), names, addresses and occupations of parents. From 1900 onwards there are italic abbreviations for sporting achievements at school (h, hockey colours; VIII, shooting colours; S, first-class swimmer; XI, cricket colours; XV, football colours), and p for house prefect and P for school prefect; then (in italics) information about the boy's adult life, and his address (where living) at the time of publication. Finally, on the right hand side of the page, in italics, is given the year of his leaving the school. Most detail is absent before 1810; and, of course, for the boys still at school in 1955, or only recently left, there are no details of future career; nor are there the usual details about their parentage. From 1898 onwards day boys are noted with an italic D (N means Newquay dayboy); and from 1900 onwards the school houses are shown (B, Bengal Lodge; F, Farfield; H, School House or Howson's; K, Kenwyn; O, Old School House; W, Woodlands); and, for the junior school, c, Crossways; k, Kenwyn; o, Old School House).
>> Search this source

Boys entering Merchant Taylors' School in London (1896-1896)

Merchant Taylors' School was founded by members of the livery company of the merchant taylors of the city of London in 1561 as a grammar school. By the 19th century this was a major English public school. In 1875 the school removed from Suffolk Lane, in the City, to a new building in Charterhouse Square in Finsbury. In 1907 the Reverend William Baker, a former headmaster, published this school register for the period 1871 to 1900, which we have indexed by year of admission. Each entry gives the boy's name in full (surname, christian name(s)); date of birth; names of both parents (middle names as initials); occupation of father; career summary; and (in italics) address as of 1907.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Fettes College, Edinburgh (1896-1896)

Fettes College, Edinburgh, was opened in 1870 under the terms of a trust 'for maintenance, education, and outfit of young people whose parents have either died without leaving sufficient funds for that purpose, or who, from innocent misfortune during their own lives, are unable to give suitable education to their children'. In 1923 this edition of the Fettes College Register was published; in it the compilers sought to set out for each boy who had attended the college a brief synopsis of what was known about his time at the school, his subsequent career, and date and place of death, or address as of 1923. After each name there is a letter in brackets indicating the house to which the pupil belonged - (C.) Carrington House; (G.) Glencorse House; (K.) Kimmerghame House; (M.) Moredun House; (S.) Schoolhouse. An asterisk indicates that the boy was a foundationer, i. e. supported by the foundation; a dagger that he was a foundation scholar. VIA. indicates Upper Form; Mods. Modern School; Army Cl., Army Class; S. P., School Prefect; xx. First Rugby Football Twenty; xv. First Rugby Football Fifteen; xx. cap. Caps occasionally given to the five (or fewer) next to the First Fifteen after 1875; xi. First Cricket Eleven; viii. Gymnastic Eight; Trs. Prizes and Exhib., Trustees' Prizes and Exhibitions; Govs. Prizes and Exhib., Governors' Prizes and Exhibitions; Schol., scholarship; M., married. Month and year of birth is given in square brackets.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Brighton College (1896-1896)

This edition of the Brighton College Register was published in 1922. The plan of the publication was to list boys by year or, later, term of entry. Each name is assigned a sequential number, 5000 boys, in all, being recorded. Full name is given (surname first, in bold); year of birth; year of leaving; and then (wherever the compiler had such information) a short biography, ending with date of death, where known.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Clifton College (1896-1896)

Clifton College near Bristol was established in 1862. This edition of the Clifton College Annals and Register for the Old Cliftonian Society by F. Borwick was published in 1925. Boys are listed alphabetically by term of entry, with full names, surname first, in bold. Father's (or widowed mother's) name is given (surname and initials) in capitals, and address. Then there is the name of the house (N. T., North Town; S. H., School House; S. T., South Town), first and last forms, distinctions in school work and games, and month of leaving. Where known, the editor then gave a career summary with month of death; or, if still living, address as in 1925 (in italics).
>> Search this source

Boys entering Trinity College, Glenalmond (1896-1896)

Trinity College, Glenalmond, Perthshire, was originally founded as a college at which young men might be trained for the ministry of the Scottish Episcopal Church, and the sons of the laity might be educated and brought up in the faith and tradition of the Church. In 1876 the Theological College was transferred to Edinburgh, Glenalmond remaining as a boys' school. This second edition of the school register, edited by G. St Quintin, was published in 1955, incorporating the text of the first edition prepared by E. W. Neish. The scholars are listed by term of entering the school, and then alphabetically by surname; the details then given are full christian names, date of birth; name of father; any distinctions within the school; and then a career synopsis, with date and place of death where known.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Giggleswick School (1896-1896)

The school at Giggleswick in the West Riding of Yorkshire dates from at least 1507, but no register of the boys attending there has survived earlier than one started by the headmaster, the reverend George Style, in 1875. When the bursar, H. L. Mullins, prepared this, 'The Giggleswick School Register', printed in 1913, he was able to compile general details of some scholars from earlier years, but the concerted, reasonably complete, account starts in 1859. The details are arranged by term of entry, then alphabetically by surname and christian name. Typically each description gives full name; date of birth; name and address of father; date of leaving. Where known, Mullins then added a brief career synopsis, present address in 1913, or date of death. From 1869 onwards boarders were admitted to the school, and where it is known that a boy was a day scholar, the word (Town) is added after his name.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Haileybury College, Hertfordshire (1896-1896)

Haileybury College, near Hertford, was founded by the East India Company in 1806, and incorporated by Royal Charter in 1864. This register of pupils entering the school from 1862 to 1931 was edited by a master there, Laurence Arthur Speakman. The boys are listed by term of joining the school, and then alphabetically by name (in bold), surname first (in capitals). There is then usually a precise birthdate, and the name and address of his father; his period at the school, starting with abbreviations to indicate the house to which he belonged (B., Batten; B. F., Bartle Frere; C., Colvin; E., Edmonstone; Ha., Hailey; Hi., Highfield; L., Lawrence; Le B., Le Bas; M., Melvill; Th., Thomason; T., Trevelyan), and the first and last forms attended (e. g., IV., fourth form). Where a member of a school team there is then an indication (e. g., XI., cricket). For some pupils, with whom the school had lost touch, Speakman was only able to record the details of their time at Haileybury; but for most a brief career synopsis is then given, and current address (as in 1931) or date of death.
>> Search this source

Boys entering King William's College, Isle of Man (1896-1896)

King William's College at Castletown on the Isle of Man was established in 1830. By 1928 about 290 boys were being educated there, 'of whom three-fourths are boarders, and the remainders sons of natives or residents in the Island.' Boys entered the junior school about 9 or 10 years of age, the upper school about 13; boys over 13 were not admitted 'unless attainments and character are specially satisfactory'. There were 'several nominations for the sons of clergy and others'. Editions of the college register were published in 1905 and 1927. When this third edition was prepared, in 1956, it was felt unnecessary to repeat the whole of the register from 1830 onwards, a new starting point being chosen as September 1886, when the reverend Frank Bridgman Walters took office as principal. The items are arranged alphabetically within term of entry; surname is given first, in bold, and then full christian names; then, to the right, in bold, precise date of birth, school house, and month of leaving the school. The abbreviations for houses are: C, Colbourne; D, Dickson; H, Hunt; Ha, Hangoside; J, Junior House; R, Raglan; S, School House (formerly Principal's); T, town houses occupied by masters who took in boys prior to September 1889; Tr, Trafford's; W, Walters. Each entry then gives the boy's father's name (surname and initials) and address at that time; school honours (such as Prae., praepositor, XI, school cricket team); a career synopsis; and finally, in italics, to the right, year of death, or present address in 1956, if known.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Leeds Grammar School (1896-1896)

The admission books for Leeds Grammar School from 1820 to 1900 were edited by Edmund Wilson and published in 1906. The series of registers is almost complete for the period, there being in addition admission registers for the Lower (or Commercial) Department from 1856 to 1865, and lists of boys in the school in 1856, and in the Commercial Department in 1861. The entries are arranged by date or term of admission: a sequential number is given first, then surname, christian name, and, after a dash, father's christian name, occupation, and address; another dash, and then the age of the boy at admission, and often his year of leaving (with the abbreviation r. for 'removed' or 'left'). r.* means left without notice; (o) or S. or Stranger or Foreigner indicates a boy not on the foundation. The editor was unable to divine the meaning of the abbreviation (Q) or the asterisks prefixed to most entries in 1856 to 1860, but dutifully copies them into the text. In smaller type he then proceeds, where possible, to add some information about the boy's subsequent career.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Uppingham School (1896-1896)

The public school at Uppingham in Rutland was founded by Archdeacon Johnson in 1584. A roll of scholars from 1824 to 1905 was edited by J. P. Graham, and published in 1906. This was a revision and updating of an 1894 edition of the roll, the great bulk of the work having been done by Mrs Mullins. The roll is arranged by year, and within each year by term of entrance, and then alphabetically by surname within each term. Each boy's name is given, surname first, with an asterisk where known (in 1906) to have died. Then there is month and year of birth, father's name (most often just surname and initials) and address (at entrance). Where the boy represented the school at Rugby football (XV) or cricket (XI), that is indicated. After the month and year of leaving the school, there is a brief summary of achievements in later life, and, where known, address as in 1906. From 1875 onwards the house within the school is also noted, with these abbreviations: A., Mr Constable's House; B., Brooklands; C., West Bank; E., Mr J. Gale Thring's House; F., Fircroft; Fgh., Farleigh; H., Highfield; L., The Lodge; L. H., Lorne House; M., Meadhurst; N., The Hall; R., Redgate; R. H., Red House; S., School House; and W. D., West Deyne.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Harrow School (1896-1896)

This Second Volume of the Second Series of the Harrow School Register was edited by J. H. Stogdon and published in 1925. The boys are listed by term of entrance, and then alphabetically by surname and christian names (in bold). Next, in brackets and in italics, is the school house to which he belonged - or, H. B. indicating a day boy whose family lived in Harrow. Stogdon then gives the father's surname and initials, and address. In cases where the boy was prominent in sports at school, or won academic prizes, scholarships &c., that is given; then the year of leaving the school; a synopsis of his career; and, where known, his address as of 1925, in italics.
>> Search this source

Associates of King's College, London (1896-1896)

Former students of King's College, London, could be elected as associates of the college, and then enjoyed the privilege of perpetual free admission to all the classes in the department from which they had been elected; the use of the libraries and museums on the same basis as current students; and admission to dine at high table in the college hall. This list of associates from the college calendar for 1896-1897 gives year of election, full name (surname first), and the faculty or department in which graduated, of all associates elected from 1866 to 1896.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Manchester Grammar School (1896-1896)

This Biographical Register of Old Mancunians lists boys alphabetically by year of entering the school. A bare register of entrants existed from 1888 onwards but it was only since the Second World War that any kind of detailed record was kept of those who passed through the school. So, in every case in this printed register, full name is given, in bold, surname first (in capitals); date of birth, and years attending the school; but for the earlier years sometimes there is no more information - or, equally, after investigation among Old Mancunians and published sources, the editors may have been able to furnish a condensed biography. An asterisk indicates a holder of a Foundation Scholarship. In the later years a current address is also given, as of 1964 to 1965, when the book was prepared.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Dover College (1896-1896)

The second edition of the Dover College Register, edited by William Stevens Lee, lists all boys entering the school from its opening in 1871 to the date of publication in 1899. The boys are listed alphabetically by term of entry, surname and full christian names. A double dagger after the name indicates a school prefect. Next comes the year or date of birth, then abbreviations indicating house - [D] day boy; [Sch.] School House; [Sp.] Sparke's House; [St.] Steedman's House; [W.] Walters' from 1881 to 1886, Williams' from 2nd term 1890 to 3rd term 1898; [L.] Littlewood's (the same house as Walters') fom 3rd term 1886 to 1st term 1890. From 3rd term of 1892 onwards the names were changed to [S.] School House; [P.] Priory House (was Sparke's); [M.] St Martin's (was Williams'). Moreover, in January 1893 the Junior School was established at West Mount, and from then onwards [J] indicates a period there. Next come distinctions gained in the school, exhibitions, &c., and athletic distinctions, such as XI for membership of the school cricket eleven, XV for the school football team, with years; then date of leaving; distinctions gained since leaving; and present address (where known) as of 1899. Despite this attempt at comprehensive coverage, the materials to hand for compiling the register were often lacking: at worst, in the early years, there are a handful of entries where only the surname is given. Equally, other entries are detailed and comprehensive.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed (1896-1896)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1896 new lists CCLXXXI to CCXC relating to recent deaths, estates 1895-1896, were issued, as well as republications of lists CCLXXI to CCXL from previous years (estates 1890-1895) showing details of balances still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed: India (1896-1896)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. This separate list of unclaimed estates of soldiers in India is arranged presidency by presidency, giving name, rank, regiment, and amount: an asterisk indicates that the sums were remitted by Administrators-General.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Aldenham School (1896-1899)

Aldenham School in Hertfordshire is a public school originating as an Elizabethan grammar school. The Aldenham School Register was first published in 1898, but this tenth edition, by R. J. Evans, and published in 1969, comprised only living old boys who had entered the school from 1900 onwards, together with those who had entered the school before 1900 and who had responded to a questionnaire. There is thus a general presumption that all the boys mentioned were alive in 1969. The boys are listed alphabetically by surname under the term in which they entered the school. Full name is given, in bold, surname first. Then an abbreviation indicating their house (B, Beevor's; K, Kennedy's; M, McGill's; P, Paull's; SH, School House); the period of stay at the school; address as of 1969; father's name, occupation and residence (where the father had also studied at the school, his name is given in capitals with the year of his entry); brief details of any achievements at the school (particularly at sports); and the briefest of details of subsequent career.
>> Search this source

Wimbledon schoolgirls and schoolmistresses (1897-1897)

Wimbledon High School produced a yearly magazine, issued in December, starting in 1889. Each issue contained general school news, sporting and scholastic results, essays, reports from the school societies (circles and clubs) and news of old girls, with their marriages, births of their children (giving both maiden and married surnames), and deaths. The old girls were organized into what was called the Wimbledon High School Union (W. H. S. U.) and there is news of the Union's activities.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Wellington College in Berkshire (1897-1897)

Wellington College, near Wokingham, was originally founded for the education of sons of military officers. A register of boys entering the school from First Term 1859 to Michaelmas 1933 was compiled by F. G. Lawrence for the Old Wellingtonian Society. In each entry the boy's name is given in full, in bold, surname first; age at entry (usually 11 to 14); then, in brackets, the name of the dormitory or house to which he belonged, in italics, with the years of his stay; then his father's name (usually surname and initials, but not christian name) with military decorations where appropriate. School prefects and captains are noted as such; if the boy played cricket for the school, XI with the years; academic honours, scholarships, &c.; a brief biography; and date of death, or (where known) address in 1933. Year of marriage is given, and sometimes the wife's name and/or her father's name. Clearly, those boys who kept contact with the school and/or had distinguished military careers have detailed entries; others disappeared into oblivion on leaving.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Epsom College (1897-1897)

The Royal Medical Benevolent College at Epsom in Surrey was founded in 1853 for the orphans of the medical profession, and evolved to become a public school still largely catering for sons of doctors and surgeons. In 1955 this register of pupils, from 1855 to 1954, edited by T. R. Thomson, was published. The sample scan is from 1880. The entries are arranged alphabetically by surname under year of entrance to the school; surname first (in bold), christian names, and then (in most cases), the father's name, occupation and address: then the boy's year of birth (b.), year of leaving (l.), occupation, and, where known, year of death (d.). From 1880 onwards the house to which the boy belonged is also indicated: the boarding houses were Carr (C.), Forest (F.), Granville (G.), Holman (H.), Propert (P.) and Wilson (W.); and Crawfurd (Cr.), Hart Smith (H. S.) and Rosebery (R.) are the houses for day scholars. From 1895 to 1927 there was a junior school, called Lower School (L. S.), taking in boys from the age of 8, many passing seamlessly into the main school at age 12 to 14. This is the index to the year 1897, when the Reverend Thomas Northmore Hart-Smith was headmaster.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Marlborough College (1897-1897)

The public school at Marlborough in Wiltshire was founded in 1843. In 1952 this, 9th, edition of the college register was published, being a revision by L. Warwick James of the 8th edition (of 1936): but for the years before 1936 it does not merely repeat the 8th edition, because Warwick James was able to correct the 19th-century entries with information from newly-discovered letters and books from 1843 to 1853, and the school lists from 1844 onwards. The roll is arranged by year, and within each year by term of entrance, and then alphabetically by surname within each term. Each boy is assigned a number within the year: then his name is given, surname first, and, in brackets, his house. The houses within the college were called B1, B2, B3, C1, C2 and C3, and the Lower School (L Sch); the out college houses were Preshute, Priory, Cotton, Hermitage, Littlefield, Barton Hill, Summerfield and Upcot. Then there is given the boy's father's name (surname and initials) and address (at entrance), the boy's date of birth (b) and month of leaving (l). Where the boy represented the school at Rugby football (XV) or cricket (XI), in the rifle corps (VIII, or RC XI), that is indicated. There is a brief summary of achievements in later life, and, where known, and date of death or (in italics) address as in 1952.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Crewkerne School (1897-1897)

Crewkerne Grammar School in Somerset was founded in 1499; as part of the quatercentenary celebrations a History of Crewkerne School, by the Reverend R. Grosvenor Bartelot, was published in 1899; and this included this school register from 1828 to 1899. Until 1877 only foundationers (day boys part of whose fees was paid out of the school foundation) are listed; thereafter boarders as well as day scholars. Names are arranged by date of entrance; surname is given first, then christian name, age at entry, date of entering, and date of leaving.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Sherborne School (1897-1897)

The grammar school at Sherborne in Dorset, which doubtless existed from the creation of the diocese of Sherborne in 705, was refounded by king Edward VI in 1550. At the quatercentenary in 1950, a fourth edition of the Sherborne Register was published, listing boys entering the school during those four centuries. In truth, the materials for this register survive but fitfully before 1823; for some years, no names are known; sometimes all that is known is a surname. But from 1823 onwards the lists and the details get steadily more comprehensive. By the 20th century the boys are listed alphabetically by surname under term of entrance. Surname is given in bold, then christian names, name of father (surname and initials) and address; year of birth; house (a, School House; b, Abbey House; c, The Green; d, Harper House (formerly The Retreat); f, Abbeylands; g, Lyon House; h, Westcott House); whether represented the school at cricket (xi), football (xv), shooting (viii), &c.; year of leaving; summary of degrees, career &c.; and (in italics), address as of 1950. Names in the early lists marked with an asterisk are found inscribed on the oak panelling or on the stone walls of the former schoolroom. (F) in the lists indicates a foundationer, receiving free education: after 1827, when this privilege was restricted to boys from Sherborne and neighbourhood, nearly all foundationers were day-boys.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Loretto School (1897-1897)

The Reverend Dr Thomas Langhorne, who came to Musselburgh in Midlothian as an Episcopalian Church clergyman, established a small school for boarders and day scholars at Loretto House, so called because the grounds contained the ruins of the mediaeval chapel of St Mary of Loretto. To celebrate the centenary of the school in 1925, a second edition of the school register was published, edited by A. H. Buchanan-Dunlop. Relatively little was known of many of the earliest scholars, but from 1835 onwards the register generally gives full name, in capitals, surname first; date of birth; period of time at Loretto; a brief biography; date of death; whether brother of any other boy in the register; and a sequential number.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Gresham's School (1897-1897)

The Sir John Gresham Grammar School at Holt in Norfolk was founded by sir John, who bought the manor house there in 1546 to convert it into a school, and building work had started by 1555. To celebrate the quatercentenary in 1955, a history of the school written by the Reverend C. L. S. Linnell was published, together with an Alumni Greshamienses, a register of boys entering the school from 1562 to 1954, compiled by A. B. Douglas. The materials to hand for the register for the early years were slight; the first coherent lists of boys survive only from 1729, and then are fitful, with little detail, and largely missing from 1784 to 1803; however, from 1810 onwards the names of boys' parents are usually recorded. The register is arranged chronologically by year (and from 1900 by term - L, Lent; M, Michaelmas; S, Summer), and then alphabetically by surname (in capitals) and christian name(s). Where known, year of birth is then given (in brackets), names, addresses and occupations of parents. From 1900 onwards there are italic abbreviations for sporting achievements at school (h, hockey colours; VIII, shooting colours; S, first-class swimmer; XI, cricket colours; XV, football colours), and p for house prefect and P for school prefect; then (in italics) information about the boy's adult life, and his address (where living) at the time of publication. Finally, on the right hand side of the page, in italics, is given the year of his leaving the school. Most detail is absent before 1810; and, of course, for the boys still at school in 1955, or only recently left, there are no details of future career; nor are there the usual details about their parentage. From 1898 onwards day boys are noted with an italic D (N means Newquay dayboy); and from 1900 onwards the school houses are shown (B, Bengal Lodge; F, Farfield; H, School House or Howson's; K, Kenwyn; O, Old School House; W, Woodlands); and, for the junior school, c, Crossways; k, Kenwyn; o, Old School House).
>> Search this source

Boys entering Merchant Taylors' School in London (1897-1897)

Merchant Taylors' School was founded by members of the livery company of the merchant taylors of the city of London in 1561 as a grammar school. By the 19th century this was a major English public school. In 1875 the school removed from Suffolk Lane, in the City, to a new building in Charterhouse Square in Finsbury. In 1907 the Reverend William Baker, a former headmaster, published this school register for the period 1871 to 1900, which we have indexed by year of admission. Each entry gives the boy's name in full (surname, christian name(s)); date of birth; names of both parents (middle names as initials); occupation of father; career summary; and (in italics) address as of 1907.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Fettes College, Edinburgh (1897-1897)

Fettes College, Edinburgh, was opened in 1870 under the terms of a trust 'for maintenance, education, and outfit of young people whose parents have either died without leaving sufficient funds for that purpose, or who, from innocent misfortune during their own lives, are unable to give suitable education to their children'. In 1923 this edition of the Fettes College Register was published; in it the compilers sought to set out for each boy who had attended the college a brief synopsis of what was known about his time at the school, his subsequent career, and date and place of death, or address as of 1923. After each name there is a letter in brackets indicating the house to which the pupil belonged - (C.) Carrington House; (G.) Glencorse House; (K.) Kimmerghame House; (M.) Moredun House; (S.) Schoolhouse. An asterisk indicates that the boy was a foundationer, i. e. supported by the foundation; a dagger that he was a foundation scholar. VIA. indicates Upper Form; Mods. Modern School; Army Cl., Army Class; S. P., School Prefect; xx. First Rugby Football Twenty; xv. First Rugby Football Fifteen; xx. cap. Caps occasionally given to the five (or fewer) next to the First Fifteen after 1875; xi. First Cricket Eleven; viii. Gymnastic Eight; Trs. Prizes and Exhib., Trustees' Prizes and Exhibitions; Govs. Prizes and Exhib., Governors' Prizes and Exhibitions; Schol., scholarship; M., married. Month and year of birth is given in square brackets.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Brighton College (1897-1897)

This edition of the Brighton College Register was published in 1922. The plan of the publication was to list boys by year or, later, term of entry. Each name is assigned a sequential number, 5000 boys, in all, being recorded. Full name is given (surname first, in bold); year of birth; year of leaving; and then (wherever the compiler had such information) a short biography, ending with date of death, where known.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Clifton College (1897-1897)

Clifton College near Bristol was established in 1862. This edition of the Clifton College Annals and Register for the Old Cliftonian Society by F. Borwick was published in 1925. Boys are listed alphabetically by term of entry, with full names, surname first, in bold. Father's (or widowed mother's) name is given (surname and initials) in capitals, and address. Then there is the name of the house (N. T., North Town; S. H., School House; S. T., South Town), first and last forms, distinctions in school work and games, and month of leaving. Where known, the editor then gave a career summary with month of death; or, if still living, address as in 1925 (in italics).
>> Search this source

Boys entering Trinity College, Glenalmond (1897-1897)

Trinity College, Glenalmond, Perthshire, was originally founded as a college at which young men might be trained for the ministry of the Scottish Episcopal Church, and the sons of the laity might be educated and brought up in the faith and tradition of the Church. In 1876 the Theological College was transferred to Edinburgh, Glenalmond remaining as a boys' school. This second edition of the school register, edited by G. St Quintin, was published in 1955, incorporating the text of the first edition prepared by E. W. Neish. The scholars are listed by term of entering the school, and then alphabetically by surname; the details then given are full christian names, date of birth; name of father; any distinctions within the school; and then a career synopsis, with date and place of death where known.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Giggleswick School (1897-1897)

The school at Giggleswick in the West Riding of Yorkshire dates from at least 1507, but no register of the boys attending there has survived earlier than one started by the headmaster, the reverend George Style, in 1875. When the bursar, H. L. Mullins, prepared this, 'The Giggleswick School Register', printed in 1913, he was able to compile general details of some scholars from earlier years, but the concerted, reasonably complete, account starts in 1859. The details are arranged by term of entry, then alphabetically by surname and christian name. Typically each description gives full name; date of birth; name and address of father; date of leaving. Where known, Mullins then added a brief career synopsis, present address in 1913, or date of death. From 1869 onwards boarders were admitted to the school, and where it is known that a boy was a day scholar, the word (Town) is added after his name.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Haileybury College, Hertfordshire (1897-1897)

Haileybury College, near Hertford, was founded by the East India Company in 1806, and incorporated by Royal Charter in 1864. This register of pupils entering the school from 1862 to 1931 was edited by a master there, Laurence Arthur Speakman. The boys are listed by term of joining the school, and then alphabetically by name (in bold), surname first (in capitals). There is then usually a precise birthdate, and the name and address of his father; his period at the school, starting with abbreviations to indicate the house to which he belonged (B., Batten; B. F., Bartle Frere; C., Colvin; E., Edmonstone; Ha., Hailey; Hi., Highfield; L., Lawrence; Le B., Le Bas; M., Melvill; Th., Thomason; T., Trevelyan), and the first and last forms attended (e. g., IV., fourth form). Where a member of a school team there is then an indication (e. g., XI., cricket). For some pupils, with whom the school had lost touch, Speakman was only able to record the details of their time at Haileybury; but for most a brief career synopsis is then given, and current address (as in 1931) or date of death.
>> Search this source

Boys entering King William's College, Isle of Man (1897-1897)

King William's College at Castletown on the Isle of Man was established in 1830. By 1928 about 290 boys were being educated there, 'of whom three-fourths are boarders, and the remainders sons of natives or residents in the Island.' Boys entered the junior school about 9 or 10 years of age, the upper school about 13; boys over 13 were not admitted 'unless attainments and character are specially satisfactory'. There were 'several nominations for the sons of clergy and others'. Editions of the college register were published in 1905 and 1927. When this third edition was prepared, in 1956, it was felt unnecessary to repeat the whole of the register from 1830 onwards, a new starting point being chosen as September 1886, when the reverend Frank Bridgman Walters took office as principal. The items are arranged alphabetically within term of entry; surname is given first, in bold, and then full christian names; then, to the right, in bold, precise date of birth, school house, and month of leaving the school. The abbreviations for houses are: C, Colbourne; D, Dickson; H, Hunt; Ha, Hangoside; J, Junior House; R, Raglan; S, School House (formerly Principal's); T, town houses occupied by masters who took in boys prior to September 1889; Tr, Trafford's; W, Walters. Each entry then gives the boy's father's name (surname and initials) and address at that time; school honours (such as Prae., praepositor, XI, school cricket team); a career synopsis; and finally, in italics, to the right, year of death, or present address in 1956, if known.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Leeds Grammar School (1897-1897)

The admission books for Leeds Grammar School from 1820 to 1900 were edited by Edmund Wilson and published in 1906. The series of registers is almost complete for the period, there being in addition admission registers for the Lower (or Commercial) Department from 1856 to 1865, and lists of boys in the school in 1856, and in the Commercial Department in 1861. The entries are arranged by date or term of admission: a sequential number is given first, then surname, christian name, and, after a dash, father's christian name, occupation, and address; another dash, and then the age of the boy at admission, and often his year of leaving (with the abbreviation r. for 'removed' or 'left'). r.* means left without notice; (o) or S. or Stranger or Foreigner indicates a boy not on the foundation. The editor was unable to divine the meaning of the abbreviation (Q) or the asterisks prefixed to most entries in 1856 to 1860, but dutifully copies them into the text. In smaller type he then proceeds, where possible, to add some information about the boy's subsequent career.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Uppingham School (1897-1897)

The public school at Uppingham in Rutland was founded by Archdeacon Johnson in 1584. A roll of scholars from 1824 to 1905 was edited by J. P. Graham, and published in 1906. This was a revision and updating of an 1894 edition of the roll, the great bulk of the work having been done by Mrs Mullins. The roll is arranged by year, and within each year by term of entrance, and then alphabetically by surname within each term. Each boy's name is given, surname first, with an asterisk where known (in 1906) to have died. Then there is month and year of birth, father's name (most often just surname and initials) and address (at entrance). Where the boy represented the school at Rugby football (XV) or cricket (XI), that is indicated. After the month and year of leaving the school, there is a brief summary of achievements in later life, and, where known, address as in 1906. From 1875 onwards the house within the school is also noted, with these abbreviations: A., Mr Constable's House; B., Brooklands; C., West Bank; E., Mr J. Gale Thring's House; F., Fircroft; Fgh., Farleigh; H., Highfield; L., The Lodge; L. H., Lorne House; M., Meadhurst; N., The Hall; R., Redgate; R. H., Red House; S., School House; and W. D., West Deyne.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Harrow School (1897-1897)

This Second Volume of the Second Series of the Harrow School Register was edited by J. H. Stogdon and published in 1925. The boys are listed by term of entrance, and then alphabetically by surname and christian names (in bold). Next, in brackets and in italics, is the school house to which he belonged - or, H. B. indicating a day boy whose family lived in Harrow. Stogdon then gives the father's surname and initials, and address. In cases where the boy was prominent in sports at school, or won academic prizes, scholarships &c., that is given; then the year of leaving the school; a synopsis of his career; and, where known, his address as of 1925, in italics.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Manchester Grammar School (1897-1897)

This Biographical Register of Old Mancunians lists boys alphabetically by year of entering the school. A bare register of entrants existed from 1888 onwards but it was only since the Second World War that any kind of detailed record was kept of those who passed through the school. So, in every case in this printed register, full name is given, in bold, surname first (in capitals); date of birth, and years attending the school; but for the earlier years sometimes there is no more information - or, equally, after investigation among Old Mancunians and published sources, the editors may have been able to furnish a condensed biography. An asterisk indicates a holder of a Foundation Scholarship. In the later years a current address is also given, as of 1964 to 1965, when the book was prepared.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Dover College (1897-1897)

The second edition of the Dover College Register, edited by William Stevens Lee, lists all boys entering the school from its opening in 1871 to the date of publication in 1899. The boys are listed alphabetically by term of entry, surname and full christian names. A double dagger after the name indicates a school prefect. Next comes the year or date of birth, then abbreviations indicating house - [D] day boy; [Sch.] School House; [Sp.] Sparke's House; [St.] Steedman's House; [W.] Walters' from 1881 to 1886, Williams' from 2nd term 1890 to 3rd term 1898; [L.] Littlewood's (the same house as Walters') fom 3rd term 1886 to 1st term 1890. From 3rd term of 1892 onwards the names were changed to [S.] School House; [P.] Priory House (was Sparke's); [M.] St Martin's (was Williams'). Moreover, in January 1893 the Junior School was established at West Mount, and from then onwards [J] indicates a period there. Next come distinctions gained in the school, exhibitions, &c., and athletic distinctions, such as XI for membership of the school cricket eleven, XV for the school football team, with years; then date of leaving; distinctions gained since leaving; and present address (where known) as of 1899. Despite this attempt at comprehensive coverage, the materials to hand for compiling the register were often lacking: at worst, in the early years, there are a handful of entries where only the surname is given. Equally, other entries are detailed and comprehensive.
>> Search this source

Soldiers' Balances Unclaimed (1897-1897)

The War Office, under 'The Regimental Debts Act, 1893' compiled and published lists of names of deceased soldiers whose personal estate was held by the Secretary of State for War for distribution amongst the Next of Kin or others entitled. These lists give full name (surname first), rank, regiment, and the amount of the estate unclaimed. During 1897 new lists CCXCI to CCC relating to recent deaths, estates 1896-1897, were issued, as well as republications of lists CCXLI to CCXC from previous years (estates 1891-1896) showing details of balances still remaining unclaimed.
>> Search this source

Masters of Merchantmen Lost by Collision at Sea (1897-1898)

Abstracts of the returns made to the Board of Trade of shipping casualties which occurred on or near the coasts or in rivers and harbours of the United Kingdom; and to British vessels elsewhere; and to foreign vessels on or near the coasts or in the rivers and harbours of British possessions abroad (including the Great Lakes of North America). The tables are arranged into the broad divisions of Total Losses at Sea (founderings, strandings, collisions, other causes, and missing); Partial Losses at Sea (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes); Total Losses in Rivers, Lakes and Harbours (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes); and Partial Losses in Rivers, Lakes and Harbours (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes). In each case they state (so far as known) the date; name and age of the vessel; port of registry (if British); class in Lloyd's Register, Liverpool Book or Bureau Veritas; description of vessel, and whether iron (I.) or wood (W.); tons; number of crew; name of master (usually surname and initials); name and address of owner(s); port sailed from; port bound to; cargo and number of passengers (if any); number of lives lost; wind (direction and strength); and place of casualty. July 1897 to June 1898
>> Search this source

Owners of Merchantmen Lost by Collision at Sea (1897-1898)

Abstracts of the returns made to the Board of Trade of shipping casualties which occurred on or near the coasts or in rivers and harbours of the United Kingdom; and to British vessels elsewhere; and to foreign vessels on or near the coasts or in the rivers and harbours of British possessions abroad (including the Great Lakes of North America). The tables are arranged into the broad divisions of Total Losses at Sea (founderings, strandings, collisions, other causes, and missing); Partial Losses at Sea (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes); Total Losses in Rivers, Lakes and Harbours (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes); and Partial Losses in Rivers, Lakes and Harbours (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes). In each case they state (so far as known) the date; name and age of the vessel; port of registry (if British); class in Lloyd's Register, Liverpool Book or Bureau Veritas; description of vessel, and whether iron (I.) or wood (W.); tons; number of crew; name of master (usually surname and initials); name and address of owner(s); port sailed from; port bound to; cargo and number of passengers (if any); number of lives lost; wind (direction and strength); and place of casualty. July 1897 to June 1898
>> Search this source

Masters of Merchantmen Lost at Sea by Foundering (1897-1898)

Abstracts of the returns made to the Board of Trade of shipping casualties which occurred on or near the coasts or in rivers and harbours of the United Kingdom; and to British vessels elsewhere; and to foreign vessels on or near the coasts or in the rivers and harbours of British possessions abroad (including the Great Lakes of North America). The tables are arranged into the broad divisions of Total Losses at Sea (founderings, strandings, collisions, other causes, and missing); Partial Losses at Sea (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes); Total Losses in Rivers, Lakes and Harbours (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes); and Partial Losses in Rivers, Lakes and Harbours (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes). In each case they state (so far as known) the date; name and age of the vessel; port of registry (if British); class in Lloyd's Register, Liverpool Book or Bureau Veritas; description of vessel, and whether iron (I.) or wood (W.); tons; number of crew; name of master (usually surname and initials); name and address of owner(s); port sailed from; port bound to; cargo and number of passengers (if any); number of lives lost; wind (direction and strength); and place of casualty. July 1897 to June 1898
>> Search this source

Owners of Merchantmen Lost at Sea by Foundering (1897-1898)

Abstracts of the returns made to the Board of Trade of shipping casualties which occurred on or near the coasts or in rivers and harbours of the United Kingdom; and to British vessels elsewhere; and to foreign vessels on or near the coasts or in the rivers and harbours of British possessions abroad (including the Great Lakes of North America). The tables are arranged into the broad divisions of Total Losses at Sea (founderings, strandings, collisions, other causes, and missing); Partial Losses at Sea (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes); Total Losses in Rivers, Lakes and Harbours (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes); and Partial Losses in Rivers, Lakes and Harbours (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes). In each case they state (so far as known) the date; name and age of the vessel; port of registry (if British); class in Lloyd's Register, Liverpool Book or Bureau Veritas; description of vessel, and whether iron (I.) or wood (W.); tons; number of crew; name of master (usually surname and initials); name and address of owner(s); port sailed from; port bound to; cargo and number of passengers (if any); number of lives lost; wind (direction and strength); and place of casualty. July 1897 to June 1898
>> Search this source

Masters of Merchantmen Missing at Sea (1897-1898)

Abstracts of the returns made to the Board of Trade of shipping casualties which occurred on or near the coasts or in rivers and harbours of the United Kingdom; and to British vessels elsewhere; and to foreign vessels on or near the coasts or in the rivers and harbours of British possessions abroad (including the Great Lakes of North America). The tables are arranged into the broad divisions of Total Losses at Sea (founderings, strandings, collisions, other causes, and missing); Partial Losses at Sea (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes); Total Losses in Rivers, Lakes and Harbours (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes); and Partial Losses in Rivers, Lakes and Harbours (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes). In each case they state (so far as known) the date; name and age of the vessel; port of registry (if British); class in Lloyd's Register, Liverpool Book or Bureau Veritas; description of vessel, and whether iron (I.) or wood (W.); tons; number of crew; name of master (usually surname and initials); name and address of owner(s); port sailed from; port bound to; cargo and number of passengers (if any); number of lives lost; wind (direction and strength); and place of casualty. July 1897 to June 1898
>> Search this source

Owners of Merchantmen Missing at Sea (1897-1898)

Abstracts of the returns made to the Board of Trade of shipping casualties which occurred on or near the coasts or in rivers and harbours of the United Kingdom; and to British vessels elsewhere; and to foreign vessels on or near the coasts or in the rivers and harbours of British possessions abroad (including the Great Lakes of North America). The tables are arranged into the broad divisions of Total Losses at Sea (founderings, strandings, collisions, other causes, and missing); Partial Losses at Sea (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes); Total Losses in Rivers, Lakes and Harbours (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes); and Partial Losses in Rivers, Lakes and Harbours (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes). In each case they state (so far as known) the date; name and age of the vessel; port of registry (if British); class in Lloyd's Register, Liverpool Book or Bureau Veritas; description of vessel, and whether iron (I.) or wood (W.); tons; number of crew; name of master (usually surname and initials); name and address of owner(s); port sailed from; port bound to; cargo and number of passengers (if any); number of lives lost; wind (direction and strength); and place of casualty. July 1897 to June 1898
>> Search this source

Masters of Merchantmen Lost at Sea by 'Other Causes' (1897-1898)

Abstracts of the returns made to the Board of Trade of shipping casualties which occurred on or near the coasts or in rivers and harbours of the United Kingdom; and to British vessels elsewhere; and to foreign vessels on or near the coasts or in the rivers and harbours of British possessions abroad (including the Great Lakes of North America). The tables are arranged into the broad divisions of Total Losses at Sea (founderings, strandings, collisions, other causes, and missing); Partial Losses at Sea (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes); Total Losses in Rivers, Lakes and Harbours (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes); and Partial Losses in Rivers, Lakes and Harbours (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes). In each case they state (so far as known) the date; name and age of the vessel; port of registry (if British); class in Lloyd's Register, Liverpool Book or Bureau Veritas; description of vessel, and whether iron (I.) or wood (W.); tons; number of crew; name of master (usually surname and initials); name and address of owner(s); port sailed from; port bound to; cargo and number of passengers (if any); number of lives lost; wind (direction and strength); and place of casualty. July 1897 to June 1898
>> Search this source

Owners of Merchantmen Lost at Sea by 'Other Causes' (1897-1898)

Abstracts of the returns made to the Board of Trade of shipping casualties which occurred on or near the coasts or in rivers and harbours of the United Kingdom; and to British vessels elsewhere; and to foreign vessels on or near the coasts or in the rivers and harbours of British possessions abroad (including the Great Lakes of North America). The tables are arranged into the broad divisions of Total Losses at Sea (founderings, strandings, collisions, other causes, and missing); Partial Losses at Sea (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes); Total Losses in Rivers, Lakes and Harbours (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes); and Partial Losses in Rivers, Lakes and Harbours (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes). In each case they state (so far as known) the date; name and age of the vessel; port of registry (if British); class in Lloyd's Register, Liverpool Book or Bureau Veritas; description of vessel, and whether iron (I.) or wood (W.); tons; number of crew; name of master (usually surname and initials); name and address of owner(s); port sailed from; port bound to; cargo and number of passengers (if any); number of lives lost; wind (direction and strength); and place of casualty. July 1897 to June 1898
>> Search this source

Masters of Merchantmen Damaged in Collision at Sea (1897-1898)

Abstracts of the returns made to the Board of Trade of shipping casualties which occurred on or near the coasts or in rivers and harbours of the United Kingdom; and to British vessels elsewhere; and to foreign vessels on or near the coasts or in the rivers and harbours of British possessions abroad (including the Great Lakes of North America). The tables are arranged into the broad divisions of Total Losses at Sea (founderings, strandings, collisions, other causes, and missing); Partial Losses at Sea (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes); Total Losses in Rivers, Lakes and Harbours (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes); and Partial Losses in Rivers, Lakes and Harbours (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes). In each case they state (so far as known) the date; name and age of the vessel; port of registry (if British); class in Lloyd's Register, Liverpool Book or Bureau Veritas; description of vessel, and whether iron (I.) or wood (W.); tons; number of crew; name of master (usually surname and initials); name and address of owner(s); port sailed from; port bound to; cargo and number of passengers (if any); number of lives lost; wind (direction and strength); and place of casualty. July 1897 to June 1898
>> Search this source

Owners of Merchantmen Damaged in Collision at Sea (1897-1898)

Abstracts of the returns made to the Board of Trade of shipping casualties which occurred on or near the coasts or in rivers and harbours of the United Kingdom; and to British vessels elsewhere; and to foreign vessels on or near the coasts or in the rivers and harbours of British possessions abroad (including the Great Lakes of North America). The tables are arranged into the broad divisions of Total Losses at Sea (founderings, strandings, collisions, other causes, and missing); Partial Losses at Sea (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes); Total Losses in Rivers, Lakes and Harbours (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes); and Partial Losses in Rivers, Lakes and Harbours (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes). In each case they state (so far as known) the date; name and age of the vessel; port of registry (if British); class in Lloyd's Register, Liverpool Book or Bureau Veritas; description of vessel, and whether iron (I.) or wood (W.); tons; number of crew; name of master (usually surname and initials); name and address of owner(s); port sailed from; port bound to; cargo and number of passengers (if any); number of lives lost; wind (direction and strength); and place of casualty. July 1897 to June 1898
>> Search this source

Masters of Merchantmen Damaged by 'Other Causes' at Sea (1897-1898)

Abstracts of the returns made to the Board of Trade of shipping casualties which occurred on or near the coasts or in rivers and harbours of the United Kingdom; and to British vessels elsewhere; and to foreign vessels on or near the coasts or in the rivers and harbours of British possessions abroad (including the Great Lakes of North America). The tables are arranged into the broad divisions of Total Losses at Sea (founderings, strandings, collisions, other causes, and missing); Partial Losses at Sea (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes); Total Losses in Rivers, Lakes and Harbours (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes); and Partial Losses in Rivers, Lakes and Harbours (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes). In each case they state (so far as known) the date; name and age of the vessel; port of registry (if British); class in Lloyd's Register, Liverpool Book or Bureau Veritas; description of vessel, and whether iron (I.) or wood (W.); tons; number of crew; name of master (usually surname and initials); name and address of owner(s); port sailed from; port bound to; cargo and number of passengers (if any); number of lives lost; wind (direction and strength); and place of casualty. July 1897 to June 1898
>> Search this source

Owners of Merchantmen Damaged by 'Other Causes' at Sea (1897-1898)

Abstracts of the returns made to the Board of Trade of shipping casualties which occurred on or near the coasts or in rivers and harbours of the United Kingdom; and to British vessels elsewhere; and to foreign vessels on or near the coasts or in the rivers and harbours of British possessions abroad (including the Great Lakes of North America). The tables are arranged into the broad divisions of Total Losses at Sea (founderings, strandings, collisions, other causes, and missing); Partial Losses at Sea (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes); Total Losses in Rivers, Lakes and Harbours (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes); and Partial Losses in Rivers, Lakes and Harbours (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes). In each case they state (so far as known) the date; name and age of the vessel; port of registry (if British); class in Lloyd's Register, Liverpool Book or Bureau Veritas; description of vessel, and whether iron (I.) or wood (W.); tons; number of crew; name of master (usually surname and initials); name and address of owner(s); port sailed from; port bound to; cargo and number of passengers (if any); number of lives lost; wind (direction and strength); and place of casualty. July 1897 to June 1898
>> Search this source

Masters of Merchantmen Damaged by Stranding at Sea (1897-1898)

Abstracts of the returns made to the Board of Trade of shipping casualties which occurred on or near the coasts or in rivers and harbours of the United Kingdom; and to British vessels elsewhere; and to foreign vessels on or near the coasts or in the rivers and harbours of British possessions abroad (including the Great Lakes of North America). The tables are arranged into the broad divisions of Total Losses at Sea (founderings, strandings, collisions, other causes, and missing); Partial Losses at Sea (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes); Total Losses in Rivers, Lakes and Harbours (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes); and Partial Losses in Rivers, Lakes and Harbours (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes). In each case they state (so far as known) the date; name and age of the vessel; port of registry (if British); class in Lloyd's Register, Liverpool Book or Bureau Veritas; description of vessel, and whether iron (I.) or wood (W.); tons; number of crew; name of master (usually surname and initials); name and address of owner(s); port sailed from; port bound to; cargo and number of passengers (if any); number of lives lost; wind (direction and strength); and place of casualty. July 1897 to June 1898
>> Search this source

Owners of Merchantmen Damaged by Stranding at Sea (1897-1898)

Abstracts of the returns made to the Board of Trade of shipping casualties which occurred on or near the coasts or in rivers and harbours of the United Kingdom; and to British vessels elsewhere; and to foreign vessels on or near the coasts or in the rivers and harbours of British possessions abroad (including the Great Lakes of North America). The tables are arranged into the broad divisions of Total Losses at Sea (founderings, strandings, collisions, other causes, and missing); Partial Losses at Sea (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes); Total Losses in Rivers, Lakes and Harbours (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes); and Partial Losses in Rivers, Lakes and Harbours (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes). In each case they state (so far as known) the date; name and age of the vessel; port of registry (if British); class in Lloyd's Register, Liverpool Book or Bureau Veritas; description of vessel, and whether iron (I.) or wood (W.); tons; number of crew; name of master (usually surname and initials); name and address of owner(s); port sailed from; port bound to; cargo and number of passengers (if any); number of lives lost; wind (direction and strength); and place of casualty. July 1897 to June 1898
>> Search this source

Masters of Merchantmen Damaged by Collision: Rivers, Lakes and Harbours (1897-1898)

Abstracts of the returns made to the Board of Trade of shipping casualties which occurred on or near the coasts or in rivers and harbours of the United Kingdom; and to British vessels elsewhere; and to foreign vessels on or near the coasts or in the rivers and harbours of British possessions abroad (including the Great Lakes of North America). The tables are arranged into the broad divisions of Total Losses at Sea (founderings, strandings, collisions, other causes, and missing); Partial Losses at Sea (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes); Total Losses in Rivers, Lakes and Harbours (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes); and Partial Losses in Rivers, Lakes and Harbours (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes). In each case they state (so far as known) the date; name and age of the vessel; port of registry (if British); class in Lloyd's Register, Liverpool Book or Bureau Veritas; description of vessel, and whether iron (I.) or wood (W.); tons; number of crew; name of master (usually surname and initials); name and address of owner(s); port sailed from; port bound to; cargo and number of passengers (if any); number of lives lost; wind (direction and strength); and place of casualty. July 1897 to June 1898
>> Search this source

Owners of Merchantmen Damaged by Collision: Rivers, Lakes and Harbours (1897-1898)

Abstracts of the returns made to the Board of Trade of shipping casualties which occurred on or near the coasts or in rivers and harbours of the United Kingdom; and to British vessels elsewhere; and to foreign vessels on or near the coasts or in the rivers and harbours of British possessions abroad (including the Great Lakes of North America). The tables are arranged into the broad divisions of Total Losses at Sea (founderings, strandings, collisions, other causes, and missing); Partial Losses at Sea (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes); Total Losses in Rivers, Lakes and Harbours (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes); and Partial Losses in Rivers, Lakes and Harbours (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes). In each case they state (so far as known) the date; name and age of the vessel; port of registry (if British); class in Lloyd's Register, Liverpool Book or Bureau Veritas; description of vessel, and whether iron (I.) or wood (W.); tons; number of crew; name of master (usually surname and initials); name and address of owner(s); port sailed from; port bound to; cargo and number of passengers (if any); number of lives lost; wind (direction and strength); and place of casualty. July 1897 to June 1898
>> Search this source

Masters of Merchantmen Damaged by 'Other Causes': Rivers, Lakes and Harbours (1897-1898)

Abstracts of the returns made to the Board of Trade of shipping casualties which occurred on or near the coasts or in rivers and harbours of the United Kingdom; and to British vessels elsewhere; and to foreign vessels on or near the coasts or in the rivers and harbours of British possessions abroad (including the Great Lakes of North America). The tables are arranged into the broad divisions of Total Losses at Sea (founderings, strandings, collisions, other causes, and missing); Partial Losses at Sea (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes); Total Losses in Rivers, Lakes and Harbours (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes); and Partial Losses in Rivers, Lakes and Harbours (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes). In each case they state (so far as known) the date; name and age of the vessel; port of registry (if British); class in Lloyd's Register, Liverpool Book or Bureau Veritas; description of vessel, and whether iron (I.) or wood (W.); tons; number of crew; name of master (usually surname and initials); name and address of owner(s); port sailed from; port bound to; cargo and number of passengers (if any); number of lives lost; wind (direction and strength); and place of casualty. July 1897 to June 1898
>> Search this source

Owners of Merchantmen Damaged by 'Other Causes': Rivers, Lakes and Harbours (1897-1898)

Abstracts of the returns made to the Board of Trade of shipping casualties which occurred on or near the coasts or in rivers and harbours of the United Kingdom; and to British vessels elsewhere; and to foreign vessels on or near the coasts or in the rivers and harbours of British possessions abroad (including the Great Lakes of North America). The tables are arranged into the broad divisions of Total Losses at Sea (founderings, strandings, collisions, other causes, and missing); Partial Losses at Sea (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes); Total Losses in Rivers, Lakes and Harbours (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes); and Partial Losses in Rivers, Lakes and Harbours (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes). In each case they state (so far as known) the date; name and age of the vessel; port of registry (if British); class in Lloyd's Register, Liverpool Book or Bureau Veritas; description of vessel, and whether iron (I.) or wood (W.); tons; number of crew; name of master (usually surname and initials); name and address of owner(s); port sailed from; port bound to; cargo and number of passengers (if any); number of lives lost; wind (direction and strength); and place of casualty. July 1897 to June 1898
>> Search this source

Masters of Merchantmen Lost by Collision: Rivers, Lakes and Harbours (1897-1898)

Abstracts of the returns made to the Board of Trade of shipping casualties which occurred on or near the coasts or in rivers and harbours of the United Kingdom; and to British vessels elsewhere; and to foreign vessels on or near the coasts or in the rivers and harbours of British possessions abroad (including the Great Lakes of North America). The tables are arranged into the broad divisions of Total Losses at Sea (founderings, strandings, collisions, other causes, and missing); Partial Losses at Sea (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes); Total Losses in Rivers, Lakes and Harbours (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes); and Partial Losses in Rivers, Lakes and Harbours (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes). In each case they state (so far as known) the date; name and age of the vessel; port of registry (if British); class in Lloyd's Register, Liverpool Book or Bureau Veritas; description of vessel, and whether iron (I.) or wood (W.); tons; number of crew; name of master (usually surname and initials); name and address of owner(s); port sailed from; port bound to; cargo and number of passengers (if any); number of lives lost; wind (direction and strength); and place of casualty. July 1897 to June 1898
>> Search this source

Owners of Merchantmen Lost by Collision: Rivers, Lakes and Harbours (1897-1898)

Abstracts of the returns made to the Board of Trade of shipping casualties which occurred on or near the coasts or in rivers and harbours of the United Kingdom; and to British vessels elsewhere; and to foreign vessels on or near the coasts or in the rivers and harbours of British possessions abroad (including the Great Lakes of North America). The tables are arranged into the broad divisions of Total Losses at Sea (founderings, strandings, collisions, other causes, and missing); Partial Losses at Sea (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes); Total Losses in Rivers, Lakes and Harbours (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes); and Partial Losses in Rivers, Lakes and Harbours (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes). In each case they state (so far as known) the date; name and age of the vessel; port of registry (if British); class in Lloyd's Register, Liverpool Book or Bureau Veritas; description of vessel, and whether iron (I.) or wood (W.); tons; number of crew; name of master (usually surname and initials); name and address of owner(s); port sailed from; port bound to; cargo and number of passengers (if any); number of lives lost; wind (direction and strength); and place of casualty. July 1897 to June 1898
>> Search this source

Masters of Merchantmen Lost by Foundering: Rivers, Lakes and Harbours (1897-1898)

Abstracts of the returns made to the Board of Trade of shipping casualties which occurred on or near the coasts or in rivers and harbours of the United Kingdom; and to British vessels elsewhere; and to foreign vessels on or near the coasts or in the rivers and harbours of British possessions abroad (including the Great Lakes of North America). The tables are arranged into the broad divisions of Total Losses at Sea (founderings, strandings, collisions, other causes, and missing); Partial Losses at Sea (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes); Total Losses in Rivers, Lakes and Harbours (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes); and Partial Losses in Rivers, Lakes and Harbours (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes). In each case they state (so far as known) the date; name and age of the vessel; port of registry (if British); class in Lloyd's Register, Liverpool Book or Bureau Veritas; description of vessel, and whether iron (I.) or wood (W.); tons; number of crew; name of master (usually surname and initials); name and address of owner(s); port sailed from; port bound to; cargo and number of passengers (if any); number of lives lost; wind (direction and strength); and place of casualty. July 1897 to June 1898
>> Search this source

Owners of Merchantmen Lost by Foundering: Rivers, Lakes and Harbours (1897-1898)

Abstracts of the returns made to the Board of Trade of shipping casualties which occurred on or near the coasts or in rivers and harbours of the United Kingdom; and to British vessels elsewhere; and to foreign vessels on or near the coasts or in the rivers and harbours of British possessions abroad (including the Great Lakes of North America). The tables are arranged into the broad divisions of Total Losses at Sea (founderings, strandings, collisions, other causes, and missing); Partial Losses at Sea (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes); Total Losses in Rivers, Lakes and Harbours (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes); and Partial Losses in Rivers, Lakes and Harbours (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes). In each case they state (so far as known) the date; name and age of the vessel; port of registry (if British); class in Lloyd's Register, Liverpool Book or Bureau Veritas; description of vessel, and whether iron (I.) or wood (W.); tons; number of crew; name of master (usually surname and initials); name and address of owner(s); port sailed from; port bound to; cargo and number of passengers (if any); number of lives lost; wind (direction and strength); and place of casualty. July 1897 to June 1898
>> Search this source

Masters of Merchantmen Lost by 'Other Causes': Rivers, Lakes and Harbours (1897-1898)

Abstracts of the returns made to the Board of Trade of shipping casualties which occurred on or near the coasts or in rivers and harbours of the United Kingdom; and to British vessels elsewhere; and to foreign vessels on or near the coasts or in the rivers and harbours of British possessions abroad (including the Great Lakes of North America). The tables are arranged into the broad divisions of Total Losses at Sea (founderings, strandings, collisions, other causes, and missing); Partial Losses at Sea (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes); Total Losses in Rivers, Lakes and Harbours (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes); and Partial Losses in Rivers, Lakes and Harbours (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes). In each case they state (so far as known) the date; name and age of the vessel; port of registry (if British); class in Lloyd's Register, Liverpool Book or Bureau Veritas; description of vessel, and whether iron (I.) or wood (W.); tons; number of crew; name of master (usually surname and initials); name and address of owner(s); port sailed from; port bound to; cargo and number of passengers (if any); number of lives lost; wind (direction and strength); and place of casualty. July 1897 to June 1898
>> Search this source

Owners of Merchantmen Lost by 'Other Causes': Rivers, Lakes and Harbours (1897-1898)

Abstracts of the returns made to the Board of Trade of shipping casualties which occurred on or near the coasts or in rivers and harbours of the United Kingdom; and to British vessels elsewhere; and to foreign vessels on or near the coasts or in the rivers and harbours of British possessions abroad (including the Great Lakes of North America). The tables are arranged into the broad divisions of Total Losses at Sea (founderings, strandings, collisions, other causes, and missing); Partial Losses at Sea (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes); Total Losses in Rivers, Lakes and Harbours (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes); and Partial Losses in Rivers, Lakes and Harbours (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes). In each case they state (so far as known) the date; name and age of the vessel; port of registry (if British); class in Lloyd's Register, Liverpool Book or Bureau Veritas; description of vessel, and whether iron (I.) or wood (W.); tons; number of crew; name of master (usually surname and initials); name and address of owner(s); port sailed from; port bound to; cargo and number of passengers (if any); number of lives lost; wind (direction and strength); and place of casualty. July 1897 to June 1898
>> Search this source

Masters of Merchantmen Lost by Stranding: Rivers, Lakes and Harbours (1897-1898)

Abstracts of the returns made to the Board of Trade of shipping casualties which occurred on or near the coasts or in rivers and harbours of the United Kingdom; and to British vessels elsewhere; and to foreign vessels on or near the coasts or in the rivers and harbours of British possessions abroad (including the Great Lakes of North America). The tables are arranged into the broad divisions of Total Losses at Sea (founderings, strandings, collisions, other causes, and missing); Partial Losses at Sea (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes); Total Losses in Rivers, Lakes and Harbours (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes); and Partial Losses in Rivers, Lakes and Harbours (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes). In each case they state (so far as known) the date; name and age of the vessel; port of registry (if British); class in Lloyd's Register, Liverpool Book or Bureau Veritas; description of vessel, and whether iron (I.) or wood (W.); tons; number of crew; name of master (usually surname and initials); name and address of owner(s); port sailed from; port bound to; cargo and number of passengers (if any); number of lives lost; wind (direction and strength); and place of casualty. July 1897 to June 1898
>> Search this source

Owners of Merchantmen Lost by Stranding: Rivers, Lakes and Harbours (1897-1898)

Abstracts of the returns made to the Board of Trade of shipping casualties which occurred on or near the coasts or in rivers and harbours of the United Kingdom; and to British vessels elsewhere; and to foreign vessels on or near the coasts or in the rivers and harbours of British possessions abroad (including the Great Lakes of North America). The tables are arranged into the broad divisions of Total Losses at Sea (founderings, strandings, collisions, other causes, and missing); Partial Losses at Sea (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes); Total Losses in Rivers, Lakes and Harbours (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes); and Partial Losses in Rivers, Lakes and Harbours (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes). In each case they state (so far as known) the date; name and age of the vessel; port of registry (if British); class in Lloyd's Register, Liverpool Book or Bureau Veritas; description of vessel, and whether iron (I.) or wood (W.); tons; number of crew; name of master (usually surname and initials); name and address of owner(s); port sailed from; port bound to; cargo and number of passengers (if any); number of lives lost; wind (direction and strength); and place of casualty. July 1897 to June 1898
>> Search this source

Masters of Merchantmen Lost at Sea by Stranding (1897-1898)

Abstracts of the returns made to the Board of Trade of shipping casualties which occurred on or near the coasts or in rivers and harbours of the United Kingdom; and to British vessels elsewhere; and to foreign vessels on or near the coasts or in the rivers and harbours of British possessions abroad (including the Great Lakes of North America). The tables are arranged into the broad divisions of Total Losses at Sea (founderings, strandings, collisions, other causes, and missing); Partial Losses at Sea (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes); Total Losses in Rivers, Lakes and Harbours (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes); and Partial Losses in Rivers, Lakes and Harbours (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes). In each case they state (so far as known) the date; name and age of the vessel; port of registry (if British); class in Lloyd's Register, Liverpool Book or Bureau Veritas; description of vessel, and whether iron (I.) or wood (W.); tons; number of crew; name of master (usually surname and initials); name and address of owner(s); port sailed from; port bound to; cargo and number of passengers (if any); number of lives lost; wind (direction and strength); and place of casualty. July 1897 to June 1898
>> Search this source

Owners of Merchantmen Lost at Sea by Stranding (1897-1898)

Abstracts of the returns made to the Board of Trade of shipping casualties which occurred on or near the coasts or in rivers and harbours of the United Kingdom; and to British vessels elsewhere; and to foreign vessels on or near the coasts or in the rivers and harbours of British possessions abroad (including the Great Lakes of North America). The tables are arranged into the broad divisions of Total Losses at Sea (founderings, strandings, collisions, other causes, and missing); Partial Losses at Sea (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes); Total Losses in Rivers, Lakes and Harbours (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes); and Partial Losses in Rivers, Lakes and Harbours (founderings, strandings, collisions and other causes). In each case they state (so far as known) the date; name and age of the vessel; port of registry (if British); class in Lloyd's Register, Liverpool Book or Bureau Veritas; description of vessel, and whether iron (I.) or wood (W.); tons; number of crew; name of master (usually surname and initials); name and address of owner(s); port sailed from; port bound to; cargo and number of passengers (if any); number of lives lost; wind (direction and strength); and place of casualty. July 1897 to June 1898
>> Search this source

Steam Engine Makers in England (1898-1898)

The report of the Steam Engine Makers Society includes accounts of disbursements by all their branches (mostly in England), covering members' sickness, travel and funeral expenses.
>> Search this source

Officers of the Royal Navy and the Royal Marines (1898-1898)

The Navy List, published by Authority, corrected to 18 December 1898, has this list of the officers on the Active List of the Royal Navy and the Royal Marines. Each officer's surname, christian name, and any middle initial(s) is given; with rank, date of seniority in that rank, and 'where serving', the last being the number of his ship. The ranks are: A, Admiral; A E, Assistant Engineer; A F, Admiral of the Fleet; A P, Assistant Paymaster; Art E, Artificer Engineer; As Ck, Assistant Clerk; B, Boatswain; Bandr, Bandmaster Royal Marines; C, Captain; Car, Carpenter; Ch, Chaplain; Ch B, Chief Boatswain; Ch Cr, Chief Carpenter; Ch E, Chief Engineer; Ch Gr, Chief Gunner; Ch P; Paymaster-in-Chief; Ck, Clerk; Cr, Commander; D I H, Deputy Inspector-General of Hospitals and Fleets; E, Engineer; E Ins, Inspector of Machinery; F E, Fleet Engineer; F P, Fleet Paymaster; F S, Fleet Surgeon; Gr, Gunner; H Sch, Head Schoolmaster; I H, Inspector-General of Hospitals and Fleets; L, Lieutenant; Mid, Midshipman; N C, Naval Cadet; N I, Naval Instructor; P, Paymaster; R A, Rear Admiral; S, Surgeon; S C, Staff-Captain; S Cr, Staff Commander; S E, Staff Engineer; S L, Sub-Lieutenant; S P, Staff Paymaster; S S, Staff Surgeon; Schm, Schoolmaster Royal Marines; St Ma, Sergeant Major Royal Marines; V A, Vice Admiral; W O, Warrant Officer Royal Marines. The column 'Where serving' also may have these abbreviations: AdC, Aide-de-Camp to the Queen; AO, Clerk to Secretary to a Flag Officer; CG, Coast Guard; CGP, Coast Guard Pension; DY, Dock Yard; GH, Greenwich Hospital; GHP, Greenwich Hospital Pension; GSP, Good Service Pension; NH, Naval Hospital; NID, Naval Intelligence Department; NP, Naval Pension (late Out-Pension of Greenwich Hospital); PW, Pension for Wounds; Sec, Secretary to a Flag Officer; TP, Travers Pension; TS, In the Transport Service; VY, Victualling Yard.
>> Search this source

Officers of the Royal Navy flying the Blue Ensign (1898-1898)

The Navy List, published by Authority, corrected to 18 December 1898, has this list of officers authorised to fly the Blue Ensign of Her Majesty's Fleet on their British Merchant Ships. Each officer's surname, christian name, and/or initial(s) is given; with rank, the name and official number of his vessel, and the number date of last issue of his Blue Ensign warrant.
>> Search this source

Admiralty Civil Servants (1898-1898)

The Navy List, published by Authority, corrected to 18 December 1898, includes lists of officials in the Department of the Secretary of the Admiralty; Hydrographic Department; Department of the Director of Transports; Victualling Department; Department of the Controller of the Navy; Department of the Accountant-General of the Navy; Contract and Purchase Department, Whitehall; Department of the Medical Director-General of the Navy; Director of Works' Department; Department of the Civil Engineer-in-Chief; Greenwich Hospital Department; Office of the Admiral Superintendent of Naval Reserves; Royal Marine Office; Naval Intelligence Department; Royal Observatory at Greenwich; Nautical Almanac Office; and the Observatory at the Cape of Good Hope.
>> Search this source

Staff and students of Naval Colleges (1898-1898)

The Navy List, published by Authority, corrected to 18 December 1898, lists staff of the Royal Naval College Greenwich; the Council of Naval Education; the Engineer and Dockyard Schools; and the Royal Hospital School at Greenwich; as well as the names of the officers then studying at the Royal Naval College.
>> Search this source

Officers of the Colonial Navies (1898-1898)

The Navy List, published by Authority, corrected to 18 December 1898, has this list of the officers on the Active List of the Colonial Navies. Each officer's surname, christian name, and/or initial(s) is given; with rank, and date of seniority in that rank. The navies comprised the New South Wales Naval Defence Force; Naval Artillery Volunteers; South Australia Naval Defence Force; Queensland Naval Defence Force; Victorian Naval Defence Force; and the Naval Brigade.
>> Search this source

Officers of the Royal Navy Dockyards (1898-1898)

The Navy List, published by Authority, corrected to 18 December 1898, has this list of the officers of the Royal Navy dockyards at Chatham, Sheerness, Portsmouth, Devonport, Pembroke, Portland, Gibraltar, Malta, Halifax (Nova Scotia), Bermuda, Jamaica, Cape of Good Hope, Ascension, Trincomalee, Hong Kong, Esquimalt (Vancouver's Island), Sydney, Bombay and Calcutta.
>> Search this source

Law officers of the Admiralty (1898-1898)

The Navy List, published by Authority, corrected to 18 December 1898, has this list of the officers of the Admiralty jurisdiction of Great Britain and Ireland, principally judges, assessors and law agents.
>> Search this source

Medical officers of the Royal Navy and the Royal Marines (1898-1898)

The Navy List, published by Authority, corrected to 18 December 1898, has this list of the medical officers of the Royal Navy and Royal Marines, with dates of appointment. It covers the Royal Hospitals at Haslar, Plymouth, Yarmouth, Haulbowline, and Chatham; Royal Marine Infirmaries at Portsmouth and Walmer; Royal Marines Barrack Dispensary at Plymouth; Royal Naval Sick Quarters at Portland; Royal Naval Cadets' Sick Quarters at Dartmouth; Royal Naval Sick Quarters at Yokohama; and Medical Establishments at Malta, Gibraltar, Bermuda, Halifax (Nova Scotia), Jamaica, Ascension, Cape of Good Hope, Hong Kong, Esquimalt, Coquimbo, Trincomalee and Sydney.
>> Search this source

Pensioned officers of the Royal Navy and the Royal Marines (1898-1898)

The Navy List, published by Authority, corrected to 18 December 1898, has this list of the officers of the Royal Navy and the Royal Marines receiving pensions. Each officer's surname, christian name, and any middle initial(s) is given; with rank, and date of pension. There are recipients of Good Service Pensions; Pensions for Wounds &c. received in the service; officers late on the Out-Pension of the Greenwich Hospital; and officers in receipt of Travers Pensions.
>> Search this source

Retired officers of the Royal Navy and the Royal Marines (1898-1898)

The Navy List, published by Authority, corrected to 18 December 1898, has this list of the officers on the Retired List of the Royal Navy and the Royal Marines. Each officer's surname, christian name, and any middle initial(s) is given; with rank, and date of seniority in that rank. The ranks are: A, Admiral; A E, Assistant Engineer; A F, Admiral of the Fleet; A P, Assistant Paymaster; Art E, Artificer Engineer; As Ck, Assistant Clerk; B, Boatswain; Bandr, Bandmaster Royal Marines; C, Captain; Car, Carpenter; Ch, Chaplain; Ch B, Chief Boatswain; Ch Cr, Chief Carpenter; Ch E, Chief Engineer; Ch Gr, Chief Gunner; Ch P; Paymaster-in-Chief; Ck, Clerk; Cr, Commander; D I H, Deputy Inspector-General of Hospitals and Fleets; E, Engineer; E Ins, Inspector of Machinery; F E, Fleet Engineer; F P, Fleet Paymaster; F S, Fleet Surgeon; Gr, Gunner; H Sch, Head Schoolmaster; I H, Inspector-General of Hospitals and Fleets; L, Lieutenant; Mid, Midshipman; N C, Naval Cadet; N I, Naval Instructor; P, Paymaster; R A, Rear Admiral; S, Surgeon; S C, Staff-Captain; S Cr, Staff Commander; S E, Staff Engineer; S L, Sub-Lieutenant; S P, Staff Paymaster; S S, Staff Surgeon; Schm, Schoolmaster Royal Marines; St Ma, Sergeant Major Royal Marines; V A, Vice Admiral; W O, Warrant Officer Royal Marines.
>> Search this source

Officers of the Royal Indian Marine (1898-1898)

The Navy List, published by Authority, corrected to 18 December 1898, has this list of the officers on the Active List of the Royal Indian Marine. Each officer's surname, christian name, and any middle initial(s) is given; with rank, date of seniority in that rank, and 'where serving', the last being the number of his ship. The ranks are: A E, Assistant Engineer; Car, Carpenter; Ch E, Chief Engineer; Cr, Commander; E, Engineer; Gr, Gunner; L, Lieutenant; and S L, Sub-Lieutenant.
>> Search this source

Officers of the (disbanded) Royal Naval Artillery Volunteers (1898-1898)

The Navy List, published by Authority, corrected to 18 December 1898, has this list of the officers of the late Royal Naval Artillery Volunteers, which had been disbanded 1 April 1892. Each officer's full name is given; with date of commission, and name of the brigade in which he had served
>> Search this source

Officers of the Royal Naval Reserve (1898-1898)

The Navy List, published by Authority, corrected to 18 December 1898, has this list of the officers on the Active List of the Royal Naval Reserve and of Honorary Officers of the reserve. Each officer's surname, christian name, and any middle initial(s) is given; with rank, and date of seniority in that rank. The ranks are: A E, Assistant Engineer; E, Engineer; Hon A P, Honorary Assistant Paymaster; Hon Ch E, Honorary Chief Engineer; Hon Cr, Honorary Commander; Hon L, Honorary Lieutenant; Hon P, Honorary Paymaster; Hon S L, Honorary Sub-Lieutenant; L, Lieutenant; Mid, Midshipman; S L, Sub-Lieutenant; Sen E, Senior Engineer.
>> Search this source

Retired officers of the Royal Naval Reserve (1898-1898)

The Navy List, published by Authority, corrected to 18 December 1898, has this list of retired officers of the Royal Naval Reserve. Each officer's full name is given, with seniority.
>> Search this source

Officers of Royal Navy Sick Quarters (1898-1898)

The Navy List, published by Authority, corrected to 18 December 1898, lists surgeons and agents of the naval sick quarters throughout Britain and Ireland, as well as dispensers in the medical establishments at home and abroad, and sisters of the nursing staff.
>> Search this source

Officers of the Royal Navy Victualling Yards (1898-1898)

The Navy List, published by Authority, corrected to 18 December 1898, lists officers of the navy victualling yards at Deptford, Gosport, Plymouth, Haulbowline, Gibraltar, Malta, Halifax (Nova Scotia), Bermuda, Jamaica, Cape of Good Hope, Trincomalee, Hong Kong, Esquimalt (Vancouver's Island) and Sydney.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Wellington College in Berkshire (1898-1898)

Wellington College, near Wokingham, was originally founded for the education of sons of military officers. A register of boys entering the school from First Term 1859 to Michaelmas 1933 was compiled by F. G. Lawrence for the Old Wellingtonian Society. In each entry the boy's name is given in full, in bold, surname first; age at entry (usually 11 to 14); then, in brackets, the name of the dormitory or house to which he belonged, in italics, with the years of his stay; then his father's name (usually surname and initials, but not christian name) with military decorations where appropriate. School prefects and captains are noted as such; if the boy played cricket for the school, XI with the years; academic honours, scholarships, &c.; a brief biography; and date of death, or (where known) address in 1933. Year of marriage is given, and sometimes the wife's name and/or her father's name. Clearly, those boys who kept contact with the school and/or had distinguished military careers have detailed entries; others disappeared into oblivion on leaving.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Epsom College (1898-1898)

The Royal Medical Benevolent College at Epsom in Surrey was founded in 1853 for the orphans of the medical profession, and evolved to become a public school still largely catering for sons of doctors and surgeons. In 1955 this register of pupils, from 1855 to 1954, edited by T. R. Thomson, was published. The sample scan is from 1880. The entries are arranged alphabetically by surname under year of entrance to the school; surname first (in bold), christian names, and then (in most cases), the father's name, occupation and address: then the boy's year of birth (b.), year of leaving (l.), occupation, and, where known, year of death (d.). From 1880 onwards the house to which the boy belonged is also indicated: the boarding houses were Carr (C.), Forest (F.), Granville (G.), Holman (H.), Propert (P.) and Wilson (W.); and Crawfurd (Cr.), Hart Smith (H. S.) and Rosebery (R.) are the houses for day scholars. From 1895 to 1927 there was a junior school, called Lower School (L. S.), taking in boys from the age of 8, many passing seamlessly into the main school at age 12 to 14. This is the index to the year 1898, when the Reverend Thomas Northmore Hart-Smith was headmaster.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Marlborough College (1898-1898)

The public school at Marlborough in Wiltshire was founded in 1843. In 1952 this, 9th, edition of the college register was published, being a revision by L. Warwick James of the 8th edition (of 1936): but for the years before 1936 it does not merely repeat the 8th edition, because Warwick James was able to correct the 19th-century entries with information from newly-discovered letters and books from 1843 to 1853, and the school lists from 1844 onwards. The roll is arranged by year, and within each year by term of entrance, and then alphabetically by surname within each term. Each boy is assigned a number within the year: then his name is given, surname first, and, in brackets, his house. The houses within the college were called B1, B2, B3, C1, C2 and C3, and the Lower School (L Sch); the out college houses were Preshute, Priory, Cotton, Hermitage, Littlefield, Barton Hill, Summerfield and Upcot. Then there is given the boy's father's name (surname and initials) and address (at entrance), the boy's date of birth (b) and month of leaving (l). Where the boy represented the school at Rugby football (XV) or cricket (XI), in the rifle corps (VIII, or RC XI), that is indicated. There is a brief summary of achievements in later life, and, where known, and date of death or (in italics) address as in 1952.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Crewkerne School (1898-1898)

Crewkerne Grammar School in Somerset was founded in 1499; as part of the quatercentenary celebrations a History of Crewkerne School, by the Reverend R. Grosvenor Bartelot, was published in 1899; and this included this school register from 1828 to 1899. Until 1877 only foundationers (day boys part of whose fees was paid out of the school foundation) are listed; thereafter boarders as well as day scholars. Names are arranged by date of entrance; surname is given first, then christian name, age at entry, date of entering, and date of leaving.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Sherborne School (1898-1898)

The grammar school at Sherborne in Dorset, which doubtless existed from the creation of the diocese of Sherborne in 705, was refounded by king Edward VI in 1550. At the quatercentenary in 1950, a fourth edition of the Sherborne Register was published, listing boys entering the school during those four centuries. In truth, the materials for this register survive but fitfully before 1823; for some years, no names are known; sometimes all that is known is a surname. But from 1823 onwards the lists and the details get steadily more comprehensive. By the 20th century the boys are listed alphabetically by surname under term of entrance. Surname is given in bold, then christian names, name of father (surname and initials) and address; year of birth; house (a, School House; b, Abbey House; c, The Green; d, Harper House (formerly The Retreat); f, Abbeylands; g, Lyon House; h, Westcott House); whether represented the school at cricket (xi), football (xv), shooting (viii), &c.; year of leaving; summary of degrees, career &c.; and (in italics), address as of 1950. Names in the early lists marked with an asterisk are found inscribed on the oak panelling or on the stone walls of the former schoolroom. (F) in the lists indicates a foundationer, receiving free education: after 1827, when this privilege was restricted to boys from Sherborne and neighbourhood, nearly all foundationers were day-boys.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Loretto School (1898-1898)

The Reverend Dr Thomas Langhorne, who came to Musselburgh in Midlothian as an Episcopalian Church clergyman, established a small school for boarders and day scholars at Loretto House, so called because the grounds contained the ruins of the mediaeval chapel of St Mary of Loretto. To celebrate the centenary of the school in 1925, a second edition of the school register was published, edited by A. H. Buchanan-Dunlop. Relatively little was known of many of the earliest scholars, but from 1835 onwards the register generally gives full name, in capitals, surname first; date of birth; period of time at Loretto; a brief biography; date of death; whether brother of any other boy in the register; and a sequential number.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Gresham's School (1898-1898)

The Sir John Gresham Grammar School at Holt in Norfolk was founded by sir John, who bought the manor house there in 1546 to convert it into a school, and building work had started by 1555. To celebrate the quatercentenary in 1955, a history of the school written by the Reverend C. L. S. Linnell was published, together with an Alumni Greshamienses, a register of boys entering the school from 1562 to 1954, compiled by A. B. Douglas. The materials to hand for the register for the early years were slight; the first coherent lists of boys survive only from 1729, and then are fitful, with little detail, and largely missing from 1784 to 1803; however, from 1810 onwards the names of boys' parents are usually recorded. The register is arranged chronologically by year (and from 1900 by term - L, Lent; M, Michaelmas; S, Summer), and then alphabetically by surname (in capitals) and christian name(s). Where known, year of birth is then given (in brackets), names, addresses and occupations of parents. From 1900 onwards there are italic abbreviations for sporting achievements at school (h, hockey colours; VIII, shooting colours; S, first-class swimmer; XI, cricket colours; XV, football colours), and p for house prefect and P for school prefect; then (in italics) information about the boy's adult life, and his address (where living) at the time of publication. Finally, on the right hand side of the page, in italics, is given the year of his leaving the school. Most detail is absent before 1810; and, of course, for the boys still at school in 1955, or only recently left, there are no details of future career; nor are there the usual details about their parentage. From 1898 onwards day boys are noted with an italic D (N means Newquay dayboy); and from 1900 onwards the school houses are shown (B, Bengal Lodge; F, Farfield; H, School House or Howson's; K, Kenwyn; O, Old School House; W, Woodlands); and, for the junior school, c, Crossways; k, Kenwyn; o, Old School House).
>> Search this source

Boys entering Merchant Taylors' School in London (1898-1898)

Merchant Taylors' School was founded by members of the livery company of the merchant taylors of the city of London in 1561 as a grammar school. By the 19th century this was a major English public school. In 1875 the school removed from Suffolk Lane, in the City, to a new building in Charterhouse Square in Finsbury. In 1907 the Reverend William Baker, a former headmaster, published this school register for the period 1871 to 1900, which we have indexed by year of admission. Each entry gives the boy's name in full (surname, christian name(s)); date of birth; names of both parents (middle names as initials); occupation of father; career summary; and (in italics) address as of 1907.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Fettes College, Edinburgh (1898-1898)

Fettes College, Edinburgh, was opened in 1870 under the terms of a trust 'for maintenance, education, and outfit of young people whose parents have either died without leaving sufficient funds for that purpose, or who, from innocent misfortune during their own lives, are unable to give suitable education to their children'. In 1923 this edition of the Fettes College Register was published; in it the compilers sought to set out for each boy who had attended the college a brief synopsis of what was known about his time at the school, his subsequent career, and date and place of death, or address as of 1923. After each name there is a letter in brackets indicating the house to which the pupil belonged - (C.) Carrington House; (G.) Glencorse House; (K.) Kimmerghame House; (M.) Moredun House; (S.) Schoolhouse. An asterisk indicates that the boy was a foundationer, i. e. supported by the foundation; a dagger that he was a foundation scholar. VIA. indicates Upper Form; Mods. Modern School; Army Cl., Army Class; S. P., School Prefect; xx. First Rugby Football Twenty; xv. First Rugby Football Fifteen; xx. cap. Caps occasionally given to the five (or fewer) next to the First Fifteen after 1875; xi. First Cricket Eleven; viii. Gymnastic Eight; Trs. Prizes and Exhib., Trustees' Prizes and Exhibitions; Govs. Prizes and Exhib., Governors' Prizes and Exhibitions; Schol., scholarship; M., married. Month and year of birth is given in square brackets.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Brighton College (1898-1898)

This edition of the Brighton College Register was published in 1922. The plan of the publication was to list boys by year or, later, term of entry. Each name is assigned a sequential number, 5000 boys, in all, being recorded. Full name is given (surname first, in bold); year of birth; year of leaving; and then (wherever the compiler had such information) a short biography, ending with date of death, where known.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Clifton College (1898-1898)

Clifton College near Bristol was established in 1862. This edition of the Clifton College Annals and Register for the Old Cliftonian Society by F. Borwick was published in 1925. Boys are listed alphabetically by term of entry, with full names, surname first, in bold. Father's (or widowed mother's) name is given (surname and initials) in capitals, and address. Then there is the name of the house (N. T., North Town; S. H., School House; S. T., South Town), first and last forms, distinctions in school work and games, and month of leaving. Where known, the editor then gave a career summary with month of death; or, if still living, address as in 1925 (in italics).
>> Search this source

Boys entering Trinity College, Glenalmond (1898-1898)

Trinity College, Glenalmond, Perthshire, was originally founded as a college at which young men might be trained for the ministry of the Scottish Episcopal Church, and the sons of the laity might be educated and brought up in the faith and tradition of the Church. In 1876 the Theological College was transferred to Edinburgh, Glenalmond remaining as a boys' school. This second edition of the school register, edited by G. St Quintin, was published in 1955, incorporating the text of the first edition prepared by E. W. Neish. The scholars are listed by term of entering the school, and then alphabetically by surname; the details then given are full christian names, date of birth; name of father; any distinctions within the school; and then a career synopsis, with date and place of death where known.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Giggleswick School (1898-1898)

The school at Giggleswick in the West Riding of Yorkshire dates from at least 1507, but no register of the boys attending there has survived earlier than one started by the headmaster, the reverend George Style, in 1875. When the bursar, H. L. Mullins, prepared this, 'The Giggleswick School Register', printed in 1913, he was able to compile general details of some scholars from earlier years, but the concerted, reasonably complete, account starts in 1859. The details are arranged by term of entry, then alphabetically by surname and christian name. Typically each description gives full name; date of birth; name and address of father; date of leaving. Where known, Mullins then added a brief career synopsis, present address in 1913, or date of death. From 1869 onwards boarders were admitted to the school, and where it is known that a boy was a day scholar, the word (Town) is added after his name.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Haileybury College, Hertfordshire (1898-1898)

Haileybury College, near Hertford, was founded by the East India Company in 1806, and incorporated by Royal Charter in 1864. This register of pupils entering the school from 1862 to 1931 was edited by a master there, Laurence Arthur Speakman. The boys are listed by term of joining the school, and then alphabetically by name (in bold), surname first (in capitals). There is then usually a precise birthdate, and the name and address of his father; his period at the school, starting with abbreviations to indicate the house to which he belonged (B., Batten; B. F., Bartle Frere; C., Colvin; E., Edmonstone; Ha., Hailey; Hi., Highfield; L., Lawrence; Le B., Le Bas; M., Melvill; Th., Thomason; T., Trevelyan), and the first and last forms attended (e. g., IV., fourth form). Where a member of a school team there is then an indication (e. g., XI., cricket). For some pupils, with whom the school had lost touch, Speakman was only able to record the details of their time at Haileybury; but for most a brief career synopsis is then given, and current address (as in 1931) or date of death.
>> Search this source

Boys entering King William's College, Isle of Man (1898-1898)

King William's College at Castletown on the Isle of Man was established in 1830. By 1928 about 290 boys were being educated there, 'of whom three-fourths are boarders, and the remainders sons of natives or residents in the Island.' Boys entered the junior school about 9 or 10 years of age, the upper school about 13; boys over 13 were not admitted 'unless attainments and character are specially satisfactory'. There were 'several nominations for the sons of clergy and others'. Editions of the college register were published in 1905 and 1927. When this third edition was prepared, in 1956, it was felt unnecessary to repeat the whole of the register from 1830 onwards, a new starting point being chosen as September 1886, when the reverend Frank Bridgman Walters took office as principal. The items are arranged alphabetically within term of entry; surname is given first, in bold, and then full christian names; then, to the right, in bold, precise date of birth, school house, and month of leaving the school. The abbreviations for houses are: C, Colbourne; D, Dickson; H, Hunt; Ha, Hangoside; J, Junior House; R, Raglan; S, School House (formerly Principal's); T, town houses occupied by masters who took in boys prior to September 1889; Tr, Trafford's; W, Walters. Each entry then gives the boy's father's name (surname and initials) and address at that time; school honours (such as Prae., praepositor, XI, school cricket team); a career synopsis; and finally, in italics, to the right, year of death, or present address in 1956, if known.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Leeds Grammar School (1898-1898)

The admission books for Leeds Grammar School from 1820 to 1900 were edited by Edmund Wilson and published in 1906. The series of registers is almost complete for the period, there being in addition admission registers for the Lower (or Commercial) Department from 1856 to 1865, and lists of boys in the school in 1856, and in the Commercial Department in 1861. The entries are arranged by date or term of admission: a sequential number is given first, then surname, christian name, and, after a dash, father's christian name, occupation, and address; another dash, and then the age of the boy at admission, and often his year of leaving (with the abbreviation r. for 'removed' or 'left'). r.* means left without notice; (o) or S. or Stranger or Foreigner indicates a boy not on the foundation. The editor was unable to divine the meaning of the abbreviation (Q) or the asterisks prefixed to most entries in 1856 to 1860, but dutifully copies them into the text. In smaller type he then proceeds, where possible, to add some information about the boy's subsequent career.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Uppingham School (1898-1898)

The public school at Uppingham in Rutland was founded by Archdeacon Johnson in 1584. A roll of scholars from 1824 to 1905 was edited by J. P. Graham, and published in 1906. This was a revision and updating of an 1894 edition of the roll, the great bulk of the work having been done by Mrs Mullins. The roll is arranged by year, and within each year by term of entrance, and then alphabetically by surname within each term. Each boy's name is given, surname first, with an asterisk where known (in 1906) to have died. Then there is month and year of birth, father's name (most often just surname and initials) and address (at entrance). Where the boy represented the school at Rugby football (XV) or cricket (XI), that is indicated. After the month and year of leaving the school, there is a brief summary of achievements in later life, and, where known, address as in 1906. From 1875 onwards the house within the school is also noted, with these abbreviations: A., Mr Constable's House; B., Brooklands; C., West Bank; E., Mr J. Gale Thring's House; F., Fircroft; Fgh., Farleigh; H., Highfield; L., The Lodge; L. H., Lorne House; M., Meadhurst; N., The Hall; R., Redgate; R. H., Red House; S., School House; and W. D., West Deyne.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Harrow School (1898-1898)

This Second Volume of the Second Series of the Harrow School Register was edited by J. H. Stogdon and published in 1925. The boys are listed by term of entrance, and then alphabetically by surname and christian names (in bold). Next, in brackets and in italics, is the school house to which he belonged - or, H. B. indicating a day boy whose family lived in Harrow. Stogdon then gives the father's surname and initials, and address. In cases where the boy was prominent in sports at school, or won academic prizes, scholarships &c., that is given; then the year of leaving the school; a synopsis of his career; and, where known, his address as of 1925, in italics.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Manchester Grammar School (1898-1898)

This Biographical Register of Old Mancunians lists boys alphabetically by year of entering the school. A bare register of entrants existed from 1888 onwards but it was only since the Second World War that any kind of detailed record was kept of those who passed through the school. So, in every case in this printed register, full name is given, in bold, surname first (in capitals); date of birth, and years attending the school; but for the earlier years sometimes there is no more information - or, equally, after investigation among Old Mancunians and published sources, the editors may have been able to furnish a condensed biography. An asterisk indicates a holder of a Foundation Scholarship. In the later years a current address is also given, as of 1964 to 1965, when the book was prepared.
>> Search this source

Ackworth Old Scholars: Australia (1898-1898)

The Quaker school at Ackworth in Yorkshire commenced in 1779. At the General Meeting of 1882 the Ackworth Old Scholars' Association was established, and a full list of members was printed in their annual proceedings. This list, corrected to 1 October 1898, gives full names (including married women's maiden surnames) and addresses, arranged, for those living in England, by quarterly meeting, and then with separate lists for England, Scotland, and other countries. We have indexed these separately, and included maiden surnames.
>> Search this source

Ackworth Old Scholars: Bedfordshire Quarterly Meeting (1898-1898)

The Quaker school at Ackworth in Yorkshire commenced in 1779. At the General Meeting of 1882 the Ackworth Old Scholars' Association was established, and a full list of members was printed in their annual proceedings. This list, corrected to 1 October 1898, gives full names (including married women's maiden surnames) and addresses, arranged, for those living in England, by quarterly meeting, and then with separate lists for England, Scotland, and other countries. We have indexed these separately, and included maiden surnames.
>> Search this source

Ackworth Old Scholars: Berkshire & Oxfordshire Quarterly Meeting (1898-1898)

The Quaker school at Ackworth in Yorkshire commenced in 1779. At the General Meeting of 1882 the Ackworth Old Scholars' Association was established, and a full list of members was printed in their annual proceedings. This list, corrected to 1 October 1898, gives full names (including married women's maiden surnames) and addresses, arranged, for those living in England, by quarterly meeting, and then with separate lists for England, Scotland, and other countries. We have indexed these separately, and included maiden surnames.
>> Search this source

Ackworth Old Scholars: Bristol & Somerset Quarterly Meeting (1898-1898)

The Quaker school at Ackworth in Yorkshire commenced in 1779. At the General Meeting of 1882 the Ackworth Old Scholars' Association was established, and a full list of members was printed in their annual proceedings. This list, corrected to 1 October 1898, gives full names (including married women's maiden surnames) and addresses, arranged, for those living in England, by quarterly meeting, and then with separate lists for England, Scotland, and other countries. We have indexed these separately, and included maiden surnames.
>> Search this source

Ackworth Old Scholars: Canada (1898-1898)

The Quaker school at Ackworth in Yorkshire commenced in 1779. At the General Meeting of 1882 the Ackworth Old Scholars' Association was established, and a full list of members was printed in their annual proceedings. This list, corrected to 1 October 1898, gives full names (including married women's maiden surnames) and addresses, arranged, for those living in England, by quarterly meeting, and then with separate lists for England, Scotland, and other countries. We have indexed these separately, and included maiden surnames.
>> Search this source

Ackworth Old Scholars: Ceylon (1898-1898)

The Quaker school at Ackworth in Yorkshire commenced in 1779. At the General Meeting of 1882 the Ackworth Old Scholars' Association was established, and a full list of members was printed in their annual proceedings. This list, corrected to 1 October 1898, gives full names (including married women's maiden surnames) and addresses, arranged, for those living in England, by quarterly meeting, and then with separate lists for England, Scotland, and other countries. We have indexed these separately, and included maiden surnames.
>> Search this source

Ackworth Old Scholars: Cumberland Quarterly Meeting (1898-1898)

The Quaker school at Ackworth in Yorkshire commenced in 1779. At the General Meeting of 1882 the Ackworth Old Scholars' Association was established, and a full list of members was printed in their annual proceedings. This list, corrected to 1 October 1898, gives full names (including married women's maiden surnames) and addresses, arranged, for those living in England, by quarterly meeting, and then with separate lists for England, Scotland, and other countries. We have indexed these separately, and included maiden surnames.
>> Search this source

Ackworth Old Scholars: Derbyshire, Lincolnshire & Nottinghamshire Quarterly Meeting (1898-1898)

The Quaker school at Ackworth in Yorkshire commenced in 1779. At the General Meeting of 1882 the Ackworth Old Scholars' Association was established, and a full list of members was printed in their annual proceedings. This list, corrected to 1 October 1898, gives full names (including married women's maiden surnames) and addresses, arranged, for those living in England, by quarterly meeting, and then with separate lists for England, Scotland, and other countries. We have indexed these separately, and included maiden surnames.
>> Search this source

Ackworth Old Scholars: Devon & Cornwall Quarterly Meeting (1898-1898)

The Quaker school at Ackworth in Yorkshire commenced in 1779. At the General Meeting of 1882 the Ackworth Old Scholars' Association was established, and a full list of members was printed in their annual proceedings. This list, corrected to 1 October 1898, gives full names (including married women's maiden surnames) and addresses, arranged, for those living in England, by quarterly meeting, and then with separate lists for England, Scotland, and other countries. We have indexed these separately, and included maiden surnames.
>> Search this source

Ackworth Old Scholars: Durham Quarterly Meeting (1898-1898)

The Quaker school at Ackworth in Yorkshire commenced in 1779. At the General Meeting of 1882 the Ackworth Old Scholars' Association was established, and a full list of members was printed in their annual proceedings. This list, corrected to 1 October 1898, gives full names (including married women's maiden surnames) and addresses, arranged, for those living in England, by quarterly meeting, and then with separate lists for England, Scotland, and other countries. We have indexed these separately, and included maiden surnames.
>> Search this source

Ackworth Old Scholars: Essex & Suffolk Quarterly Meeting (1898-1898)

The Quaker school at Ackworth in Yorkshire commenced in 1779. At the General Meeting of 1882 the Ackworth Old Scholars' Association was established, and a full list of members was printed in their annual proceedings. This list, corrected to 1 October 1898, gives full names (including married women's maiden surnames) and addresses, arranged, for those living in England, by quarterly meeting, and then with separate lists for England, Scotland, and other countries. We have indexed these separately, and included maiden surnames.
>> Search this source

Ackworth Old Scholars: France (1898-1898)

The Quaker school at Ackworth in Yorkshire commenced in 1779. At the General Meeting of 1882 the Ackworth Old Scholars' Association was established, and a full list of members was printed in their annual proceedings. This list, corrected to 1 October 1898, gives full names (including married women's maiden surnames) and addresses, arranged, for those living in England, by quarterly meeting, and then with separate lists for England, Scotland, and other countries. We have indexed these separately, and included maiden surnames.
>> Search this source

Ackworth Old Scholars: Germany (1898-1898)

The Quaker school at Ackworth in Yorkshire commenced in 1779. At the General Meeting of 1882 the Ackworth Old Scholars' Association was established, and a full list of members was printed in their annual proceedings. This list, corrected to 1 October 1898, gives full names (including married women's maiden surnames) and addresses, arranged, for those living in England, by quarterly meeting, and then with separate lists for England, Scotland, and other countries. We have indexed these separately, and included maiden surnames.
>> Search this source

Ackworth Old Scholars: India (1898-1898)

The Quaker school at Ackworth in Yorkshire commenced in 1779. At the General Meeting of 1882 the Ackworth Old Scholars' Association was established, and a full list of members was printed in their annual proceedings. This list, corrected to 1 October 1898, gives full names (including married women's maiden surnames) and addresses, arranged, for those living in England, by quarterly meeting, and then with separate lists for England, Scotland, and other countries. We have indexed these separately, and included maiden surnames.
>> Search this source

Ackworth Old Scholars: Ireland Yearly Meeting (1898-1898)

The Quaker school at Ackworth in Yorkshire commenced in 1779. At the General Meeting of 1882 the Ackworth Old Scholars' Association was established, and a full list of members was printed in their annual proceedings. This list, corrected to 1 October 1898, gives full names (including married women's maiden surnames) and addresses, arranged, for those living in England, by quarterly meeting, and then with separate lists for England, Scotland, and other countries. We have indexed these separately, and included maiden surnames.
>> Search this source

Ackworth Old Scholars: Japan (1898-1898)

The Quaker school at Ackworth in Yorkshire commenced in 1779. At the General Meeting of 1882 the Ackworth Old Scholars' Association was established, and a full list of members was printed in their annual proceedings. This list, corrected to 1 October 1898, gives full names (including married women's maiden surnames) and addresses, arranged, for those living in England, by quarterly meeting, and then with separate lists for England, Scotland, and other countries. We have indexed these separately, and included maiden surnames.
>> Search this source

Ackworth Old Scholars: Kent Quarterly Meeting (1898-1898)

The Quaker school at Ackworth in Yorkshire commenced in 1779. At the General Meeting of 1882 the Ackworth Old Scholars' Association was established, and a full list of members was printed in their annual proceedings. This list, corrected to 1 October 1898, gives full names (including married women's maiden surnames) and addresses, arranged, for those living in England, by quarterly meeting, and then with separate lists for England, Scotland, and other countries. We have indexed these separately, and included maiden surnames.
>> Search this source

Ackworth Old Scholars: Lancashire & Cheshire Quarterly Meeting (1898-1898)

The Quaker school at Ackworth in Yorkshire commenced in 1779. At the General Meeting of 1882 the Ackworth Old Scholars' Association was established, and a full list of members was printed in their annual proceedings. This list, corrected to 1 October 1898, gives full names (including married women's maiden surnames) and addresses, arranged, for those living in England, by quarterly meeting, and then with separate lists for England, Scotland, and other countries. We have indexed these separately, and included maiden surnames.
>> Search this source

Ackworth Old Scholars: London & Middlesex Quarterly Meeting (1898-1898)

The Quaker school at Ackworth in Yorkshire commenced in 1779. At the General Meeting of 1882 the Ackworth Old Scholars' Association was established, and a full list of members was printed in their annual proceedings. This list, corrected to 1 October 1898, gives full names (including married women's maiden surnames) and addresses, arranged, for those living in England, by quarterly meeting, and then with separate lists for England, Scotland, and other countries. We have indexed these separately, and included maiden surnames.
>> Search this source

Ackworth Old Scholars: Madagascar (1898-1898)

The Quaker school at Ackworth in Yorkshire commenced in 1779. At the General Meeting of 1882 the Ackworth Old Scholars' Association was established, and a full list of members was printed in their annual proceedings. This list, corrected to 1 October 1898, gives full names (including married women's maiden surnames) and addresses, arranged, for those living in England, by quarterly meeting, and then with separate lists for England, Scotland, and other countries. We have indexed these separately, and included maiden surnames.
>> Search this source

Ackworth Old Scholars: Mexico (1898-1898)

The Quaker school at Ackworth in Yorkshire commenced in 1779. At the General Meeting of 1882 the Ackworth Old Scholars' Association was established, and a full list of members was printed in their annual proceedings. This list, corrected to 1 October 1898, gives full names (including married women's maiden surnames) and addresses, arranged, for those living in England, by quarterly meeting, and then with separate lists for England, Scotland, and other countries. We have indexed these separately, and included maiden surnames.
>> Search this source

Ackworth Old Scholars: Norfolk, Cambridgeshire & Huntingdonshire Quarterly Meeting (1898-1898)

The Quaker school at Ackworth in Yorkshire commenced in 1779. At the General Meeting of 1882 the Ackworth Old Scholars' Association was established, and a full list of members was printed in their annual proceedings. This list, corrected to 1 October 1898, gives full names (including married women's maiden surnames) and addresses, arranged, for those living in England, by quarterly meeting, and then with separate lists for England, Scotland, and other countries. We have indexed these separately, and included maiden surnames.
>> Search this source

Ackworth Old Scholars: New Zealand (1898-1898)

The Quaker school at Ackworth in Yorkshire commenced in 1779. At the General Meeting of 1882 the Ackworth Old Scholars' Association was established, and a full list of members was printed in their annual proceedings. This list, corrected to 1 October 1898, gives full names (including married women's maiden surnames) and addresses, arranged, for those living in England, by quarterly meeting, and then with separate lists for England, Scotland, and other countries. We have indexed these separately, and included maiden surnames.
>> Search this source

Ackworth Old Scholars: Persia (1898-1898)

The Quaker school at Ackworth in Yorkshire commenced in 1779. At the General Meeting of 1882 the Ackworth Old Scholars' Association was established, and a full list of members was printed in their annual proceedings. This list, corrected to 1 October 1898, gives full names (including married women's maiden surnames) and addresses, arranged, for those living in England, by quarterly meeting, and then with separate lists for England, Scotland, and other countries. We have indexed these separately, and included maiden surnames.
>> Search this source

Ackworth Old Scholars: Scotland General Meeting (1898-1898)

The Quaker school at Ackworth in Yorkshire commenced in 1779. At the General Meeting of 1882 the Ackworth Old Scholars' Association was established, and a full list of members was printed in their annual proceedings. This list, corrected to 1 October 1898, gives full names (including married women's maiden surnames) and addresses, arranged, for those living in England, by quarterly meeting, and then with separate lists for England, Scotland, and other countries. We have indexed these separately, and included maiden surnames.
>> Search this source

Ackworth Old Scholars: South Africa (1898-1898)

The Quaker school at Ackworth in Yorkshire commenced in 1779. At the General Meeting of 1882 the Ackworth Old Scholars' Association was established, and a full list of members was printed in their annual proceedings. This list, corrected to 1 October 1898, gives full names (including married women's maiden surnames) and addresses, arranged, for those living in England, by quarterly meeting, and then with separate lists for England, Scotland, and other countries. We have indexed these separately, and included maiden surnames.
>> Search this source

Ackworth Old Scholars: Spain (1898-1898)

The Quaker school at Ackworth in Yorkshire commenced in 1779. At the General Meeting of 1882 the Ackworth Old Scholars' Association was established, and a full list of members was printed in their annual proceedings. This list, corrected to 1 October 1898, gives full names (including married women's maiden surnames) and addresses, arranged, for those living in England, by quarterly meeting, and then with separate lists for England, Scotland, and other countries. We have indexed these separately, and included maiden surnames.
>> Search this source

Ackworth Old Scholars: Sussex, Surrey & Hampshire Quarterly Meeting (1898-1898)

The Quaker school at Ackworth in Yorkshire commenced in 1779. At the General Meeting of 1882 the Ackworth Old Scholars' Association was established, and a full list of members was printed in their annual proceedings. This list, corrected to 1 October 1898, gives full names (including married women's maiden surnames) and addresses, arranged, for those living in England, by quarterly meeting, and then with separate lists for England, Scotland, and other countries. We have indexed these separately, and included maiden surnames.
>> Search this source

Ackworth Old Scholars: Syria (1898-1898)

The Quaker school at Ackworth in Yorkshire commenced in 1779. At the General Meeting of 1882 the Ackworth Old Scholars' Association was established, and a full list of members was printed in their annual proceedings. This list, corrected to 1 October 1898, gives full names (including married women's maiden surnames) and addresses, arranged, for those living in England, by quarterly meeting, and then with separate lists for England, Scotland, and other countries. We have indexed these separately, and included maiden surnames.
>> Search this source

Ackworth Old Scholars: Tasmania (1898-1898)

The Quaker school at Ackworth in Yorkshire commenced in 1779. At the General Meeting of 1882 the Ackworth Old Scholars' Association was established, and a full list of members was printed in their annual proceedings. This list, corrected to 1 October 1898, gives full names (including married women's maiden surnames) and addresses, arranged, for those living in England, by quarterly meeting, and then with separate lists for England, Scotland, and other countries. We have indexed these separately, and included maiden surnames.
>> Search this source

Ackworth Old Scholars: United States of America (1898-1898)

The Quaker school at Ackworth in Yorkshire commenced in 1779. At the General Meeting of 1882 the Ackworth Old Scholars' Association was established, and a full list of members was printed in their annual proceedings. This list, corrected to 1 October 1898, gives full names (including married women's maiden surnames) and addresses, arranged, for those living in England, by quarterly meeting, and then with separate lists for England, Scotland, and other countries. We have indexed these separately, and included maiden surnames.
>> Search this source

Ackworth Old Scholars: Warwickshire, Leicestershire & Staffordshire Quarterly Meeting (1898-1898)

The Quaker school at Ackworth in Yorkshire commenced in 1779. At the General Meeting of 1882 the Ackworth Old Scholars' Association was established, and a full list of members was printed in their annual proceedings. This list, corrected to 1 October 1898, gives full names (including married women's maiden surnames) and addresses, arranged, for those living in England, by quarterly meeting, and then with separate lists for England, Scotland, and other countries. We have indexed these separately, and included maiden surnames.
>> Search this source

Ackworth Old Scholars: Western Quarterly Meeting (1898-1898)

The Quaker school at Ackworth in Yorkshire commenced in 1779. At the General Meeting of 1882 the Ackworth Old Scholars' Association was established, and a full list of members was printed in their annual proceedings. This list, corrected to 1 October 1898, gives full names (including married women's maiden surnames) and addresses, arranged, for those living in England, by quarterly meeting, and then with separate lists for England, Scotland, and other countries. We have indexed these separately, and included maiden surnames.
>> Search this source

Ackworth Old Scholars: Westmorland Quarterly Meeting (1898-1898)

The Quaker school at Ackworth in Yorkshire commenced in 1779. At the General Meeting of 1882 the Ackworth Old Scholars' Association was established, and a full list of members was printed in their annual proceedings. This list, corrected to 1 October 1898, gives full names (including married women's maiden surnames) and addresses, arranged, for those living in England, by quarterly meeting, and then with separate lists for England, Scotland, and other countries. We have indexed these separately, and included maiden surnames.
>> Search this source

Ackworth Old Scholars: West Indies (1898-1898)

The Quaker school at Ackworth in Yorkshire commenced in 1779. At the General Meeting of 1882 the Ackworth Old Scholars' Association was established, and a full list of members was printed in their annual proceedings. This list, corrected to 1 October 1898, gives full names (including married women's maiden surnames) and addresses, arranged, for those living in England, by quarterly meeting, and then with separate lists for England, Scotland, and other countries. We have indexed these separately, and included maiden surnames.
>> Search this source

Ackworth Old Scholars: Yorkshire Quarterly Meeting (1898-1898)

The Quaker school at Ackworth in Yorkshire commenced in 1779. At the General Meeting of 1882 the Ackworth Old Scholars' Association was established, and a full list of members was printed in their annual proceedings. This list, corrected to 1 October 1898, gives full names (including married women's maiden surnames) and addresses, arranged, for those living in England, by quarterly meeting, and then with separate lists for England, Scotland, and other countries. We have indexed these separately, and included maiden surnames.
>> Search this source

Ackworth Old Scholars: Zanzibar (1898-1898)

The Quaker school at Ackworth in Yorkshire commenced in 1779. At the General Meeting of 1882 the Ackworth Old Scholars' Association was established, and a full list of members was printed in their annual proceedings. This list, corrected to 1 October 1898, gives full names (including married women's maiden surnames) and addresses, arranged, for those living in England, by quarterly meeting, and then with separate lists for England, Scotland, and other countries. We have indexed these separately, and included maiden surnames.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Dover College (1898-1898)

The second edition of the Dover College Register, edited by William Stevens Lee, lists all boys entering the school from its opening in 1871 to the date of publication in 1899. The boys are listed alphabetically by term of entry, surname and full christian names. A double dagger after the name indicates a school prefect. Next comes the year or date of birth, then abbreviations indicating house - [D] day boy; [Sch.] School House; [Sp.] Sparke's House; [St.] Steedman's House; [W.] Walters' from 1881 to 1886, Williams' from 2nd term 1890 to 3rd term 1898; [L.] Littlewood's (the same house as Walters') fom 3rd term 1886 to 1st term 1890. From 3rd term of 1892 onwards the names were changed to [S.] School House; [P.] Priory House (was Sparke's); [M.] St Martin's (was Williams'). Moreover, in January 1893 the Junior School was established at West Mount, and from then onwards [J] indicates a period there. Next come distinctions gained in the school, exhibitions, &c., and athletic distinctions, such as XI for membership of the school cricket eleven, XV for the school football team, with years; then date of leaving; distinctions gained since leaving; and present address (where known) as of 1899. Despite this attempt at comprehensive coverage, the materials to hand for compiling the register were often lacking: at worst, in the early years, there are a handful of entries where only the surname is given. Equally, other entries are detailed and comprehensive.
>> Search this source

Wimbledon schoolgirls and schoolmistresses (1898-1899)

Wimbledon High School produced a yearly magazine, issued in December, starting in 1889. Each issue contained general school news, sporting and scholastic results, essays, reports from the school societies (circles and clubs) and news of old girls, with their marriages, births of their children (giving both maiden and married surnames), and deaths. The old girls were organized into what was called the Wimbledon High School Union (W. H. S. U.) and there is news of the Union's activities. This would normally have been the issue for 1898, but was delayed and was published in March 1899.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the Royal Army Medical Corps (1898-1901)

Each year the best soldiers of the corps were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Wellington College in Berkshire (1899-1899)

Wellington College, near Wokingham, was originally founded for the education of sons of military officers. A register of boys entering the school from First Term 1859 to Michaelmas 1933 was compiled by F. G. Lawrence for the Old Wellingtonian Society. In each entry the boy's name is given in full, in bold, surname first; age at entry (usually 11 to 14); then, in brackets, the name of the dormitory or house to which he belonged, in italics, with the years of his stay; then his father's name (usually surname and initials, but not christian name) with military decorations where appropriate. School prefects and captains are noted as such; if the boy played cricket for the school, XI with the years; academic honours, scholarships, &c.; a brief biography; and date of death, or (where known) address in 1933. Year of marriage is given, and sometimes the wife's name and/or her father's name. Clearly, those boys who kept contact with the school and/or had distinguished military careers have detailed entries; others disappeared into oblivion on leaving.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Epsom College (1899-1899)

The Royal Medical Benevolent College at Epsom in Surrey was founded in 1853 for the orphans of the medical profession, and evolved to become a public school still largely catering for sons of doctors and surgeons. In 1955 this register of pupils, from 1855 to 1954, edited by T. R. Thomson, was published. The sample scan is from 1880. The entries are arranged alphabetically by surname under year of entrance to the school; surname first (in bold), christian names, and then (in most cases), the father's name, occupation and address: then the boy's year of birth (b.), year of leaving (l.), occupation, and, where known, year of death (d.). From 1880 onwards the house to which the boy belonged is also indicated: the boarding houses were Carr (C.), Forest (F.), Granville (G.), Holman (H.), Propert (P.) and Wilson (W.); and Crawfurd (Cr.), Hart Smith (H. S.) and Rosebery (R.) are the houses for day scholars. From 1895 to 1927 there was a junior school, called Lower School (L. S.), taking in boys from the age of 8, many passing seamlessly into the main school at age 12 to 14. This is the index to the year 1899, when the Reverend Thomas Northmore Hart-Smith was headmaster.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Marlborough College (1899-1899)

The public school at Marlborough in Wiltshire was founded in 1843. In 1952 this, 9th, edition of the college register was published, being a revision by L. Warwick James of the 8th edition (of 1936): but for the years before 1936 it does not merely repeat the 8th edition, because Warwick James was able to correct the 19th-century entries with information from newly-discovered letters and books from 1843 to 1853, and the school lists from 1844 onwards. The roll is arranged by year, and within each year by term of entrance, and then alphabetically by surname within each term. Each boy is assigned a number within the year: then his name is given, surname first, and, in brackets, his house. The houses within the college were called B1, B2, B3, C1, C2 and C3, and the Lower School (L Sch); the out college houses were Preshute, Priory, Cotton, Hermitage, Littlefield, Barton Hill, Summerfield and Upcot. Then there is given the boy's father's name (surname and initials) and address (at entrance), the boy's date of birth (b) and month of leaving (l). Where the boy represented the school at Rugby football (XV) or cricket (XI), in the rifle corps (VIII, or RC XI), that is indicated. There is a brief summary of achievements in later life, and, where known, and date of death or (in italics) address as in 1952.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Crewkerne School (1899-1899)

Crewkerne Grammar School in Somerset was founded in 1499; as part of the quatercentenary celebrations a History of Crewkerne School, by the Reverend R. Grosvenor Bartelot, was published in 1899; and this included this school register from 1828 to 1899. Until 1877 only foundationers (day boys part of whose fees was paid out of the school foundation) are listed; thereafter boarders as well as day scholars. Names are arranged by date of entrance; surname is given first, then christian name, age at entry, date of entering, and date of leaving.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Sherborne School (1899-1899)

The grammar school at Sherborne in Dorset, which doubtless existed from the creation of the diocese of Sherborne in 705, was refounded by king Edward VI in 1550. At the quatercentenary in 1950, a fourth edition of the Sherborne Register was published, listing boys entering the school during those four centuries. In truth, the materials for this register survive but fitfully before 1823; for some years, no names are known; sometimes all that is known is a surname. But from 1823 onwards the lists and the details get steadily more comprehensive. By the 20th century the boys are listed alphabetically by surname under term of entrance. Surname is given in bold, then christian names, name of father (surname and initials) and address; year of birth; house (a, School House; b, Abbey House; c, The Green; d, Harper House (formerly The Retreat); f, Abbeylands; g, Lyon House; h, Westcott House); whether represented the school at cricket (xi), football (xv), shooting (viii), &c.; year of leaving; summary of degrees, career &c.; and (in italics), address as of 1950. Names in the early lists marked with an asterisk are found inscribed on the oak panelling or on the stone walls of the former schoolroom. (F) in the lists indicates a foundationer, receiving free education: after 1827, when this privilege was restricted to boys from Sherborne and neighbourhood, nearly all foundationers were day-boys.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Loretto School (1899-1899)

The Reverend Dr Thomas Langhorne, who came to Musselburgh in Midlothian as an Episcopalian Church clergyman, established a small school for boarders and day scholars at Loretto House, so called because the grounds contained the ruins of the mediaeval chapel of St Mary of Loretto. To celebrate the centenary of the school in 1925, a second edition of the school register was published, edited by A. H. Buchanan-Dunlop. Relatively little was known of many of the earliest scholars, but from 1835 onwards the register generally gives full name, in capitals, surname first; date of birth; period of time at Loretto; a brief biography; date of death; whether brother of any other boy in the register; and a sequential number.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Gresham's School (1899-1899)

The Sir John Gresham Grammar School at Holt in Norfolk was founded by sir John, who bought the manor house there in 1546 to convert it into a school, and building work had started by 1555. To celebrate the quatercentenary in 1955, a history of the school written by the Reverend C. L. S. Linnell was published, together with an Alumni Greshamienses, a register of boys entering the school from 1562 to 1954, compiled by A. B. Douglas. The materials to hand for the register for the early years were slight; the first coherent lists of boys survive only from 1729, and then are fitful, with little detail, and largely missing from 1784 to 1803; however, from 1810 onwards the names of boys' parents are usually recorded. The register is arranged chronologically by year (and from 1900 by term - L, Lent; M, Michaelmas; S, Summer), and then alphabetically by surname (in capitals) and christian name(s). Where known, year of birth is then given (in brackets), names, addresses and occupations of parents. From 1900 onwards there are italic abbreviations for sporting achievements at school (h, hockey colours; VIII, shooting colours; S, first-class swimmer; XI, cricket colours; XV, football colours), and p for house prefect and P for school prefect; then (in italics) information about the boy's adult life, and his address (where living) at the time of publication. Finally, on the right hand side of the page, in italics, is given the year of his leaving the school. Most detail is absent before 1810; and, of course, for the boys still at school in 1955, or only recently left, there are no details of future career; nor are there the usual details about their parentage. From 1898 onwards day boys are noted with an italic D (N means Newquay dayboy); and from 1900 onwards the school houses are shown (B, Bengal Lodge; F, Farfield; H, School House or Howson's; K, Kenwyn; O, Old School House; W, Woodlands); and, for the junior school, c, Crossways; k, Kenwyn; o, Old School House).
>> Search this source

Boys entering Merchant Taylors' School in London (1899-1899)

Merchant Taylors' School was founded by members of the livery company of the merchant taylors of the city of London in 1561 as a grammar school. By the 19th century this was a major English public school. In 1875 the school removed from Suffolk Lane, in the City, to a new building in Charterhouse Square in Finsbury. In 1907 the Reverend William Baker, a former headmaster, published this school register for the period 1871 to 1900, which we have indexed by year of admission. Each entry gives the boy's name in full (surname, christian name(s)); date of birth; names of both parents (middle names as initials); occupation of father; career summary; and (in italics) address as of 1907.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Fettes College, Edinburgh (1899-1899)

Fettes College, Edinburgh, was opened in 1870 under the terms of a trust 'for maintenance, education, and outfit of young people whose parents have either died without leaving sufficient funds for that purpose, or who, from innocent misfortune during their own lives, are unable to give suitable education to their children'. In 1923 this edition of the Fettes College Register was published; in it the compilers sought to set out for each boy who had attended the college a brief synopsis of what was known about his time at the school, his subsequent career, and date and place of death, or address as of 1923. After each name there is a letter in brackets indicating the house to which the pupil belonged - (C.) Carrington House; (G.) Glencorse House; (K.) Kimmerghame House; (M.) Moredun House; (S.) Schoolhouse. An asterisk indicates that the boy was a foundationer, i. e. supported by the foundation; a dagger that he was a foundation scholar. VIA. indicates Upper Form; Mods. Modern School; Army Cl., Army Class; S. P., School Prefect; xx. First Rugby Football Twenty; xv. First Rugby Football Fifteen; xx. cap. Caps occasionally given to the five (or fewer) next to the First Fifteen after 1875; xi. First Cricket Eleven; viii. Gymnastic Eight; Trs. Prizes and Exhib., Trustees' Prizes and Exhibitions; Govs. Prizes and Exhib., Governors' Prizes and Exhibitions; Schol., scholarship; M., married. Month and year of birth is given in square brackets.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Brighton College (1899-1899)

This edition of the Brighton College Register was published in 1922. The plan of the publication was to list boys by year or, later, term of entry. Each name is assigned a sequential number, 5000 boys, in all, being recorded. Full name is given (surname first, in bold); year of birth; year of leaving; and then (wherever the compiler had such information) a short biography, ending with date of death, where known.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Clifton College (1899-1899)

Clifton College near Bristol was established in 1862. This edition of the Clifton College Annals and Register for the Old Cliftonian Society by F. Borwick was published in 1925. Boys are listed alphabetically by term of entry, with full names, surname first, in bold. Father's (or widowed mother's) name is given (surname and initials) in capitals, and address. Then there is the name of the house (N. T., North Town; S. H., School House; S. T., South Town), first and last forms, distinctions in school work and games, and month of leaving. Where known, the editor then gave a career summary with month of death; or, if still living, address as in 1925 (in italics).
>> Search this source

Boys entering Trinity College, Glenalmond (1899-1899)

Trinity College, Glenalmond, Perthshire, was originally founded as a college at which young men might be trained for the ministry of the Scottish Episcopal Church, and the sons of the laity might be educated and brought up in the faith and tradition of the Church. In 1876 the Theological College was transferred to Edinburgh, Glenalmond remaining as a boys' school. This second edition of the school register, edited by G. St Quintin, was published in 1955, incorporating the text of the first edition prepared by E. W. Neish. The scholars are listed by term of entering the school, and then alphabetically by surname; the details then given are full christian names, date of birth; name of father; any distinctions within the school; and then a career synopsis, with date and place of death where known.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Giggleswick School (1899-1899)

The school at Giggleswick in the West Riding of Yorkshire dates from at least 1507, but no register of the boys attending there has survived earlier than one started by the headmaster, the reverend George Style, in 1875. When the bursar, H. L. Mullins, prepared this, 'The Giggleswick School Register', printed in 1913, he was able to compile general details of some scholars from earlier years, but the concerted, reasonably complete, account starts in 1859. The details are arranged by term of entry, then alphabetically by surname and christian name. Typically each description gives full name; date of birth; name and address of father; date of leaving. Where known, Mullins then added a brief career synopsis, present address in 1913, or date of death. From 1869 onwards boarders were admitted to the school, and where it is known that a boy was a day scholar, the word (Town) is added after his name.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Haileybury College, Hertfordshire (1899-1899)

Haileybury College, near Hertford, was founded by the East India Company in 1806, and incorporated by Royal Charter in 1864. This register of pupils entering the school from 1862 to 1931 was edited by a master there, Laurence Arthur Speakman. The boys are listed by term of joining the school, and then alphabetically by name (in bold), surname first (in capitals). There is then usually a precise birthdate, and the name and address of his father; his period at the school, starting with abbreviations to indicate the house to which he belonged (B., Batten; B. F., Bartle Frere; C., Colvin; E., Edmonstone; Ha., Hailey; Hi., Highfield; L., Lawrence; Le B., Le Bas; M., Melvill; Th., Thomason; T., Trevelyan), and the first and last forms attended (e. g., IV., fourth form). Where a member of a school team there is then an indication (e. g., XI., cricket). For some pupils, with whom the school had lost touch, Speakman was only able to record the details of their time at Haileybury; but for most a brief career synopsis is then given, and current address (as in 1931) or date of death.
>> Search this source

Boys entering King William's College, Isle of Man (1899-1899)

King William's College at Castletown on the Isle of Man was established in 1830. By 1928 about 290 boys were being educated there, 'of whom three-fourths are boarders, and the remainders sons of natives or residents in the Island.' Boys entered the junior school about 9 or 10 years of age, the upper school about 13; boys over 13 were not admitted 'unless attainments and character are specially satisfactory'. There were 'several nominations for the sons of clergy and others'. Editions of the college register were published in 1905 and 1927. When this third edition was prepared, in 1956, it was felt unnecessary to repeat the whole of the register from 1830 onwards, a new starting point being chosen as September 1886, when the reverend Frank Bridgman Walters took office as principal. The items are arranged alphabetically within term of entry; surname is given first, in bold, and then full christian names; then, to the right, in bold, precise date of birth, school house, and month of leaving the school. The abbreviations for houses are: C, Colbourne; D, Dickson; H, Hunt; Ha, Hangoside; J, Junior House; R, Raglan; S, School House (formerly Principal's); T, town houses occupied by masters who took in boys prior to September 1889; Tr, Trafford's; W, Walters. Each entry then gives the boy's father's name (surname and initials) and address at that time; school honours (such as Prae., praepositor, XI, school cricket team); a career synopsis; and finally, in italics, to the right, year of death, or present address in 1956, if known.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Leeds Grammar School (1899-1899)

The admission books for Leeds Grammar School from 1820 to 1900 were edited by Edmund Wilson and published in 1906. The series of registers is almost complete for the period, there being in addition admission registers for the Lower (or Commercial) Department from 1856 to 1865, and lists of boys in the school in 1856, and in the Commercial Department in 1861. The entries are arranged by date or term of admission: a sequential number is given first, then surname, christian name, and, after a dash, father's christian name, occupation, and address; another dash, and then the age of the boy at admission, and often his year of leaving (with the abbreviation r. for 'removed' or 'left'). r.* means left without notice; (o) or S. or Stranger or Foreigner indicates a boy not on the foundation. The editor was unable to divine the meaning of the abbreviation (Q) or the asterisks prefixed to most entries in 1856 to 1860, but dutifully copies them into the text. In smaller type he then proceeds, where possible, to add some information about the boy's subsequent career.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Uppingham School (1899-1899)

The public school at Uppingham in Rutland was founded by Archdeacon Johnson in 1584. A roll of scholars from 1824 to 1905 was edited by J. P. Graham, and published in 1906. This was a revision and updating of an 1894 edition of the roll, the great bulk of the work having been done by Mrs Mullins. The roll is arranged by year, and within each year by term of entrance, and then alphabetically by surname within each term. Each boy's name is given, surname first, with an asterisk where known (in 1906) to have died. Then there is month and year of birth, father's name (most often just surname and initials) and address (at entrance). Where the boy represented the school at Rugby football (XV) or cricket (XI), that is indicated. After the month and year of leaving the school, there is a brief summary of achievements in later life, and, where known, address as in 1906. From 1875 onwards the house within the school is also noted, with these abbreviations: A., Mr Constable's House; B., Brooklands; C., West Bank; E., Mr J. Gale Thring's House; F., Fircroft; Fgh., Farleigh; H., Highfield; L., The Lodge; L. H., Lorne House; M., Meadhurst; N., The Hall; R., Redgate; R. H., Red House; S., School House; and W. D., West Deyne.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Harrow School (1899-1899)

This Second Volume of the Second Series of the Harrow School Register was edited by J. H. Stogdon and published in 1925. The boys are listed by term of entrance, and then alphabetically by surname and christian names (in bold). Next, in brackets and in italics, is the school house to which he belonged - or, H. B. indicating a day boy whose family lived in Harrow. Stogdon then gives the father's surname and initials, and address. In cases where the boy was prominent in sports at school, or won academic prizes, scholarships &c., that is given; then the year of leaving the school; a synopsis of his career; and, where known, his address as of 1925, in italics.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Manchester Grammar School (1899-1899)

This Biographical Register of Old Mancunians lists boys alphabetically by year of entering the school. A bare register of entrants existed from 1888 onwards but it was only since the Second World War that any kind of detailed record was kept of those who passed through the school. So, in every case in this printed register, full name is given, in bold, surname first (in capitals); date of birth, and years attending the school; but for the earlier years sometimes there is no more information - or, equally, after investigation among Old Mancunians and published sources, the editors may have been able to furnish a condensed biography. An asterisk indicates a holder of a Foundation Scholarship. In the later years a current address is also given, as of 1964 to 1965, when the book was prepared.
>> Search this source

Boys entering Dover College (1899-1899)

The second edition of the Dover College Register, edited by William Stevens Lee, lists all boys entering the school from its opening in 1871 to the date of publication in 1899. The boys are listed alphabetically by term of entry, surname and full christian names. A double dagger after the name indicates a school prefect. Next comes the year or date of birth, then abbreviations indicating house - [D] day boy; [Sch.] School House; [Sp.] Sparke's House; [St.] Steedman's House; [W.] Walters' from 1881 to 1886, Williams' from 2nd term 1890 to 3rd term 1898; [L.] Littlewood's (the same house as Walters') fom 3rd term 1886 to 1st term 1890. From 3rd term of 1892 onwards the names were changed to [S.] School House; [P.] Priory House (was Sparke's); [M.] St Martin's (was Williams'). Moreover, in January 1893 the Junior School was established at West Mount, and from then onwards [J] indicates a period there. Next come distinctions gained in the school, exhibitions, &c., and athletic distinctions, such as XI for membership of the school cricket eleven, XV for the school football team, with years; then date of leaving; distinctions gained since leaving; and present address (where known) as of 1899. Despite this attempt at comprehensive coverage, the materials to hand for compiling the register were often lacking: at worst, in the early years, there are a handful of entries where only the surname is given. Equally, other entries are detailed and comprehensive.
>> Search this source

Naturalizations (1899-1899)

The Home Office issued monthly lists of aliens to whom Certificates of Naturalization or Readmission to British Nationality had been granted by the Secretary of State under the provisions of 33 Vic. cap. 14 and been registered in the Home Office pursuant to the act during each previous month. These notices, from January to December 1899, refer to naturalizations from December 1898 to November 1899.
>> Search this source

Outstanding soldiers of the Royal Malta Artillery (1899-1901)

Each year the best soldiers were chosen for long service and good conduct medals. This register gives rank, name, regimental number, and date of recommendation. (The sample scan is from the East Surrey regiment). The register is essentially a register of recommendations, annotated with details of the issue of the medals. Where no gratuity accompanied the medal, the entry is marked 'W. G.' (without gratuity); where, for one reason or another, the medal was not issued, the entry is marked 'N. S.' (not sanctioned) and struck through. These were Maltese local forces.
>> Search this source

British artillerymen fighting in South Africa (1899-1902)

The Queen Victoria's South Africa Medal was awarded (after her death, in the event) to all who had served honourably in the various campaigns in the Boer War. Returns were made from each unit, and consolidated into nominal roll, of which this is the one for the Royal Artillery. Confusingly, the ledgers used had originally been printed for a register of men transferred (or re-transferred after mobilization) to 1st Class Army Reserve. All the original column headings were therefore struck through, and the roll was prepared with this information: Date of Issue; Regimental Number; Rank; Name; Unit; Medal (a 1 indicating that a medal was awarded); [number of] Clasps; the reference to the source in the original returns, usually starting with AG for papers in the hands of the Adjutant-General, and 68/Art/ for the Royal Artillery records. The final column, normally left blank, was occasionally used for explanatory remarks.
>> Search this source