0
Search between and
BasketGBP GBP
0 items£0.00
Click here to change currency

Puncher Surname Ancestry Results

Our indexes 1000-1999 include entries for the spelling 'puncher'. In the period you have requested, we have the following 26 records (displaying 1 to 10): 

Open Access
Buying all 26 results of this search individually would cost £124.00. But you can have free access to all 26 records for a year, to view, to save and print, for £100. Save £24.00. More...

These sample scans are from the original record. You will get scans of the full pages or articles where the surname you searched for has been found.

Your web browser may prevent the sample windows from opening; in this case please change your browser settings to allow pop-up windows from this site.

Inhabitants of Cambridge (1504-1635)
Cambridge comprised fourteen ancient parishes, plus the university (which was extra-parochial), in the diocese of Ely. The church of St Mary the Great (as opposed to St Mary the Less) in the Market Place (juxta forum) has churchwardens' accounts surviving from 1504 onwards. Those from 1504 to 1635 were transcribed by J. E. Foster for the Cambridge Antiquarian Society and published in 1905. The two churchwardens were chosen annually: the previous year's churchwardens each chose another parishioner: those two then each chose three other parishioners: the resulting eight then chose the new year's churchwardens, the wardens of the Light of the Rood, and the wardens of the Mass of Jesus. Auditors were also chosen, usually out of the eight, to examine all the wardens' accounts at the end of the year. The churchwardens' accounts are largely concerned with the costs of repair of the church and its furnishings, and include the names of tradesmen and workmen. Each Easter a rate called Easter money was raised was raised from all householders in the parish, and additional rates are occasionally levied for unusual expenses, such as steeple reconstruction. These 'Easter book' lists give a complete list of householders for the parish, excepting the poor. The church's income also included the rents from some houses in the parish, and the names of the tenants appear. The offices of the Light of the Rood and the Mass of Jesus were abolished during the Reformation. The accounts of the Light of the Rood, i. e., for candles burnt before the crucifix, often include a list of sums received for funerary diriges (dirges) for the year, from which the year of death of the more prosperous parishioners can be traced in this early period.

PUNCHER. Cost: £4.00. Add to basket

Sample scan, click to enlarge
Inhabitants of Cambridge
 (1504-1635)
Landowners in Jamaica (1670)
The State Papers Colonial Series, America and West Indies, 1669 to 1674, preserved in Her Majesty's Public Record Office, were edited by W. Noel Sainsbury, Assistant Keeper of the Public Records, and published under the direction of the Master of the Rolls and with the sanction of Her Majesty's Secretary of State for the Colonial Department in 1889. Over 200,000 acres of land in Jamaica had been granted out to a total of 717 families: the Governor, sir Thomas Modyford, transmitted this survey 'by the extraordinary diligence of his Majesty's Receiver-General', listing patentees by parish, giving full name and acreage, to Secretary of State sir Henry Bennet, the Earl of Arlington, 23 September 1670. The population of these rural areas was calculated at 11,898; there being, in addition, about 3,300 persons in the towns of Port Royal and St Jago.

PUNCHER. Cost: £4.00. Add to basket

Sample scan, click to enlarge
Landowners in Jamaica 
 (1670)
House of Lords Proceedings (1690-1691)
Private bills dealing with divorce, disputed and entailed estates: petitions, reports and commissions: naturalisation proceedings.

PUNCHER. Cost: £4.00. Add to basket

Sample scan, click to enlarge
House of Lords Proceedings
 (1690-1691)
National ArchivesApprentices registered in Woodbridge (1770)
Apprenticeship indentures and clerks' articles were subject to a 6d or 12d per pound stamp duty: the registers of the payments usually give the master's trade, address, and occupation, and the apprentice's name, as well as details of the date and length of the apprenticeship. There are central registers for collections of the stamp duty in London, as well as returns from collectors in the provinces. These collectors generally received duty just from their own county, but sometimes from further afield. The indentures themselves can date from a year or two earlier than this return. (The sample entry shown on this scan is taken from a Durham return. Each entry has two scans, the other being the facing page with the details of the indenture, length of service, and payment of duty.) IR 1/57

PUNCHER. Cost: £8.00. Add to basket

Sample scan, click to enlarge
Apprentices registered in Woodbridge
 (1770)
Masters of Merchantmen (1822)
The Society for the Registry of Shipping was instituted in 1760, and published an annual register and supplement. The annual register consisted of an alphabetical list of ships surveyed for insurance in Britain and Ireland, together with an alphabetical supplement. The society maintained a Registry Office at which alterations and additions were notified, and members delivering their registers when called for had them updated and returned on the following or the ensuing day. Each ship was given a number within each letter of the alphabet: ships' names were not unique, so within each name a ship was identified by the name of the captain or master at the time of the last survey. Then abbreviations indicate the type of vessel (Bg, brig; Bk, barque; Cr, cutter; Dr, dogger; G, galliott; H, hoy; K, ketch; S, ship; Sk, smack; Sp, sloop; Sr, schooner; St, schoot; Sw, snow), and whether sheathed (s) and/or doubled (d) with copper (C) and iron bolts (I B) or over boards (W & C), patent felt (P F), copper fastened (c f), copper bolted (c b), or copper repaired (C rp) sometimes with a date, such as (18)18. The third column, reserved for masters' names, is not particularly wide; with short surnames, an initial will be given; but longer surnames omit the initials, and even longer surnames are abbreviated. It will be borne in mind that these are the names of the masters not (necessarily) in 1822, but at the time of the last survey. Often new masters had been appointed by the time of re-survey, and their names are added in slightly smaller type under the original master's names in the third column. In the fourth column is the tonnage: where there is a blank under the number this indicates that the ship had two decks; more often the letters S D (B) for single deck (with beams); D W for deep waist; S D W single deck with deep waist; B D W single deck with beams and deep waist. Underneath the entry may run references to recent repairs: Cl. clincher built; Drp. damages repaired; grp. good repair; len. lengthened; lrp. large repair; N. (new) B. bottom, D. deck, Kl. keel, Sds. sides or UW. upper-works; rb. rebuilt; rsd. raised; Srprs. some repairs; or trp. thorough repair. In italics, the timber of the ship is described - B. B., black birch; C., cedar; H., hazel; Hk., hackmetack; J., juniper; L. O., live oak; M., mahogany; P., pine; P. P., pitch pine; S., spruce; W. H., witch hazel; W. O., white oak. The fifth column gives the place that the ship was built. For foreign ships this may be as vague as 'Dutch' or 'French'; but nothing in this record specifically indicates the nationality of ship, master or owners, except that an A. under the owner's name indicates that the vessel was American property. The sixth column gives the year of the ship's age; a few were still sailing after 30 or 40 years. The seventh column gives the owner's name, abbreviated in the same way as the master's name. Where the master was the owner, the word Capt. will appear. With vessels owned abroad, the name in this column is sometimes that of the port of origin, not the surname of the owner. Where there has been a change of owner by the time of re-survey, the new name is put underneath in smaller type. The printer sought to avoid confusion by aligning names of ports to the left and surnames to the right, but that leaves longer names doubtful. The eighth column gives the feet of the draught of water when loaded. The ninth column shows the destined voyage for which the survey took place, with the port of survey abbreviated (Be., Belfast; Br., Bristol; Co., Cork; Cs, Cowes; Da., Dartmouth; Du., Dublin; Eh, Exmouth; Ex., Exeter; Fa., Falmouth; Gr., Greenock; Hl, Hull; Hn, Harrington; La., Lancaster; Lh, Leith; Li., Liverpool; Lo., London; Ly., Lynn; Mt., Maryport; Po., Poole; Ph, Portsmouth; Pl., Plymouth; Sc., Star-Cross; Tn., Teignmouth; Tp., Topsham; Wa., Waterford; Wn, Whitehaven; Wo., Workington; Ya., Yarmouth), and the letter C where the vessel was a constant trader between the two ports. The tenth column gives the classification of the vessel (A, first; E, second) and its stores (1, first; 2, second) and the year of survey, e. g. 09 for 1809, or, if surveyed during 1821, the month, e. g. 3 for March. Where the vessel has been re-surveyed, the classification letter and number will be repeated or revised in the final column. The sample scan is from the main list. This is the index to masters in the main list and the supplement.

PUNCHER. Cost: £6.00. Add to basket

Sample scan, click to enlarge
Masters of Merchantmen
 (1822)
Electors of Hempnall (1840)
The register of electors entitled to vote in any parliamentary election for East Norfolk between 1 November 1840 and 1 November 1841 lists 8,556 freeholders arranged by hundred and within hundred by parish or township &c. In the first column, after number within the register, the elector's name is given (surname first); the second column gives place of abode; the third column the nature of qualification (such as 'owner and occupier'); and the fourth column the address of the qualifying property, in some cases with the name of the tenant or occupier.

PUNCHER. Cost: £4.00. Add to basket

Sample scan, click to enlarge
Electors of Hempnall
 (1840)
Electors of Loddon (1840)
The register of electors entitled to vote in any parliamentary election for East Norfolk between 1 November 1840 and 1 November 1841 lists 8,556 freeholders arranged by hundred and within hundred by parish or township &c. In the first column, after number within the register, the elector's name is given (surname first); the second column gives place of abode; the third column the nature of qualification (such as 'owner and occupier'); and the fourth column the address of the qualifying property, in some cases with the name of the tenant or occupier.

PUNCHER. Cost: £4.00. Add to basket

Sample scan, click to enlarge
Electors of Loddon
 (1840)
Electors of Sporle with Palgrave (1840)
The register of electors entitled to vote in any parliamentary election for West Norfolk between 1 November 1840 and 1 November 1841 lists 7,620 freeholders arranged by hundred and within hundred by parish or township &c. In the first column, after number within the register, the elector's name is given (surname first); the second column gives place of abode; the third column the nature of qualification (such as 'owner and occupier'); and the fourth column the address of the qualifying property, in some cases with the name of the tenant or occupier.

PUNCHER. Cost: £4.00. Add to basket

Sample scan, click to enlarge
Electors of Sporle with Palgrave
 (1840)
Norwich Licensed Victuallers (1842)
The Norwich Guide and Directory 'being an Historical and Topographical Description of the City and its Hamlets; with an Account of the Public Charities, and Correct Lists of the Various Professions, Trades, Public Institutions, Churches, Chapels, Municipal and other Offices; also the Names and Residences of the Nobility, Clergy, and Gentry; together with the Hours of the Arrival and Departure of the Mail and Post Coaches, Vans, Carriers, Steam and Sailing Vessels, and all Conveyances to London and the various Parts of the County of Norfolk', by G. K. Blyth, was published in 1842, and includes detailed lists of local institutions, trades and professions.

PUNCHER. Cost: £6.00. Add to basket

Sample scan, click to enlarge
Norwich Licensed Victuallers
 (1842)
Norwich Residents, Officers and Officials (1842)
The Norwich Guide and Directory 'being an Historical and Topographical Description of the City and its Hamlets; with an Account of the Public Charities, and Correct Lists of the Various Professions, Trades, Public Institutions, Churches, Chapels, Municipal and other Offices; also the Names and Residences of the Nobility, Clergy, and Gentry; together with the Hours of the Arrival and Departure of the Mail and Post Coaches, Vans, Carriers, Steam and Sailing Vessels, and all Conveyances to London and the various Parts of the County of Norfolk', by G. K. Blyth, was published in 1842, and includes detailed lists of local institutions, trades and professions.

PUNCHER. Cost: £6.00. Add to basket

Sample scan, click to enlarge
Norwich Residents, Officers and Officials
 (1842)
1 | 2 | 3Next page
Want to be alerted about new results for this search?
RSSSubscribe to this web feed

Research your ancestry, family history, genealogy and one-name study by direct access to original records and archives indexed by surname.