Search between and
BasketGBP GBP
0 items£0.00
Click here to change currency

Coffe Surname Ancestry Results

Our indexes 1000-1999 include entries for the spelling 'coffe'. In the period you have requested, we have the following 6 records (displaying 1 to 6): 

Buy all
Get all 6 records to view, to save and print for £28.00

These sample scans are from the original record. You will get scans of the full pages or articles where the surname you searched for has been found.

Your web browser may prevent the sample windows from opening; in this case please change your browser settings to allow pop-up windows from this site.

Clerks and Clergy in Herefordshire, Shropshire and Gloucestershire, Berkshire, Dorset and Wiltshire (1283-1317)
The register of bishop Richard de Swinfield of Hereford, containing general diocesan business. Hereford diocese covered almost all Herefordshire, southern rural Shropshire, a westward arm of Worcestershire, and a northwestern slice of Gloucestershire. The register also includes ordinations from the diocese of Salisbury (then covering Berkshire, Dorset and Wiltshire) for 1284-1291.

COFFE. Cost: £6.00. Add to basket

Sample scan, click to enlarge
Clerks and Clergy in Herefordshire, Shropshire and Gloucestershire, Berkshire, Dorset and Wiltshire
 (1283-1317)
Court rolls of manors held by Durham priory (1296-1384)
The cathedral priory of Benedictines (black monks) of St Cuthbert at Durham possessed many manors in the county. These were administered by halmotes, or manor courts, held in three sessions (tourns or turns) each year (here marked I., II. and III.), before the terrar (obedientiary), steward, bursar, and/or the prior himself. The court rolls recording proceedings in these courts survive from 1296, 1300, 1309, and from 1333, but with years missing, until becoming fairly continuous from 1365 onwards. Extracts from the rolls from 1296 to 1384 were edited by John Booth and published by the Surtees Society in 1886. The manors under this jurisdiction were Aycliffe, Bellasis, (Newton) Bewley, Billingham, Burdun, Chilton, Coupon, Dalton, Edmondbyers, Ferry (Hill, or Ferrycliffe), Fulwell, Harton, Hebburn, Hedworth, Hesledon, Heworth, Jarrow, Kirk Merrington, East Merrington, West Merrington and Mid Merrington, Monkton, Moorsley, Newton Ketton, Nunstanton, North and South Pittington, East and West Rainton, Ravensflat, Shields, Southwick, Spen, Usworth, Wallsend, Wardley, Wearmouth, Westoe, Willington and Wolviston. The main contents of the records are demises of land held by the bond tenants, neifs, cotmen and others, and of the demesne lands; and bye-laws and pains (penalties) for breach of these; and other minor delinquencies. Normally, when a farm, cottage or piece of land was let to a new tenant, the name of the last tenant is also given, as well as the amount of the rent, and the amount of the gersum (fine on entry). These court rolls contain some of the only surviving evidence for the inhabitants of these townships in this period: but this publication was of extracts, and was not comprehensive. It should also be noted that the third tourn each year (III.) usually took place in January to March, and so by modern dating in the following year. Thus, the third tourn of 1296 was held on 4 March 1297.

COFFE. Cost: £4.00. Add to basket

Sample scan, click to enlarge
Court rolls of manors held by Durham priory
 (1296-1384)
Wandsworth Baptisms (1669)
The ancient parish of Wandsworth in Surrey comprised the single township of Wandsworth, including the hamlets of Garratt, Half Farthing and Summers Town. It lay in the archdeaconry of Surrey of the diocese of Winchester: unfortunately, few bishop's transcripts of Surrey parish registers survive earlier than 1800. Although the original parish registers of Wandsworth doubtless commenced in 1538, the volume(s) before 1603 had been lost by the 19th century. In 1889 a careful transcript by John Traviss Squire of the first three surviving registers was printed, and we have now indexed it year by year. The baptism registers from 1603 to 1726 normally give date of baptism, and the names of the child and its father, but do not give date of birth or the mother's christian name.

COFFE. Cost: £2.00. Add to basket

Sample scan, click to enlarge
Wandsworth Baptisms
 (1669)
Deaths, Marriages, Bankrupts, Dividends and Patents (1820)
Death notices and obituaries, marriage and birth notices, bankrupts and dividends, and patents, as reported in the Monthly Magazine or British Register. Includes some marriages and deaths from Ireland, Scotland and abroad.

COFFE. Cost: £6.00. Add to basket

Sample scan, click to enlarge
Deaths, Marriages, Bankrupts, Dividends and Patents
 (1820)
Bankrupts (1884)
In accordance with the Bankruptcy Act of 1883, notices received by the Board of Trade were gazetted in tabular form by the Inspector-General in Bankruptcy. At each stage the record gives the debtor's name, address (often including former addresses), description (i. e., occupation), the name of the court, and the sequential number of the matter in that court for the year. The tables of Receiving Orders additionally give Date of Order, Date of Petition and Date of Public Examination; notices of First Meeting give Date of Meeting, Hour and Place; Adjudications give Date of Order, Date of Petition, Name of Trustee (if appointed) and Address of Trustee; Notices of Intended Dividend give Last Day for Receiving Proofs, Name of Trustee, and Address; Notices of Dividends give Amount per Pound, When Payable, and Where Payable; Applications for Debtor's Discharge state the Day fixed for Hearing; and notices of Appointment of Trustees give the Trustee's Name, Address, and Date of Certificate of Appointment. Any one debtor would normally appear in a number of these tables as his or her case proceeded over the months. These are the notices gazetted in 1884.

COFFE. Cost: £4.00. Add to basket

Sample scan, click to enlarge
Bankrupts
 (1884)
Boys entering Merchant Taylors' School in London (1894)
Merchant Taylors' School was founded by members of the livery company of the merchant taylors of the city of London in 1561 as a grammar school. By the 19th century this was a major English public school. In 1875 the school removed from Suffolk Lane, in the City, to a new building in Charterhouse Square in Finsbury. In 1907 the Reverend William Baker, a former headmaster, published this school register for the period 1871 to 1900, which we have indexed by year of admission. Each entry gives the boy's name in full (surname, christian name(s)); date of birth; names of both parents (middle names as initials); occupation of father; career summary; and (in italics) address as of 1907.

COFFE. Cost: £6.00. Add to basket

Sample scan, click to enlarge
Boys entering Merchant Taylors' School in London
 (1894)
Want to be alerted about new results for this search?
RSSSubscribe to this web feed

Research your ancestry, family history, genealogy and one-name study by direct access to original records and archives indexed by surname.