Search between and
BasketGBP GBP
0 items£0.00
Click here to change currency

Cadamy Surname Ancestry Results

Our indexes 1000-1999 include entries for the spelling 'cadamy'. In the period you have requested, we have the following 10 records (displaying 1 to 10): 

Buy all
Get all 10 records to view, to save and print for £50.00

These sample scans are from the original record. You will get scans of the full pages or articles where the surname you searched for has been found.

Your web browser may prevent the sample windows from opening; in this case please change your browser settings to allow pop-up windows from this site.

Boys entering Gresham's School (1829)
The Sir John Gresham Grammar School at Holt in Norfolk was founded by sir John, who bought the manor house there in 1546 to convert it into a school, and building work had started by 1555. To celebrate the quatercentenary in 1955, a history of the school written by the Reverend C. L. S. Linnell was published, together with an Alumni Greshamienses, a register of boys entering the school from 1562 to 1954, compiled by A. B. Douglas. The materials to hand for the register for the early years were slight; the first coherent lists of boys survive only from 1729, and then are fitful, with little detail, and largely missing from 1784 to 1803; however, from 1810 onwards the names of boys' parents are usually recorded. The register is arranged chronologically by year (and from 1900 by term - L, Lent; M, Michaelmas; S, Summer), and then alphabetically by surname (in capitals) and christian name(s). Where known, year of birth is then given (in brackets), names, addresses and occupations of parents. From 1900 onwards there are italic abbreviations for sporting achievements at school (h, hockey colours; VIII, shooting colours; S, first-class swimmer; XI, cricket colours; XV, football colours), and p for house prefect and P for school prefect; then (in italics) information about the boy's adult life, and his address (where living) at the time of publication. Finally, on the right hand side of the page, in italics, is given the year of his leaving the school. Most detail is absent before 1810; and, of course, for the boys still at school in 1955, or only recently left, there are no details of future career; nor are there the usual details about their parentage. From 1898 onwards day boys are noted with an italic D (N means Newquay dayboy); and from 1900 onwards the school houses are shown (B, Bengal Lodge; F, Farfield; H, School House or Howson's; K, Kenwyn; O, Old School House; W, Woodlands); and, for the junior school, c, Crossways; k, Kenwyn; o, Old School House).

CADAMY. Cost: £4.00. Add to basket

Sample scan, click to enlarge
Boys entering Gresham's School
 (1829)
Boys entering Gresham's School (1834)
The Sir John Gresham Grammar School at Holt in Norfolk was founded by sir John, who bought the manor house there in 1546 to convert it into a school, and building work had started by 1555. To celebrate the quatercentenary in 1955, a history of the school written by the Reverend C. L. S. Linnell was published, together with an Alumni Greshamienses, a register of boys entering the school from 1562 to 1954, compiled by A. B. Douglas. The materials to hand for the register for the early years were slight; the first coherent lists of boys survive only from 1729, and then are fitful, with little detail, and largely missing from 1784 to 1803; however, from 1810 onwards the names of boys' parents are usually recorded. The register is arranged chronologically by year (and from 1900 by term - L, Lent; M, Michaelmas; S, Summer), and then alphabetically by surname (in capitals) and christian name(s). Where known, year of birth is then given (in brackets), names, addresses and occupations of parents. From 1900 onwards there are italic abbreviations for sporting achievements at school (h, hockey colours; VIII, shooting colours; S, first-class swimmer; XI, cricket colours; XV, football colours), and p for house prefect and P for school prefect; then (in italics) information about the boy's adult life, and his address (where living) at the time of publication. Finally, on the right hand side of the page, in italics, is given the year of his leaving the school. Most detail is absent before 1810; and, of course, for the boys still at school in 1955, or only recently left, there are no details of future career; nor are there the usual details about their parentage. From 1898 onwards day boys are noted with an italic D (N means Newquay dayboy); and from 1900 onwards the school houses are shown (B, Bengal Lodge; F, Farfield; H, School House or Howson's; K, Kenwyn; O, Old School House; W, Woodlands); and, for the junior school, c, Crossways; k, Kenwyn; o, Old School House).

CADAMY. Cost: £4.00. Add to basket

Sample scan, click to enlarge
Boys entering Gresham's School
 (1834)
Norwich Carriers (1842)
The Norwich Guide and Directory 'being an Historical and Topographical Description of the City and its Hamlets; with an Account of the Public Charities, and Correct Lists of the Various Professions, Trades, Public Institutions, Churches, Chapels, Municipal and other Offices; also the Names and Residences of the Nobility, Clergy, and Gentry; together with the Hours of the Arrival and Departure of the Mail and Post Coaches, Vans, Carriers, Steam and Sailing Vessels, and all Conveyances to London and the various Parts of the County of Norfolk', by G. K. Blyth, was published in 1842, and includes detailed lists of local institutions, trades and professions.

CADAMY. Cost: £6.00. Add to basket

Sample scan, click to enlarge
Norwich Carriers
 (1842)
National ArchivesMerchant Seamen (1835-1844)
At this period, the foreign trade of ships plying to and from the British isles involved about 150,000 men on 15,000 ships; and the coasting trade about a quarter as many more. A large proportion of the seamen on these ships were British subjects, and so liable to be pressed for service in the Royal Navy; but there was no general register by which to identify them, so in 1835 parliament passed a Merchant Seamen's Registration Bill. Under this act a large register of British seamen was compiled, based on ships' crew lists gathered in British and Irish ports, and passed up to the registry in London. A parliamentary committee decided that the system devised did not answer the original problem, and the register was abandoned after less than two years: the system was then restarted in this form, with a systematic attempt to attribute the seamen's (ticket) numbers, and to record successive voyages. The register records the number assigned to each man; his name; age; birthplace; quality (S = seaman, &c.); and the name and official number of his ship, with the date of the crew list (usually at the end of a voyage). Most of the men recorded were born in the British Isles, but not all. The system was still very cumbersome, because the names were amassed merely under the first two letters of surname; an attempt was made to separate out namesakes by giving the first instance of a name (a), the second (b), and so on. In this volume the register is restarted from 1840 onwards, with the mariner's previous number (if any) being entered in the column after his birthplace. In the event of it becoming known that a man had died during the course of a voyage, that information is written across the remaining empty columns. This volume (BT 112/11) covers mariners whose surnames start with Ca (and McCa).

CADAMY. Cost: £8.00. Add to basket

Sample scan, click to enlarge
Merchant Seamen
 (1835-1844)
Railway Subscription Contracts (1845)
21,386,703 6s 4d was promised by about 10,000 subscribers of less than 2,000 per contract to the nearly 200 railway bills deposited in the Private Bill Office during the Session of Parliament for 1845. This alphabetical list gives the full names of the subscribers (surname first), description (i. e., occupation), place of abode, a numerical reference to the title of the railway, the amount subscribed to each, and total. There is a separate key to the titles of the railways.

CADAMY. Cost: £4.00. Add to basket

Sample scan, click to enlarge
Railway Subscription Contracts
 (1845)
Boys entering Gresham's School (1851)
The Sir John Gresham Grammar School at Holt in Norfolk was founded by sir John, who bought the manor house there in 1546 to convert it into a school, and building work had started by 1555. To celebrate the quatercentenary in 1955, a history of the school written by the Reverend C. L. S. Linnell was published, together with an Alumni Greshamienses, a register of boys entering the school from 1562 to 1954, compiled by A. B. Douglas. The materials to hand for the register for the early years were slight; the first coherent lists of boys survive only from 1729, and then are fitful, with little detail, and largely missing from 1784 to 1803; however, from 1810 onwards the names of boys' parents are usually recorded. The register is arranged chronologically by year (and from 1900 by term - L, Lent; M, Michaelmas; S, Summer), and then alphabetically by surname (in capitals) and christian name(s). Where known, year of birth is then given (in brackets), names, addresses and occupations of parents. From 1900 onwards there are italic abbreviations for sporting achievements at school (h, hockey colours; VIII, shooting colours; S, first-class swimmer; XI, cricket colours; XV, football colours), and p for house prefect and P for school prefect; then (in italics) information about the boy's adult life, and his address (where living) at the time of publication. Finally, on the right hand side of the page, in italics, is given the year of his leaving the school. Most detail is absent before 1810; and, of course, for the boys still at school in 1955, or only recently left, there are no details of future career; nor are there the usual details about their parentage. From 1898 onwards day boys are noted with an italic D (N means Newquay dayboy); and from 1900 onwards the school houses are shown (B, Bengal Lodge; F, Farfield; H, School House or Howson's; K, Kenwyn; O, Old School House; W, Woodlands); and, for the junior school, c, Crossways; k, Kenwyn; o, Old School House).

CADAMY. Cost: £4.00. Add to basket

Sample scan, click to enlarge
Boys entering Gresham's School
 (1851)
Boys entering Gresham's School (1852)
The Sir John Gresham Grammar School at Holt in Norfolk was founded by sir John, who bought the manor house there in 1546 to convert it into a school, and building work had started by 1555. To celebrate the quatercentenary in 1955, a history of the school written by the Reverend C. L. S. Linnell was published, together with an Alumni Greshamienses, a register of boys entering the school from 1562 to 1954, compiled by A. B. Douglas. The materials to hand for the register for the early years were slight; the first coherent lists of boys survive only from 1729, and then are fitful, with little detail, and largely missing from 1784 to 1803; however, from 1810 onwards the names of boys' parents are usually recorded. The register is arranged chronologically by year (and from 1900 by term - L, Lent; M, Michaelmas; S, Summer), and then alphabetically by surname (in capitals) and christian name(s). Where known, year of birth is then given (in brackets), names, addresses and occupations of parents. From 1900 onwards there are italic abbreviations for sporting achievements at school (h, hockey colours; VIII, shooting colours; S, first-class swimmer; XI, cricket colours; XV, football colours), and p for house prefect and P for school prefect; then (in italics) information about the boy's adult life, and his address (where living) at the time of publication. Finally, on the right hand side of the page, in italics, is given the year of his leaving the school. Most detail is absent before 1810; and, of course, for the boys still at school in 1955, or only recently left, there are no details of future career; nor are there the usual details about their parentage. From 1898 onwards day boys are noted with an italic D (N means Newquay dayboy); and from 1900 onwards the school houses are shown (B, Bengal Lodge; F, Farfield; H, School House or Howson's; K, Kenwyn; O, Old School House; W, Woodlands); and, for the junior school, c, Crossways; k, Kenwyn; o, Old School House).

CADAMY. Cost: £4.00. Add to basket

Sample scan, click to enlarge
Boys entering Gresham's School
 (1852)
Debtors, Insolvents and Bankrupts (1882)
Bills of sale (binding assets to a creditor/lender), insolvencies and bankruptcies in England and Wales, April to June 1882

CADAMY. Cost: £6.00. Add to basket

Sample scan, click to enlarge
Debtors, Insolvents and Bankrupts
 (1882)
Squadron Leaders: General Duties Branch (1957)
The Air Force List for 1957 contains gradation lists for all serving officers, corrected, generally, up to the appointments and promotions gazetted 2 April 1957. The officers are listed by branch, rank, and date of seniority; the names are given surname first, initials, decorations, and various sets of initials relating to their particular qualifications or expertise. A double-headed dagger before the name denotes a permanent direct commission; a dagger a national service commission; an asterisk some other non-permanent commission. The main abbreviations are: a. a., qualified at Army Long Gunnery Staff Course (A. A.); c. f. s., qualified flying instructor (with an asterisk if A1 category, without, A2); I, 1st class interpreter; i, 2nd class interpreter; i. d. c., completed a course at the Imperial Defence College; j. s. s. c., completed a course at the Joint Service Staff College; P, on probation; p. f. c., graduate of Pilot Flying College; p. s. a., graduate of R. A. F. Staff College; p. s. c., graduate of Military Staff College; q. s., R. A. F. graduate of the Military or Naval Staff College; Sp, medical or dental specialist; t. p., graduate of Empire Test Pilots' School; Z, qualified in A. I. S. Inspection Duties. In the Ground Section lists a further set of abbreviations, in bold in brackets in front of the names, identifies certain specialities - AcC, aircraft control; Bal, balloon; FC, fighter control; Ph, photographic; PhI, photographic interpretation; RS, radar supervisor.

CADAMY. Cost: £4.00. Add to basket

Sample scan, click to enlarge
Squadron Leaders: General Duties Branch 
 (1957)
Telephone subscribers in Cambridgeshire, Hertfordshire, and parts of Norfolk, Essex and Suffolk (1958)
The Post Office Telephone Directory for the Cambridge area for June 1958 lists subscribers from Bishop's Stortford (Hertfordshire), Brandon (Suffolk), Buntingford (Hertfordshire), Bury St Edmunds (Suffolk), Cambridge, Downham Market (Norfolk), Dunmow (Essex), Ely (Cambridgeshire), Epping (Essex), Fakenham (Norfolk), Great Dunmow (Essex), Harleston (Norfolk), Harlow (Essex), Haverhill (Suffolk), Hertford, Hunstanton (Norfolk), King's Lynn (Norfolk), Much Hadham (Hertfordshire), Newmarket (Suffolk), Ongar (Essex), Royston (Hertfordshire), Saffron Walden (Essex), Sandringham (Norfolk), Sawbridgeworth (Hertfordshire), Stansted (Essex), Swaffham (Norfolk), Thetford (Norfolk), Walsingham (Norfolk), Ware (Hertfordshire), Wells-next-the-Sea (Norfolk), and the surrounding countryside.

CADAMY. Cost: £6.00. Add to basket

Sample scan, click to enlarge
Telephone subscribers in Cambridgeshire, Hertfordshire, and parts of Norfolk, Essex and Suffolk
 (1958)
Want to be alerted about new results for this search?
RSSSubscribe to this web feed

Research your ancestry, family history, genealogy and one-name study by direct access to original records and archives indexed by surname.